Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Relayted
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer angrybirds angrybirds angrybirds  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$16.09+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 5, 2010
This is a perfect album in every way. It creates a gorgeous, sonically unique mood 69 BPM and sustains it through the whole album. This is brilliant musicians making a record in the sonic space between the classic soul of Al Green and the ambient folk of the Castanets. No irony here; all sincerity; completely amazing. Get ready to be converted to the merits of saxophone riffs and breathy vocals.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2010
If Pink Floyd made a chill soul album, and let Traffic sit in on a couple tracks, it might resemble something like Relayted. Solid album all around, but a few parts get a little out there. A step away from how we know Bon Iver, but great nonetheless.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2011
I suck at reviewing music, but I can't stop listening to this album and I have to tell the world. It fuels my hilly bike rides, long car trips, showers (giggety), and the songs will not leave my head. I think I'm giving myself a headache from listening to it too much but I cannot stop. I hope they go to Sasquatch in May as they are rumored to; I will be front and center. I had no idea what to expect form the snippets available on here, but when I read more and realized Justin Vernon was involved I couldn't resist. Spanish Platinum, Ride and Crystal Rope are my champions.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2011
I don't even know where I heard of this group, but I'm really glad I found this record. It is really cool. A ton of variety. some super cool and mellow, and other tracks are more lively. Great to listen to while entertaining or working around the house. Turn up the volume.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2013
These guys resurrected the best of late seventies/early eighties yacht rock and made it for modern times. Amazing arrangement, orchestration and production. Total win for emotional sexy "smooth" music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2014
Has to be one of the absolutely best, relatively unknown albums I have ever heard. Smooth, chilling and beautiful - this record "puts out the vibe". For someone who appreciates nearly every musical genre under the sun, this is about as close to a masterpiece as I have heard in recent years. Enjoy and share
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2013
I picked ths album from some 'Best Of' list and I keep going through cycles of playing it, putting it on some crazy repetitive cycle, and putting it awayonly to drag it out a month later. It just sucks you in with its addictive, haunting meoldies and arrangements and each song takes you on a different journey from the last one. Highly recommended - I really wish that it had a higher profile, because it deserves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 5, 2012
Hard to typify this music, it's neither uplifting nor depressing, but it does have a consistent and very listenable downtempo vibe. Auditioning the sample snippets will give you a good idea if this music is right for you.

It takes skill to juxtapose diverse sounds and get them to work together- mission accomplished here, in my opinion (especially liked the bass and percussion).

I thought the only weak spot on this album was the cover of Godley and Creme's "Cry".

The last three tracks cemented it for me - this one's a keeper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2011
I've been a huge fan of this album since it was released in late 2010, and it sounds just as fresh hearing it today. The album flows together beautifully, and contains a wide variety of genres from a bunch of super-talented musicians. It's a shame that Relayted isn't more well known in the music community because it truly is a modern day classic that has a ton of staying power. Get this album! Standout tracks: The Walker, Spanish Platinum,Faded High.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2014
A couple of great songs. The rest are just painful to listen to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$11.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.