Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great adios to Curb Records
As a part of what Steve Earle called "Nashville's great credibility scare of the mid '80s." Lyle Lovett, along with Earle, k.d. Lang, Dwight Yoakam and others took up the traditionalist Outlaw mantel of the 70's and reinvigorated country music from it's soft-rock and Urban Cowboy influence the times.

Lyle Lovett's new album "Release me," exhibits pun in name as...
Published on February 28, 2012 by B. Lane

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the old Lyle
Not the old Lyle. I've been very disappointed in his work for the last several years. I liked his old style with the big band.
Published 7 months ago by Laura


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great adios to Curb Records, February 28, 2012
By 
B. Lane "baronl" (New York, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Release Me (Audio CD)
As a part of what Steve Earle called "Nashville's great credibility scare of the mid '80s." Lyle Lovett, along with Earle, k.d. Lang, Dwight Yoakam and others took up the traditionalist Outlaw mantel of the 70's and reinvigorated country music from it's soft-rock and Urban Cowboy influence the times.

Lyle Lovett's new album "Release me," exhibits pun in name as well as aesthetic. The album is the last for the Curb Records, the label for his entire 26-year. 11-album, career. And in case you missed that the cover art depicts Lyle tied up head-to-ankle in a lariat.

Though Lovett continues a late career trend of including cover songs. But this adios to Curb raises the stakes as it contains only two Lovett originals among the album's 14 tunes. You might conclude that this last release would be a weakened collection to meet contractual obligations. You would be wrong in that assessment.

Sure Lovett may not be the most prolific songwriter on the planet but he is one of the best interpreters. There is no one that fit to polish Lovett's boots that comes close to serving as a prism for the eclectic music styles of the Lone Star State.

"Release me" wastes no time offering a burning interpretation of the classic instrumental breakdown of "Garfield's Blackberry Blossom." The number made popular in the 1930s by Fiddlin' Arthur Smith sounds both timeless and spirited in the hands of Lovett and his band.

The title track became a hit for both Jimmy Heap and Ray Price, both in 1954. Here it's done as a duet with Lovett and k.d. lang, who is so far down in themix her soaring vocals are lost. That quibble aside it's a great tear-in-my-beer standard well done.

The cover of Michael Franks' "White Boy Lost in the Blues" slinks in with the funky blues accentuated by Arnold McCuller harmony vocals.The gospel/R&B and Memphis horn-sound of "Isn't That So" works to a rousing effect and will probably kill live.

Understand You channels beautifully the tender-hearted cowboy Lovett has portrayed many time in his career. The cover of Brown Eyed is looser that Chuck Berry's original or the covers by covered by many including fellow Texans Buddy Holly and Waylon Jennings. But the song still carries the weight Berry intended after being inspired by witnessing a Hispanic man being arrested by a policeman.

The Ragtime-inspired "Keep It Clean" dares you not to cut a rug and William Moore's One Way Gal is a fine-time front porch testament to a good woman.
"Dress of Laces" is an achingly lovely Daughter-Father twist on the classic murder ballad. White Freightliner Blues is one of the few up-tempo songs penned by the late, great Townes Van Zandt and Lovett plays it to it's full open-road greatness.

The two originals Lovett contributes to the album, The first is "The Girl With the Holiday Smile" (also on his 2011 holiday EP "Songs For the Season;") came from a real-life 1978 encounter young lady hiding out from the cops inside a Houston 7-11. This is my second favorite Christmas/hooker song (Tom Waits' Christmas Card from a Hooker in Minneapolis being the first.) The second cut "Night's Lullaby," which features Nickel Creek's Sara and Sean Watkins, was penned for a 2011 run in the Shakespeare Center Los Angeles' production of "Much Ado About Nothing" that the three appeared in.

I look forward to the work Lovett is free to explore in his new world as a free agent and am thankful he has left us with something this great to tide us over until the nest batch of surprises comes along.

TwangNation.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LYLE LOVETT DELIVERS A MARVELOUS SLICE OF AMERICA, February 28, 2012
By 
RBSProds "rbsprods" (Deep in the heart of Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Release Me (Audio CD)
Five MARVELOUS Stars. "Release Me" is an intense, unflagging combination of country, blues, jigs, jazz, rock, standards, and gospel as 4-time Grammy-winning singer, songwriter, band leader, and actor Lyle Lovett delivers another big musical slice of Americana. One of the preeminent story tellers in American music, Lyle is a modern day musical Will Rogers who never fails to deliver unique 'takes' on life with equal doses of humor, hipness, humility, and insights that escape most of us. Most of his topics revolve around cases of love lost, love found, and love that's just hanging around. The 'best of the best' begin with the instrumental jig "Garfield's Blackberry Blossom", a toe-tapping fiddlers delight with help from steel guitar and keyboards. Title song, a heartfelt "Release Me", features k.d. lang beautifully harmonizing with Lyle. Bluesman Arnold McCuller joins in on a smoking "White Boy Lost in the Blues" that may have you 'chained to your earphones'. "Baby, It's Cold Outside" with the sensual voice of Kat Edmondson works great with Lyle begging her to stay over a bouncy beat. And perhaps best of all: the honky-tonking "One Way Gal", a loping personal version of Chuck Berry's "Brown Eyed Handsome Man"; a touching, tragic "Dress of Laces" with Sara Watkins; a smoking "White Freightliner Blues" with Keith Sewell, Luke Bulla & Ray Herndon, and much more. And it all fittingly ends on a gospel note of "Keep Us Steadfast" with Lyle's earnest voice, as if to take stock of everything that's come before on the recording. 30 years into a brilliant career and Lyle Lovett continues to give us fresh songs, hot country beats, and tender ballads with unique perspectives on life that draws devoted fans from different musical genres into his marvelous musical world. Highly Recommended. Five ENGAGING Stars! (This review is based on an mp3 download. 14 tracks: Time-51:14)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRACK INFO FOR RELEASE ME, March 7, 2012
This review is from: Release Me (Audio CD)
Dear Music Appreciators,

This is a loose and groovy set from Julia Roberts' ex-lover with quality contributions from a number of guest artists. Just in case Amazon never gets around to posting some better track info, here's a list for those (like M. Caffery) who want some collaborator credits and running times:

1 - Garfield's Blackberry Blossom 3:06
2 - Release Me (featuring K.D. Lang) 2:44
3 - White Boy Lost In The Blues (featuring Arnold McCuller) 3:32
4 - Baby, It's Cold Outside (featuring Kat Edmonson) 3:17
5 - Isn't That So 4:49
6 - Understand You 3:42
7 - Brown Eyed Handsome Man 3:36
8 - Keep It Clean 2:36
9 - One Way Gal 2:59
10 - Dress of Laces (featuring Sara Watkins) 6:12
11 - The Girl With the Holiday Smile 3:56
12 - Night's Lullaby (featuring Sara Watkins and Sean Watkins) 3:24
13 - White Freightliner Blues (featuring Keith Sewell, Luke Bulla, and Ray Herndon) 5:06
14 - Keep Us Steadfast 2:44

Some other stuff I find notable:

- Track 1 is a thumping, get-up-and-dance instrumental.
- Tracks 4 and 11 are Christmas songs released in February, the latter of which is a clever, naughty song about a hooker.
- Track 7 is a B-side single by Chuck Berry from Berry's first LP released in 1957 and has been covered by a long list of stars.
- Tracks 11 and 12 are the only Lovett originals on the album.
- Six out of fourteen tracks on the album contain significant contributions from other well-known musical artists.
- Track 14 is a reverently performed hymn based on a German hymn composed by Martin Luther and originally published in 1542.

Happy Listening,

Constant Listener
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars welcome back Lyle!, March 3, 2012
This review is from: Release Me (Audio CD)
I am a huge Lovett fan, but have been a bit disappointed in his last offerings. This is like "The old Lyle is back!" I have only played this CD once since buying it yesterday, and I love it! There is something for every music genre lover. The music critic in our newspaper gave it a lukewarm review...he was WRONG! This should please every Lovett fan, and even some who aren't! Welcome back, Lyle!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as any Lyle record, March 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Release Me (Vinyl)
Joshua Judges Ruth is considered a great album, and it is known for being technically a fine recording, as well. I was very impressed with the songs and the recording here. He always uses crack musicians. The many instruments complement each other well, without getting in the way. The sound is superb, and the back-up singers are perfect.
Recently Lyle played Tulsa in an acoustic set with John Hiatt. I had seen Lyle's "large band" before but was very impressed with the acoustic guitar and singing of these great American musicians. Lyle is doing as good of work as he ever has.
If you enjoy blues, country, jazz, gospel, and bluegrass, it's all here, sometimes in the same song. All these genres are American, and Lyle is a national treasure.
Please do yourself a favor. Disregard the one star review that must be the exception that proves the rule and enjoy this music for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Lyle, December 31, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Release Me (Audio CD)
An especially nice version of "Baby it's Cold Outside." I listen to this in my workshop I play it a lot and like it a lot. I have to smile at the "Girl with the Holiday Smile". If you like Lyle this will work fine. If you're new to Lyle try "Road to Ensenada" first then come back to this one. Must have for Lyle Lovett fans

Regards Cliff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good album for fans and fans-to-be, March 31, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Release Me (Audio CD)
Longtime fans of Lyle Lovett will find this a deeply satisfying release. I've been a fan since the Pontiac album, and Lyle's sense of humor is apparent from the album cover art. "Release Me" represents a good mix of original songs and covers. A highlight is his rendition of Townes Van Zandt's "White Freightliner Blues," which Lyle has been performing in concert for many years, and it is finally recorded in a studio version here. If you've never bought a Lyle Lovett album, this is a good place to start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eclectic collection, March 18, 2012
By 
David Burch (Western Wisconsin USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Release Me (Audio CD)
Lyle Lovett is one of the best songwriters working today, but he can cover a classic as well as any singer, too. "Release Me" (with K.D. Lang) and "Baby, It's Cold Outside" (with Kat Edmondson) are examples of the range of styles in which Mr. Lovett is completely comfortable and smoothly competent. The duet partners are perfect, and their performances are wry and smart. Kat Edmonson channels Blossom Dearie's cool, expressive lyric readings, though I wish a little more attention had been paid to mixing the voices. I wonder if there was a problem finding a key in which both singers were comfortable.
As always, the musicians who work with Lyle Lovett are one of the great pleasures of this disc. The backup singers who have collaborated with Mr. Lovett for years give his recordings a depth that no other popular singer presents, either onstage or in the studio. I can recommend this recording without reservation, but I urge you to hear Lyle Lovett with his Large Band onstage -- it's worth a long drive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How do we persuade the geniuses..., March 5, 2012
This review is from: Release Me (MP3 Music)
on this shopping website who post albums for us to buy, to LIST THE MAJOR PARTICIPATING ARTISTS along with the song/time info. This is a record full of duets. I would like the full info to be available when/if I purchase an mp3. Could this be so hard to do?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Country Singer-songwriter Lyle Lovett On A Roll., February 28, 2012
By 
M. Mariba "the teacher" (pretoria, south africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Release Me (Audio CD)
This is a very impressive new CD release by the 4-time Grammy Award winner & country singer-songwriter Lyle Lovett. The CD, titled 'Release Me', features Lyle Lovett on a roll delivering a well balanced excursion/mixture of (1) country music in tracks : "Release Me", "Brown Eyed Handsome Man" & "Keep It Clean"; (2) bluesy tracks in "White Boy Lost In The Blues", "White Freightliner Blues" & "The Girl With The Holiday Smile" & (3) folk/americana/pop tracks in "Garfield's Blackberry Blossom" (Irish influenced up-tempo instrumental track), "Baby, It's Cold Outside", "Isn't That So", "Understand You", "One Way Gal", "Dress Of Laces", "Night's Lullaby" & "Keep Us Steadfast".

Stand-outs/gems/solid tracks are "Release Me", title track with great violin & vocals; "Isn't That So", which has wonderful melody; "Understand You", has great guitar finger pick-ups & melody; "Dress Of Laces" & my favourite track from this album "Night's Lullaby".

On overall, I'm bowled over by Lyle Lovett's latest offering 'Release Me', a well rounded CD release, highly recommended CD listening & a well deserved 5 star performance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Release Me
Release Me by Lyle Lovett (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.