Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I want more!
Faye Longchamp, an archaeology graduate student, has been asked to lead her first major excavation. She and her (assistant) friend, Joe Wolf Mantooth, go to a remote Alabama settlement. Her task is to uncover the origins of a mysterious ethnic group of people called the Sujosa. These people have shown immunity to many diseases, including AIDS. The Sujosa have lived in the...
Published on August 1, 2005 by Detra Fitch

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable book.
This was an enjoyable book on many levels-- archeologically, sociologically, and historically. The characters are interesting, particularly Joe and Miss Dovey, of whom I'd like to have read more. I enjoyed reading the "interviews," but felt they bogged down the story and felt the interaction between the characters suffered for it. The ending was well done with an...
Published on October 19, 2005 by L. J. Roberts


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I want more!, August 1, 2005
Faye Longchamp, an archaeology graduate student, has been asked to lead her first major excavation. She and her (assistant) friend, Joe Wolf Mantooth, go to a remote Alabama settlement. Her task is to uncover the origins of a mysterious ethnic group of people called the Sujosa. These people have shown immunity to many diseases, including AIDS. The Sujosa have lived in the remote hills for centuries. They are very poor and do not trust "outsiders". Yet Faye is determined to gain their trust and dig up the facts that would trace the Sujosa's heritage.

Faye is hardly settled in when she awakens, late one night, to find the house on fire. Faye manages to save herself and one other housemate, but Carmen, the project's oral historian, dies. Questions abound about how the blaze began and where Carmen's aluminum briefcase had disappeared to. A few days later, a local teenager dies at a cell phone tower. It looks like suicide, but some things just do not add up.

Faye, Joe, and Fire Marshal Adam Strahan must figure out what Carmen had in her oral history notes worth killing for, before someone else dies.

**** This novel is rich in historical details and written in a way that the plot is easily understood. Readers will have no trouble following along as this tale of mystery and intrigue guides them into a web of deceit. Author Mary Anna Evans has found her writing niche in the genre of Mysteries. BRAVA! I want more! ****

Reviewed by Detra Fitch of Huntress Reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more Joe!!!!!, October 2, 2005
2nd in the Faye Longchamp series, Faye travels to Alabama to an archeological site researching an isolated group of people referred to as the "Sujosa". Interesting to outsiders is the Sujosa's resistance to AIDS, so they are under a microscope that doesn't make them happy. Faye encounters resistance from the site coordinator when she tries to set up a proper dig, not to mention outright hostility from the locals. With Joe's help (hubba hubba!), she manages to get things on track, until the building housing the staff goes up in flames. Faye manages to rescue one co-worker but another dies in the fire. After that a local boy commits suicide, complicating the situation. Joe sets out to track in ways only Joe knows how, and Faye uses her observation skills to help the fire marshall find clues to the arson, as well as using the copies of the work of her dead co-worker, an oral historian, had given her the night she died. There are a lot of story lines in the mystery, but they are all intriguing and none detract from the main interests of the mystery. Another wonderful mystery from a talented writer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fine regional who-done-it, August 3, 2005
Last minute replacement for a pregnant forty-five year old, archaeology graduate student Faye Longchamp leads an excursion into a remote Alabama area to study the Sujosa who have lived in isolation here for centuries and are apparently immune to modern day diseases like AIDS. Faye knows how reticent the Sujosa are with outsiders.

Not long after arriving, the abode where Faye and others stay is an inferno. She escapes, but her oral historian expert Carmen Martinez dies in the fire. Fire Marshal Adam Strahan struggles with how the fire began while Faye wonders how a metallic suitcase that Carmen possessed vanished. Not long afterward, a teenager dies at what appears to be a suicide at a cell phone construction tower, but Adam, Faye, and others ponder whether a clever homicide is covered up to look like self inflicted death occurred. Could Carman have found something that has led to someone murdering to keep secrets hidden?

The sequel to ARTIFACTS, RELICS is a terrific mystery that provides the audience with a wonderful look at Alabama through an archeological lens that glimpses back at the state's history from a modern viewpoint. The story line is exciting from the moment Faye survives the deadly arson until the climax that will surprise the audience. Readers will enjoy this fine regional who-done-it while anticipating more appearances from Faye working in the field.

Harriet Klausner
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable book., October 19, 2005
This was an enjoyable book on many levels-- archeologically, sociologically, and historically. The characters are interesting, particularly Joe and Miss Dovey, of whom I'd like to have read more. I enjoyed reading the "interviews," but felt they bogged down the story and felt the interaction between the characters suffered for it. The ending was well done with an obvious, but not wall-banging, opening for a subsequent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great cozy mystery, February 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Relics: A Faye Longchamp Mystery #2 (Faye Longchamp Series) (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book in the series and so far it is a great one. Good characters, good mystery. I like the way 's Evans writes. It is a good, fast read and I look forward to discovering the other books in the series. I do not know anything about archeology myself so that makes it even more interesting for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Archaeology plus murder mystery equals a good read, January 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Relics: A Faye Longchamp Mystery #2 (Faye Longchamp Series) (Kindle Edition)
Loved the way buried history and a murder mystery has been layered in order to uncover the depth of story for readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific Read, December 28, 2012
By 
Lynn Shay (Coopersburg, PA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Relics: A Faye Longchamp Mystery #2 (Faye Longchamp Series) (Kindle Edition)
The Faye Longchamp Series is a terrific read for male or female audiences. The wife and I have enjoyed the first two, and anticipate the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read!, November 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Relics: A Faye Longchamp Mystery #2 (Faye Longchamp Series) (Kindle Edition)
I really have been enjoying the Faye Longchamp mystery series by Mary Anna Evans. Archeology is a fascinating subject and the mysteries are well written. I love the main and other recurring characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great Faye Longchamp!, October 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Relics: A Faye Longchamp Mystery #2 (Faye Longchamp Series) (Kindle Edition)
I am trying to read this series in order after reading Floodgates. This is the 2nd of the series and a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great read, September 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Relics: A Faye Longchamp Mystery #2 (Faye Longchamp Series) (Kindle Edition)
When I read the first book in this Faye Longchamp series I did not expect to be on the forth one so soon.Great read it keeps me up late at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.