Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Furious Storm of Emotion
This is an excellent film. Listening to the Italian makes me think it is the language in which all battles should be fought! "Ricordati Di Me" or "Remember Me, My Love" is a domestic drama that maps the lack of closeness in the modern life of an Italian family & the bonds of love that lay deep beneath the surface that hold them together. The blockbuster performance is...
Published on April 12, 2005 by Lee Armstrong

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depressing view of family life
If the name "Monica Bellucci" is on the cover, Husband buys it. Although in this movie she was not a primary or secondary actress, her performance was convincing, although Laura Morante was very strong in the main female role of a frustrated wife who felt she'd done everything life expected of her, expect what she wanted. Fabrizio Bentrivoglio was good in the role of her...
Published on April 20, 2011 by Judy Croome


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

66 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Furious Storm of Emotion, April 12, 2005
By 
This review is from: Remember Me, My Love (DVD)
This is an excellent film. Listening to the Italian makes me think it is the language in which all battles should be fought! "Ricordati Di Me" or "Remember Me, My Love" is a domestic drama that maps the lack of closeness in the modern life of an Italian family & the bonds of love that lay deep beneath the surface that hold them together. The blockbuster performance is by Laura Morante as Giulia, the wife of Carlo. She puts so much energy into this performance that she is incredible. Kind of like a high-octane version of some of Jane Fonda's edgy classic performances, Laura seems to be torn in numerous directions simultaneously. Her eyes twitch, her hands flap, she even smokes a cigarette with more nervous energy than some would expend at a football match. She is a marvel to watch. Fabrizio Bentivoglio as her husband Carlo portrays the graying accountant, apparently going through a mid-life crisis by having an affair by the lovely Monica Belucci who plays Alessia. He seems particularly calm & sedate until he comes alive with eyes sparkling for Alessia. His calmness seems all the more sedate compared to the furious storm of Laura Morante. As the daughter Valentina, Nicolette Romanoff is beautiful and turns in a good performance as the daughter looking to make her mark in show business and willing to do whatever it takes to accomplish that. Silvio Muccino as the son Paolo does a nice job as a teenage guy who is trying to get some romantic experience. Monica Belucci's performance is as deep as she is beautiful. The photography and pacing of the film are all ably handled by director Gabriele Muccino. [I particularly enjoyed seeing on the wall of the son's bedroom a large three concentric circle CD holder that doubled as a wall hanging and functional CD container. Where can I find one of those! :) ] While the plot is not shocking or startling, it is well done. This is a film well worth checking out; and certainly for seeing the fine performance of Laura Morante. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Inner Sanctum of Family, The Durability of Love, March 27, 2005
By 
This review is from: Remember Me, My Love (DVD)
RECORDATI DI ME is a beautifully written and constructed film by Italian director Gabriele Muccino about the workings of a 'normal middle class' family and the bonds and challenges that peak at the time of fragmentation of the family unit that accompanies 10 middle age of the parents and 2) departure of the children at the end of high school. How those crises and adjustments inform the durability of the family unit makes up this thoroughly engrossing and touching film.

Carlo Ristuccia (Fabrizio Bentivoglio) is the father embedded in a life long job that is mundane and not at all in line with his dreams of being a writer (he has been writing a novel for years, yet unfinished). His wife Giulia (Laura Morante) is a committed mother but longs to return to the acting stage she abandoned for marriage. Their two children are Valentina (Nicolette Romanoff) who is determined to become a glamourous TV star and Paolo (Silvio Muccino) who is aimless in his desire for a life of meaning, a life which would prove he is not as unexceptional as he views himself.

Gradually each member of the family encounters escape routes: Carlo meets his old girlfriend Alessia (Monica Bellucci) and begins an affair with her; Giulia is asked to audition for a part in a play directed by one Alfredo (Gabriele Lavia) who makes her feel desirable and noticed; Valentina sleeps around to land a part in a TV giveaway show 'Ali Babbi', and Paolo attempts to attach himself to a girlfriend by planning a birthday party with contraband hashish which he feels will make him appear important in the eyes of his peers. AS each of these crises reaches a peek, Carlo sustains a back injury while fleeing his home and his resultant hospitalization results in altered perceptions of what the family is all about.

The twists and turns of the plot are, of course, far more involved than this short synopsis, and it is the development of each of these characters and the way that they approach change that makes the film work so well.

The acting is excellent and the direction is past paced even for a two and a half hour movie. Yes, much of this has been said before, but the wit and pathos combine to create a story well worth telling and watching. It is a story about dreams, lost possibilities, and the need to fulfill them. Grady Harp, March 05
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I will..., December 12, 2007
By 
This review is from: Remember Me, My Love (DVD)
This is a great film, full of life, emotion and realistic people. None of my friends/family can watch foreign films, its to bothersome for them to read subtitles. I try time and again to get them to watch just 1 italian film, and that film is this one. I'm reviewing this film because I collect film with Monica Bellucci in them. While her role in this film is that of the mistress and the 3rd female role, the daughter is the 2nd female lead. Monica's part is frequent. But in the end this film is not about her, its about the family, and a great job all the actors/actress do of being this family in Roma. So in conclusion its not Monica's film. But it is a jewel of a film nonetheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depressing view of family life, April 20, 2011
This review is from: Remember Me, My Love (DVD)
If the name "Monica Bellucci" is on the cover, Husband buys it. Although in this movie she was not a primary or secondary actress, her performance was convincing, although Laura Morante was very strong in the main female role of a frustrated wife who felt she'd done everything life expected of her, expect what she wanted. Fabrizio Bentrivoglio was good in the role of her apathetic husband who also slowly rediscovers his passion in life (with, unsurprisingly, Monica Bellucci as the catalyst.) Silvio Muccino as the insecure son Paolo and Nicoletta Romanoff as his ruthlessly ambitious sister Valentina also played their roles well.

However, it was hard to find this dysfunctional family - each too absorbed in their own lives and concerns - sympathetic. When a crisis occurred, one couldn't help but feel that the rallying together as a family had more to do with their own personal agendas than with love. I was left feeling deflated, depressed and exasperated with each of them.

English sub-titles were adequate, although because they were white there were times (white-on-white) when I found myself straining to read them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember Me, My Love, February 19, 2010
By 
Sandoka (Corona, NY, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Remember Me, My Love (DVD)
Esta pelicula me encanto. Una historia de amor que a veces suceden. El amor de la esposa, la hija que quiere ser famosa y para alcanzarlo tiene que sacrificarse, y el papel que juega la amante, Monica Belluci. Pero la esposa, se llevo la actuacion. Sensacional.
Una pelicula para verla de nuevo.
Se las recomiendo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, honest and beautiful movie, June 20, 2005
This review is from: Remember Me, My Love (DVD)
It could be that the the bottle of Pinot that I had along with the movie that me biased, but I don't think so.

Keeping up with the best traditions of Italian cinema, this movie engrosses the viewer with its simple, yet very realistic dialog, characters and plot.

Through the scenes we experience the characters longing for the very basic human happiness. Each of them, is different and seeks a happiness of different form. But ultimately, they all are looking for the same thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fragmentation and reconstruction!, August 30, 2007
This review is from: Remember Me, My Love (DVD)
The main virtues of this film reside in the solidity of its script, superb edition and the formidable cast. The story is very simple; a mid-class family, a bored couple and their two sons, she is teenager at the eve of her 18 and he is frustrated adolescent, a loser who at the first glance is incapable to establish a normal relationship , on the other hand she is a glamorous and alluring girl, in search of her bliss, to be accepted and being acclaimed due her dancing abilities.

This couple is experiencing a serious conflict of mutual interests that surmount by far, a simple issue of lack of communication, he is successful executive, who never could finish his pretended project, a book that has not ben ended due random barriers, here and there, she is a very sensitive and talented human being, a frustrated actress , now focused into the formation of her children.

But soon, this fragile equilibrium will be catalyzed when a sudden encounter with a fevered love of the past ignites and accelerates the boiling point in this family.

The work of direction is impeccable, and the struggling atmosphere in which these personages exist, will push them to find out a reencounter with each one of them when an unexpected accident happens.

Laura Morante is terrific in her role (do you remember her as the dance teacher in dancing upstairs of John Malkovioch?) and Monica Belluci gives a fine performance (although her alluring and spelling beauty obligates us to refocus ourselves with her acting).

The secondary dramatic lines are handled with secure hand, but told with such conviction that we leave the hall with a bitter taste in our memories , in spite of the pleasant finale.

A must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun and sorrows of the contemporary italian life, August 21, 2009
This review is from: Remember Me, My Love (DVD)
This is a film about the contemporary italian family consisting of midlle aged, professional parents who are both working and their teenage children. Each one of them is living numb existance. They are bored, lonely, insecure, unhappy with their jobs/careers or high school existance. They also feed emotionally off each other. Their rages are directed at each other with such force that it almost makes one dizzy.

What they experience and how they come out of those experiences I do not wish to retell in this review. But movie itself is really worth watching in order to find out. Laura Morante gives fantastic performance as a frustrated mother, wife and an artist; but Monica Belucci is just so beautiful that one cannot take their eyes off of her. Someone as beautiful as her is almost expected to steal another woman's man with very little or no effort. I also liked the music score used in this modern day drama where there are no winners and no loosers but an endless string of avalanche like events...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Italian Movie, September 20, 2012
This review is from: Remember Me, My Love (DVD)
Excellent acting from the entire cast, great casting and a believable real-life window into modern Italian life. If you like foreign films and you liked American Beauty (Widescreen Edition), you'll like this movie. The beautiful Monica Bellucci is good in a supporting actress role, but there's also other good-looking Italian girls throughout the movie. Several metaphors of the characters' situations and life in general included. I give it 4.4 stars overall. Definitely worth buying used on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, July 21, 2014
This review is from: Remember Me, My Love (DVD)
I have seen beet from the same actors and the director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Remember Me, My Love
Remember Me, My Love by Gabriele Muccino (DVD - 2005)
$14.99 $9.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.