Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Remember the Time: Protecting Michael Jackson in His Final Days
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$20.03+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 3, 2014
When you first see a book about Michael Jackson, you think "all right, who wants to tell ridiculous stories to make money off him now?" But this book is the opposite of that. It's as if the men telling this story are actually still protective of Michael Jackson, and want to clarify the hype by letting you in on the side of MJ that was real - a man who desperately just wanted to focus on his children and being a father but was surrounded by people who wanted a piece of him. The story is told thoughtfully, and it's clear these men are not the kind you'd see on tabloids selling "Wacko-Jacko" stories.

The most interesting part of all of this was just how isolated MJ was. At one point, you read about him going into a club that was playing his music. The club owners did not know he was there- it was just genuinely playing for people to dance to. MJ's reply was "They still play my music?" Wow. He was the last to know how much we all loved his music.

If you are a TRUE FAN, this book is for you.
88 comments|117 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2014
I have just finished reading it, and although I love the way it's written, I can say that it left me with a heavy heart. Because Michael's life was so difficult and painful, and nobody seemed to be there for him. I've been his fan for many years, and I've read lots of books about Michael. This book doesn't have much information I did not know before, yet it is written with the kind of affection and warmth that gets right through to you. You can feel desperation of these two guys who were left practically alone to deal with everything that was going on. At times they did not even get paid, and they could not just turn around and walk away because they could not leave Michael and his children unassisted and unprotected, period. There would be nobody to step in. And I want to thank them for that. For being there even when things got bad. Not too professional to get so emotional about a client? Well, I don't care. Seeing the way Michael's life was back then, it makes you feel sympathy for the man. Makes you less judgmental. Less biased. And it helps you understand Michael and the way he was a little better.

As for personal information, I could not find anything that would disturb me. All the stories involving children are delivered tactfully. Although one of Michael's lady friends was named by her real name in the end, and I don't think that was appropriate, they should have stuck to using their code names. In all the rest - I love the book. It's about Michael the man, and not about Michael the King of Pop. Precious to anyone who got tired of constant criticism aimed at him. Bittersweet. It makes me slightly happier to know he did enjoy his time with his kids. At least, he could have that much.
1414 comments|65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2014
William Whitfield and Javon Beard have been vocal supporters of Conrad Murray, going on national TV to assert his innocence in the death of Michael Jackson. You can see the video clip on Hulu [Good Morning America, 11/4/11 -- the first day of CM's jury deliberation]. Whitfield was on AEG's witness list for the trial of Katherine Jackson & MJ's children vs AEG in 2013; he was on the side of power and money. These bodyguards align themselves with whoever can benefit them and line their pockets.
The third bodyguard from their Las Vegas team, Mike Garcia, has condemned Whitfield and Beard and exposed them for who they are. On his Facebook page, Garcia posted:
"...The two other bodyguards I worked with ... are coming out with a book in conjunction with those that never had Mr. Jackson's best interest and stole from him. In the past years, I've been asked about the other two bodyguards and always remained silent. Now I can no longer do that. They made a deal with a book author behind my back which the book author had to end the deal with them because of the FICTION they wanted in the book.... Its the greed of just them two, and they care of only money.... For the record, I am NOT involved in their book and I'm in disbelief that they have sided with the ones who took advantage of Mr. Jackson. Just when I thought these two couldn't disrespect Mr. Jackson even more, they do it again. Sad and the karma, in the name of Mr. Jackson will come to ... both." Garcia knows these guys vis-a-vis Michael Jackson better than anyone else.
Whitfield and Beard have betrayed Michael Jackson. Now they are pretending to have been his "best friends" while they worked for him. How likely is it that MJ was "best friends" with the hired help -- men who are vulgar and regularly use profanity, which MJ forbade in his presence? They are just two of the vultures in MJ's environment, picking his bones for public exposure now that he has passed and cannot contradict them or stop them from lying, exploiting him, betraying his secrets, and exposing his private life and his young children in what they advertise as their "tell-all book." Some "friends"! The name of Judas comes to mind....
33 comments|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1.5 stars

Did I enjoy this book: I grew up listening to Michael Jackson. I’m a fan of his music. Even for a casual fan, I don’t see very much new information or insight in this book.

The copy I have is a hardback with a price tag of $26.00. That’s a hard charge to justify. The writing style is choppy – it flips back and forth between the first person perspectives of body guards and third person historical accounts of Michael Jackson’s life.

The story focuses on the part of Jackson’s life where he is financially, physically, and mentally bankrupt. It’s a sad story, and one we’ve heard before.

The only bright spot for me came on page 249. Bodyguard Bill Whitfield writes, “Whenever I hear that whole thing about how Michael Jackson missed out on his childhood . . . He wants to play with toys . . . ride roller coasters . . . Okay, that’s some of what he missed out on. That’s part of what childhood is, but it’s also a lot more than that. ‘Clean your room.’ That’s childhood. ‘Take out the garbage.’ Apologize to your sister.’”

While it’s a wordy, poorly written insight, I think Whitfield hits on an important aspect of what’s lacking in the adult superstar who made the choice to not to grow up.

Would I recommend it: I really can’t recommend this book. It’s overpriced and fails to deliver. If you just have to read everything ever written about Michael Jackson, try to check it out of the library. Save your money to download his music. Celebrate his life and his amazing talent rather than reading every detail of a life he didn’t want anyone to see.

As reviewed by Belinda at Every Free Chance Books.

Disclosure: I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
22 comments|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2014
The periodicity and macho bravado are offensive and off putting
22 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2015
After more than one year, neither Weinstein Books nor the authors of this book have retracted or corrected the misrepresentations in the title, advertising, and promotion of this misleading book about MJ -- he deserves so much better!
11 comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2014
Fantasy material. MJ Revisionist history!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2014
Tlhis book has credibility problems. Among them are no endorsements by ANYONE who knew Michael Jackson; unsubstantiated stories about MJ; and the total disavowal of this book by the third bodyguard, Michael Garcia.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2014
A lightweight book it should be free
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2014
A 3rd rate book by 3rd rate authors
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse