Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio CD of Swann's Way Read by Neville Jason
I have always wanted to read the entire unabridged 7 volumes of Proust "Remembrance of Things Past" (or "In Search of Lost Time" per other translations) but I just don't have the time to undertake that amount of reading with my schedule. I do drive a good bit and also try to get out to walk - so I have been listening to some of the great novels that I have wanted to get...
Published on March 12, 2012 by Penny

versus
117 of 120 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars rating applies only to quality of the eBook
If you want to read Swann's Way and don't have the actual book, then DO NOT bother with *THIS* Kindle edition (the freebie). Instead, you might as well "splurge" on a $0.99 professionally created edition so that you'll get to read the real thing.

1) All accented letters are converted as question marks.
2) Indented text such as block quotes or lines of...
Published on May 12, 2010 by J. Lehman


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

117 of 120 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars rating applies only to quality of the eBook, May 12, 2010
This review is from: Swann's Way (Kindle Edition)
If you want to read Swann's Way and don't have the actual book, then DO NOT bother with *THIS* Kindle edition (the freebie). Instead, you might as well "splurge" on a $0.99 professionally created edition so that you'll get to read the real thing.

1) All accented letters are converted as question marks.
2) Indented text such as block quotes or lines of poetry were entirely dropped. Without the real book to compare, the blanks would've been inexplicable, annoying gaps in the narrative.

That's enough to make this freebie worth less than i paid for it.

I do find this edition useful as a companion to the actual book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


253 of 268 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kindle Bait and Switch, April 26, 2009
By 
C H Hall (Northern VA USA) - See all my reviews
I am a great admirer of the Kindle device, having bought both v. 1 and v.2 immediately upon their introduction.

Unfortunately, though the device may earn 5 stars, Amazon's book marketing doesn't rate 1 star -- especially with regard to translated and out-of-copyright classics.

This book is a case in point. If one goes to the (hardcopy) book page in Amazon for the superb Lydia Davis translation, v. 1 in the Penguin series, one is offered a one-click link implying that the book can be ordered instantly for one's Kindle. Try it, though, and you'll find (as noted by the earlier reviewer) that you get not the Davis Penguin version, but rather a very different translation.

This is simply dishonest, and beneath Amazon. Amazon would never dream of sending to a hardcopy shopper ordering the Davis translation the one that is offered via Kindle. Why, then, try to fob off something like this to Kindle shoppers as though it were the Davis translation?

Readers are not stupid, and these types of shenannigans are no way to develop Kindle reader loyalty.

This needs to stop, now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 71 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars don't bother!, April 10, 2009
By 
This is the public-domain C K Scott Moncrieff translation from the 1920s. You can get it without cost from the Gutenberg Project. By no means should you pay money for it.

Far better you get the paperback of the Penguin edition translated by Lydia Davis: Swann's Way: In Search of Lost Time, Vol. 1 (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition). Alternately, go for the much-improved Enright edition of the Scott Moncrieff translation: In Search of Lost Time: Volume 1, Swann's Way (Modern Library Classics) (v. 1). More about all this at ReadingProust dot com -- Dan Ford
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars FIX YOUR WEBSITE: DON"T MARKET THE WRONG TRANSLATION, June 16, 2009
By 
Stephamm "Stephanie Barbe Hammer" (LA and Riverside, CA and Whidbey Island WA,USA) - See all my reviews
It's completely false advertizing for you to sell the Davis translation and then make people download the much older Montcrief translation. Get it together Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio CD of Swann's Way Read by Neville Jason, March 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have always wanted to read the entire unabridged 7 volumes of Proust "Remembrance of Things Past" (or "In Search of Lost Time" per other translations) but I just don't have the time to undertake that amount of reading with my schedule. I do drive a good bit and also try to get out to walk - so I have been listening to some of the great novels that I have wanted to get to. This new release of the unabridged reading of volume 1 (Swann's Way) comes just at the right time in my life. I considered getting the 39 CD abridged version which Neville Jason read previously. I listened to some of it through a library loan. He's a beautiful reader of Proust. I decided to be brave and buy this new unabridged series and I'm so glad I did. This masterpiece is an amazing journey for someone who really loves classics, philosophy, history, art, psychology. Proust's detailed descriptions can really trigger personal memories and transport his reader into incredibly rich, detailed unconscious memories of their own lives. Jason's abridged version is quite well received but, as good as it is, like most abridged books, it pales in comparison to the full work. This unabridged version is read in a noticeably older voice -- which only adds to the richness of this semi-fictionalized memoir. I have every intention of completing the entire series as it is released through 2012. I also bought the little book ($10) of "Marcel Proust's Search for Lost Time: A Reader's Guide to the The Remembrances of Things Past" by Patrick Alexander. It provides brief overviews of the volumes narratives, themes and various versions. It also gives background info on historical events, places/maps, reference notes on 50 main characters, family trees, info and pics of Proust and his family. I highly recommend this to anyone interested in taking on 1 of the greatest literary masterpieces ever written but who doesn't have the time/energy to sit down and read a million and a half word novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a super-good, cheap Proust, September 16, 2010
By 
Caraculiambro (La Mancha and environs) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Remembrance of Things Past, Vol. 1 (Paperback)
This is the first volume in a two volume set that contains the entire REMEMBRANCE OF THINGS PAST, unabridged. It's from the U.K., which is why you don't see it for sale much in the U.S. (You can get it no problem on Amazon's U.K. site, though: use ISBN-10: 1840221461 or ISBN-13: 978-1840221466 to find it.)

It's much cheaper than those silver ones that you do see, published by Vintage.

But there's something you should know about the translation. This is the translation by C. K. Scott-Moncrieff and Stephen Hudson (the latter completing the job after the former croaked midway through it). This translation was later reworked by Terence Kilmartin to the approval of many (which translation was in turn reworked by D. J. Enright). That is the translation offered in those silver ones you see everywhere, but IS NOT THE TRANSLATION YOU'RE GETTING HERE from the Wordsworth Editions. This is just the unreworked 1922-1930 job.

It doesn't offer any footnotes or anything else like that.

The entire thing is also available in one volume in French from Amazon here: A LA Recherche Du Temps Perdu (French Edition)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sample before buying or you may be disappointed, October 11, 2009
By 
carson stuart (Mountain View, Ca) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have already downloaded the $0.99 Kindle version of Swann's Way and the free version. Fortunately, I sampled this version and was able to delete it for no charge. Where can I get the Lydia Davis translation for my Kindle?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as ominous as I thought it was going to be, June 30, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Swann's Way (Kindle Edition)
I have put off attempting the mighty Proust in favour of chic-lit and rom-coms lately. But I finally bit the bullet and was surprised to find it less challenging than I had imagined. It certainly goes on a bit and every few pages you have to remind yourself that it doesn't matter that there appears to be no plot because it is just so enjoyable to read. Still have two more volumes to go before I can don the 'I've read A la recherche du temps perdu' T-shirt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent achievement, January 11, 2013
By 
Eumaeus (United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Neville Jason's recording of Swann's Way is a revelation. One of the many pleasures of listening to it is to go back and read the passages one has just heard and see how under Mr. Jason's beautiful reading, very long sentences with many subordinate clauses do not seem long at all. "Masterpiece" is an overused word, but I don't know of another term that adequately describes Mr. Jason's performance of Swann's Way. I can't wait to hear the remaining six volumes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic, re-readable forever, May 13, 2012
This review is from: Swann's Way (Kindle Edition)
looks like it's scanned copy of printed book, so sometimes pages are a bit crooked. i like that..
a great book to have handy when you're stuck waiting, can be reread many times because the writing is so good, even in translation..
also, the program makes it pretty easy to keep your place or to look for other passages..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x989af5a0)

This product

Remembrance of Things Past, Vol. 1
Remembrance of Things Past, Vol. 1 by Marcel Proust (Paperback - September 10, 2006)
$12.99 $11.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.