Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEEING IS BELIEVING
This book demonstrates the trustworthiness of the adage "A picture is worth a thousand words." I bought EvD's "Chariots of the Gods" in 1971 and still have my original copy. I also have every other book he has published during the interim in my research library. If you are an EvD fan this book will not disappoint. While the bulk of the content is photos, with much less...
Published 5 months ago by Robert Steven Thomas

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting
This book is a quick read. I like Erich von Daniken's book, but this one was a bit disappointing. It's a very quick read.
Published 3 months ago by Cammie M. Royce


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

43 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEEING IS BELIEVING, November 9, 2013
By 
Robert Steven Thomas (author, researcher, retired executive) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Remnants of the Gods: A Visual Tour of Alien Influence in Egypt, Spain, France, Turkey, and Italy (Paperback)
This book demonstrates the trustworthiness of the adage "A picture is worth a thousand words." I bought EvD's "Chariots of the Gods" in 1971 and still have my original copy. I also have every other book he has published during the interim in my research library. If you are an EvD fan this book will not disappoint. While the bulk of the content is photos, with much less copy than normal, this newest EvD book makes a compelling case to further augment the very real presence of an advanced alien influence in our remote human history. The photography is stunning. Add this book to your collection. Robert S. Thomas author of: Intelligent Intervention
Intelligent Intervention
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did Prehistoric Man Have Help from Aliens?, November 30, 2013
Remnants of the Gods
By Erich von Daniken
ISBN: 978-1-60163-283-8

In his book Remnants of the Gods, Erich von Daniken makes his case that prehistoric people had assistance with their achievements from aliens or "heavenly guardians." This book does not only give Daniken's opinions about his theory but shows photos as proof.
Remnants of the Gods has 178 high quality colored photographs of ruins that can be dated back to prehistory. These ruins are located in lands around the Mediterranean Sea from Spain to Turkey to Northern Africa. From track-like grooves in rocks that end in the sea to Egypt's pyramids, there are structures of rocks that weigh many, many tons. How did Stone Age people learn all these things? Stone Age people were hunter gathers, right?
But the evidence is there and it raises a myriad of questions of how they learned to build these structures. They would've had to have advanced mathematics to even plan them, let alone build them. While Daniken concentrates on the sites around the Mediterranean Sea, he mentions that these sites exist around the world--in Turkey, China and India, some dating to more than 10,000 years ago.
Many of the later buildings of the Phoenicians, Carthaginians and Romans were built on the older stones for foundations. Daniken's photos show remnants of buildings, breakwaters, stone circles and a temple, Gobekli Tepe in Turkey. What is missing is writing. Apparently these people had no written language so we can only guess what these sites represent.
Daniken shows over and over that people coming right from the Stone Age wouldn't have known how to build these magnificent buildings and temples. How would they have moved those massive stones? Even with modern methods it would be a difficult task to erect these monumental buildings and temples. It is awe inspiring.
Daniken also discusses the impossibility of creating these massive sites without a knowledge of surveying. In this sections he demonstrates how villages were laid in patterns of a specific number of kilometers between them, in France, Italy and Greece.
Daniken writes, "We are talking about buildings without history, cultures about which we know nothing, although they have left conspicuous traces behind. This applies not only to the stone circles and subterranean complexes, but also the large pyramids of Egypt....This is another volume in a five-volume series about the impossibilities of prehistory."
For someone who likes looking at prehistoric ruins, Daniken's photographs are the next best thing to being there. If I have one criticism of the book it would be that the descriptions of the photographs are buried in the text of the book. One must read and then refer backward or forward to see which photo he is talking about. It would be an improvement if the photos would have identities under the photos. By the way, did I mention that the photos are spectacular?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treasure Trove of Photography, November 19, 2013
This review is from: Remnants of the Gods: A Visual Tour of Alien Influence in Egypt, Spain, France, Turkey, and Italy (Paperback)
REMNANTS OF THE GODS is the first Von Daniken book I've read. It took a little while to realize how this particular format worked, but when I did get the hang of it, it was a real photographic tour de force going back & forth between the text & the really magnificent photos. For example, there is a beautiful 2 page photo of Delphi really conveys the magic of the scene. Wow. You don't need to hear about it from me. If you love archaeological & alternative type photos, this is for you. Worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, November 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Remnants of the Gods: A Visual Tour of Alien Influence in Egypt, Spain, France, Turkey, and Italy (Paperback)
Daniken keeps opening my eyes every time, he is a treasure. The book has lots of pictures also so you can see what he is talking about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A picture is worth a 1,000 words., January 12, 2014
By 
Donald Stovicek "drstove" (Sandusky, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Remnants of the Gods: A Visual Tour of Alien Influence in Egypt, Spain, France, Turkey, and Italy (Paperback)
I've have been a Von Daniken fan since Chariots of the Gods was first published. I have purchased many of his books and have enjoyed them but felt his only shortcoming was that he did not include pictures of some of the great things he was describing. Can't say that about Remnants of the Gods, which contains pages upon pages of pictures. It made me feel as though I was finally able to see many of the things he peaked my curiosity with in earlier books. He also presents us with a lot of new material about how ancient cities were located relative to one another. The book is a "Must Have" for any Von Daniken fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lotus Guide review, January 18, 2014
This review is from: Remnants of the Gods: A Visual Tour of Alien Influence in Egypt, Spain, France, Turkey, and Italy (Paperback)
Remnants of the Gods: A Visual Tour of Alien Influence in Egypt, Spain, France, Turkey, and Italy
By Erich von Däniken
ISBN-13: 978-1-60163-283-8 (New Page, 2014)

This book shows in detail the many stone monuments, foundations, and buildings that were erected in sacred geometric patterns hundreds of miles apart. With many of the new finds in Turkey along with a visual tour of Spain, France, Italy, and Egypt, it leaves very little doubt about the “fact” that there were highly advanced civilizations in our ancient past that knew about energy lay lines and had building expertise that we can hardly imagine, let alone accomplish. But what I find as strange if not stranger is how the academic community ignores what are literally mountains of proof. I hope books such as this will steadily apply the much-needed pressure to open their minds.

Rahasya Poe, Lotus Guide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EvD continues to amaze and inform., December 6, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Remnants of the Gods: A Visual Tour of Alien Influence in Egypt, Spain, France, Turkey, and Italy (Paperback)
Erich von Daniken never ceases to amaze me with his work. I met him several times at conferences and his presentations were informative and awesome. His books continue to inform and provide interesting perspective to the field of Paleovisitation/Ancient Astronauts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always challenging the norm, April 2, 2014
This review is from: Remnants of the Gods: A Visual Tour of Alien Influence in Egypt, Spain, France, Turkey, and Italy (Paperback)
Like most readers I know Erich's work from Chariots of the Gods so when this book was released I jumped at the chance to read it. I enjoyed every minute of this book. He walks you into the fact that all we have before us now was built on what was left by much much earlier civilizations and so much more. The book is filled with wonderful pictures and his take on these megalithic sites. If you are a fan of Ancient Aliens or megalithic sites you will enjoy this book!
Cam Hale
Host of Expanded Perspectives Podcast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A pretty good start...., March 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Erich Von Daniken is always at the upper end of the answer spectrum when it comes to questions like, "Who built the pyramids?" In his book "Remnants of the Gods," Van Daniken gives a lot of detail to support his thesis that everything interesting on planet Earth has been built by or for our alien forefathers. Here, Van Daniken takes us to what he calls "the stone age," and explains how primitive humans could not have selected, moved, properly dressed stones weighing many tons, but the aliens could and did. He starts with Malta and then takes us all over the world. The photographs could be better, but it's a book written by an imaginative, thinking everyman who stands academia on its head, and takes great pleasure in doing so. His analysis of the mysteries of the Giza pyramids is substantial and provocative. Whether our alien forefathers really came and did all this, or perhaps just the fact that ancient peoples seem so very connected to them, makes "Remnants of the God" a great and worthwhile read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interersting but rambling., March 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found the book interesting, but rambling and written as if the scientific community is stupid or banded together to preserve points of view that don't agree with those of the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb02ab078)

This product

Remnants of the Gods: A Visual Tour of Alien Influence in Egypt, Spain, France, Turkey, and Italy
$19.99 $14.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.