Customer Reviews


242 Reviews
5 star:
 (118)
4 star:
 (72)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars philosophic with good ideas
philosophic in the sense that an effective case for WHY working remotely is the right idea, and ultimately inescapable.

Some good ideas on how to implement.

Not present: detailed "how to". Just as well, too many variables.

Finishes with a good selection of best-of-class tools.
And an endorsement of 37Signals.

Those...
Published 13 months ago by W. C. Hess

versus
155 of 175 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mainly relevant to employees and traditional companies
I run an established small but growing remote business. Given how helpful Getting Real and Rework were for small, growing businesses, I assumed Remote would be full of great actionable strategies for being an effective remote team.

While there were 1 or 2 minor tidbits of useful information, the vast majority of the book is aimed at why non-remote companies...
Published 13 months ago by NickK


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

155 of 175 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mainly relevant to employees and traditional companies, October 30, 2013
This review is from: Remote: Office Not Required (Hardcover)
I run an established small but growing remote business. Given how helpful Getting Real and Rework were for small, growing businesses, I assumed Remote would be full of great actionable strategies for being an effective remote team.

While there were 1 or 2 minor tidbits of useful information, the vast majority of the book is aimed at why non-remote companies should become remote, and how employees can convince their bosses to become remote.

There is very little useful information for someone who is already convinced a remote company is the way to go, and is looking for strategies for managing a remote company effectively.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars philosophic with good ideas, October 31, 2013
By 
W. C. Hess (Annapolis, MD USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
philosophic in the sense that an effective case for WHY working remotely is the right idea, and ultimately inescapable.

Some good ideas on how to implement.

Not present: detailed "how to". Just as well, too many variables.

Finishes with a good selection of best-of-class tools.
And an endorsement of 37Signals.

Those of us who use 37Signals know their software is indeed best of class, and we are successfully implementing remote work as early adapters.

An easy 2-hour read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best book about remote work that has ever been written. Period., November 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I only recently became aware of Jason Fried's writing and his company 37Signals.com, but instantly fell in love with his clear, concise, no-bull, crystal-clear communication style. After reading some of his articles in Inc. magazine, I found the 37Signals blog and instantly bought the book REWORK and felt invigorated by it. Finally, here is someone who understands that securing venture capital funding is not necessarily the key to success nor to a happy, fulfilling life. He simply makes products (the online software Basecamp, Highrise, etc.) that are amazingly simple to use, and therefore valuable and in demand because they save people time and money. The previous book, REWORK basically throws everything you were taught about business out the door and gets back to basics focused on what will work today, in today's world that changes daily. Ridiculous concepts such as five-year business plans are ridiculed and dismissed, and Jason restores sanity to business ideas and concepts. With REMOTE, he applies the real-world experience of running a distributed company and explains the biggest advantages to hiring remote teams. My two favorite facts about remote working that the book explains: Reason #1: Hiring remote employees allows companies to hire the best talent in the world instead of being handcuffed to only the best talent living in a tiny geographical area. Reason #2: Offices are what the authors call "interruption factories" in which anyone can walk into your cubicle or office uninvited and interrupt your work many times throughout the day. Working remotely allows you to get into the zone and focus on the things that make you productive without the productivity-killing environments of the interruption factories. REMOTE lists the most common excuses that bosses often use to dismiss the idea of remote work, and then the authors proceed to blow every one of those excuses right out of the water with common-sense-filled nuclear missiles. The book refutes those common misperceptions about remote work humorously sometimes, but with factual, common-sense reasons why visionary leaders will actually choose to embrace remote work in the very near future if they want to keep up with their more innovative competitors who keep hiring the most talented people in the world right out from under their noses. The remote revolution has already begun. The visionaries were the first to jump on board. This book will sway anyone on the fence toward the huge benefits of remote teams, and those who refuse to read this book will simply get left behind in the dust of their smarter competitors. If you've never worked remotely and have been trapped commuting to an office, this book will set you free. Also, if you have not already read Scott Berkun's book The Year Without Pants, you should read that too. It's a perfect companion piece to REMOTE, and tells the story of Scott's year working as a member of a distributed team at Automattic, the distributed company behind Wordpress.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sane, lucid and potentially career-changing guide to modern knowledge work., October 30, 2013
"Remote" is a career-changing read for any modern knowledge worker. Remote work, once a pipe dream, is now a realistic career option. You can make the money you need and the difference you aspire to make -- while living where you want to live, actually seeing your family, and never commuting again.

This book is the most coherent argument for remote work I've seen, and the most practical guide to getting a remote career off the ground and living up to its promise.

We all feel it, don't we? Being together in a shared, physical workplace every moment of our working life is, professionally, both unnecessary and even counterproductive at times. When you factor in the personal toll (grinding daily commutes, time away from loved ones, etc.), inevitably you start asking, "Why the hell am I doing this?"

"Remote" takes that question as far as it can go, unpacking it into short essays that dismantle so many of our basic assumptions about work. And then, it poses another question: "If not 'this,' then what else?"

The "what else" is working remotely, and that too is unpacked. How do you do it? What if my boss doesn't trust me? Won't I be cut out of major decisions, alienated from my peers, even just plain lonely? And what about the work: don't we need the "bandwidth" that comes with frequent face time to get important things done? How will the creativity happen? The special, impromptu moments around the water cooler?

"Remote" does a great job of addressing all those things and more. The end result is a sort of career guide for meaningful, dignified modern work. Remote work is not a panacea, it will not solve every work problem ever identified, and it will pose challenges of its own. But it will change your career -- and in so doing, perhaps even your life -- and this is the book that will show you how.

(If you're interested, my longer review of the book: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to make remote working operate efficiently, October 31, 2013
By 
John Gibbs (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Marissa Mayer might have put an end to Yahoo's work-from-home policy, but working remotely is alive and well in many other organisations, according to Jason Fried in this book. A company that embraces remote work gets access to the best talent and frees its workers from soul-crushing commutes, and if remote work is managed correctly the company can gain significantly increased productivity.

Arguments which the author presents in favour of remote working include:

* Work in an office is often unproductive due to constant interruptions
* Commuting wastes an enormous amount of time, energy and resources
* Technology now allows highly effective remote working
* The shift to asynchronous collaboration accommodates everyone's availability
* Remote working allows you to base yourself anywhere in the world
* Expensive office rental costs can be avoided

There are, of course, issues that need to be addressed for remote working to operate efficiently. It appears that employees of the author's organisation do work of a type which is readily measurable, so that it is easy to ensure that people are doing the work they are paid for. A business could quickly deteriorate if work results were not measurable or if some employees started feeling that others were not pulling their weight. It is also important that employees have a sufficient level of interaction with each other, and the book provides a number of strategies to address this.

In my opinion this book will be very useful for any organisation which is thinking about allowing employees to work remotely, as well as for any organisation which currently has some remote workers but needs to improve its remote work management processes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring & Obvious information., November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Remote: Office Not Required (Hardcover)
DISCLAIMER:
This is my first review. I've been reading ebooks for nearly 10 years now and i've never written a review. I would just like to say that i'm a real person, not a Amazon bot or a paid reviewer and i'm only writing this because i've never felt so scammed after reading a book before in my life. I feel like I was robbed at gun point.

DEEPLY DISAPPOINTED:
I was so excited to read this book. I love 37 Signals, Basecamp, Ruby on Rails, David, Jason and the entire team and everything that they make/create, except for this book. I wasted so much of my time waiting to find at least one good part in the book. I kept telling myself maybe if I read more, maybe if I read one more chapter I will find something helpful or relevant to real life business, but alas I did not.

THE WORST
It felt like I was reading an extremely dry Wikipedia article. None of the information was new. None of the info was helpful. Very dry common sense information. I wonder what possessed Jason Fried to waste so much time copying and pasting dry info from the web and placing it into this book. I wish books were sold in Redbox machines. You should only have to pay a dollar for crap like this. I mean really did anyone get anything out of this book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for anyone who has ever thought about seriously working from home., June 14, 2014
When my kids were born I quickly realized that I would be spending more time sitting in traffic and at work than I could spend with my family. For the past 3 years I have been actively trying to figure out how to work while being able to spend ample time with family in a way that traditional business doesn't seem to care about.

For someone like me this book offers practical insights into what it actually takes to work remotely and even how to convince your boss to let you.

The authors speak from experience and do so in a down to earth at times humorous way while still making their point.

Remote work isn't for everyone, but for those who are serious about spending less time in traffic, doing work they love, and spending more time with family, this is a book for you!

However, if you find no value in working remotely this probably isn't the book for you (but maybe you should give it a read, it might open your eyes).

I'm a big fan of the authors and also recommend their previous book Rework.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jason and David nailed it!, December 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Remote: Office Not Required (Hardcover)
Contrary to some of the negative reviews here, I personally believe that REMOTE is chalked full of practical advice for running a successful Remote company. It covers set up, management, hiring and best practices for Remote companies.

There is certainly a good chunk of the book dedicated to making the 'case' for remote work and if you're already bought into the idea, you probably could skim through this and not miss much.

After reading this book on my flight back from Paris, I implemented the group chat advice and I experienced a significant increase productivity, cross function communication and real human interaction.

Remote work isn't just about sitting in your home office and working in pajamas. Remote (the book) advocates a philosophy that if you hire talented adults, give them ownership and provide them with the necessary environment for them to succeed, you can build something great.

I hope this review helps

@JimmyMackin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remote Work Is Not a Fad - It is a Strategic Business Advantage!, November 22, 2013
By 
Dave Anthold (Porter Ranch, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Fantastic book from Jason Fried on the exciting life of Remote working. Our typical preconceived ideas regarding remote working is "out of sight, out of mind" or "if I can't see them, they must not be working". This book debunks those myths and share successes from their own company 37Signals.

This book highlights:

* Success is how productive you are, not location
* You can work from anywhere, anytime
* Measure success on project / task completion rather than how visible you are at the workplace.
* Have crossover times when all / most employees can attend meetings regardless of time zone.
* Work and Life are both important - not one or the other.
* Certain groups are more pre-disposed to success in working remotely - not every job can do this.
* Start small and build the program. Experiment.
* Don't let geographic location restrict you from getting the best talent possible.
* Much more.

I love this book. The world's workplaces are exploring this concept more and more to support environmental sustainability as well as procuring and maintaining the best talent possible. It is a quick read or listen and it is full of simple advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding perspective to help companies change old and tired notions on geography, culture and productivity., November 18, 2013
By 
This review is from: Remote: Office Not Required (Hardcover)
Remote is directed to companies that have rejected or that have only modestly experimented with remote work. Weaving through examples from their own experience with remote employees, and the experience of other big and small companies, Jason and David present a compelling argument urging companies to ignore geographies and focus on skill and culture-fit instead.

One small nit-pick that would have made Remote even better: I wish Remote spent more time offering concrete advise to companies and people already working remotely on how they can optimize their workflow and interactions among team members. There's a short discussion about this (including a very useful section on security for remote teams, plus a good section of best tools to use for remote work), but that's not the main focus of this book.

Remote is an outstanding book for companies and individuals who haven't considered or are on the fence about remote work. I highly recommend it.

My full review: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Remote: Office Not Required
Remote: Office Not Required by David Heinemeier Hansson (Hardcover - October 29, 2013)
$23.00 $17.04
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.