Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, Fine Performances
First off, the title of this album is misleading. Only one of the tracks stems from the high Renaisance. The rest span from the Reformation period to contemporary. All of them are liturgical, all of a certain calm and meditative style--which could be inferred from the subtitle: "Music for Inner Peace."

But those are quibbles. The voices are excellent. The...
Published on November 1, 2005 by B. Tupper

versus
12 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much choral can tire, but it's still good.
If you enjoy choral music this offering of 16 choral arrangements, conducted by Harry Christophers for DECCA won't offend. Indeed, you might find it rather enjoyable. The selections from various composers capture the essence of the Renaissance-Baroque sound as well as any recording I have head. However, it can, like any steady diet of choral, overwhelm and drag one down...
Published on May 4, 2005 by OperaOnline.us


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, Fine Performances, November 1, 2005
By 
B. Tupper (Ramona, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Renaissance: Music for Inner Peace (Audio CD)
First off, the title of this album is misleading. Only one of the tracks stems from the high Renaisance. The rest span from the Reformation period to contemporary. All of them are liturgical, all of a certain calm and meditative style--which could be inferred from the subtitle: "Music for Inner Peace."

But those are quibbles. The voices are excellent. The direction impeccable. The recording technique outstanding. And the program--given its self-immposed limitations of peaceful liturgical pieces--is very good. It was a stroke of programming genius to put the "miserere" of Gregorio Allegri (1582-1652) back to back with the "agnus dei" of Samuel Barber (1910-1981). The untrained ear might think the two pieces contemporary, even from the same composer, but for one trained in this genre of music, the differences of nuance are delightful and exhilirating.

I tend to prefer complete works, and listening through this album I sometimes wished for some livelier moments, but those quibbles aside, I am happy to assign a full five stars to this excellent recording. One of the advantages of a potpourri album such as this is that one gets to hear works from composers who might otherwise escape notice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Music for Inner Peace Indeed!, August 28, 2005
By 
This review is from: Renaissance: Music for Inner Peace (Audio CD)
Though there is somewhat of a sameness to the mood of this beautifully performed and recorded album of choral works that span centuries, that uniformity of message is the creative force for this survey of music by various and varied composers. The works were selected to provide a parcel of time away from the noise outside the spirit, a place for meditation and solace so desperately needed today.

Harry Christophers conducts the inordinately talented Sixteen singers with support where indicated from early instruments ensemble, The Symphony of Harmony And Invention, in an organic, crystalline, seamless range of songs from the Renaissance to the present. Works include Monteverdi, Tallis, Byrd, Palestrina, Allegri and travel through time to Bruckner, Poulenc, Taverner, Gorecki, and Barber. Each work is lovingly rendered in perfect intonation and control, setting aside the 'individual' for the sonorous, anonymous, other-worldly sound only found in the great choral works through the ages. Christophers' tempi tend toward the languorous - the 'Agnus Dei' Samuel Barber set to his famous 'Adagio for Strings' has to be the slowest on record! - but this tendency further creates a sense of spaciousness found in the great old cathedrals of Europe.

For quality of sound and polish of performance this recording has already won awards. For the food for the soul that it provides there can be no greater 'award' than successfully fulfilling its promise as being Music for Inner Peace. Highly recommended. Grady Harp, August 05
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful CD, November 23, 2007
By 
This review is from: Renaissance: Music for Inner Peace (Audio CD)
I heard some sample tracks on iTunes and they really had an effect on me.. had to have the rest of the album. The singing is awe-inspiring. The Sixteen is an incredible.. "singing troupe"? Whatever you call them they're great.
The one thing I noticed in the recording was a very slight humming that's not audible at normal volumes. But if you really crank it, to like 11, it becomes irritatingly noticeable. I don't think it was my stereo equipment but anything's possible.
Very good CD though. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soothing, September 28, 2007
By 
English Teacher (Wheatland, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Renaissance: Music for Inner Peace (Audio CD)
Even my rap-hardened high school students repond positively to this recording. They want to know what the music is and how to get it. I love this recording. I'm not even sure how I came by it, but it is an important addition to my CD collection. I listen to it on "those" days when I feel like screaming and running. It has a magical effect on the entire classroom. It would also make excellent bedtime listening. If you are after relaxing music, this is a good fit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Energizing and uplifting, February 5, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Renaissance: Music for Inner Peace (Audio CD)
I play this cd around the house and feel more peaceful as I go about my busy days. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure to own, June 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Clear, precise and joyous: a fine collection of great music, each piece with its own significant contribution to the history of the first art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful survey of (mostly) Renaissance Music....with a special surprise...., April 24, 2014
This review is from: Renaissance: Music for Inner Peace (Audio CD)
Most of the versions of every song on this album are close to ideal in comparison to the same pieces done by other groups on more composer focused albums.

I just wanted to mention something no one else has and I can not find elsewhere. On the second to last track, the Salve Regina by Poulenc, it is listed as 9:26 in length. Poulenc's Salve Regina does not last that long - it is not even half that in length. The rest of the time is taken up by a hidden track (which can be in several forms - most often either an unlisted extra track or as part of the same track). This hidden track, starting just a few seconds after the Poulenc ends is Exultet iam Angelica by Giovanni Gabrieli, a joyous Paschal (Easter) motet. I've a couple other versions by other groups and this one easily surpasses them all in grandeur. I find other mixed voice/instrument performances of motets of the late sixteenth century unbalanced, with the instruments too bright and overwhelming the voices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inner peace may be achievable, March 7, 2014
But stirring is the word that comes to mind when I listen to this music. It is 'moving' in more than one sense. I can only listen in small bursts because one can only handle so much existential ... self-awareness? at a time. I would really not call this music for inner peace. If there is anything divine, this channels it, and that incites a range of emotions from awe to dread, only one of which is peaceful.

Aside from the emotional impact (toll?) this type of music can have:

This isn't really music from the Renaissance period, as other reviewers have stated, but this definitely will be more palatable to most people than music from the renaissance period 'proper'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Except the high note, September 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Renaissance: Music for Inner Peace (Audio CD)
I put renaissance and baroque music at the top of my favorites.It was a plus to hear a sample of the music. Maybe I'm a little picky but there are several incredibly high, almost painful notes which take away from any value for meditation. That aside, it is a lovely CD. And who can resist a cover by Botticelli?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Renaissance: Music for Inner Peace, May 10, 2013
By 
Bjorn Viberg (European Union) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Renaissance: Music for Inner Peace (Audio CD)
Renaissance: Music for Inner Peace is a 2011 Decca recording featuring The Sixteen under direction of Harry Christophers. On this recording one has the immense pleasure to hear music by the likes of Palestrina, Tallis and Byrd to mention a few. Truly a soulful and spiritual recording that I highly recommend. 5/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Renaissance: Music for Inner Peace
Renaissance: Music for Inner Peace by The Sixteen (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.