Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars high quality publication, variable quality of artworks
Pierre-Auguste Renoir died in 1919 aged 79. His last years years were clouded by crippling rheumatoid arthritis of his hands, making the act of painting difficult in the extreme. This book is a catalogue of an exhibition focussing on the oeuvre of his last years.

Firstly it must be noted that the publication values of this book are extremely high; excellent...
Published on July 8, 2010 by Ivor E. Zetler

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bleh . . . mediocre Renoir collection, lots of text.
I bought this huge coffee table sized book as an avid fan of Renoir's work. This seems to be more for scholars than anyone interested in his paintings. The vast majority of the 100 or so color plates in this book come from Renoir's 'orange' period. You know, all the paintings have orange nudes, orange still lifes, orange children in red paint suits . . . Just not all that...
Published on November 13, 2010 by Parkermann347


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars high quality publication, variable quality of artworks, July 8, 2010
By 
Ivor E. Zetler (Sydney Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Renoir in the 20th Century (Hardcover)
Pierre-Auguste Renoir died in 1919 aged 79. His last years years were clouded by crippling rheumatoid arthritis of his hands, making the act of painting difficult in the extreme. This book is a catalogue of an exhibition focussing on the oeuvre of his last years.

Firstly it must be noted that the publication values of this book are extremely high; excellent color reproductions, superior paper and very good layout. The accompanying articles are also very readable and useful. My main criticism of the catalogue is the quality of many of the paintings.

The exhibition in Los Angeles featured 54 oil paintings plus a smaller number of bronzes and drawings. Additionally there were comparative paintings by Bonnard, Malliol, Matisse and Picasso. While there are some rewarding portraits on show, the bulk of the paintings are fleshy nudes in the typical Renoir style. It is said that Gabrielle Renard, the Renoir family nanny, posed for many of these later works. Certainly the same expressionless oval face seems to feature on numerous occasions.

Compared with the depth and profundity encountered in the late creations of a giant such as Cezanne, here I often sense repetition and prettiness. It is said that many of Renoir's late works were confined to storage or sold off by museums like the Museum of Modern Art.

In summary, this is a beautifully published book. If you are a fan of this artist it should give great pleasure. Fence sitters should be advised of the variable quality of late Renoir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born to Paint, October 14, 2010
This review is from: Renoir in the 20th Century (Hardcover)
I was fortunate enough to have made it to the Renoir in the 20th Century Exhibit at the Philadelphia Museum of Art on the last day the exhibit was open; it was spectacular beyond words. After buying some gifts in the museum shop, I was able to get this 438-page book at a ridiculously low price, and I am so glad I did. I kept it on my nightstand for a month and read a few pages every night. This resulted in me having the most wonderful, vivid dreams I've ever had, including one where I posed for Renoir in a rose garden (fully clothed and not sneezing from the rose pollen).

Renoir's late works have been criticized by many for his change in style and so-called "rough painting" techniques. But I don't care what the experts say. The man was a genius, and reading the stories in this book behind each of his paintings really made me appreciate his work. The most astonishing aspect of his late paintings is reading about the severity of Renoir's crippling arthritis. His hands were quite deformed from this ailment, yet he persevered and triumphed with his work. He was confined to a wheelchair, was in great pain, and yet he continued to paint. And remember, artists of that era had to work hard to mix their own paints.

While reading the book and connecting the paintings with the stories behind them, you will really come to appreciate Renoir's view of the world and what motivated him to choose the settings he did. My favorite story is about the painting, The Clown. Renoir's young son, Claude, was ordered to model for his father, wearing a red clown suite with a ruffled collar and a pair of tights. Claude squirmed, wiggled and itched his legs while complaining that he was miserable in the tights and wanted to take them off. His parents had to threaten and bribe him to continue. Though he never really stood still, Renoir magically created a most spectacular painting of Claude. If you read the book, you'll be privy to details like these, about his paintings, you just can't learn while visiting a museum exhibit.

Renoir was an artist who HAD to paint, and that he did until the end of his glorious life. I highly recommend reading this book.

P.S. The only thing that could have made this book better would have been a hardcover, to preserve it for many years to come. But then again, I suppose it would have made it less affordable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bleh . . . mediocre Renoir collection, lots of text., November 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Renoir in the 20th Century (Hardcover)
I bought this huge coffee table sized book as an avid fan of Renoir's work. This seems to be more for scholars than anyone interested in his paintings. The vast majority of the 100 or so color plates in this book come from Renoir's 'orange' period. You know, all the paintings have orange nudes, orange still lifes, orange children in red paint suits . . . Just not all that great. There were 2 or so that really jumped out at me, one was a very pretty landscape in Cannes, but the rest pretty much bore me.

I like Renoir at his best, lush color, fantastic composition, for example his 'Boating Party' or the Blue Umbrella painting that everyone has seen. This book was around 500 pages of densely packed text, and medium quality work by Renoir. An auction catalog usually has better works by him, seriously. Just be warned, if you are looking for a grand sized coffee table book with some of Renoir best work, this is not it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting and Beautiful Book, March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I saw this exact book in an art museum gift shop. It was fascinating, but seemed pricey. When I got home I found it on Amazon for a very reasonable price and ordered it. If you're looking for a book of Renoir's most famous paintings, the is NOT the book you're looking for. This book deals with Renoir's post-impressionism, final years and contains more text than art. Being very interested in Renoir the man, I really liked this book. Of course, it was also wonderful to see the original "Luncheon of the Boating Party" at the art museum too (The Philips Collection). So, if you are also interested in Renoir's post-impressionist period, do get this book. If not, there are many other books on Renoir that feature more art than text, concentrating on his great impressionist work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars large color prints, February 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Renoir in the 20th Century (Hardcover)
I'm happy with book, the color plates are numerous.....I was especially interested in reproductions of his nudes and this book has more nudes than any of his other subject matter. The price was right!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Book, December 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Renoir in the 20th Century (Hardcover)
A beautiful large book in excellent condition. A gem for the price. It looks really nice on my bookshelf with my other art books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Renoir in the 20th Century
Renoir in the 20th Century by Auguste Renoir (Hardcover - April 30, 2010)
$85.00 $14.59
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.