Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works
I (literally) fried the last probe for our Taylor P2290 electronic thermometer. Tip: don't let the cord hang over direct heat from a grill.

The replacement works as expected and the metal coated fiber gives me a measure of confidence (though I'm more careful now).
Published on September 28, 2009 by A. Reyes

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can buy direct from Chaney for less
These probes get fried at a much lower temp than the 600-700 claimed. I gave up and bought a dozen directly from Chaney for 6-7 dollars each.

Never had a problem with one doing a spatchcocked chicken - temp is only ~400, but regularly ruin one searing steaks at 550.

UPDATE: When doing steaks/chops etc. where I want to sear the meat, I use the...
Published on July 10, 2011 by B. Carnovale


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works, September 28, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Replacement Probe for Chaney Instruments & Taylor Thermometers (See Models Below)
I (literally) fried the last probe for our Taylor P2290 electronic thermometer. Tip: don't let the cord hang over direct heat from a grill.

The replacement works as expected and the metal coated fiber gives me a measure of confidence (though I'm more careful now).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Call Taylor they will ship another to you for free., June 16, 2011
This review is from: Replacement Probe for Chaney Instruments & Taylor Thermometers (See Models Below)
I purchased a Tru Temp 3528-21 from Target about 3 months ago. I made the mistake of allowing it to get wet in the sink when I washing it. Needless to say it stopped working. I called Taylor @ 1-866-843-3905 and I explained that I was looking for a replacement probe. I was asked how long I had the device and then they asked me for my mailing address. I asked how much the probe would be and I was informed that it will be replaced under warranty. A week later I have it in my possession without charge. The website doesn't mention anything about this and when you email they respond with.

"Thank you for your email. You are looking for a probe model 1470NRP and may order these from Taylor by sending a check or money order to the address below in Las Cruces, NM. Amount per probe is $5 (includes shipping). Make sure to provide a physical address and phone number along with the probe model number and we will have your order shipped to you by UPS."

Free is always better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can buy direct from Chaney for less, July 10, 2011
This review is from: Replacement Probe for Chaney Instruments & Taylor Thermometers (See Models Below)
These probes get fried at a much lower temp than the 600-700 claimed. I gave up and bought a dozen directly from Chaney for 6-7 dollars each.

Never had a problem with one doing a spatchcocked chicken - temp is only ~400, but regularly ruin one searing steaks at 550.

UPDATE: When doing steaks/chops etc. where I want to sear the meat, I use the thermometer to monitor the internal temperature while I raise the internal temperature to 100 degrees (with the grill temp at ~200). I'll turn it once in the process. Once the meat is up to 100, I remove the probe, put the meat on a warm plate, turn all the burners to HIGH, and once the grill is ~500+ put the meat back on for no more than 2-3 minutes per side. Just test by touch at this stage. Perfect medium rare every time. A tiny bit more work, but I haven't fried a probe for over a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pricier but better than original, September 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Replacement Probe for Chaney Instruments & Taylor Thermometers (See Models Below)
I bought a Taylor 1478 and promptly incinerated the probe. This replacement is expensive but much better and I hope I will get a long life out of it. The 1478 isn't listed as a model it will work with but it works great with mine.

Taylor Digital Cooking Thermometer with Probe and Timer

You can get cheaper replacements from Taylor but I have a feeling they are plastic and will just burn up one after the other. I'm very happy with this probe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Major improvement, September 9, 2010
By 
Bruce MacDermott (Berkeley, California United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Replacement Probe for Chaney Instruments & Taylor Thermometers (See Models Below)
This replacement probe has a much more robust design compared to the original probe that came with our Taylor Thermometer. It works perfectly with the Taylor unit. A great way to save money as opposed to purchasing a complete new digital thermometer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Metal Braided Cord, November 30, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Replacement Probe for Chaney Instruments & Taylor Thermometers (See Models Below)
I think the metal braid will help this cord last longer, but it is a little bit shorter than the original cord that came with the unit. It still reaches the thermometer, and it works just fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does what it's supposed to., August 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Replacement Probe for Chaney Instruments & Taylor Thermometers (See Models Below)
I only give this 3 stars because it has to be replaced from time to time and costs as much as an entire new product, including the thermometer itself! Not fair, guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wish it was 1 foot longer but the quality is great, May 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Replacement Probe for Chaney Instruments & Taylor Thermometers (See Models Below)
pros
great quality
easy to clean
fits perfectly

cons
wish it was 1 foot longer

i am already ordering another one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful replacement, May 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Replacement Probe for Chaney Instruments & Taylor Thermometers (See Models Below)
This is very durable, easily to use through oven door, and it provides a very accurate reading for all my cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great., March 26, 2013
By 
Bill C (Colorado, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Replacement Probe for Chaney Instruments & Taylor Thermometers (See Models Below)
Other than costing too close to replacing the whole thing, it's all good. I think this is the vulnerable part of the device, so you might want to consider buying two probes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.