Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Repo Men (Unrated)
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Adele The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$9.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon March 31, 2010
Being summarily clobbered by movie-goers and critics alike, REPO MEN will obviously not be for everyone. But it will be a great movie for the right person, and I was obviously one of those "right" people.

So who is this movie directed at and why? Well, it's a combination of a smart espionage thriller in a science fiction setting, with a little comedy thrown in for good measure. This might sound like a recipe for disaster, but it is anything but. But is it right for you? That's a tough call. If you're in the medical field and are concerned about healthcare insurance, it will definitely pique your interest. If you enjoyed such films as Kill Bill and Bringing Out the Dead, this will be right up your alley.

So why did I rate the film so high? Let's look at it for a minute...

It's topical without being "in your face." It never tells you to believe that private insurance carriers are "bad" and simply shows us a ridiculous possible future where organs are built in factories and everyone who needs a pancreas, a liver, an ear, or whatever, can get one ...for a price. The Union is run by an unscrupulous business man named Frank (Liev Schreiber, Defiance). He's basically a used car salesman trying to get you to sign on the dotted line for organs you desperately need. But make sure you don't miss any payments after you've gotten your new kidney. Why? Because if you don't pay the exorbitant prices and interest rates, your organ will be repossessed. Oh yes, even if it's your heart. How will you survive without it? You won't.

Remy (Jude Law, Closer) and Jake (Forest Whitaker, Where the Wild Things Are) are two of these Repo Men and they're very good at their jobs. With surgical precision, they can track and excise overdue organ owners with gory efficiency. But when Remy is forced to get a new heart and begins falling behind on payments, he begins to see the other side of his previous life.

This sounds like a pretty straightforward premise. A sort of Darth Vader understanding where his son was coming from plot. And that is only partially true. Jude Law does an excellent job playing a tough-guy with absolutely no conscious about ending a person's life if their delinquent on their bill. He is absolutely believable as a disconnected man only interested in money and being a great contract employee for The Union. This is seen early on when we witness him retrieving a liver in a rapid manner, making a beautiful incision and ripping the organ out. He heads to the previous owner's sink, rinses it off, packs it up, and heads out while stepping over the now probably lifeless man. Impressive. The gore is essential here to show the audience exactly HOW disconnected Remy is from humanity.

Jake, his partner, is even further gone than Remy. He enjoys his job so much that he's willing to do anything to anyone in order to ensure he and Remy can keep working together.

In the midst of Remy's life is a relationship that's falling apart and a son who is the only thing that keeps him remotely grounded. But when Remy suddenly needs a heart replacement, things rapidly change. You can see the wheels spinning in the back of his head after he returns to work. Would a Repo Man come after him if he failed to pay? What does it mean to have a piece of metal in his chest where his heart used to be? Does this make him less human? Or, in some bizarre way, does it make him more human? These are questions that are left up to the audience to decide.

The ending was telegraphed just enough to give it a fun twist without coming out of the blue. I kind of picked up on it after a significant fight sequence, and you might to if you pay attention. It is enough of an "a-ha!" moment that'll make some film watchers gasp.

With the current, raw, political climate I think this film was excellently timed to hit the big screen. Think about where our healthcare is going and who you want to control it, and this film will cut into you, too.
88 comments|59 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2010
This is an excellent blu ray movie with excellent futuristic visuals set in an ultra modern metropolis. Based on a credit system, if you have an organ transplant, and have not payed your bill on time, instead of paying a late fee, a repo man is sent to repossess the organ while you are still alive! You either die on the spot, or if you have other means for a quick transplant, you better do it before it's too late! Imagine if that became your future, with black market donors being a refuge for those who can't afford it. This movie is insanely excellent with two men whose job is to rip your insides out for pay!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2014
A friend told me about this movie, and I suppose I was thinking it would be full of subtle ethical dilemmas. I was counting on the violence. I get that these guys are supposed to be cold-hearted men-on-a-mission, but in the first half hour there was very little reason to watch them as people. So I was done. Guess I'm not the target demographic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2016
I'm obssssed with the scene in this film where the two main characters voluntarily surrender all the parts of themselves that were up for Repo. Honestly, this is one of the most unique ideas, and that is one of the sexiest scenes, I have encountered in film in recent years. I didn't go into this movie expecting to find a gorgeous love story, but that is exactly what I found.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2011
Wouldn't it be wonderful if we were able to replace vital organs as needed with no complications? Who wouldn't want to be able to see better, hear farther, live longer, ease the burden of things like Alzheimer's from our loved ones? But nothing comes free, right? In today's consumer-driven society, people generally appear to have great difficult grasping the difference between "necessity" and "desire". However, you better be very clear in your own mind about what both of those things mean to you, as well as possessing a definitive understanding of exactly what you are willing to pay to fulfill either. You better be able to pay in full too, or at the very least, keep up your payments faithfully. Because in this subtly dystopian future, The Union will send repo men to reclaim their products if you don't!

Remy (Jude Law) and his best friend Jake (Forest Whitaker) were soldiers once. Perhaps that made it too easy for them to make the transition into the private sector as repossession agents for The Union. Repo men once recognized by the general public, are most definitely viewed with a fearful respect that is anything but flattering. In fact, this biased view of a jaded society is not only causing Remy to doubt his career choice, it is seriously upsetting the happy apple cart of his marriage.

Still, repossessing the mechanical hearts, livers, eyes, and other essential bits manufactured and sold at exorbitant rates to a mostly willing public is better than trying to finesse a reluctant customer into signing the purchasing contract, isn't it? Those salesmen like Frank (Liev Schreiber), seem like heartless soulless demons devoted to the almighty dollar in comparison. From Remy's point of view, the people who sign those contracts are well aware of what they are getting into, and if they choose to break the law by not paying what is owed in a timely fashion, then surely it is his noble duty to enforce the law by reclaiming the company's property.

He can't understand why his job causes his wife such anxiety or inexplicable anger, or his son discomfort at school and disturbing dreams at night. It's just a job, right? Remy loves his family, but discovers that love isn't always enough to fix what's broken. Now that it's his name on the dotted line, will Remy get his priorities straight before a repo man shows up at his door?

Directed by Miguel Sapochnik, and written by Eric Garcia and Garret Lerner, this film provokes thought, and is complex enough to support multiple viewings. At a run time of 111 minutes, it can feel like it takes it's time getting to the point though, and some viewers will certainly feel as if "the point" becomes meaningless or over-developed as we watch the characters Remy and Jake take form. Perhaps the balance works better in the written work, Repossession Mambo (2009), also written by Eric Garcia, but I have yet to read it for comparison.

If you don't read the subtle clues along the way correctly, the film's plot twist at the end is a good one, sure to dazzle some and disappoint others. The fight scenes were quite well done and entertaining, if not terribly important to the story. Potentially humorous moments fall rather flat as these are not characters given easily to humor or an easy compatibility with their fellow man. Rated for mature audiences due to scenes of a graphic nature, sexual content, language, and violence, Repo Men's overall look is rather slick and edgy.

Ultimately I was entertained, but felt that the overall presentation lacks a few vital elements to really give soul to this work. The focus is so strongly riveted to the dissociative in society, and the tale itself rather choppily delivered, that I feel audiences might have difficulty associating with main characters or really caring about how the story will end. Repo Men is a subtly horrific sci-fi drama made more complete with thoughtful imput from the viewer.

This film displays the potentially bleak existence possible in a society driven by commercialism, trendy surgical upgrades, and unreasoning desire. This is not a happy tale, nor will love, unrequited or otherwise, conquer all. This is an unlikely romance between a man and the dream of what his life could become; a rather Gothic reminder that only death and taxes are true certainties in life, and all too often our greatest dreams become our worst nightmares.

Final Thoughts:

Thought provoking, interesting tale, good cast, great effects and fight scenes.

Potentially disorienting, depressing or off-putting to viewers.

Entertaining, but does not sucessfully fulfill its potential
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2014
Jude Law very handsome in this movie.

However, nothing beats Bruce in the following movie:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002UZCJP2?ie=UTF8&camp=213733&creative=393185&creativeASIN=B002UZCJP2&linkCode=shr&tag=swiclu-20&linkId=Y6X5LMFU3YBKCEWP

Cheers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2011
I watched this movie with my wife while we were eating, that was a big mistake. There are some pretty gory scenes of internal organs being ripped out of people. That is not something you want to see while eating. Now if your planning on eating while watching this movie be warned. This is your typical action movie with a moral issue. If you were into "I Robot" this was pretty close to that. This is more of a suspense thriller with some action compared to "I Robot" that had more action. There are plenty of action scenes, enough to make action fans happy. The only problem is Forrest Whitaker. You just can't get in to his character. Whitaker seems to be a great B-movie actor. Whitaker doesn't quite fit in with Jude Law as best friends. Also Jude Law's character felt a little flat and that could be because of what he was feeding off from Whitaker. This movie had the potential to be more but it is a good b-movie film. This is not a movie you would spend the price of a theater ticket on. This is your typical rental movie that you would pay a dollar on red box. This movie was just ok. It will get lost with all the other great films. "Inception" is a far superior movie and has more to offer than this film. Like I said this is a great rental flick but don't waste your money buying "Repo Men" there are far too many other great action films out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2012
second time i have seen it in a long while...is judged incompatible with other genres for those who incline to them and i agree...is likely to feel empty to those not prepared to embrace it by a fairly deep involvement with scifi...as one of the prepossessed, starting with two of the great founders, h.g. wells, and jules verne, i found a second browse of it to be worth the visit, and enjoyed refreshing much faded recollections of it...my sister has a strong preference for costume dramas...i prefer action, dramas that do not force upon me 18th century austrian wars or elizabethan court intrigues...and never miss a scifi if it has any quality at all...so...for you heinleiner mainlainers, i expect you will find rm to be fairly satisfying...others may want to keep their distance as it's good, but no classic...ciao.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 31, 2013
I'd heard many things about this movie. And I was stoked to finally see it. It was a little predictable toward the end. Characters have problems and find resolutions, standard hollywood tropes. But the director did a great job, the writing was up to par and the dialogue/acting really brought the story through.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2013
Ever wonder why you can't buy body parts just like you can buy false teeth or fake breasts? Well the answer isn't in this movie but it is fair representation of what could happen if such market for parts existed. I bought the movie because of the subject (market for body parts) which I think should exist.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$3.99
$3.99
$3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.