Customer Reviews


215 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Know You Want It Baby Geneco's Got It
Seriously, why are you even reading this review. Obviously you have seen this movie and love it. You find yourself singing Zydrate Anatomy in the shower. Just buy this CD. Seriously, stop reading, scroll up, press the Add To Cart button and buy this. Then listen to it. Heck, create a religion and worship it. Our children will be asking us about this movie one day...
Published on January 29, 2009 by Matthew Kunka

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Soundtrack
I've read the reviews here and for some reason most are focusing on the movie. This is the SOUNDTRACK. The movie is awesome; I love it and know the songs by heart. However, the soundtrack is disappointing. I was wanting the songs in the movie with a few more (like Needle into a Bug) as a bonus and instead the music is very different and, in a few instances, the words...
Published on June 11, 2009 by Amanda Beckman


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Know You Want It Baby Geneco's Got It, January 29, 2009
By 
This review is from: Repo! The Genetic Opera (Audio CD)
Seriously, why are you even reading this review. Obviously you have seen this movie and love it. You find yourself singing Zydrate Anatomy in the shower. Just buy this CD. Seriously, stop reading, scroll up, press the Add To Cart button and buy this. Then listen to it. Heck, create a religion and worship it. Our children will be asking us about this movie one day. Show them the light....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REPO rocks hard., October 7, 2008
By 
Holly "junkstory" (Los Angeles, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Repo! The Genetic Opera (Audio CD)
I've been excited about this movie since I first heard of its existence, but I never could have predicted such a rocking, intense, glorious set of songs to accompany the film's originality. I expected good, but I got brilliant.

The soundtrack plays alternately like a gothic/industrial album [Legal Assassin, Zydrate Anatomy], a quirky piece of novelty comedy [Mark It Up, We Started This Op'ra S**t], and moving musical tragedy [Gold, Genetic Emancipation]. The elements of traditional opera somehow manage to mesh with hardcore guitar riffing. It's an eclectic music fan's dream. All the players, especially Terrance Zdunich [and even Paris Hilton] deliver vocally, and the production is nearly impeccable. [It's easy to see why Yoshiki jumped on this project, since it plays essentially like Violet UK: The Musical.]

I don't normally rave so consistently about records - let alone soundtracks - but I have nothing bad to say here. REPO is amusing, moving, and deliciously dark. Like Dexter with sopranos, or Sweeney Todd discovers distortion. Beauty meets degradation in a truly fascinating way.

TESTIFY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fusion of gothic rock with some operatic qualities, October 3, 2008
By 
This review is from: Repo! The Genetic Opera (Audio CD)
Repo! The Genetic Opera, with the trashy Paris Hilton, the unintelligible Sarah Brightman, the washed up girl from "Spy Kids" and the director of torture-porn fame Darren Lynn Bousman does sound like a formula for failure, however, after listening to the Soundtrack several times it may not turn out that bad after all.

Courtesy of Sarah Brightman and (especially) Paul Sorvino little operatic phrases fill otherwise Gothic-style Rock/Pop Rock tracks which offers a unique experience we haven't seen in musicals before (not that it is unheard of in music in general, think Nightwish). But at times it's hard to tell whether shifts in genre are intentional or the result of poor arrangements. A strange transition from the gothic (albeit ringtone repetitive) "Things you see In a Graveyard" " to "Infected" comes to mind which would not sound out of place in a typical teenage girl pop-rock band - although it is quite catchy and here Alexa Vega proves she can sing. Perhaps if I saw them within the context of the film (and in the correct order), I would appreciate the tracks even more - but it doesn't appear Lionsgate thinks the movie is commercially viable to have a wide release.

Still, even without the movie there are many notable tracks: "Legal Assassin" is a great rock number performed very well by Anthony Head, the rhythmic "Mark it up" and the deepish "21st Century Cure" are also among my favourites. "I didn't know I'd Love you So Much" and "Genetic Emancipation" are contrasting and (especially the former) moving tracks that hold their own, even if a little pop-ish.

The two bests tracks are though, in my opinion "Zydrate Anatomy" and "Gold". Paris Hilton is actually not that bad either and I feel without her the former would lose something (not that she has a big part). "Gold" is just, amazing, and has such a brilliant and moving performance by Paul Sorvino that it is my favourite track on the album.

It's hard to tell whether "Repo!" and its music will endure, I think I need to see the movie - which may also change my opinion on the music and the significance of particular tracks too. But for now, strong lead performances, catchy often 'epic' music and few boring tracks make the soundtrack of "Repo! The Genetic Opera" a worthwhile purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Did you see the movie?, June 7, 2009
This review is from: Repo! The Genetic Opera (Audio CD)
Do yourself a favor- watch the movie before you buy this. This movie is definitely not for everyone, but if you like it, you'll like the soundtrack.

<rant>
I don't understand why people buy soundtracks if they haven't seen the movie. I further don't understand why people buy soundtracks if they HAVE seen the movie and dislike it.

This movie has a huge following of underground lovers, and RHPS(Rocky Horror Picture Show) enthusiasts, as well as independent movie lovers. If this doesn't sound like you, then OF COURSE YOU WON'T FALL IN LOVE WITH THE SOUNDTRACK! It's a fricken musical, people! You don't go buy the soundtrack to Rent or Spring Awakening without understanding the plot and think it's the best **** ever, what makes you think that will happen here?
</rant>

Some people will not like this movie, or the soundtrack. Fine. Some people bought either or both without knowing what they were buying. I say, it's your own fault for spending your money without knowing what you were buying. I for one, loved it. 'nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love it... BUT, February 12, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Repo! The Genetic Opera (Audio CD)
Okay I got hooked on Repo via the new Musical on DVD. Anthony Head is perfect. Ms Vega is outstanding. Paul Sorvino was a complete surprise, wonderful job. Even Paris was good in her role.
But back to the cd after watching the movie. So when I bought the cd I was certain I'd be completely happy. While I love the songs still I am vexed by the way the cd was cut. The songs are not in the order of the movie, very dissappointing. And worse they cut out so many perfect song moments!! You get 2 or 3 songs not shown in the movie but what's the point. I would have rather they extended the other songs and left those off. Like 'Bug a Needle'. Without seeing what this song was supposed to be about, it made no sense at all! They left out the start of the Night Surgeon where Rotti is forcing Nathan to remember. Come on guys that was beautiful work!!! Why wasn't it on the cd?? And why wasn't Gravdigger's last song on the cd. It was a very important message. The 'dummy's' part is not included in Thankless Job, I can deal with that better. Because I just end up singing that part. hehe
Either way this is a phenominal musical and if you haven't given it a try you should. But warning you will either LOVE IT or HATE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock Opera at it's best!, December 19, 2008
By 
This review is from: Repo! The Genetic Opera (Audio CD)
Three, count 'em, three (!) songs from Repo! The Genetic Opera are being considered for Academy Award nomination. That shows how amazing this film is. Sadly, Lionsgate does not consider this film to be all that amazing, and is not doing anything to support this nomination. Generally, a film company would send letters and sample DVDs to the Academy members, promoting their film. Lionsgate, however, is run by a bunch of idiots and they are not doing this. So, it is up to the fans to promote Repo! Here are links to the three songs that are up for the nomination:
"Zydrate Anatomy"
"Chase The Morning"
"Chromaggia"

Set against a futuristic backdrop where an epidemic of organ failures is plaguing humanity, people turn to the unscrupulous Geneco Corporation to purchase replacements for their failing vitals. Not everybody makes good on their payments, however, which is where Nathan Wallace (Anthony Head of Buffy the Vampire Slayer fame) goes into action as one of Geneco's "repo men", brutally reclaiming defaulters organs at scalpel-point.

I loved it! It's basically a very stylized, horror rock opera. I was a little worried about Alexa Vega and Paris Hilton being lead characters in it, but Alexa Vega was marvelous, and Paris Hilton was basically being herself (an heiress to a multibillion-if-not-more-dollar company who's obsessed with fashion and thinks she's capable of singing), so she couldn't really go wrong. Her character didn't sing much either, so you don't really have to hear much of her voice. The songs are incredibly catchy and well written, and the actors had the voices that really brought the songs to life. Imo, the best songs are "Zydrate Anatomy," "Infected," and "Legal Assassin." There wasn't as much gore as expected, but the gore in the movie was great. Lots of someone being cut open and then the Repo Man reaching into his/her abdomen and taking various organs.

I've read/heard a lot of complaints about the film saying "oh the story's too complex and weird!" or "the lyrics were awful and poorly written!" You know what? The movie's called Repo! The Genetic Opera. "Opera" being the key word here. The melodrama and crazy story lines are a staple of classic operas! The story line is just like many classic opera story lines. I read someone's comment that the only opera aspect missing is a mistaken identity, which I find to be totally true. Weird lyrics are also a staple of classic operas. I mean, come on, they sing EVERYTHING in operas. Even "oh no, I've dropped my hat" gets turned into a ridiculously emotional song.

Overall, I loved this movie. The cast was great, the songs were great, and the style of the film was really interesting. I loved the nods to classic opera as well.

Final Verdict: 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!!!, April 8, 2009
By 
This review is from: Repo! The Genetic Opera (Audio CD)
Saying straight out, if you love the movie you'll love the CD. There's a couple of songs that are on the album that weren't in the movie. They're only 30 second long songs but they're still great songs. I haven't stopped listening to this album ever since I got it. Listening to it everywhere now makes me love Repo more and more. If you love the movie then get the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forget Zydrate, This Album is Addicting, December 11, 2008
This review is from: Repo! The Genetic Opera (Audio CD)
First of all, aside from watching clips on Youtube and reading a thing or two on the movie's website, I know nothing about the film. So this review is all about the music.

Second of all, DO NOT buy this album simply because you're a fan of Sarah Brightman, Paris Hilton, Anthony Stewart Head, or Alexa Vega. A lot of the people who do so will be horribly disappointed (and some even offended) by their purchase. The lyrics to most of the songs are very vulgar and explicit and certainly not for everyone. So do some research about the movie, listen to the samples, and look up the tracks on Youtube before deciding if Repo! is right for you.

With that out of the way, I would like to say that I absolutely love this album. Almost every track uses a different musical genre, some tracks slipping between genres seemingly mid beat. From the punk rock-style "Seventeen" to the pure Italian aria "Chromaggia", there is something for everyone to like at least a bit.

My favorite tracks, however, are those with Anthony Stewart Head (and, no, I am not a Buffy fan.) I even love "Thankless Job", a lowbrow song with heavy trombone and tuba accompaniment about ripping out the organs from an non-anesthetized human being. I love these tracks so much because Anthony Stewart Head does AMAZING things with his voice. I think "Legal Assassin" is the best example of his talent because he goes from a mourning single father to a murdering monster with chilling ease. The music alone will have you believing in Nathan's split personality. And "I Didn't Know I'd Love You So Much" is so moving that I was tearing up by the end and I didn't even know exactly what was going on!

I'm not a fan of gore and sex fests, but I have to say that something about this album sparked with me. Looking past all the vulgar lyrics and explicit images, there is a story about accepting who you are, rejecting the media's image of a perfect body, and following your heart to wherever it leads you. Keep that in mind before writing this album off as Saw: The Musical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock Opera Has Never Been This Fun, February 11, 2010
By 
NineseveN (Underneath your bed) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Repo! The Genetic Opera (Audio CD)
I hate musicals, with a passion. I even hate people who burst out into song in real life for no apparent reason. It grates my nerves something fierce. But I saw the preview for this and I blind-bought it (mostly because Anthony Stewart Head is in it and I love his acting). I liked it so much I went to a shadowcast of it in a local theater and had a blast. I'm not into things like "Rocky Horror" either, but Repo just has something to it that makes it stand out against most everything else. The cast is pitch perfect for their roles (even Paris Hilton, who seemingly does have some "pipes"). I'd say that if you like rock operas, or if you liked the Buffy the Vampire Slayer episode, "Once More with Feeling" or perhaps even Sweeney Todd, (all of which, coincidentally, include Anthony Stewart Head in the cast), Repo is a safe bet.

As for the Blu-ray portion of this review, the audio is just right and for a lower budget film, it still shines on hi-def visually. It's not as polished and punchy as premier bluray titles, but that's to be expected given the budget and look of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very fun, now I can't wait to see the film!, October 6, 2008
By 
This review is from: Repo! The Genetic Opera (Audio CD)
I'm gonna get out and say this right now: I'm no expert on music. If I hear something and like it I buy it. Simple as that. So on that note I'll say that I loved the music from the trailer for this film so I had to buy the soundtrack.
And I really like it. I've always had a soft spot for metal/goth/industral stuff so that helped. If you're not into that don't worry, there are plenty of songs on this CD that fall into other genres. And it doesn't have any sort of traditional love song which I appreciate.
The songs are rather short and it's a bit hard to completely piece together the plot with them (unlike, say, Sweeney Todd, which gave you everything on the soundtrack) and I don't see how it can be a full on Opera (with no speaking, only singing) without all the story in the music but that just makes me want to see it more. Now I need to know what happens!
If you enjoy non-traditional musicals (I wouldn't recommend this to my grandmother!) then you'll enjoy this soundtrack. And cross your fingers that the limited release comes to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Repo! The Genetic Opera
Repo! The Genetic Opera by Various (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.