Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!
I am a huge Leslie Nielson fan. I saw this movie years ago when it was first released. Mr. Nielson was in top form, and Ms. Blair was hilarious as well. I just had to admire her for making fun of herself and reprising her role from the original film. I don't think this movie would have worked without her.
Published on July 7, 2007 by Alan S. Fotheringham

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars repossessed ( the lost collection )
o.k. i thought the movie was very funny, but if they are going to put movies on dvd from old video tapes, use a master copy, yes people it looks like it was copied from a video tape, picture not clear, sound not bad, if i wanted a crappy copy i would have put in the old video tape, because it looks the same but its on dvd
Published on December 28, 2010 by mickeymoo


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, July 7, 2007
This review is from: Repossessed (Amazon Instant Video)
I am a huge Leslie Nielson fan. I saw this movie years ago when it was first released. Mr. Nielson was in top form, and Ms. Blair was hilarious as well. I just had to admire her for making fun of herself and reprising her role from the original film. I don't think this movie would have worked without her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Unique Review . . ., September 8, 2006
This review is from: Repossessed (DVD)
Okay, so I first saw this movie on HBO down in Daytona Beach, in a Hilton hotel room, with my parents, at the age of nine, a year after Repossessed was first Released. I will be twenty four this year, have a college degree, and have a fabulous career. I have always kept fond memories of this movie in the back of my mind thanks to my mother who told me it was okay to look after Linda Blair puked on her family. When I opened my eyes again, the first thing I saw was the Statue of Liberty puking all over the place. A few years later I purchased Repossessed on a used VHS cassette from a video rental store that was going out of business. The rest is history. Anyway, this film and I have had quite a past beginning from a very early age, and I've come to the conclusion that you folks out there who hate this film need to lighten up. For God's sake, just laugh for once in your life. Sure, the humor may not be all that sophisticated, but what do you expect from projectile vomit? Can anyone out there simply put aside their preconceived notions for ninety minutes, and for once enjoy a film about mindless crap? Stop looking for a message. Stop looking for any continuity. Just sit back, and laugh at green puke for God's sake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Exorcist in a funny way, August 23, 2001
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Repossessed [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I am a big Exorcist fan and after i saw Repossessed,i thought that it is kind of The Exorcist but in a funny way. What makes the movie good is that Linda Blair played in The Exorcist Regan (she did great!) and plays in Repossessed kind of like Regan but than in a funny way. For people that don't have the courage to watch the VERY scary parts of The Exorcist than they must watch Repossessed. Because i think that Linda Blair is a great actress and people must see at least Repossessed because she can act great when it comes to demonic possessions. If Linda Blair reads this than i want to say to her that she is a great actress and must keep up the good work. And the last thing i want to say is that people must watch Repossessed and The Exorcist because their both are great movies. Greetings to all The Exorcist Fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars repossessed ( the lost collection ), December 28, 2010
This review is from: Repossessed (The Lost Collection) (DVD)
o.k. i thought the movie was very funny, but if they are going to put movies on dvd from old video tapes, use a master copy, yes people it looks like it was copied from a video tape, picture not clear, sound not bad, if i wanted a crappy copy i would have put in the old video tape, because it looks the same but its on dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The movie itself is great, but what poor film quality!, June 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Repossessed (The Lost Collection) (DVD)
I'd read the reviews of the quality of the print used for this DVD before I purchased it, and they were right. The film quality itself is quite poor. It looks like it was copied off an old VHS copy, not the clean good master copy. The movie itself is a good film, but the quality leaves much to be desired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Satan Comes through the TV, June 23, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Repossessed (DVD)
It works for me.

This is a very dated comedy but it is good for a few laughs from those who might remember the cultural references. The emphasis is on "a few laughs". This movie certainly does not live up to the standard set by the NAKED GUN series or to that set by AIRPLANE. That's sad since it is from the same source and Leslie Nielsen plays the lead.

The story is of an exorcist who has gone into retirement after his last successful exorcism of a young girl. Many years later, that girl, now a woman, is repossessed while watching TV. The exorcist is reluctant to come out of retirement and tries to delegate the work to a young priest. The priest winds up getting help from a televangelist at first and then just about every other religious figure imaginable after that. Finally, it is the old exorcist who must save the day.

This show is filled to the brim with lowbrow comedy and sight gags. It is also full of pop and political cultural references from the era in which it was made. If you remember these, you will get a bit more out of it. It also helps to have seen the original EXORCIST.

This is not great comedy but it was somewhat amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Exorcist in a funny way, August 23, 2001
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Repossessed [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I am a big Exorcist fan and after i saw Repossessed,i thought that it is kind of The Exorcist but in a funny way. What makes the movie good is that Linda Blair played in The Exorcist Regan (she did great!) and plays in Repossessed kind of like Regan but than in a funny way. For people that don't have the courage to watch the VERY scary parts of The Exorcist than they must watch Repossessed. Because i think that Linda Blair is a great actress and people must see at least Repossessed because she can act great when it comes to demonic possessions. If Linda Blair reads this than i want to say to her that she is a great actress and must keep up the good work. And the last thing i want to say is that people must watch Repossessed and The Exorcist because their both are great movies. Greetings to all The Exorcist Fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie. Lousy Transfer!!, April 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Repossessed (The Lost Collection) (DVD)
I love this movie but when I got it I thought to myself wow my vhs copy looks better than this one. Terrible copy but watchable. The 3 start was not for the movie but for probably the worst dub I've ever seen. If you buy this get it on the 4 movie pack. It's probably a better deal and maybe a better dub!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Repossessed--A Hilarious Spoof on The Exorcist!, January 3, 2010
This review is from: Repossessed (Amazon Instant Video)
The first time I saw this movie, I had just come home from the hospital with a broken ankle and lots of pain. Despite being in excruciating pain, this movie was so funny that I was able to forget myself and laugh and laugh for a couple of hours. Having Linda Blair play her original character helped the movie a lot, as did the repeats of some of the special effects of the original film like having her turn her head all the way around. (This was especially appealing to me in both movies, because as a small child I used to try to do that, not realizing that your backbone makes it impossible.) I loved the use of music for comedic effect in the movie and really cannot say enough about how much fun this movie is. It's ok to be silly, and considering the fact that this is a spoof of a movie which reportedly had people vomiting and fainting in the theaters, I think silly is a good thing. It may not be for everyone, but I will always remember it fondly because I enjoyed the humor so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "DEVILISHLY FUNNY", May 26, 2000
This review is from: Repossessed [VHS] (VHS Tape)
If ever there were a film that was just asking to be satirized it had to be the Exorcist. All the elements for a great spoof were already in place: pea soup vomiting, shaking beds, twisting heads and levitation. Just take away the suspense; add Leslie Nielson and voila`, instant mayhem.
The film is not quite in the same league as Airplane or the Naked Gun, and will be appreciated mainly by those who have seen the Exorcist. Nevertheless it is still a very enjoyable, fun filled romp. Linda Blair plays the lady possessed in a role hilariously analogous to her lead in the Exorcist 17 years earlier. Leslie Nielson steps into the shoes of Max Von Sydow and delivers another riotous performance. The movie parodies the Exorcist in many ways, moving along at a similar pace, but delivering an alternative approach. Almost like viewing the same film but in a dimension of aberration.
Horror and comdy fans alike will enjoy this movie. If you're not brave enough to watch the Exorcist, but want to taste some of the furore surrounding it then this might just be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Repossessed (The Lost Collection)
Repossessed (The Lost Collection) by Bob Logan (DVD - 2009)
$9.98 $6.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.