Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid, practical advice, February 3, 2014
Let me just tell you this: this book will set you up for life. Go google your name. What happens? Do you like what you see? Do online searches represent the authentic you? It’s important to your career and can affect both your professional and personal life. A solid online reputation will serve you everyday of your life.

Andy Beal’s book is an incredible, 30-day action plan that can help you build a better online reputation for yourself, your business, brand and/or organization. Every page seems to have practical advice that keeps me jumping back and forth between the book and my computer to put the principles into practice. This book covers everything from “what is online reputation management” to “finding your centers of influence” to “earning trusted reviews” and even “cleaning up the Google mess.” And that’s just the tip of the iceberg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will have a more solid understanding of reputation management after reading this book, February 3, 2014
This is the day and age where we as a society post everything, but should we? There may be things you are posting now in high school or college that might come back to haunt you when looking for a job later in life, or when you are starting your career. This book goes into great detail as to why this is all important and why you need to take control of your reputation online NOW. If you are in need of help with Online Reputation Management, or even just trying to learn more, this book was written for you. Hands down one of the best resources on taking control of your reputation online that I have ever read. I highly recommend this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Concise, Thorough, Practical Reputation Management Advice, February 25, 2014
By 
Ben Wills (Boulder, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This book does exactly what Andy set out to do with it: He walks you through exactly how to think about, and exactly what to do, in order to both improve your existing online reputation, as well as manage it day to day, including in crises.

The parts I found most valuable were:
* "Why I'm Anti Pronoun" in the "Keeping the Search Engine Spiders Happy" chapter as a technique to help improve your search engine listings by making one small change in how you talk about yourself online.
* His example in the Tools section of the "Create Amazing Content" chapter gave me several ideas of easy-to-make tools/web pages online both to improve my reputation as well as my marketing efforts.
* The "Better Press Relations" chapter is one of the most concise and practical pieces I've ever seen written on how to get started and maintain your public relations efforts online. It often seem nebulous and complicated, but Andy makes it very easy to understand and implement in a very powerful way.
* "Identifying Your Detractors" was incredibly eye opening for me in seeing the seven types of people who can negatively affect your brand, their interests, and why and how they hold power.

And, finally, the step-by-step, practical advice on what to do in those various worst case scenarios are so clearly outlined in "The First Steps When Your Reputation is Under Attack," "When You Mess Up, Fess Up," and "A Reputation Attack Without Merit" that it's worth thousands of times more than the cost of the book. Even if you end up hiring someone, internally or as a consultant, to improve your reputation, you need to know this stuff. The ten minutes it takes you to read those three chapters will save you thousands of dollars in the long run.

If you do anything online, especially if you have customers, you absolutely must have this book on hand, at the very least, for when that unfortunate and public reputation situation does happen. Because it will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get Repped or lose $$, February 21, 2014
While the author says in the book that a natural review profile should have some 4's, some 3's, some 2's and the odd 1, I'm afraid I couldn't do that and have to rate this book a 5.

It's a common sense approach to reputation management that anyone can read, understand and take action on. The breakdown into 30 days of advice is maybe the only minor negative I'd give the book, as you want to jump forward and get to the next section before tomorrow. But for those that maybe want to take their time, it is a nice breakdown into the different facets of reputation management, with exercises to work through to encourage you to determine how you as an individual, or how your company can prepare for, respond to, and survive a reputation attack.

All in all the definitive reputation management handbook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are going it alone with your business or personal pages, this book is well worth it., February 18, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Repped: 30 Days to a Better Online Reputation (Kindle Edition)
I just finished Andy Beal's quick book, Repped, reading the Kindle version. In a very short amount of time, Andy goes through all managing reputation through search, through social media and even crisis communications for when you get attacked. He has a good ability to take complicated concepts and convey them in a simple way. Even if you don't have any experience in SEO or marketing, you can understand and benefit from this book. The practical nature makes it useful, even for a busy business owner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reviews cannot be ignored - use this book to create a top-shelf online reputation!, February 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Small business owners either embrace or ignore online reviews. Every week we hear about businesses blaming customers for bad service or discounting a bad reviewer as a "kook." Honestly - every customer's opinion counts, even those that are disgruntled. Andy Beal is a master at helping companies, small and large, manage their online reputation - that he's written this manual for everyone in the world to use is something you shouldn't ignore.

For you to hire Andy to do this 30-day process for your business - you'd be investing tens of thousands of dollars - now you have a step by step guide for less than $20 - that's a bargain EVERY day! Buy this book right NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Guide to Understanding Online Reputation Management, February 15, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Repped: 30 Days to a Better Online Reputation (Kindle Edition)
I consider Andy Beal to be the "Godfather" of online reputation management (ORM). His talk at Search Engine Strategies in 2006 was what really got me interested in the subject. The book he co-authored with Dr. Judy Strass, "Radically Transparent: Monitoring and Managing Reputations Online" is one I consider to be *the* textbook for those who want to get started in the practice of ORM. When I saw Andy had a new book out, I definitely wanted to check it out.

"Repped: 30 Days to a Better Online Reputation" takes many of the concepts taught in Andy's earlier work, combines it with a lot of newer information and puts it all together into a step-by-step set of instructions that will help anyone wanting to improve their own or their business' online reputation. It takes readers through an A-Z process of:

* Understanding what an online reputation is
* How online reputation can affect individuals and businesses
* How to evaluate online reputation
* Steps to take to improve online reputation (if it's bad) or to solidify it (if it's good)
* How to weather an online reputation crisis.

This is a great guide for individuals or those who run small or medium-sized businesses. For those who are already ORM practitioners, "Repped" has a lot of great tips and ideas that will help you do your job better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Only Have One Reputation, February 6, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Repped: 30 Days to a Better Online Reputation (Kindle Edition)
Reputation management has become an essential aspect of doing business these days. One of my favorite lines from "Repped" is 'you only have one reputation.' It's surprisingly easy to ruin a company's reputation...and in some cases almost impossible to turn that around. And it usually happens in the blink of an eye - especially if you're not looking out for it.

Andy does an excellent job of explaining the best ways to create and maintain a good business (and personal) reputation. From information on building a good reputation, to researching your current online reputation, to damage control if necessary, to righting the wrong! Easy to read and digest, but long on useful advice, this handy guide is filled with extremely useful information and insights that cover virtually all aspects of online reputation.

I highly recommend this to anyone in business or who is marketing themselves in any way, especially social media.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read book if you care about your reputation., June 12, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been teaching and consulting in Social Media for small business owners and sales professionals for over 7 years and I highly recommend this book. This is for all professionals that realize that your reputation online is as important as your reputation offline. This is for people that understand that if they can not find you online they are going to trust you less. The idea of intentional transparency that also supports you in being a better person as well as enhancing your business and career. This book is grounded in the reality of the years of Andy working directly with individuals, small businesses and large companies as well as clearly doing his best to walk his own talk. This is not a series of cheap tricks that are not sustainable but something you can integrate as part of your life for all ages. I do my best to use it fully, teach it and advise on it. Thanks Andy for writing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Repped is a MUST read!, April 9, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you are alive, you need to read Repped. Seriously. You don't have to be a marketer, a business owner, or even an employee to benefit from this book. The author's no-nonsense approach to explaining how to catalog, investigate, and safeguard your reputation is invaluable. If you don't know what happens when you Google your own name, you need to find out. Whether you're a college student preparing for your first job, a seasoned executive who is in the media, or a retired non-internet user, there are things out there about you. And you should make sure you know what they say - and that they say what you want them to. That's the focus of the book, which is broken down into simple steps for each of 30 days. If you've never used a search engine before, you can use this book. If you are a professional online marketer, you can use this book to prepare you for the inevitable attacks on your reputation. The author's clear explanations, amusing examples, and personal stories will make you want to read all 30 days in one sitting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.