Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best friend for pro se litigants in the strange land of law.
This is one of the best books I have read and enjoyed about pro se litigation. The large font, great white space, and properly displayed summary tables render the book easy to endure and utilize. The authors offer many proverbs and examples for lay people that alleviate the harshness of legal lingo. Moreover, they even translate the formal and non-technical English words...
Published on July 13, 2006 by Mohamed F. El-Hewie

versus
1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars outdated
5th edition is a early 2006 paper book edition (jurassic park edition), how come that in order to buy the current edition i have to deal with (jurassic park) PAPER book, about one year (current edition) is enough to create a ebook, i can do it myself in less than 30 minutes. You know what? i'll buy another book, i'm not complaining about the content of the book but...
Published on June 12, 2011 by malvan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best friend for pro se litigants in the strange land of law., July 13, 2006
This review is from: Represent Yourself In Court: How to Prepare & Try a Winning Case (Paperback)
This is one of the best books I have read and enjoyed about pro se litigation. The large font, great white space, and properly displayed summary tables render the book easy to endure and utilize. The authors offer many proverbs and examples for lay people that alleviate the harshness of legal lingo. Moreover, they even translate the formal and non-technical English words into layman's language. For example, words such as "sanction, impeach, strike, motion, cross, re-cross, direct, and re-direct" are simplified to common readers to mean "punish, discredit, delete, request, and questioning of witnesses in different setting".

The authors realize the hardship of hiring a good and trustworthy lawyer and assist the readers in understanding their rights for self-representation. Not only you will learn how not to be a fool pro se, but also how to expose the foolishness of ill-prepared lawyers and how to feel home among busy birds of a feather different from yours.

The book dissects the court room like an anatomy specimen and shows the reader where everyone belongs. (In one of the traffic violation I attended, a defendant brought his 5-year old son to the courtroom, was not able to control his running between the judge's legs and messing up stacks of papers on the reporter's desk.) This book will familiarize you with the territory such that you will avoid acting childishly. Aside from running between the judge's legs, the pro se will learn how to seek permission to approach a witness, to admit exhibits, to strike evidence, and so on.

The paper work phase is explained in great details to remove the anxiety of the long and contentious process that follows. It offers assurance that anxiety and fear are natural reaction to performing on a stage of adversarial nature. Actors, teachers, lawyers go through what a pro se litigant goes through in laboring to defend his or her arguments. It offers forms for different filing purposes, describes exhibits and trial notebook, and explains how to respond to and make objections.

The trial dissection is also magnificent in describing in details the phases of paper work filing, subject and personal jurisdiction, statute of limitation, and the development of the trial process from filling answers, motions, pretrial material, discovery, and evidentiary issue.

The trial process is well described as well to entail opening statement, direct and cross examination, closing statement. It is preceded with extensive elaboration on how settlement, aberration, and mediation most of times cut the process short of a trial.

The elaborate description of informal and formal discovery process is very helpful to pro se litigants since it saves the exuberant amount of money spent on lawyers to gather documents, depose witness, and disclose evidence. The thorough details of the techniques of discovery are presented in bulleted subsections, each with its advantages and disadvantages.

The book extends it discussion to post-trail phases of appeals and judgment. It then delves into specialized areas such as divorce and bankruptcy. The coherence of the book topics serves the readers a great deal in enabling pro se to focus on pertinent legal claims, their elements, the facts that address each element, and the evidence required to prove the facts.

Three trivial problems are noticeable. One, pages are numbered according to chapters which forces the reader to remember two instead of one number when trying to memorize latest page read. Two, referencing to legal coach is excessively used while the book is intended to self-represented parties. Three, excessive branching of references for further reading are everywhere despite the good 24 healthy chapters of the book.

Mohamed F. El-Hewie
Author of
Essentials of Weightlifting and Strength Training
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible resource!, February 19, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Represent Yourself In Court: How to Prepare & Try a Winning Case (Paperback)
I decided to represent myself as a pro se litigant, and turned to this book since it got such good reviews.

I was NOT disappointed. It does a great job chronologically illustrating common judicial patterns, and it will even give you a spectrum of scenarios in case your court system operates a bit differently. There are example dialogs and mock situations to help you understand what to do in certain situations.

Believe it or not, I didn't need the book in the end. There is a statistic that is published in the book pointing out that over 90% of people who go into court usually settle before an actual trial. Because of this statistic, I mentioned it to the Plantiff's attorney and was surprised to hear, "well, then, make us an offer!"

Had I not had the chance to settle out of court, I would have been very prepared to represent myself.

There were a couple of weak spots in the book, but they were of my own wanting to have more information. One of those areas that the book needs to get up to speed on is electronic documents, such as dealing with e-mails, and techniques in proving that e-mails are legitimate.

I'd also like to mention for those of you who are looking for Child Support help, this is not a good book for that. It has a tiny section on Child Support, then leaves you hanging. This may be because laws vary so much, but I thought I'd at least point it out. The book is more for general concepts, so the info falls short once you begin specializing in certain subject matters.

Whatever your case is about, I can't emphasize enough for you to take a morning off from work to go watch some cases in court. You'll eliminate some fear of the unknown, you'll start to see that attorneys go through a similar set of procedures that you are just as capable of performing yourself, and you'll get a feel for how to talk to the judge and those who might be in the same room as you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going to Court?, April 10, 2008
By 
J. FERRARA "Jay" (Mount Pocono, Pennsylvania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Represent Yourself In Court: How to Prepare & Try a Winning Case (Paperback)
Having to go to court with out the money to hire a Lawyer several times, this book proved to be a valuable resource. It taught me that Judge and Arbitrators like individuals who are ready and prepared for their cases. If you can not have a lawyer present, you can at least prepare like one.

The authors give honest information on every part of the trial and the trial process. You will learn how to file a complaint to answering a complaint. It gives real information on the process of the trial from filing motions, seeking discovery and settling your case. It caps with judgments and appeals.

I like how the authors make everything easy to understand and the advice is completely useable. This can be used if this is you first time in court or your tenth.

Footnote: Nolo press is the best company that produces law books for the common person. They are always easy to read and pact with good advice.

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't go into court without this!, September 1, 2007
By 
This review is from: Represent Yourself In Court: How to Prepare & Try a Winning Case (Paperback)
As a Pro Se Petitioner, I have found this book to be incredibly helpful! It explains all of the ins and outs of trial, how to organize a trial notebook, how to arrange your questioning, and how to cross examine among many other important facts. This book contains the inforation that lawyers know, that we need to know, but have not gone to many years of school. It is written in plain English, and is a MUST for anyone looking to go into or try to avoid going to trial!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Represent Yourself In Court: How to Prepare & Try a Winning Case (Represent Yourself in Court), January 28, 2006
This review is from: Represent Yourself In Court: How to Prepare & Try a Winning Case (Paperback)
Extremely useful and easy to understand! Practical idea's and great insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Represent Yourself In Court: How to Prepare & Try a Winning Case (Represent Yourself in Court), March 3, 2006
This review is from: Represent Yourself In Court: How to Prepare & Try a Winning Case (Paperback)
This book is amazing! You won't need a lawyer after you read this and it will save you time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We WON!, February 21, 2010
By 
nursie (California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Represent Yourself In Court: How to Prepare & Try a Winning Case (Paperback)
This book was easy to understand and extremely helpful. We would have had to pay thousands for an attorney. In my experience I have found few people, even if paid, are as interested or have the intimate knowledge of your case as you do. Once you are armed with some of the basics you can be just as successful as having an attorney. There is no substitute for hard work, knowledge,and passion to win your case! This book gives you the much needed knowledge! By the way, we won our case.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic reference for the layperson, April 16, 2007
By 
Tyggie (Nevada, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Represent Yourself In Court: How to Prepare & Try a Winning Case (Paperback)
I was thoroughly impressed how well written and easy to understand this book is. Each step is completely explained, referenced and many documents have examples printed right in the book. There are great tips and tricks to deal with opposing counsel as well as warnings for what type of red flags and tricks to watch for from the other side. This book is an asset for the novice to the more experienced pro se litigator. Definitely a Five Star book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Represent Yourself In Court: How to Prepare & Try a Winning Case (Paperback)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Civil Types of Cases vs Criminal Cases, April 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Represent Yourself In Court: How to Prepare & Try a Winning Case (Paperback)
Excellent book to understand the basic set-up of the civil legal system.

However, I was hoping the book would have went more in detail for the criminal system (such as Traffic Court).

This book still helps someone to understand the basics, but there are substantive differences in civil and criminal courts. The reader should be at least slightly versed to recognize those differences if you intend to represent yourself in anything other than civil court.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Represent Yourself In Court: How to Prepare & Try a Winning Case
Used & New from: $8.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.