Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dusty Springfield and Pet Shop Boys.
The late Dusty Springfield first collaborated with Pet Shop Boys on the 1987 hit "What Have I Done to Deserve This," which marked a huge comeback for the seasoned veteran pop singer. Three years later, they collaborated again on the album "Reputation," which features 5 tracks produced by PSB. Since its 1990 release, much of "Reputation" remains fresh, and Springfield's...
Published on February 6, 2005 by The Groove

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dusty's Pet Shop Boys phase
The Pet Shop Boys may have been responsible for saving Dusty in the 80's with What Have I Done to Deserve This,and this set maybe her thankyou token to them.But make no mistake...The legendary late diva could hold her own all the same.True most of the tracks on this collection were written and produced by the boys ,but it is essentially Dusty's voice and her own style...
Published on April 10, 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dusty Springfield and Pet Shop Boys., February 6, 2005
By 
This review is from: Reputation & Rarities (Audio CD)
The late Dusty Springfield first collaborated with Pet Shop Boys on the 1987 hit "What Have I Done to Deserve This," which marked a huge comeback for the seasoned veteran pop singer. Three years later, they collaborated again on the album "Reputation," which features 5 tracks produced by PSB. Since its 1990 release, much of "Reputation" remains fresh, and Springfield's gusty voice gives these songs a personality of their own. Great moments can be found in the elegantly produced ballad "Nothing Has Been Proved" (featuring lush orchestral arrangements by Angelo Badalamenti and a sax solo from Courtney Pine), the I'm-having-an-affair-with-a-married-man tale in the brilliant "In Private" and the mid-tempo "Daydreaming." I happen to be a huge Pet Shop Boys fan, but that doesn't mean that they steal the entire show on this album. Dusty holds her own admirably in the Dan Hartman-produced "Send it to Me" as well as the title track helmed by Andy Richards. On the remastered version of "Reputation," we get a few additional tracks, including the full length 12 inch version of "In Private" (a Top Twenty hit in her native UK). Tragically, Dusty lost a long battle to cancer in 1999, but "Reputation" is one of many albums that proves that she was among England's most respected and revered singers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty as Dance Diva...years before Cher or Madonna, March 20, 2002
By 
This review is from: Reputation and Rarities (Audio CD)
This 1990 effort, partially produced by the British dance music duo, The Pet Shop Boys (Neil Tennant/Chris Lowe),is a strong foray for all involved. Combine wonderfully melodious and complex synth sounds with the most soulful and vulnerable voices of our era and you are bound to get good results.
REPUTATION's every track is filled with an assurance and motivation not seen from Dusty since her 60's heydey. For long time fans, it's a well deserved "refreshing" of Dusty's career and for new initiates it's a chance to hear one of the most thrilling voices to ever grace the pop scene.
All 10 tracks are fantastic, but stand-outs are the Aretha-tinged "Born This Way", the sexy ballad "Arrested By You" and the ecstatic title track.
"Daydreaming" is a curiosity not to be missed, as Ms. Springfield tackles yet another new musical form: rap.
"I Wanna Stay Here" is an infectious melody written by non other than Carole King (a longtime Dusty collaborator), and "Occupy Your Mind" is a bold foray into electronic music...8 years before Madonna's "Ray of Light".
But the two tracks that are above and beyond the rest are "Nothing Has Been Proved" and "In Private". The first, "Nothing Has Been Proved" written to be included in the soundtrack to the film SCANDAL, is an exercise in phrasing and breath control. Dusty gives a lesson on how to phrase a lyric by interpreting a rather wordy Neil Tennant song. It's hard to imagine anyone else making it work but Dusty.
The second, "In Private", is an ode written specifically for Dusty by Tennant/Lowe, and it shows. The song uses all of her vocal assets and shows her in the best light. The song is a perfect amalgam of 60's Tamla/Motown sound and late 80's techno-pop...and only Dusty, who has proven successful in both of those realms, can pull it off so effortlessly.
Overall a fantastic album, with perhaps one of the most striking of Dusty LP covers (the UK version that is), with La Springfield in half-shadow doing one of her famous "hand gestures".
The U.S. release contains some bonus tracks that had previously been left on the cutting room floor. These aren't bad, but they don't really fit within the same style as the rest of the album. "When Love Turns To Blue" is my favorite of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty in the 90's, March 22, 2006
By 
G. Carter "gcmusiclover" (Temple Hills, maryland United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reputation & Rarities (Audio CD)
Reputation & Rarities is one of Dusty's most versatile cd's.. from Dance, techno, pop, ballads, I love this cd it proved Dusty could handle anything given to her... 'Send It To Me'(also recorded by Gladys Knight & the Pips), 'Time Waits For No One' has a nice groove & 'When Love Turns Blue' is simply beautiful, 'Any Other Fool' shows how Dusty was great with ballads, the energy of 'In Private' & 'Daydreaming' and Dusty's delicate delivery on 'Nothing Has Been Proved', this cd is a winner and a great addition to anyone's collection of Dusty's music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DUSTY AS DANCE DIVA!, April 8, 2005
By 
This review is from: Reputation & Rarities (Audio CD)
This 1990 effort, partially produced by the British dance music duo, The Pet Shop Boys (Neil Tennant/Chris Lowe),is a strong foray for all involved. Combine wonderfully melodious and complex synth sounds with the most soulful and vulnerable voices of our era and you are bound to get good results.

REPUTATION's every track is filled with an assurance and motivation not seen from Dusty since her 60's heydey. For long time fans, it's a well deserved "refreshing" of Dusty's career and for new initiates it's a chance to hear one of the most thrilling voices to ever grace the pop scene.

All 10 tracks are fantastic, but stand-outs are the Aretha-tinged "Born This Way", the sexy ballad "Arrested By You" and the ecstatic title track.

"Daydreaming" is a curiosity not to be missed, as Ms. Springfield tackles yet another new musical form: rap.

"I Wanna Stay Here" is an infectious melody written by non other than Carole King (a longtime Dusty collaborator), and "Occupy Your Mind" is a bold foray into electronic music...8 years before Madonna's "Ray of Light".

But the two tracks that are above and beyond the rest are "Nothing Has Been Proved" and "In Private". The first, "Nothing Has Been Proved" written to be included in the soundtrack to the film SCANDAL, is an exercise in phrasing and breath control. Dusty gives a lesson on how to phrase a lyric by interpreting a rather wordy Neil Tennant song. It's hard to imagine anyone else making it work but Dusty.

The second, "In Private", is an ode written specifically for Dusty by Tennant/Lowe, and it shows. The song uses all of her vocal assets and shows her in the best light. The song is a perfect amalgam of 60's Tamla/Motown sound and late 80's techno-pop...and only Dusty, who has proven successful in both of those realms, can pull it off so effortlessly.

Overall a fantastic album, with perhaps one of the most striking of Dusty LP covers (the UK version that is), with La Springfield in half-shadow doing one of her famous "hand gestures".

The U.S. release contains some bonus tracks that had previously been left on the cutting room floor. These aren't bad, but they don't really fit within the same style as the rest of the album. "When Love Turns To Blue" is my favorite of these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dusty Rocks!, January 4, 2003
This review is from: Reputation & Rarities (Audio CD)
We can only thank The Pet Shop Boys for calling Dusty to do their 1988 #2 hit "What Have I Done To Deserve This?". Because, without their call, Dusty might not of gotten back in the music game. Out of the success of working with the guys and the mega success of the song on both sides of the atlantic(it hit #2 in the UK as well), this CD was born. The Pet Shop Boys, also known as Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe wrote 4 songs on this 1990 comeback album for Dusty. Not only that, but they also produced those 4 songs and a fifth one too. The first track they wrote and produced is the sixth track, "In Private". This is a real club room stomper. It's insanely catchy and makes you want to move your feet. The second was "Daydreaming". It has the usual tecno beat expected from them, and Dusty's vocals were perfect, but it's a song that doesn't go anywhere and never clicks with the listener. The third was "Nothing Has Been Proved". This goes along with the previous song because it never really hooks you in. Expertly done and sang of course, but you will probably push the skip button. The fourth and final track was called "Occupy Your Mind". Another one like the last two. It has the odd sounding music, and the vocals, no fault of Dusty's, don't go anywhere. There is also a bonus re-mix cut of "In Private" at the end that goes on for about two in a half minutes longer or so than the original version. The other songs here fare much better than the last few. The opening song, "Reputation", starts up and gets going and tells you what kind of a listen you are in for. "Send It To Me" is another fun, up tempo track that makes you shake your feet. A lot of fun. "Arrested By You" is a real pretty song. One of the best ballads Dusty has done in the last decade(rivaling 1986's "Something In Your Eyes"). She sounds great and it's just haunting and pretty. "Time Waits For No One" is a crowd pleasing club type song. Not a favorite, but catchy enough. We come to my favorite. It's the fifth song on the CD and it's called "Born This Way". We have never heard Dusty this way. Never. It's a real rollicking dance/rock song that starts fast and never stops until it's finished. It's a song that seemed destined to be recorded by Dusty. Outstanding!. There is a hint of old Dusty when she records an old Carole King/Gerry Coffin song called "I Want To Stay Here". It's jazzed up a bit to sound more modern and to go with the consistency of the album. It sounds great. You also get 4 extra tracks on here that wasn't on the original release. Except for the re-mix I mentioned earlier, the other three are all ballads. Only one of them, "Any Other Fool", is really good. It sounds like a classic modern day Dusty love ballad. "When Love Turns Blue" and "Getting It Right", the remaining two, are not without charm, but don't leave an impression. All in all, this is an exceptionally fun CD. It's unlike any album Dusty has ever recorded in her incredible career. It seems as if Dusty was born to sing these jamming dance/club like songs. She definitley fits it to a T, and knows how to work it to perfection, like every other thing she does. It's too bad she didn't record a whole lot after this, or did more dance stuff. She did say she didn't want to be a dance diva. I guess not. She is in impeccable voice here. But then again, when isn't she?. This is another piece of work that shows that Dusty can do or sing anything. She is, as I've said before, the best female singer ever. This is a lot of fun. Very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless talent in a modern music environment., November 25, 1998
By 
This review is from: Reputation & Rarities (Audio CD)
Courtesy of the Pet Shop Boys, Dan Hartman, Andy Richards and Paul O'Duffy, the timeless talent of one of the greatest female singers in British pop history is placed firmly in a modern music setting. Originally released in 1990 as Reputation, this 1998 version contains additional and previously unreleased material from the London sessions. Despite containing 3 Top 40 UK hit singles and being nominated for a British Phonogragh Industry award (Best Album 1990), this album was never given a USA release. How can the music industry still get it so wrong? Tune in to a great secret - buy it and marvel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven Help Us - Dusty's Rappin', October 19, 2005
This review is from: Reputation & Rarities (Audio CD)
Listening to this album always makes me smile. Just beyond the surface lies a very tongue-in-cheek approach by Dusty and the Pet Shop Boys which plays nicely into their and hopefully our wicked sense of irony.

Perhaps the most "amusing" track is Dusty's "rap" on "Daydreaming" - this alone is worth the price of the album. You can almost hear Dust and Neil Tennant giggling in the studio. It's a blast!

The other songs are mostly really well-produced techno-dance pop. And, adding Dusty's later-years growling Tina Turneresque sound just serves to make this one enjoyable musical experience. If you're looking for a finely-honed late 80ish "feel good" album to lift your sagging mid-00's spirits, then "Reputation & Rarities" is the one for you.

Sure, it's no "Dusty In Memphis"; but, what is? The tracks "Nothing Has Been Proved", "In Private" and "Born This Way" are absolutely wonderous. Dusty's cover of Patti Austin's "Any Other Fool" is exquisite - a reminder that no one could put more heart into a ballad than Dusty Springfield.

Although "Reputation & Rarities" is a nearly-complete musical departure for Dusty, it works! Dusty could sing 'em all - no matter what the genre. This album proves it. It's just plain delightful. The music scene has a huge vacuum in it since we lost Dusty Springfield. Yet, knowing Dust, she's up in Mascara Heaven having a giggle at us as we ponder the question "Rap???". We miss you, Ms. O'Brien.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something 'Has' Been Proven, February 11, 2005
By 
acshore (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reputation & Rarities (Audio CD)
For any one of you millions of folks out there who do not believe in Springfield's ability to reach generational gaps... then check out this album.

After Dusty was recruited by The Pet Shop Boys to do her #2 international hit "What Have I Done to Deserve This?," Tennant and Lowe (TPSB) thought it time to, once again, put Springfield back on the map. And they did just so....

On July 7th, 1990, Dusty's first album since her 1982 flop "White Heat" emerged from the studios and into the hands of the high-expectations of public arms. To everyone's suprise, the album was a huge succeess and vechile for Springfield. Thought it did not chart in the US, the album reached #16 on the NME charts, and #18 on the CIN charts; both in entry for six consecutive weeks.

Of her biggest hits from the album, her adultrious song, "In Private," proved to be the real winner; reaching a highly-impressive #14 for ten weeks. One song I cannot believe failed to chart was her roboust "Born This Way," and is probably one of the best soulful songs I have ever heard in my life.

It is hard to imagine Springfield doing a techno album, but that's pretty much what this album simblize. Bottom line, folks... I think you will be utterly amazed at just how officent this masterpiece is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There was never anyone like Dusty!, June 6, 1999
By 
Djv05 (Pittsburgh PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reputation & Rarities (Audio CD)
If you cannot get enough of Dusty, this is another good example of what the Brits enjoyed, and our public never enjoyed, till now. Listen, appreciate, and say a prayer for Dusty!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprising gem, April 18, 2005
By 
This review is from: Reputation & Rarities (Audio CD)
I recently found this underrated gem at Walmart. I have to admit I bought this for the 12-inch version of 'In Private', but I was pleasantly surprised to find that overall this is a consistent and enjoyable album. There are several standout tracks including the title track, 'Born This Way', the ballad 'Arrested by You', 'Occupy Your Mind', 'Nothing Has Been Proved', and and the club classic 'In Private'.

The album, bathed in late-80s technology, has aged quite well considering techno music from the 80s doesn't sound so fresh in the millennium . Dusty's vocals are as good as ever, and her phrasing is impeccable as always.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Reputation & Rarities
Reputation & Rarities by Dusty Springfield
Buy MP3 Album$9.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.