Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Table Read for the novel Rescue at Pine Ridge
A table read is when actors get together and read the screenplay as the characters. Ironically the screenplay was written before the novel. We did the table read in front of a audience... They Loved It. I read for the character Trooper Augustus Walley. It was an amazing feeling to find myself part of the action. I was able to sit down and talk with the author Erich Martin...
Published on August 7, 2012 by Actor Jah Shams

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Second review due to Erich Hicks having my first removed.
Erich Hicks was exposed for his racism, spam and trolling on an Old West Facebook page.
But here is a review of his book:
The coward and racists Erich M Hicks, hated that his racism was exposed for all to see. He removed a negative review of his garbage of a book that was so badly researched and written that the pages should be used as toilet paper.
Published 18 months ago by Tombstone


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Table Read for the novel Rescue at Pine Ridge, August 7, 2012
A table read is when actors get together and read the screenplay as the characters. Ironically the screenplay was written before the novel. We did the table read in front of a audience... They Loved It. I read for the character Trooper Augustus Walley. It was an amazing feeling to find myself part of the action. I was able to sit down and talk with the author Erich Martin Hicks, he has a true and personal insight into the history of the Buffalo Soldiers... I'm enjoying the novel now. Purchase a piece of American History... Listen out for Film/ Mini Series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ride Along With The Triumphal Charge Of The Buffalo Soldiers Of The Ninth Cavalry Regiment, December 4, 2014
This review is from: Rescue at Pine Ridge: Based on a True American Story (Paperback)
This book was a good read and an entertaining and informative one. The author manages to transport the reader [in time and place] from the comfort of his or her easy chair to America's "Wild, Wild West," during the violent period of armed conflict with Native Americans from 1866 to 1891. This is a critically important account of the bravery and heroism of the "Buffalo Soldiers" of the Ninth Cavalry Regiment, the all-black enlisted men, along with their white officers. We get to listen in to the dreams and aspirations of those black "horse soldiers," which, in actuality, would be no different from their white counterparts, i.e., to serve their country honorably, to live and survive to fight another day, to win the respect of their fellow soldiers and a nation that de-valued and marginalized them, and finally to manage to make it to retirement and a decent and rewarding life afterwards. The empathy of the men of the Ninth Cavalry toward their Native American foes, with whom they engage in running and deadly violent battles on horseback, is told with great compassion and feeling for the inevitable plight of the Native Americans who are destined for a loss of their way of life. We hear and feel the stings of the antipathy of whites toward the men of the Ninth Cavalry. The blatant racism and disrespect exhibited by both white civilians as well as military are quite instructive regarding the resistance to full equality and fair treatment of African-Americans, even those who risk their lives for a country that does not fully value them. Yet, through all of this and notwithstanding the racial slurs and doubts of their abilities, the Ninth Cavalry in the end, rides triumphantly to the rescue of the all-white troopers of the famed Seventh Cavalry Regiment at the Pine Ridge Indian Reservation in the final days of 1890. The detailed accounts of the Seventh Cavalry's participation in the massacre at Wounded Knee are quite disconcerting, to say the least. Moreover, we also learn of the Seventh Cavalry's subsequent debacle in getting itself ambushed and pinned down by the Sioux at Pine Ridge, nearly precipitating yet another "last stand" as with Custer (were it not for the timely winter ride and rescue by the Ninth Cavalry). The book contains a good descriptive narrative of "boots and saddles" and other such tidbits of the drills and military maneuvers of the cavalry of that time. However, more descriptive language might have been employed in regard to the few women who come into the story. I realize this is a story about the men of the Ninth Cavalry and women are only peripheral to the story to be told, but it might have been nice to give us more information, for example about the black women who are mentioned only in passing, on basically two occasions. One black woman is a laundress and the other is the lady friend of one of the troopers in the Ninth Cavalry. Both are only described as "a pretty colored girl." We are not told any more. Yet, in contrast, the physical descriptions of the men in the book are quite detailed, down to which side they parted their hair. I don't mean to nitpick, but . . . All in all, I enjoyed the read and would recommend this book highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is Time for this to be Made into a Mini-Series or Feature-Length Film!, May 18, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rescue at Pine Ridge: Based on a True American Story (Paperback)
Rescue at Pine Ridge
By Erich Martin Hicks
Outskirts Press, Denver Colorado, Copyright © 2009
Review by Mark H. Schwartz. May 17, 2014

In a memorable scene found early in the narrative of Rescue at Pine Ridge, by Erich Martin Hicks, we see the Indian Scout, John Glass of the 9th Cavalry, coming in riding hard to the position of the Buffalo Soldiers of K Troop waiting to ford a stream. As the brave men look up, they hear him exclaiming, “Wagon in river, wagon stuck in river!” The language is coarse, grammatically suspect and utterly authentic. The year is 1880 – just a scant 16 years after the Civil War had ended in 1864. The famed Buffalo Soldiers are like no other force in the US Army, for they are, except for their commissioned officers, they are an all-Colored regiment, as African Americans were called in polite company in those days. The soldiers, some of the most courageous and skilled in the entire United States Cavalry, are also among the most poorly-treated and maligned of troops. That is because this is the United States of 1880, a post-war cauldron, punctuated by greed, prejudice and outright hate of all who are different.

The soldiers have been called to action and hasten to meet the challenge. It is the way of the frontier and it is the job of the Buffalo Soldier. The troop leader is a non-commissioned officer, named Sergeant George Jordan. Sergeant Jordan is highly rated not only by all his troopers, but also by the white officers who command the 9th Cavalry. However, we know that he will never rise above the rank of Sergeant, because no colored troop could ever hope to be awarded a commission. We learn that very early in the story, when a bumbling and inept trooper named Howard J. Mitchell that had enlisted to avenge the death of his hero, General George Armstrong Custer, is awarded the lieutenant’s commission that was rightly earned by the Corporal William O. Wilson. Corporal Wilson is fairly well educated for a Colored troop, we are told by the narrator. He is also considered one of the best marksmen in the entire US Cavalry. He is the crack shot that had actually saved the post commander, when he had been set upon by hostile Comancheros.

Then, Hicks proceeds to describe a scene in which a white merchant, named Bernstein finds himself and his family stranded in their wagon, foundering in the raging current of the Pecos River rapids. When Jordan, Wilson and the rest of K Troop gallop up to effect the family’s rescue, Bernstein cannot help but show his bigotry and ignorance: “You sure you know what you're doing? I didn't know they let you be soldiers? You coloreds need to go back and pick…” Ironically, the troopers indeed save Bernstein, his family and even his wagon and in the process win over a convert: “Gentlemen, ah, ah…I don't know what to say…but thank you, thank you…” The story is filled with stories like this, as the heroic troopers of K Troop are called on to display their skill and gallantry time and again, including the title rescue towards the end of the book.

Hick’s tale is set on the frontier of the west during the days of Manifest Destiny. We learn from his harrowing story that Manifest Destiny was not the glorious heroic push westward we were all taught in school, but rather a manifestation of a venal land grab, accentuated with coarse vigilantism, hostility for the Buffalo Soldiers and outright hatred for native tribesmen of the plains – the Apache, the Sioux, the Comanche and Comancheros.

While this is a novel, it is mostly a factual and historical account of what really went on at Little Big Horn, Wounded Knee and Pine Ridge. It is a real narrative with the real characters of the day – the Buffalo Soldiers portrayed are all historical figures, as are the officers and even the Indian tribesmen. The events described were real events told with exhaustively-researched, sharp and accurate detail. The story is told in a way that is more nearly that of a screenplay.

In fact, Hicks – who is professionally engaged within the film community, has it in mind to develop a mini-series, an epic film or perhaps even a cable television series. By the time you finish the last chapter, having devoured every pixel of the daguerreotype photographs presented at the end, you cannot help but come away with a far more enlightened perspective than the cliché of the Cowboys and Indians. If you are like me, you will be haunted by the unforgettable images in Hicks narrative and you will be very glad you chose to purchase and read his remarkable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rescue at Pine Ridge, December 18, 2012
This review is from: Rescue at Pine Ridge: Based on a True American Story (Paperback)
This is an outstanding book. I recommend "Rescue at Pine Ridge" by Mr. Erich Hicks to anyone and everyone looking to read a great book with a great story. This is a great piece of history. The history of the african american is hard to find and good information is even harder. Mr. Hicks has done a great deal of research and done a outstanding job putting this book together. Thank you for sharing this book with us all. I am a retired United States Marine and a person that know history is very improtant. Thank you, Semper Fi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Human, professional view of the 9th Cavalry Buffalo Soldiers, December 31, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rescue at Pine Ridge: Based on a True American Story (Paperback)
I am an avid African American Military History reader, and I really enjoyed reading Rescue at Pine Ridge. I was struck by, and really enjoyed the blend of the professional and personal lives of the 9th Cavalry soldiers. I liked the way that Mr. Hicks folded the daily soldiers' chores and duties into the story so I got a feel of how they handled what was probably a LOT of drudgery because of the types of lives they lived. But I also got a feel for how professional the soldiers were, and how they dealt with the racial attitudes of the people they were protecting. There was a lot of light irony in the bigotry they endured while they kept their sense of humor, and went about their business with continued dignity. The story was really well put together, and I loved the way the 7th Cavalry was portrayed...boorish and not very military, as evidenced by the first rout at Little Big Horn, and then the way their really incompetent officers made them blunder into Wounded Knee. I would love to see this story made into a movie! I highly recommend it to anyone who wants an honest look at how the Buffalo Soldiers handled being placed into the position of having to fight people who were fighting for the same things the former slaves had fought for. And I grew to respect the white officers who led them, and loved and respected them for their bravery and professionalism. And I learned how very social our soldiers were as evidenced by the dances they orchestrated. Truly an amazing and eye-opening story about the Buffalo Soldiers at many levels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FORGOTTEN AMERICAN HEROES, February 25, 2014
This review is from: Rescue at Pine Ridge: Based on a True American Story (Paperback)
On June 25, 1876, under the leadership of Colonel George A. Custer, United States Army, the 7th Cavalry, was overrun and completely annihilated by 2000 Lakota, Northern Cheyenne, and Arapaho Indians. This was known as the Battle of Little Big Horn. It was one of the worst defeats in American military history.

Fast forward 14 years later, December 30th, 1890, the 7th Cavalry was almost annihilated once again by the Sioux Indians. If not for the 9th Cavalry, Buffalo Soldiers coming to their rescue after a force march over night, they would have been completely destroyed. This would become known as Rescue at Pine Ridge. This is a great book and a great read. I can only hope the author will continue his plight to bring out the exploits of these amazing soldiers.

Buffalo Soldiers, wow! Twenty three (23) Medal of Honors winners. The highest military award one can receive. And just think, famous Army Officers like Col George A. Custer refused to command them because he thought it was a career ender. Not only him, but many others felt the same way. These soldiers patrol the western frontier from 1866 until 1890. Hollywood would have you to believe there were no black soldiers fighting Indians during this period. Now we know different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RESCUE AT PINE RIDGE BY ERICH MARTIN HICKS, November 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rescue at Pine Ridge: Based on a True American Story (Paperback)
RESCUE AT PINE RIDGE BY ERICH MARTIN HICKS was suggested to me by a friend and I really enjoyed the history lesson contained in the story of these
brave soldiers never given their just rewards for helping to settle the West after their involvement in the Civil War. Again our school systems neglect any piece of ethnic history at a huge cost to our youth. This book and many books with similar subject matter should be made required reading in our schools and colleges. A little Truth in our history lessons is long overdue and well deserved by these brave soldiers. The book is now available in the Los Angeles Library system and should be promoted by all of us to our friends and family. Thank you to the author for working so dilligently to promote this group of soldiers for their bravery and tenacity in an embarassingly racist world. I believe it is time for our young people and adults to recognize true heroes in the history of this country and embrace diversity to recognize appropriate role models. So buy this book, read it, enjoy it and review it. Let's all expand our minds a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good work Erich Hicks, July 14, 2014
Five Stars for sure. A must read. Learn about history and hero's all at the same time.
Good work Erich Hicks. Keep writing. Faye Skeans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for Rescue at Pine Ridge, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rescue at Pine Ridge: Based on a True American Story (Paperback)
RESCUE at PINE RIDGE: Based on a True American Story, is an excellent novel. The author takes great care in his use of words allowing us to actually feel as though we were there. I give it FIVE STARS as I believe it's time that we expand our knowledge past the point we were taught through School and College. There's always more to the actual story but we are only told the truncated story. My Grandfather taught me to keep digging to fully understand the story. A College Professor also said in his lectures that there is ALWAYS more to the story and challenged us to find it. This book appears thoroughly researched and it gives us a great view of the Buffalo Soldier, their life, their importance in the West, how others viewed the Black as a Blue Coat, as well as their contribution to History. This novel is an Excellent, Entertaining, Easy read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars American Buffalo Soldier History at its best., July 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Rescue at Pine Ridge: Based on a True American Story
I live in Melbourne, Australia.
I have just finished reading the Kindle Edition of the Novel " Rescue at Pine Ridge" by Erich Martin Hicks.
Get your hands on this novel (story) it is great reading. I have just had an education on a thrilling part of American History.
The author takes us on a journey with the 9th Cavalry Buffalo Soldiers through the mid 1860's to the early 1890's during the Indian wars and their heroic rescue of the 7th Cavalry.
The Buffalo Soldiers were the peace keepers on the western frontier, they carried out their duties, sometimes in extreme circumstance, but always showed bravery, courage and commitment. True leadership qualities.
The Buffalo Soldiers and the American Indian...inspiring men.
To see this story on the big screen would be a fitting tribute to these men, and history.
I think the novel is well written, I thoroughly enjoyed reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rescue at Pine Ridge: Based on a True American Story
Rescue at Pine Ridge: Based on a True American Story by Erich Martin Hicks (Paperback - November 14, 2008)
$19.95 $16.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.