Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good text, but could use some work
This is a relatively good text. It provides a good overview of research methodology, but it does have problems. Specifically, it can be a little hard to follow at times. One of my main complaints is that the author uses really nice graphic organizers, but does not number them. It would be much easier to follow if the graphic organizers and the paragraphs in the text...
Published on January 24, 2010 by Scott R. Weaver

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a very well written text
The quality of the text as far as condition was outstanding but the authors text does not flow well, is a bit boring, and its a difficult read. I have read other books on evidence based research that are much more interesting. Though the authors use examples in the text which is better than many, the flow is choppy and not very enjoyable.
Published on May 31, 2010 by Deana L. Bess


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good text, but could use some work, January 24, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Research in Education: Evidence-Based Inquiry (7th Edition) (Hardcover)
This is a relatively good text. It provides a good overview of research methodology, but it does have problems. Specifically, it can be a little hard to follow at times. One of my main complaints is that the author uses really nice graphic organizers, but does not number them. It would be much easier to follow if the graphic organizers and the paragraphs in the text had matching numbers, letters, etc. Also, sometimes the author changes the order of the paragraphs. The graphic organizer will be listed one way, but the paragraphs will be listed another way. Overall, I like the text, but I think it could be even better with some additional editing. On the positive side, I do like the addition of the sidebars in this edition. They help significantly with understanding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a very well written text, May 31, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Research in Education: Evidence-Based Inquiry (7th Edition) (Hardcover)
The quality of the text as far as condition was outstanding but the authors text does not flow well, is a bit boring, and its a difficult read. I have read other books on evidence based research that are much more interesting. Though the authors use examples in the text which is better than many, the flow is choppy and not very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HORRIBLE! AVOID AT ALL COSTS, January 25, 2012
This review is from: Research in Education: Evidence-Based Inquiry (7th Edition) (Hardcover)
The material is not presented in a way that speaks to those who are in the education and counseling fields, despite the title. This book is technical, complex, and made me (a straight A Master's Student) feel like a complete idiot. Honestly, I knew more about research before opening this book--it sucked knowledge out of my brain! If you are taking a class with a department/teacher dumb enough to use this text, drop the class and try another school or semester! Yes, it's that bad. And no, I've never cared enough to review a textbook before now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Look-out for access codes, January 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Research in Education: Evidence-Based Inquiry (7th Edition) (Hardcover)
According to Pearson representative, there are different access codes provided with this book.
Please check with your professor which code(s) you need . I received the code for MyEducationLab website with the book, only to find out that this code does not work for the Research Navigator (actual website requested by my professor).
I am still trying to find out how this will be rectified...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Research in Education: Evidence-Based Inquiry (7th Edition) (Hardcover)
Came on time, but was larger than other classmates books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Written by former teachers?, September 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Research in Education: Evidence-Based Inquiry (7th Edition) (Hardcover)
For a textbook, this is great. It has all the kew terms defined in the side margin as well as in the text. At the end of each chapter there is a summary and the terms are listed again. The authors also include sample questions or problems that you can do to assess your comprehension of the material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars its okay. but dont really care for it., August 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Research in Education: Evidence-Based Inquiry (7th Edition) (Hardcover)
Its okay but I dropped the class which dealt with research methods in psychology. Honestly psychology research methods is not my cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Fluff, February 19, 2012
By 
H. Moreland (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Research in Education: Evidence-Based Inquiry (7th Edition) (Hardcover)
I was forced to buy this high-priced textbook for a class.

Knowing that, here are the book's good qualities:

Quite a bit of research and statistical knowledge is somewhat easily indexed at the beginning of each chapter - often with a graphic organizer. If you need Common Knowledge and Research Statistics for Dummies written out ad nauseum, then this is the book for you.

Areas for improving this book:

Condense the overall text greatly; find an overall focus. Sadly, some colleges make students read an ENTIRE text rather than pick out the important material.
Include at least the real process to perform practical research assignments.
Learn the meaning of a robust statistic and why it's important.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars research in education, November 27, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Research in Education: Evidence-Based Inquiry (7th Edition) (Hardcover)
This is a book that i needed for a class and it is very helpful and useful.
the reading is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poorly written, August 28, 2010
By 
Evan Lanier (Denver, CO USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Research in Education: Evidence-Based Inquiry (7th Edition) (Hardcover)
I had a very difficult time with this text. At times it seemed like it was written by a non-English speaker. The concepts were not difficult, yet the overly abstract manner in which they were described severely hampered my ability to synthesize the material.

The chapters begin with complex diagrams that are not directly explained -- I'm unsure why these were included as it ultimately serves to intimidate the reader. Presentation of the material was otherwise very "busy" with too many secondary text boxes. For example, the right and left margins are reserved for highlighting definitions of key concepts in the text. This sounds like a great idea, except the bolded definitions within the text already clearly define the concepts. Inclusion of the definition twice in the same area of the text made me feel overwhelmed with information by over-emphasizing too many concepts, all of which are given the same weight.

I do not recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Research in Education: Evidence-Based Inquiry (7th Edition)
Research in Education: Evidence-Based Inquiry (7th Edition) by James H. McMillan (Hardcover - June 8, 2009)
$188.20 $151.12
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.