Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally a perfect book for teaching Research Methods in a psychology programme
I picked up the book at a conference. As a instructor for Research Methods course in the university, I have used two other textbooks in the past. I wasn't fully satisfied with either of them. Then I came across the brochure of the book which caught my attention and then after going over the book thoroughly, I am very very satisfied. The book is clearly written with...
Published on August 20, 2012 by Y. Huang

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, but vague explanations.
While it is easy to read and follow the material in the book, I am finding that a lot of the content, especially the word definitions are too vague. I find myself spending extra time looking up definitions and concepts from outside sources.
Published 11 months ago by Suzi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally a perfect book for teaching Research Methods in a psychology programme, August 20, 2012
This review is from: Research Methods in Psychology: Evaluating a World of Information (Paperback)
I picked up the book at a conference. As a instructor for Research Methods course in the university, I have used two other textbooks in the past. I wasn't fully satisfied with either of them. Then I came across the brochure of the book which caught my attention and then after going over the book thoroughly, I am very very satisfied. The book is clearly written with examples to help the readers in understanding the concepts. Highly recommended it to anyone who needs to take Research Methods even if your instructor does not choose to use this book for the course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for Undergraduate Research Methods, January 9, 2013
By 
Acacia C. Parks (Hiram, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Research Methods in Psychology: Evaluating a World of Information (Paperback)
I teach research methods at a small college and I love love LOVE this book. The chapters are concise and highly accessible. The instructor materials include a variety of publicly accessible media clips (a huge benefit) as well as suggestions for in-class activities, which I am finding very useful. The book makes methods really engaging and relevant, which is great for a topic that can easily become dry. I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read, but vague explanations., September 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Research Methods in Psychology: Evaluating a World of Information (Paperback)
While it is easy to read and follow the material in the book, I am finding that a lot of the content, especially the word definitions are too vague. I find myself spending extra time looking up definitions and concepts from outside sources.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-written introductory textbook, August 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Research Methods in Psychology: Evaluating a World of Information (Paperback)
Excellent illustrative examples in every chapter. It's very comprehensive in what it covers. Has a very useful statistics overview in the appendix. Sometimes I felt she overloaded chapters (for example, did we really need 3 way factorials?). Needs to be proofread again. Its full of typos & it's even missing answers to some chapter study questions. The Learning Actively chapter exercises are well constructed & provide useful practice. But the online study space for this text is lame. It includes vocab flash cards & 25 multiple choice questions for each chapter that are way too easy. The questions my instructor selected for each chapter quiz were much harder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good introductory text, June 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Research Methods in Psychology: Evaluating a World of Information (Paperback)
A little dry in spots, but it's a textbook about research methods. You can't make it much more interesting, but it has really good examples and explanations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars On Target, April 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Research Methods in Psychology: Evaluating a World of Information (Paperback)
My PSY350 class is using Research Methods in Psychology as o text, and it has been very useful and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Textbook with Online Guide, March 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Research Methods in Psychology: Evaluating a World of Information (Paperback)
Chapters are short and concise. The book comes with an online help guide that includes flashcards and quizzes. This was the best textbook I have ever used in a class. It was highly informative without taking me forever to read; I actually kept up with my reading! The online site was very useful as a study tool. Quality of the book was great, came just as described (I bought it used).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy, March 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Research Methods in Psychology: Evaluating a World of Information (Paperback)
This was one of the easiest textbooks I have ever read through. The concepts are clear and concise, and the chapters are fairly organized with easy to spot headers and satisfactory chart and graph examples; I've never had a problem with them. The author tends to repeat previous information sometimes which is a definite plus for me with the gradual reinforcement. Examples are modern and relevant. I actually kept this book instead of selling it off for future reference in my major.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book. Great shipping., February 22, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Research Methods in Psychology: Evaluating a World of Information (Paperback)
Brand new book, which is great for a rental. The subject isn't my favorite but the book keeps things interesting and the shipping was Amazon's standard fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars research methods class, February 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Research Methods in Psychology: Evaluating a World of Information (Paperback)
very easy to read book. i absolutely dont mind reading it. even though its serious material, it is broken down into easy, everyday english.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Research Methods in Psychology: Evaluating a World of Information
Research Methods in Psychology: Evaluating a World of Information by Beth Morling (Paperback - October 6, 2011)
$92.92
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.