Customer Reviews


289 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (76)
3 star:
 (35)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 125 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil 5: 10 Things to Know
I just beat Resident Evil 5 for the Xbox 360, so I decided to post a review of the game. Here are ten important things you need to know:

1. Graphics - RE5's graphics are amazing, and they are some of the best you'll find on a console. They are sharp, the characters are highly detailed, and the lighting makes the environments really stand out and feel real. The...
Published on March 25, 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wait for this to hit the bargain bin before buying.
This game is worth about 20 dollars. The controls are awkward. The camera is flaky at times. The unnecessarily prolonged and repetitive boss battles are very annoying they are extremely easy and just requires you to perform the same sequence of actions for what seems like hours. One of the most annoying aspects of the game is the pseudo cut scenes.. Right when you think...
Published on June 27, 2009 by Kristian Carazo


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

116 of 125 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Resident Evil 5: 10 Things to Know, March 25, 2009
By 
Amazon Customer (Oklahoma City, OK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I just beat Resident Evil 5 for the Xbox 360, so I decided to post a review of the game. Here are ten important things you need to know:

1. Graphics - RE5's graphics are amazing, and they are some of the best you'll find on a console. They are sharp, the characters are highly detailed, and the lighting makes the environments really stand out and feel real. The cut scenes appear to ramp up the contrast and brightness more than necessary, but that's no big deal.

2. Controls - I embraced RE4's control scheme, but the same scheme today feels a bit outdated. You still cannot walk with your gun or knife ready. The developers say it is more realistic this way, but even in cut scenes Chris walks with his gun pointed forward. And now that I think about it, why can't I simply walk up and punch or kick someone? Why must I wait for them to be stunned?

3. Sound - A lot of the sounds including the music are very similar to RE4, which is a good thing. It helps make the game keep familiar. I noticed nothing about the sound to complain about, except that it often wasn't creepy enough.

4. Co-op - Some of the best fun I had with RE4 was getting together with friends and watching each other play through parts of the game. With RE5, we can now play together. Awesome! One problem with co-op is the fact you can't give weapons to your partner. That doesn't make any sense at all. Also, watch out when using an AI partner for Sheva. She sometimes wastes ammo, refuses to use her powerful weapons, heals you unnecessarily, and dashes off. Surprisingly though, she isn't bad enough to ruin the game.

5. Items - All items have been needlessly streamlined. The weapons are less complex, there are no more combinable treasures, and yellow herbs are nowhere to be found. Also, you can buy items anytime between chapters. I liked the merchant in RE4, but he's gone this time around. So who are you buying items from? Apparently, just a menu system. Also, RE5 redesigned the item management system in order to make it more realistic than RE4. I like how it no longer takes me out of the game, but sometimes it is hard to use. The fast equip feature via the D-pad is greatly appreciated, but it doesn't make up for the fact that the process of trading and stacking items can be cumbersome and illogical.

6. Horror - RE5's biggest issue is the fact it continues the series' trend of removing all aspects of "horror" from the survival horror genre. In fact, I would just call RE5 an action game with elements of adventure. There is rarely any suspense, the action is almost nonstop, and many of the potentially scary settings occur in daylight. The slogan for this game is "Fear you can't forget." It's more like "Fear you'll never notice."

7. Bosses - Simply put, the boss fights in this game are not as original or exciting as RE4's boss fights. Most are easy, unvaried, and unnoteworthy. Some of the boss fights don't even feel like fights, but mere struggles instead.

8. Puzzles - Unfortunately, RE5 offers virtually zero puzzles. There's not even the task of combining treasure. If you're ever confused about anything, Sheva will tell you what to do. The only thing remotely close to a puzzle is finding the blue BSAA emblems. Shooting them is a cool way to unlock bonus features. It makes you pay much more attention to your surroundings and get immersed in the environment.

9. Saving - I like being able to save my game at various points, and I like being able to start a brand new game, but these features are gone. RE5 keeps track of all items and money you have so that to play previous chapters, you always bring your latest gear. It almost makes it too easy. I miss the typewriters.

10. Charm - RE5 lacks a lot of the charm found in RE4. Chris is almost emotionless, whereas Leon was witty and classy. The quick time events in RE5 are overdone and predictable, whereas in RE4 they were fun and surprising. The only character with real "character" in RE5 is Irving. It seemed the whole cast of RE4 stood out.

Conclusion
Resident Evil 5 is a short, fun action game, but it lacks a lot of what made its predecessor so great. The only improvements are the graphics and the addition of multiplayer. The rest of the changes negatively impact the overall fun of the game. Still, it is a fun game, and I recommend it for any Resident Evil fan or those who are looking for a good action game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 67 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than RE4?, well..., March 13, 2009
By 
Craig Moller (Brisbane, AUSTRALIA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
RE4 was a staggering reboot for the ailing franchise; Res Evil's traditionally clunky controls were discarded and scaled back the puzzles in favour of rapid-fire action against far faster and more aggressive enemies than ever before, all wrapped up in amazingly detailed visuals. More than just being the pinnacle of the RE franchise, many people consider RE4 as being among a small handful of the best titles created for the last generation. RE5 has a handful of problems, and is nowhere near in the same league as RE4 in terms of all-time classics, but it does provide a suitably similar mix of exciting action, along with some utterly gorgeous visuals.

Two-player co-op can be played either online, over system link or split-screen. It's great to see Capcom supporting such a wide range of options for the co-op mode. While the general exploration and blasting of monsters plays out very similarly to RE4, the environments have been expanded a little, with many more split paths to give each player enough elbow room to fight. There are some great moments where one player can stun an enemy with a headshot, while the other rushes in and smashes them with a melee attack. It's even possible to link melee attacks together, so one player's punch will send an enemy stumbling back, then the other player's kick knocks them to the ground.

RE5 also adds a minor improvement to the movement controls. RE4's quasi twin-stick movement has been upgraded to today's standard twin-stick 'turning while walking' control system. For some odd reason though, turning with the right stick is disable when you're running. As you'd expect though, your feet are still nailed to the floor while shooting, to retain the usual Res Evil tension. As you've probably gathered, RE5 mirrors the gameplay of RE4 very closely, but this can be both a blessing and a curse. As in RE4 you'll spend the bulk of your time dispatching monsters and scouring the environments for ammo and treasure. You still collect treasure from corpses, cupboards, crates and by shooting it off walls. You still spend it on upgrading the same damage, reload speed and capacity characteristics of a very similar range of pistols, shotguns and machineguns. You're still forced to waste a lot of cash upgrading early weapons, only to have to sell them back for a fraction of the price when the better weapons are unlocked.

In lots of ways it's a good thing that RE5 sticks closely to RE4's brilliant template, but in other ways it's a shame it's progressed so little. A lot has happened in the games industry over the past four years and RE5 does feel dated as a result. It sure doesn't look dated, because the graphics look incredible, but it feels old. Other than the co-op mode and a couple of very minor tweaks here and there, the gameplay is identical to 2005's RE4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not Horror, But AMAZING game, March 30, 2009
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Alright, in order to best summarize this game, I should probably break it down to serve the game some justice...

Graphics: 10/10
Absolutely amazing, whether in broad daylight fighting the Executioner (a giant axe-weilding zombie),or in pitch darkness using a lantern to see the zombie hordes, the graphics are just beautiful, living up to both the PS3's and the Xbox 360's standards.

Artificial Intelligence (AI): 9/10
Let's kickoff with Sheva, your partner along the journey. She is definetly a god-send to RE5, but can have her problems.

Pros:
+ She is never far behind you
+ She gives you ammo that she doesn't need based off the weapons in your inventory
+ She heals you when the game senses you have low health (provided she has a herb, the main way of healing)
+ Has an "Attack" mode, where she runs recklessly around killing zombies.
Has a "Cover" mode, where you meet a more caution-oriented sheva, conserving valuable ammo.

Cons:
- Rarely aims for the head, and is quick to waste valuable ammo
- Is quick to use up herbs, even if your above 70% health
- Is slow to help you when grappled by a zombie, even if she's right there
- Dont assume she's got your back... chances are, she doesn't.
- Specific to the "Caves" level, she seems hesitant with the lantern

Next, is the zombies; boy do we wish Sheva had this kind of intelligence. Frankly, I would be searching hard for bad things to say about the enemy AI, other than they are slow to react when you are near, but sometimes this is actually PROGRAMMED!!! For example, the harder the difficulty, the less preparation time the zombie carrying a chainsaw above his head will take when near you before cutting you in half. The RE5 team programmed an IN-GAME difficulty switch, depending on how your doing with your enemies. For example, if your doing really well on Amateur (the easiest difficulty), but maybe a little less than average on Normal, you could actually end up with the same difficulty, thus always providing a challenge.

Gameplay: 9/10
The controls are similar to RE4, with a few minor improvements. At first they ae hard to grasp, and a new player to Resident Evil will struggle with the first couple levels. My only concern, in addition to the complexity of the controls, your character lacks the ability to walk and shoot. Although it adds to tention, it just feels cheap, and I feel ripped off as a gamer. As for enemy spawns, I have no complaints. Everything runs smoothly, zombies arent appearing out of thin air (although it'll feel like it) like we've seen in Rainbow Six and Ghost Recon. Lastly, lets talk about the zombies reation to bullets. Obviosly, they dont like to be shot at and wll respond in rage once they recover from the wound. Interestingly as well, they also have animations and actions depending on where you shoot them. Say i were to shoot a zombie in his weapon heand. He will drop the weapon and grip his hand in agony. Sometimes a shot to a body part will allow chris and sheva to use a context sensitive move, conserving ammo and dealing massive damage. The only reason I marked this off one is because of the controls.

Replay Value: 10/10
There are many great games with impressive single player and multi-player, but lack replay value. Fortunately, RE5 is not one of those games. With additional mission modes, costumes, Acheivements/Trophy's, unlockable weapons, and countless bonus features, this is a game worth owning. If I use too many more words, I'll kill the effect, so I'll just leave it at that!

Story: 8/10
This story starts off just like all other horror games... WHAT IN THE WORLD IS GOING ON!?!? I wont spoil it, but the story is best around the mid-game, when your still left guessing, but arent completely uninformed. Unfortunately, towards the end of the game, you've already guessed who's in the mysterious mask, who's the main problem, and how it's going to end. My other problem is the final boss. I must have killed him on 4 different occasions, and HE'S STILL COMING BACK!!! Overall, the story was intense, but predictable.

So Is It A Horror?
It seemed to me that CAPCOM's idea of horror is throwing together a whole bunch of blood, gore, and zombies.If your opinion of a survival horror matches this, then have a jolly old time changing underwear, but for me, with the exception of a couple select chapters, was unpreturbed.And in order to satiate my horror needs, bought Left 4 Dead. So is it scary? Thats for you to decide.

In conclusion, with grea graphics and gameplay, this game deserves to be honored with 5 stars, and re-defines action games (in a good way). But if your looking for a horror, and your not easily scared, game like Silent Hill, Left 4 Dead, and Dead Space might be the ones for you.

Best Regards!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wait for this to hit the bargain bin before buying., June 27, 2009
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This game is worth about 20 dollars. The controls are awkward. The camera is flaky at times. The unnecessarily prolonged and repetitive boss battles are very annoying they are extremely easy and just requires you to perform the same sequence of actions for what seems like hours. One of the most annoying aspects of the game is the pseudo cut scenes.. Right when you think you are watching a non interactive cut scene... BAM you better press a button or you die. Very annoying but you get used to it. The game has its good points though, the visual are good and the story is nice.

Another point I would like to make is how TERRIBLE the friendly A.I. is. Although it is better then other games, sometimes your partners actions leaving you questioning if this is supposed to be a punishment for choosing to play by yourself. I would not recommend attempting this solo. I did complete the game solo, I would warn against it. Unless of course you are a masochist like me.

Save your money, get something else instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok Game in the series, January 30, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I am a big fan of the series and was a little disappointed in this one. I really don't like that they have gotten away from the original zombie creepy mansion type play. I actually like the camera angels in part one and two. Good game for what it is but if you are a fan of the series I think it is very disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What happened to my Resident Evil?, August 8, 2009
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
After finishing Resident Evil 5, I couldn't help but feel a little bit cheated. I think most people who were around to play the first Resident Evil when it was new will probably agree with me. While Resident Evil 5 looks great, has good controls, and lasts over 10 hours (for most people), it is a serious departure from the RE games before it. And not in a good way.
As others have mentioned, this game is indeed an action packed experience that gives you little chance to breathe. The game starts off slowly, but picks up momentum quickly, and maintains interesting set pieces and graphics that really flow nicely. What bugged me most about it was its complete lack of suspense. Every RE game before this one made an effort to build a mood and tone that kept you on your toes. Not so here. The most effective scene in this game is the very first one where Chris and Sheva are walking through the town, and all the townsfolk are glaring back through dark, yellow eyes. It's creepy, and a very good way to start. Unfortunately, the rest of the game features countless dudes running from around corners acting as shotgun fodder. There is very little challenge in this game, and the A.I. is completely dumb. And where the hell are the zombies?? Aren't zombies what Resident Evil is about? I've never been a fan of the "zombies" that run around corners and use weapons to attack. When someone is running at you with a chainsaw and a bag over his head, he ceases to be a zombie; he is a crazy motherf'er with a chainsaw and a bag over his head. Big difference. Zombies are slow, meandering lumps of flesh that have no means to attack you other than their dead meathooks. I guess I blame the film 28 Days Later for the newer and improved zombie, but I prefer the classic George Romero zombie.
But again, there is no suspense at all in this game, it's all about shooting as many people as you can. Which can be fine, but in a RE game it is not acceptable. And when did Chris Redfield start lifting weights? He looks like some ahole who just stumbled out of the fitness club. His pumped up meathead look seemed to be an attempt to make this installment a war game only, skimping on the horror.
Which leads me to my next gripe. The story in this game is AWFUL. I mean, really bad. And the cliches were absolutely astounding. When are game developers going to stop resting on their laurels and deliver a well-written game? After playing games like Metal Gear Solid 4, the story in Resident Evil 5 is insulting to my intelligence. Lines like "welcome to the party", or "so glad you could make it", or "I will destroy you!", or "this is for our fallen comrades!", or.....I could go on and on here, and Resident Evil 5 has them all. The story and dialog is laughable to say the least.
But, I suspect people find the true value of this game in its online content. I don't really play online, so I'm leaving my review to the one player experience only.
Despite these gripes, the game is still a playable experience. I finished the game which says I enjoyed it enough to stick through it. But only barely. Honestly, there is nothing wrong with the gameplay of RE5, but fundamentally this game misses the mark. To me, Resident Evil 5 is akin to taking the Final Fantasy series and turning it into a first person shooter game. Capcom took the things we all love about the RE series and erased them with bits of other action games.
I would not recommend this game to people who love the RE series. They skimp on the horror, and beef up the action. And with 360 games out there like Gears Of War and Halo 3, you can buy much better action games than this. I really hope Capcom goes back to what made Resident Evil good in the first place....SURVIVAL HORROR.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rent this game, save your money, July 5, 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Resident Evil 4 was a revolutionary game that changed not just survival horror, but action/adventure games in general. The over-the-shoulder perspective is now a staple in the action genre, plus the game was so well designed, it is one of the few games that keeps bringing me back after the initial sparkle wears off.

Resident Evil 5 borrows heavily from Resident Evil 4. Having said that, comparison is inevitable. And initially, it seems like more of the same good stuff. But is it really?

The first difference that's gonna hit you in the graphics. Yes. They're gorgeous. You will find yourself spending time in each level just marveling at the details and effects.

Along with the improved graphics, the combat is also sped up a little bit and the game is perfectly paced. The action is fast and fun, and brings back the Resident Evil 4 feel pretty well. The gameplay alone makes it worthy of a rental. Resident Evil 5 also introduces Co-op gameplay where a friend assumes the role of Sheva Alomar, partner to the main character, Chris Redfield. Co-op is implemented well and is fun to play with a friend online or on the same screen. But that's where the good ends.

The game is short. It'll take you 10 hours to beat the game, maybe 12 if you are the exploring type. The game is not designed as well as Resident Evil 4; without going into too much detail, you will only have reason to play the game through twice before its just no fun anymore. Besides the combat, you will partake is some excruciatingly easy puzzles, in which you are basically hand-fed the solutions to. Bosses are easy as well. Everything feels very dumbed down compared to Resident Evil 4. Even the inventory system has been re-designed to make it simpler for the player.

One of the things that made Resident Evil 4 so intense was the fact that the player was always low on ammo and tight on space. Battles had to be meticulously planned in the inventory and since ammo was sparse, the player had to be crafty. That was fun. But in Resident Evil 5, you are never really strapped for ammo, and you can almost always use your partner as a pack mule. It changes the game mechanic, making it much less interesting.

Speaking of intense, one of the things about Resident Evil 4 that made it so intense was the fact that it was truly scary and maintained a sense of horror and suspense. It made the game immursive; you really felt like you were alone in the dark. In Resident Evil 5, you are neither. Thanks to your partner and the sunny African setting, you'll never be alone or in the dark. Horror has left the game in Resident Evil 5, and with it went an undeniable sense of charm and excitement that is woefully missed.

Because that sense of Horror is absent and the game is more action oriented now, it seems kind of strange that the developers stuck with the setup where the player cannot walk and shoot at the same time. I know other reviewers address this all too often and to be honest, it is the most minor of my complaints in my opinion. Nevertheless, it is still worth noting.

This is not to say it is impossible to have fun in Resident Evil 5. It is a perfect rental, because it can be beaten quickly and once it is beaten, there is not much worth-while to return to. I'd say definitely find a way to play it, like co-op-ing it at a friends house, because the first time is a blast. Otherwise, I'd stick to Resident Evil 4. But trust me, you don't want to be the loser who actually paid full admission while the disc sits on the shelf collecting dust for years to come.

RENT IT. 3 stars out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Least popular in the series, March 20, 2012
By 
Arfur Wentworth (Freeport, New York) - See all my reviews
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
As a long-time fan of the RE series I was a little bit disappointed with the game. I loved the characters, especially Sheva. Unfortunately the storyline lacks the quality you see in other 3rd person shooters on the xbox like Gears of War. The A.I. is nonexistent as far as your partner is concerned using up your herbs when a nail is broken or not backing you when the enemies get overwhelming. After coming from such a great game like RE4 I think we all expected a experience similar or better than it's predecessor.

Multiplayer is very good as well as co-op, nothing better than another human being taking over Sheva and playing single player. For the price of 15 it's a good pick, especially with RE6 coming out this fall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars resident evil needs to go back to the basics, January 9, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
resident evil franchise needs to go back to racoon city & start over again african zombies on motorcycles is a bit to much,(i mean come on)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Wanted to like it....., May 7, 2009
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 5 - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I wanted so badly to like RE5 as it was one of the games I was Most looking to play for some time now, sadly enough I can not possibly give this game a high review simply due to its overwhelming flaws.

On the positive side the game looks great, story line is good enough to be a RE game but the game is all over the place as to what it wants to be. There are levels that I felt like I was playing RE and then there were other levels I felt as if I was playing Tomb Raider, or another random action game. As for enemies in the game while there were a few eye catching bosses and fights nothing was really remarkable and the majority of the bosses have a "shoot me here spot" which is easily identified.

The absolute worst part of the game is Sheeva, if you are playing the game single player and not co op I swear she eats your ammo and power ups, constantly gets in your way and when you absolutely need her to do something even as simple as go get an item and bring it to you it seems to take her a lifetime to do it, those who have beaten the game surely most know what I am talking about, and her character is just annoying with her lines (well every character seemed to be in this game especially neo from the matrix.....I mean Wesker).

If your a fan of the series its worth a play, if you are a fan of the old school puzzle style RE games stay far away as there are hardly any puzzles to be had in this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Resident Evil 5 - Xbox 360
Resident Evil 5 - Xbox 360 by Capcom (Xbox 360)
$14.99 $9.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.