Automotive Deals HPCC Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$7.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 31, 2010
Yes, Paul W Anderson, the director of Resident Evil Afterlife 3D, used the same Fusion 3D camera set up as Avatar, evidenced by the film credits and 3D featurette on the 3D Blu Ray, which also plays standard 2D. The 3D as a result, looks excellent and better than most 3D films out there, excluding Imax's Studio Nature productions. From the opening to the end, everything pops out far greater than you might have seen. The rain in RE:A3D looks spectacular and the depth really shines as though you're "in the movie". This is what 3DHDTV was made for. If you miss this and own a 3DTV, your loss if you like action movies.

The movie has elements of the Matrix's fight scenes and slow motion, with The Walking Dead's zombie infested city. The film covers Alaska, Tokyo and Los Angeles. The opening action scene is a highlight and really slick, packed with blazing machine guns and acrobatics. There's also a Axe man scene worth buying this disc for alone, and a cool but short end fight scene with RE5's Albert Wesker. The story is a basic "escape plan" movie, but in the RE style. This is the best one so far IMO.

The featurettes are 47 minutes total, and informative, including cast interviews. There's also a screen in screen presentation, director commentary track, deleted and extended scenes and more.

Overall, if you own or eventually plan to buy a 3DHDTV, buy this version for a few extra bucks, as it plays in regular 2D on regular HDTV's and players and looks great in 2D, but exceptional in 3D.
Movie: 8/10
3D: 9/10
Extras: 7/10
55 comments| 98 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2011
My ratings are based mainly on the QUALITY OF THE 3D, not the video content.

There are about 70 out of screen effects that extend about 10% of the way, from the screen to the viewer. Another 30 around 25%. At 8:00 minutes a tri-blade throwing knife reaches 40% and at 64:00 minutes, a large blood spatter drop exceeds 50%. Too many OOS effects to pick my favorites.

*** A MUST SEE 3D - STATE OF THE ART AT ITS FINEST ***
*** Almost Continuous Action - Blood, Guts, Gore and Horror ***

MY 3D RATING = EXCELLENT (poor, fair, good, very good, excellent)

Note: As far as the percentages go, everyone's eyes are different. What I see at 25% you may see at 15% or 35%. To fully realize how far something is out of the screen for you, pause on an effect and direct a partner with an extended finger to the tip of what you are seeing. You may be surprised.

Click on `See all my reviews' for the lowdown on other 3Ds
2727 comments| 96 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2011
I like zombie movies. I realize this movie is terrible, but I still like it. Obviously the first resident evil movie was the best, after that they have all been okay in my opinion. 3D in it is okay, kind of gimmicky though (throwing ninja stars at your face).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2011
I originally saw Resident Evil: Afterlife in the theaters in 3D and it was a very enjoyable experience that I will never forget. I wish that I could have seen it on the big screen once or twice more but as fate would have it, I was not able to. So I was very much looking forward to seeing it again when I bought it on DVD. Although this review is for the standard DVD only, from what I remember, the 3D for this film was awesome on the big screen. I hope to someday see it again in 3D. But the movie is still very good on its own even without the 3D effects.

Update: I finally obtained Resident Evil Afterlife on Blu Ray in 3D and let me tell you, this movie looks AWESOME in 3D at home. If you have a 3D TV and a Blu Ray player that can handle 3D disks then do not hesitate to get this movie, it looks amazing! I give it the highest rating and recommendation possible.

Paul W.S. Anderson wrote and directed this installment and he did a fabulous job. He is one of my favorite directors and I love most of his films from Mortal Kombat, to Death Race, and this one is one of his best features yet. It is loaded with great action scenes, lots of suspenseful moments, and beautiful slow motion visuals. It also features one of the coolest movie monsters yet in the form of the giant lumbering Executioner monster which carries and swings a ridiculously huge hammer/axe thing at his victims. The Executioner looked awesome in 3D, especially when he would swing and throw his big hammer/axe at the viewer! This movie is a Horror Action/Thriller movie fans dream come true. If you loved Resident Evil Extinction, you will definitely enjoy this film as well. I can't wait to see what they do with the next installment!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2010
I saw this at the movie theater in 3D (complete with special 3D glasses they handed out) and felt like I was right in it. Every bullet, star, punch, blast, you name it - went right between my eyes. I sat 4 rows from the front (I couldn't get any closer without not seeing the whole screen) and was completely devoured by every creature. What an experience! Note I saw this at another movie theater that did not have the 3D version and I loved it but much prefer the 3D version. I have to say that if you love Milla Jovovich and Ali Larter - you won't be disappointed. They look super hot and kick some serious butt! The two of them team up to defeat a 12 foot tall executioner dude with a massive ax/hammer. K-Mart makes an appearance at the end but doesn't say a word. No matter - there WILL be a Resident Evil 5; I bet she'll speak in that one. PLEASE NOTE: Don't get up and leave after the credits start - there is another minute of movie to go; and it explains how Resident Evil 5 will start! Go see this while it is still in the theater - You will NOT be disappointed if you are a Resident Evil fan! Bon appetite!
22 comments| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2014
This installment of the Resident Evil cult series is loaded with surprise, special effects and action ...That said, at this point, the plot is beginning to wear thin. The good acting keeps this movie rolling.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2014
The action keeps coming and is entertaining, but I find it continuously annoying not knowing more about the enemy - or about other possible survivors on the planet. Does Alice, et al, represent ALL the opposition to Umbrella? I want to know more, still another 2 films to go.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2012
Yea, I know, it's not like the game, the series doesn't make any sense.... Okay, I get it, this franchise is pretty silly, but that doesn't mean it isn't a lot of fun. Milla Jovovich might seem on autopilot as Alice in the fourth film of the franchise, but she still is great in the role and delivers on the action sequences. Throw in some zombies following Alice as she jumps off the top of a massive prison, a giant with a massive war hammer and Ali Larter helping her to kick monster butt, and you have a great popcorn movie. As long as you are able to buy into the world set up by the franchise, you'll have fun with this installment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2016
***SPOILER ALERT***
Resident Evil: Afterlife continues the story of Alice (Milla Jovovich) as she attempts to enact revenge on franchise-favorite, Albert Wesker (Shawn Roberts) and the Umbrella Corporation – a bio-engineering company responsible for genetic experimentation that led to the global zombie apocalypse. The first forty-five minutes of the film are the equivalent of Anderson taking a red pen to everything that made the previous Resident Evil installments slapdash and soulless – a lot of the more absurd-threads get purged and the story settles into a more manageable narrative: Alice’s investigation of Arcadia – a zombie-free zone, where survivors attempt to rebuild human civilization.
In her search, Alice is reunited with Claire Redfield (Ali Larter) and the two travel to Los Angeles where they meet zombie-food, I mean the supporting cast. The new survivors are mostly Hollywood caricatures, literally: Bennett (Kim Coates) is a smarmy movie producer, Kim Yong (Norman Yeung) is Bennett’s over-eager intern, Crystal (Kacey Barnfield) is an aspiring actress, and their leader, Luther West (Boris Kodjoe), is a star basketball player. They’re not terrible characters but their cookie-cutter design reveals the biggest problem with the film, as well as the Resident Evil film franchise: the films aren’t about people trying to survive in a zombie apocalypse, they’re about finding the most intense, over the top, ways to kill zombies in an apocalypse.
There’s nothing wrong with a film about mowing down zombies thoughtlessly, if that film contains loads of great action set-pieces, but Afterlife has too much downtime and takes itself way too seriously to succeed at being campy-fun. The stakes are too high, we’re not talking about a lake in Arizona or a single suicidal mission, we’re talking about a global zombie apocalypse. Early in the film, Alice bemoans the possibility that she could actually be the last uninfected survivor… in the world. As a result, it’s hard to feel particularly relieved when she discovers other survivors – and they’re the most one-dimensional group of people imaginable.
That said, Anderson succeeds in building intrigue and complexity around a late addition to the group, a man trapped in a Hannibal-like glass isolation box in the basement of the prison where Alice and the survivors get holed-up. Fans of the game series will recognize the character, played by Wentworth Miller. Upon his release, the story, character-dynamics, and future franchise installments instantly become more appealing.
The second half of the film shows that Anderson is attempting to build a Resident Evil narrative that isn’t dependent on the soulless butt-kicking Alice that’s been provided by the series – giving it room to grow (as well as borrowing heavily from last years game Resident Evil 5 – which is more action than survival horror). Anderson introduces a new zombie-type which fans of the game series will recognize as the Uroboros virus at work – capable of 28 Days Later-style quick movements, instead of the zombie shuffle. The director also brings in the Executioner Majini. Even though the monstrosity goes totally unexplained, his presence helps break up the zombie-horde attack scenes – and he looks and moves significantly better than Nemesis in Resident Evil: Apocalypse.
Once the survivors attempt their escape, the plot doesn’t offer many surprises but at least manages to stay on the rails. Compared to the previous films, the story follows a sensible progression and offers some fun moments along the way.
Viewers who wait a few minutes after the credits start rolling will be treated to a taste of what’s to come in Resident Evil: Revelations (or whatever they decide to call the fifth film in the franchise). It’s hard to imagine that drawing closer to the convoluted story in the Resident Evil video games could be a positive attribute, but if Afterlife succeeds at a single thing, it’s bringing in a better batch of central characters – instead of Alice’s lone wolf routine.
Resident Evil: Afterlife was shot in 3D and doesn’t suffer from a terrible post-production 3D retro-fit (like Clash of the Titans). However, that doesn’t mean the 3D effects add anything to the experience. Anderson is not so subtle: ninja stars fly at the screen, swords pierce through chest cavities and poke out of the screen, Alice dives through a plate of glass as we watch her fall away from the screen. The format only succeeds only in reminding us of the physical proximity of the screen.
The effect is especially distracting in the opening sequence where multiple Alice clones storm an Umbrella facility. The combination of copy and pasted CGI Jovovichs as well as the 3D effects make for a blurry and distracting experience. The effects take precedent over the narrative and, on several occasions, a character does something that was designed to look cool in 3D but makes no sense in the dire combat situations featured in the film, this reliance on what would be fun over what makes sense can work. However, the cast and filmmakers behind Resident Evil: Afterlife take the movie very seriously, (I’m hard pressed to think of a single humorous moment) and, as a result it’s hard to forgive them for not providing a better action, 3D, or zombie-apocalypse experience.
Resident Evil: Afterlife isn’t as good as the original film but it’s a step-up for the franchise – though it’s still operating out of a pretty deep hole. That said, given the direction and narrative choices Anderson makes in the second half, I’m probably more enthused about the possibilities he might explore in a fifth Resident Evil film, than I am about what he already put on film in Resident Evil: Afterlife.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2016
This is probably my least favorite of the (currently) five films, but even the worst of something awesome is still pretty good. Definitely some iconic moments, and a great set-up for the next movie. Certainly worth a watch, if you liked any of the previous films. (This is 4th of 5, as of 2016.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse