Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Video Game|Change
Price:$17.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 28, 2011
If you have Xbox 360 and can NOT, i repeat, can NOT connect to the internet on your console via Xbox Live then do NOT buy this. You must be connected to the internet to download the DLC (downloadable content) via Xbox Live. When it says DLC included on the game cover, all this means is that you receive a pre-paid code to enter, which will grant free access to downloading the DLC to your console. Xbox requires you download the DLC as if it were a patch or an update instead of the DLC coming pre-loaded on the actual game disc. I have Xbox Live and everything has worked very well for me. You will save more money buying this than if you were to buy the game and the DLC separately. Remember you MUST HAVE internet access via your console to download the extra playable content. Hope this clears up any confusion.
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2010
I realize that it's frustrating to have gone out and bought the game only to find it's the original Resident Evil 5 with a token for the downloadable content. But actually, if you don't already own the game, it's a really good deal. It's cheaper than how much the game was when it first came out, and the extra content is free with the token, so you really save money. So yes, Capcom wasn't clear about how this package worked, but I still rate it 5 stars because it's still a great game with a good storyline, great graphics, tons of replayability, and now extras that can be downloaded.
44 comments| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2010
Resident Evil 5:Gold Edition is certainly a great idea if you do not already own the game being as it comes with the game itself,being cheaper than the game was before, and comes with the expansions that add to massive playability compared to the older game. Now a quick warning that if you already own the game don't go whining about how you were cheated at buying the same game twice, CAUSE THAT'S WHAT IT IS! This is merely the same game with all the expansions freely included, and the rights to having a cooler looking box cover than your friends whom hastily bought it when it first came out.

Versus Mode-This is really four different game modes to play with up to 3 other people besides yourself. You can do a little team deathmatch or deathmatch itself and try to kill the opposing players with monsters running around. Slayers and Team slayers are where you fight to get a much higher score than the other players by killing enemies.

Lost in Nightmares-This is an expansion scenario in which it explains Chris Redfield and Jill Valentine's adventure before resident evil 5 and explains a little bit more on how it happened. This expansion is fun and comes with a classic mode*(see bottom) which gives a little bit of "nostalgic" feel to the game.

Desperate Escape-This expansion explains how Josh Stone and Jill Valentine escape the tricell institute and come back to save Sheva and Chris at the end of the game. This expansion is pretty fun with lots of action and certainly adds to the replayablility with a brand new character to play as.

Mercenaries Reunion-Just wow, this expansion adds onto the massive hit on the Resident Evil 5 game by increasing the great fun it previously was. More enemies, More Melee attacks, Team attacks, Cool New music, and EIGHT (yes 8!) brand new characters to play with in mercenaries with some of your buddies.

Eight New Characters-Chris(warrior)Chris(Heavy Metal)Sheva(Fairy Tale)Sheva(Business Suit)Josh Stone, Excella Gionne are a few of the new characters in mercenaries including Rebbecca Chambers(Co-star's of Resident Evil 0-1) and Resident Evils very own Barry Burton are also joining the Frey.

All in all this is a great deal if you do not own the game already, but if you do it might be best just to go buy some microsoft points. =)

*classic mode simply means being a fixed camera like the origional resident evils, only for die hard fans, if your interested try checking up some of the origional resident evils on youtube.
33 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2015
A great game. Really different from the previous editions of Resident Evil. The genre has started to focus very strongly in the direction of "co-op action game," instead of a difficult, awkward-control horror game. Definitely not the same aura of terror as the older games, but it's much more playable and easier to pick up and have fun with.

The replay of the main campaign is "eh" because things become really silly once you're walking around a small village with a gatling gun... but it has another mode which kept my nephew entertained for a long time after the main story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2012
Every resident evil game I played was fun and this is no different. The controls are similar to RE4 except now you can move sideways and the menu system is different and that takes some getting used to. You cant move while aiming however. I rented the original version about 2 weeks ago and loved it and was going to buy the original version until I seen the gold edition and bought this instead. The extra content is welcomed especially since I dont have to pay for it. If u already have the original version and already bought the DLC's, DON'T BUY THIS GAME! You will have wasted $30 since its no different. If you don't have this game then rent it first then if you like then buy this version.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2016
Out of the many Resident Evil games, this is one of the better ones. I think 6 is actually the better game, but this one is pretty good. The supporting character, Sheva, is pretty good. You can upgrade weapons. You can also replay stages you previously beat and get the weapons and treasures there once again. There aren't puzzles in this one. There's a lot of different stuff to do, and nothing too frustrating. The main character in this one is Chris, not Leon, but I found that you get used to being Chris. It's like a funner Resident Evil 4, I guess.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2011
do not buy this game used, only buy it new. the used copies already have the extra dlc content redeemed so you will only end up with the core game itself, not any of the extras. the new ones will have the extra content codes ready for you to use.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2013
I mostly bought this item to complete my collection of Resident Evil titles I have on Xbox 360. Item arrived in new condition and on time per the shipping information provided by Amazon. As a always returning customer I thank you Amazon!

If your into the Resident Evil Series, then it's worth having in your collection at the least. Many people where not overly happy with this installment of the Series...Personally I did like it, but there where elements that could have been cleaned up a bit. Capcom did an excellent job of fixing what most gamers saw as flaws when releasing the Gold Edition, and even further making RE 6 even better...My bottom line...Either you like the Series or you don't...I do. So I would recommend this title to those collecting the games.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2012
If you want DLC (Downloadable content) you have 2 options:
(1) Buy Gold Edition for PS3. Its on the game disc already no need to install.
(2) Buy Gold Edition NEW for xBOX 360. You'll have the redeem codes all to yourself.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2011
If you ever played resident evil 4....you will notice the similarities between these two games. I am a fan of the series ever since the first resident evil came out for the PlayStation. In RE 5 you play as either Chris Redfield or, new to the series, Shiva. If you buy the gold edition, witch i recommend, you get two 4 new costumes, verses mode, mercenary reunion, and two new levels- desperate escape and lost in nightmares. Overall i enjoyed this game a lot....the game isn't really that scary....but like RE 4 it is a good action game. After completing each level you get points were you can unlock more costumes, infinite ammo, and playable characters for verses. Also has a good variety of weapons that can be updated.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.