Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Respiratory Physiology: The Essentials (Point (Lippincott Williams & Wilkins))
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 7, 2012
I used this book for my pulmonary block in medical school. If you like to preview topics before class, this book covers everything that will be discussed. It's also good for clarifying the more difficult concepts from lecture. The book goes into more detail than is strictly required for basic medical pulmonology (e.g. derivations of mathematical representations of concepts), however, the biggest ideas are well-summarized at the end of each chapter in the practice question section. Taking into account the relatively low cost, short length, and usefulness as a reference and practice question bank, I recommend this book for medical school pulmonary coursework.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2003
This book was short and concise. Extra gibberish was omitted - the remnants were a beautiful combination of text and explanations to often confusing topics. This book is perfect for any one studying respiration. This book is intended for med school students, but it is written in such a fashion that anyone could pick it up and read it. Reviewing? Cramming? Learning? This book will solve all your problems.
33 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2000
This is an excellent introduction to respiratory physiology suitable for medical students.
It is concise and good for last-minute revising but written in a style that is very easy on the reader. The organisation of the chapters is perfect.
My only criticism is that the oxygen and CO2 dissociation curves are not very accurately drawn, but the book is otherwise full of useful diagrams.
Well worth adding to your collection.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2004
This book was well worth the money! It was concise and helped me understand topics that were very confusing in lecture (ventilation/perfusion relationship). Plus it is a fast easy read. In 4 days I was able to read the book, understand all the important concepts and ace the exam.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2013
The book is written concisely, and is easy to read. It follows a logical pathway through the components of the respiratory system, but doesn't add more than you need for a general understanding. 1st year SRNA student.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2002
This is a compact and simple introductory book about the subject.
It covers the structure, function and illnesses of the Respiratory system. It does not have nice or clear pictures like some new print books on shiny pages but information is there. Consider it as an extention of your Physiology book on the Respiratory Systems.I found the charts that shows the changes in based on changes in variables very helpfull.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2014
I had a much earlier version of this book for medical school and often found myself wanting to revisit the principles outlined by West. So, I got this recently. It is such an easy read with no fluff. The true sign of a teacher is someone able to take a complex subject and simplify it for the learner. West does this impeccably. This can easily be read in a day without much effort. It's too bad all physiology isn't presented in such a manner. Thank you John West!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2014
Respiratory Physiology is just what it promises an in depth look at the workings of the respiratory system broken down into manageable units. This book does a phenomenal job of explaining the key concepts simply without sacrificing detail.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2015
A fantastic textbook! The chapters are well-written and concise, plus they are well introduced and reviewed with key points and objectives all laid out. Reading assignments from this text aren't nearly as much of a chore so I really love to learn from it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2015
There are some great pearls in this relatively short book. I used it to suppliment my medical school's notes during the pulmonary section of physiology and then used it again for a refresher during pathology.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse