Customer Reviews

103
2.6 out of 5 stars
Rest Stop (Raw Feed Series) (Uncut) [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$9.23 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on January 12, 2007
Format: DVD
I like horror, no, I love horror. My vast collection is comprised of 98% horror, a good deal of them are low budget schlockfests. Old films, films with no budget, etc. They have an excuse for being bad, and thus, are "so bad theyre good".

This film has no excuse whatsoever for being as bad as it is, except for an idiotic script and director. This film had the money, the technology, the time, and the eye-candy to be good. It's a simple premise for a film, nigh impossible to screw up. "Rest Stop" is one big screw up.

It's expected that when a movie begins with a road trip, there will be an almost mandatory music video montage. Acoustic guitar will play, scenes of the happy travelers cruising along in their car past farms, cities, etc. will play out. They will fumble with the radio and make silly faces, smoke dope, laugh etc. The director chose to up that count a bit, and as a result several times in this film the viewer is sitting around watching what is effect a meaningless music video.

The girl picks up a bottle of whisky and starts pugging away, and thus begins the next full-song, music video showcase. Shots of her swigging, crying, throwing things, etc, to the sound of the music.

Fast-Forward time, several times this happens.

Long, drawn out sequences of characters crying, sappy music blaring, for what seems like an eternity. Everything in this movie is drawn out far longer than it needs to be, hence the title of my review. I ended up just fast-forwarding 5 minutes of what needed to be a one or two minute scene. We get it, the character is sad, they are crying. Move on.

Fast-Forward

Now horror movie protagonists are not known for their intelligence, we all know this, but when the viewer is absolutely flogged with idiocy it's very hard to play dumb ourselves.

- near-dead policeman lays at your feet, victim of the killer. The killer is ambling around like a drunken fool before you. Do you grab the policeman's gun? Do you perhaps grab the policemans radio? Not this idiot.

- The killer's vehicle is before you, empty with keys inside. Do you jump in and flee? Not this idiot.

- You have a deranged lunatic on your trail. You find a bottle of whiskey. Do you get so plowed that you finally pass out? This idiot chose to do so.

Im sorry, there's just no excuse for the sheer stupidity of the central character of this film, other than a reason to draw the film out. Like the aforementioned 5+ minute long scenes of crying and shaking her fists at the sky, the entire movie itself should have been boiled down, cut in half. The lead character is a stupid, whiny poltroon that had no right to survive the ordeal as long as she did. The killer, an incompetent moron.

And the stupid, almost randomly inserted "wacky backwoods family" was an utterly lame attempt to portray something like a Texas Chainsaw type backwoods brood. Unfortunately, they have none of the realistic panache that makes the aforementioned hicks from hell so memorable. There's some ok gore, but I can say without a doubt that it isnt worth sitting thru the rest of this absolutely tedious film. Thank God I only rented it
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
Format: DVD
I didn't expect much out of Rest Stop, and I was right to. Not only does Rest Stop follow many of the cliche slasher formulas, it features one of the dumbest heroines to ever grace a direct to DVD horror movie, who for some reason seems to keep running back to the place where all the terror started. Said girl makes the mistake of using an ungodly dirty rest stop to do her business, and then gets chased by an insane trucker who apparently has some sort of supernatural powers. Later on, she hitches a ride with a family that has a mutant baby. And just when you think the unintentional comedy stops there, Joey Lawrence (don't give me Joseph Lawrence, your forever known as Joey, deal with it or dance away) stops by as an ill-fated park ranger. There's a heaping amount of decent gore effects, but the sheer stupidity of the characters just makes you scratch your head and wonder. Had Rest Stop not taken itself so seriously and had instead gone the horror/tongue-in-cheek route (a la Slither), maybe this wouldn't have been so bad. But alas, this is best to be avoided, or maybe seen so that you can have a good laugh.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on December 2, 2009
Format: DVD
Rest Stop: 4 out of 10: Tedium is not a pleasant experience. Rest Stop has plenty of tedium. To paraphrase Ed Harris in Glengarry Glen Ross "Hey lets take all the latest overexposed trends in horror movies and put them in one film. Yeah no one has thought of that before" The film starts with the couple that is hard to root for. He (Joey Medincio) is a jerk; she (Jaimie Alexander) is a spoiled daddy's girl. They drive from Texas to California and get lost. (It is one road called I-10, numbskulls) They stop to make love and I was having seventies horror film flashback as horrid soft-folk rock was playing in the background and soft filtered sunlight danced on their naked bodies.

They eventually stop at a backwoods rest stop and the movie moves distinctly into science fiction territory. Ever since Seven, and more recently Saw, moviemakers have been trying to one up each other in creating the most disgusting room imaginable. The ladies restroom is one of those over the top places. The only thing missing is George Michael with his pants around his ankles. My lady friend watching the film with me expressed amazement that any woman would enter such a room let alone use the facilities. I am a guy and I wouldn't use them. A meth-addicted hooker would think twice about using the facilities. Needless to say, Jaimie Alexander's character loses all credibility when she plops herself down.

Actually, Alexander's character loses credibility repeatedly in the film. As written she is one of the dumbest heroines ever seen in a movie. (My personal favorite sticking her fingers through the door at the killer, which he naturally bites off.) The rest of the film reads like a modern horror cliché checklist, redneck serial killer in Duel style truck (check); Crazy religious family with demented dwarf child (check); poorly lit torture room with stupid zooming camera effects (check); the killer tricks the heroine into killing an innocent (check); supernatural apparitions (um check); Joey Lawrence (uh yeah actually); endless conversations that slow movie to a crawl (check); and my personal favorite... ending that disregards everything that came before it in search of so called twist (bingo).

Somewhat surprising that a movie with this much violence, nudity and horror clichés can be so boring to watch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on October 22, 2006
Format: DVD
While it would be impossible to say that this horror film is the most aweful film ever, it would not be to far from the truth saying that it is a terrible one. It starts out promising with a dumb woman in a rest stop getting terrorized by an unseen stalker and then it landslides downhill from there. None of the acting is really that good but if I had to pick the person who did alright it would be Jaimie Alexander, the protagonist. Of course, as expected with any truly bad horror film, her character is as dumb as the cardboard box she was crafted from. Everyone else, including the all but lost Joey Lawrence, are damn near pathetic. The gore is ok in this film... although a little over the top in some points. The story is one that could have (and damnit... it should have been) cut down to an anthology length (this would fit in sort of well with the Masters of Horror series) and it probably would have been a lit better. As it is, the whole stretch of being at one Rest Stop is a bit dull after a while... even when she manages to venture out into a camper van full of really wacky nut cases. Top this lame puppy off with a dark (but incredibly unrealistic) ending and you have a truly low end attempt at being a scary halloween flick.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on October 18, 2006
Format: DVD
They say the Direct-to-DVD movie is coming of age. Where it once was a dumping ground for low budget losers and deceiving imitations it has supposedly achieved a more resonant form of quality. That's what they say.

John Shiban cut his entree into film as writer-producer of the X Files. You may remember his newborn son cast as baby William in a few episodes.

In Rest Stop Mr. Shiban has an unflinching desire to continuously display the atrocities in a filthy and disgustingly dirty ladies room. The fact that the lady in question prefers this to a short jaunt in the woods is ridiculous. No woman would be caught dead or even think of entering this place. Enough already.

This is a sick slasher sort of film that portrays brutality and violence but retrieves nothing for the viewer. The one star is for Jaimie Alexander who is obviously a fine actress trying to work her craft in a poor production.

This is pure junk. The three alternate endings are junk.

Mr. Shiban should return to his roots and try again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon February 10, 2007
Format: DVD
If you plan on watching Rest Stop with the intentions of being scared or shocked, save your time. If, however, you want to make fun of a ridiculous horror movie, continue reading.

Rest Stop starts off with a cheesy montage reminiscent of a 70s movie; there's a senseless killing, a creepy truck, bad home video footage, and an EXTREME NIPPLE CLOSEUP. After that it gets funnier.

Two kids, who probably have ADHD, or at the very least are a product of inbreeding, runaway from home to become big stars in Hollywood. Fat chance! When the boy looks like Damone from "Fast Times at Ridgemont High", and the girl acts like Leo DiCaprio in "What's Eating Gilbert Grape" - and she's not supposed to be retarded - then you know they'll just end up as street vendors or fluffers in another kind of movie. It's better that they meet someone to put them out of their misery.

On their way to California, in the only bit of realism in the entire movie, the girl has to go to the bathroom (#1). Sure enough, they stop at the rest stop from hell. Shortly thereafter, she's dropping trou' at the foulest toilet in the history of mankind; the only thing it was missing was a fecal mural.

After conducting business (#1), she leaves the restroom to find her boyfriend missing. At first I thought it was because he was tired of her horrible acting, and he just decided to go it alone in Hollywood. I was wrong, and soon the girl starts to get terrorized by a guy who has watched a collection of horror movies prior to visiting the rest stop. He watched "Joy Ride" to learn how to use a CB, "Hostel" to learn how to torture, "Sixth Sense" to cause the conjuring of ghosts, "Texas Chainsaw" to deal with an RV of freaks (although he could have just watched RV with Robin Williams).

The rest of the movie unfolds as anticipated, replete with gimps, freaks, pointless gore, religious nuts, idiotic dialogue, unrealistic amounts of blood, senseless destruction, incoherent crying, and a Joey Lawrence cameo as the most incompetent cop since the father in "The Hills Have Eyes". Thankfully, Joey portrays the black guy in this movie, and he dies quickly and stupidly.

Does the girl get chased? Yes.

Does the girl fall down? Oh, you know it!

Is the killer seemingly indestructible? Of course.

Does the girl make countless wrong decisions, one after another? Clearly.

It's predictably moronic, and I loved it. I haven't laughed so hard in a long time. Score one for the bad guys!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on January 25, 2007
Format: DVD
As already described, this is a Horror Thriller with a lot of inspiration borrowed heavily and without inhibitions from "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre", when it comes to the overall setting and atmosphere, "Joy Ride" when it comes to the Psychopathic Killer, and "The Hills have Eyes" because of the Mutant like Son and his parents who act as apparent sympathizers or even accomplices of the Killer.

While this movie won't get any prizes for originallity, it does have its thrilling moments. The main problem is, nonetheless, the lack of logic among the heroine. When she has every reason to believe that something terrible just happend to her boyfriend, she finds a trailer where she seeks refuge from the Killer who she believes to be after her. Here she actually finds a video of herself and her boyfriend while they are making love, which is only a few hours old. Any normal person would by now try to get out of the trailer as fast as possible, but when a C.B. radio close to her rings she picks it up and starts talking to the other person on the line. Even after finishing the conversation she stays in that trailer. This is totally incoherent; I mean who in their right mind would stay at some stranger's trailer, where that video is. If you put 1 and 1 together you just have to realize immediately that either a perverted peeping Tom made that video, which isen't exactly consolation, or even worse the Killer himself made it. So why the hell stay in that trailer? The small amount of alcohol that she drank can't explain this type of irrational behavior. Another scene just totally defies any normal behavior. Here the killer is coming toward Nicole,the heroine, with his pick-up truck; she manages to jump out of the way, thereby avoiding being hit by the truck. In the event she flings her mobile phone away, only to pick it up in the next moment, as she decovers that the batteries have been removed by her sudden move. So what does she actually do, she looks at the celluar for a second which is now dirty and throws it away. Hello, anybody here who's thinking for a moment. I mean, why not find the batteries, they can't be far away, and put them back in the phone?? Even if the phone didn't get a connection, as it did in the beginning of the movie, once the couple arrives at the deadly rest stop, it would be foolish and an absolute risk to leave the mobile phone behind, since a connection could easily be established else where. This is another one of those scenes that just dosen't make any sense !

Also Nicole dosen't come across as likeable. When she was with her boyfriend, she's behaving like a spoiled teenager, and often acting rather bitchy and demanding, as if nothing is good enough for her.

If the 2 unlogical scenes don't bother you and, the fact that a large portion of this movie is, to put it mildly, adoped from other aforementioned films, then this is certainly alright watching, if only for the thrills, which come rather frequently. But if this is not the case, you'll be better off skipping this one.

By the way, the horror elements are absolutely in the background, which makes this movie more of a dark and morbid Thriller, than a Horror flick.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on February 3, 2007
Format: DVD
a horror movie for the brain dead. a ridiculous and stupid screenplay full of holes. if you want to scare the viewers witless, at least you should come up with some smart tricks not just a smaller version of stephen king's semi with a redneck guy driving a beat-up old truck at will to kill people since what? 1957? what? a super nature mystery? so this girl was making love with her boy friend in the wildness, how come a voyeur-like close-up film would have shown up in an old tv? how it was possible? what?! that ranger's station got cable or satellite subscription? how is possible her boyfriend's blue sedan would disappear without a trace and then appeared in from of the ranger's station? what? if so many people mysteriously gone missing at that particular highway section and at that specific rest stop, why there's no fbi involvement at all so far? why in heaven's name a motorcycle cop would possibly show up in the middle of the night? did we all knew that the next rest stop was about 60 miles away? so where this stupid cop show up? if that cop was crashed by that stupid yellow truck, if that young woman indeed was smart enough, why she didn't withdraw the cop's gun and should that killer kingdom come? and, folks, could you tell me why the director and screenwriters decided to let us listen several times to the girl's urinating sound? what's the purpose of continuously showing her in the filthy toilet cubicle to pee? just want us to become a voyeur peeping tom or what?
the stereotyped problem of watching horror movies or those alien movies is always like this: they treat viewers like morons who got the least brain and education and think they could get away with a stupid screenplay, a stupid director and a bunch of young actors who would do anything if only they could be casted in anything as long as it is called a movie. screaming, crying, cursing, gory bloody scenes, scary sound effects, special effects...anything goes. and it all started when you hid behind a corner, awaiting your friend come up, as soon as he or she just about to pass by, you jumped out and made a scary scream. but unfortunately, we are not childish kids anymore, and you should not stay in that age still try to scare people in the same way.
don't stop at this 'rest stop', even you want to release the pressure of your nature call, just follow jack london's instruction: follow the 'call of the wild'. and you could save some stupid harassment possibility.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Format: DVD
I saw the DVD in the store, so I picked it up. Big mistake. I had never heard of it before. I wish that were still the case. It's one of those classic cases where Halloween time sparks the release of horrible (not horror) movies.

There are two things that stand out to me:

1) It's totally implausible and

2) Does she ever stop crying and whining ?

The things that happen in this movie, and there is not a lot happening, just don't make sense. They get to the rest stop and the guy disappears, we don't know why. Though if I knew how emotional that actress would become, I would have left too. The cop / park ranger guy is an insult to the police force. Even to the guys from Police Academy. Oh yeah, and after she blows his brains out, um, twice, he just simply disappears. "Oh you missed, shot me again !" Yea.

Moments like this are happening throughout the film. She is sitting in this nasty bathroom, contemplating on what to do, while she could quite easily be skipping down the highway. Better hitch a ride with the demented creep family, with two weird Jewish boys and a deformed Mini-Me. Huh ? Excactly. Oh wait, the boyfriend is back, and still alive, but without a tongue. That will definitely hurt their relationship.

I wish somebody would have cut out HER tongue. Because all she is doing for 90% of the film, is crying. I assume the actress was following the directors pointers to look frightened and distressed. But somebody should have told her that whining, whimpering and crying for 90 minutes of screen-time is rather annoying. Even if somebody bites off your finger.

Writing anything more would give this film too much attention. Like most of the others have written before me: Stay away. Trust me, you would rather have dinner in that Rest Stop bathroom, than to waste your prescious life on this ridiculous pile of stupidity.

Amen.

HT :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on October 18, 2006
Format: DVD
Ever lite a wick on a firecracker and it doesnt go off? How disappointing right? Well the filmmakers here lite the wick but, their film doesn't take off ..sadly! "Rest Stop" is a bummer from the beginning.. the direction is flat, acting is mediocre at best, the writing is weak ..with an overemphasis on blood and gore that is there to try and cover up just how weak it is. I am a fan of horror movies and I like good gory effects but, a film has to have more to offer as well. I know that in a horrific situation one might not think straight.. but, our main girl had plenty of opportunities to either start walking or, shoot the psycho with the injured cops gun. There was a part when the girl suggested that she and another girl that was trapped in a utility closet escape together but, she never thought to do that on her own after she realized the trapped girl was either a ghost or only inside her head. Its not fully explained if the trapped girl was a past victim or what. Whenever the main girl decides to use the gun on the madman.. she of course wastes the bullets on the injured cop that ended up not really being there like the trapped girl.. so I don't even know if there was a gun or not because if the cop was part of the main girls imagination or a ghost (again it's not fully explained) ..then the gun was part of her imagination as well.. so I am not sure how the bullet holes got in the bathroom door. Also I don't understand why the cop didn't believe her at first.. he must have been a part of her imagination and not a past victim come back from the dead to help her because, if he was a past victim he would have already known that the crazed man was after her. I hate deep plot holes! The biggest misunderstanding I have is why the trapped girl and police man both vanish as if they weren't ever there, along with the blood that vanishes, the gun, the bullet holes?? I hope I am getting my point across regarding this films many flaws because, the whole film is over all one big flaw and with the 5 or more alternate endings its no wonder the filmmakers had trouble tying up the knots in the script.. they actually never do believably. Its ashamed that this wasn't even decent. The ingredients were there, they just weren't mixed or prepared properly.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Rest Stop (The Collection)
Rest Stop (The Collection) by Various (DVD - 2009)
$8.39

Rest Stop - Don't Look Back [Blu-ray]
Rest Stop - Don't Look Back [Blu-ray] by Richard Tillman (Blu-ray - 2008)
$9.24

Joy Ride [Blu-ray]
Joy Ride [Blu-ray] by Paul Walker (Blu-ray - 2013)
$6.99
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.