Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (19)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


162 of 173 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too bad it took Stephen Moyer from Hbo's True Blood to make this movie known.
I happened to search under "True Blood", the HBO series for any items. This movie, "Restraint" came up among other items. It looked like a good thriller so I checked it out. Stephen Moyer from True Blood is in it which was why it showed up. I'm not a fan of his so that had no influence on wanting to see it.
A young Australian couple, Ron and Dale are on the run from...
Published on October 25, 2008 by Summer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars BLONDIE AND CLYDE MEET NORMAN BATE
DEADLY ROBBER MAKE AN MISTAKE TO HIDE IN AN ISOLATED ESTATE,WHERE AN MYSTERIOUS HOMESTEADER IS HIDING A SECRET.THE MOVIE IS A GAME OF SURVIVAL WITH THE THREE OCCUPANT.WHO WOULD COME OUT ON TOP.WELL PLOTTED WITH GREAT ACTING BY THE THREE LEADING STAR.THE ACTRESS IN THIS MOVIE IS A MIX CONCOCTION OF AMBER HEARD AND REESE WITHERSPOON.ALL THAT BEAUTY IN ONE ACTRESS. DON'T...
Published 2 months ago by yorkstead


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

162 of 173 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too bad it took Stephen Moyer from Hbo's True Blood to make this movie known., October 25, 2008
By 
Summer (New York City) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Restraint (DVD)
I happened to search under "True Blood", the HBO series for any items. This movie, "Restraint" came up among other items. It looked like a good thriller so I checked it out. Stephen Moyer from True Blood is in it which was why it showed up. I'm not a fan of his so that had no influence on wanting to see it.
A young Australian couple, Ron and Dale are on the run from the police. Ron has just recently killed Dale's boss. They have no money and are looking for a place to hide out. They eventually find a very big secluded house. As they're searching the house for things to steal, there's one thing they don't know. The owner is in the house.
The owner, Andrew (Stephen Moyer), sees Dale first and before anything is said, in comes Ron, with his shotgun, barking orders and tying Andrew up.
Andrew is agoraphobic and doesn't fight back as much as one would expect.
They come up with a plan, which to not ruin the movie, I'll leave out.
As the movie progresses, the interaction between the three characters is intense, suspenseful and exciting. Looks and actions could be deceiving.
All in all, I never expected the movie to be so good, with great acting and a storyline that kept me interested the whole time.
It's too bad both actors, Travis Fimmel (Ron) and Teresa Palmer (Dale) haven't been in more movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restraint entertaining on many levels, January 18, 2009
By 
Circe (Austin, Texas USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Restraint (DVD)
The movie Restraint manages to entertain on many levels--it's a thriller--who will kill who? It's a pyschological play--who's got the power in each situation and who will turn it how? It's sexy--who's going to have sex with whom? And it's all well-executed. The actors are believeable and gorgeous; the cinematography beautiful and even haunting; the dialogue cutting and concise. Having said all that, it does many things well, but nothing great. It's not scary enough to appeal to the slasher crowd; it's got too much violence to appeal to the cerebral crowd; and it doesn't have enough sex to appeal on those grounds. It's just a good movie that explores the power struggles--both physical and psychological--of three people in very bizarre circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another good Australian movie !, February 25, 2009
This review is from: Restraint (DVD)
I don't know what it is with those Australian's and their movies, but there must be something in the water in Australia ! Because just about every Australian movie that I've seen was good to excellent, and this one here is simply another good Australian thriller. I guess the best script writers and directors along with actors do actually reside in Australia. Anyway, this is a good suspensful thriller that is more focused around the different characters of the film. Its not your average run of the mill type of thriller, especially because there is a certain amount of character development in it which is usually missing from other thrillers. Watch it cause you won't be disappointed if you're a thriller fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, April 16, 2010
This review is from: Restraint (DVD)
I was able to watch this as an instant play on a movie rental website I subscribe to, and the only reason I picked it was because Stephen Moyer of HBO's True Blood: The Complete First Season (HBO Series) and True Blood: The Complete Second Season (HBO Series)was in it. It's a little known Australian production, but proved (despite my initial misgivings) to be quite an effective thriller.

A young couple comprising a hoodlum, Ron (Travis Fimmel) and his stripper girlfriend, Dale (Teresa Palmer) end up being on the run after Ron kills a gas station clerk. The pair find an imposing big house out in the country and decide the check it out, not realizing there's an occupant in the house. The man occupying the house is an agoraphobic (someone who fears going outside) and Andrew (Stephen Moyer) is soon taken hostage by the pair. This is where the fun/thrills begin as the three play a sort of cat-and-mouse game with some psychological and sexual tension between the couple and the hostage. Andrew appears to be sexually attracted to Dale and keeps commenting on her resemblance to his fiancee Gabrielle who has apparently jilted him. Ron, as dumb as he acts, is wise to this attraction and manipulates it to serve his own ends, but there's more to Andrew than he suspects.

The tension in the drama is credibly played out and most of the movie is actually set within the house itself - there's an element of unpredictability in the 'relationship' that forms between the three, at times Ron is beating up on Andrew, at others Andrew fights back, and then there are times when all three are acting all civilized (sharing a meal, dancing happily to some vintage jazz album). It's hard for the viewer to determine what exactly Andrew's motives are, and if Ron and Dale will be content with what is promised to them. Dale as portrayed by the sexy Teresa Palmer (there's a scene where she bares her behind and breasts, but there's no graphic scenes of sex) is the object of desire for both men, and this sexual tension is also well played out.

Though this appears to be a low-budget production, my husband and I both felt the dialogue was well-written and the three main actors were credible in their roles. The only thing we felt was a letdown was the rather cliched ending, but on the whole, this is a nicely done psychological thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nifty Little Thriller, September 8, 2011
By 
Eric Sanberg (Berwyn, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Restraint (DVD)
It seems to me I've seen some numbers of thrillers that revolve around a character with a psychological quirk. In this case the protagonist suffers from agoraphobia.

A young couple are on the run. He has murdered someone who is now in the trunk of his car. She hasn't yet done anything wrong but has issues of self worth so she stays with this murderer. While they are at a gas station, and in need of dough, the news hits the TV that they are wanted. He ends up killing the attendant and they need to get off the street. They end up in the house of the agoraphobe and realize he is a source of their much needed cash. The movie shifts into psychological gear and the viewer must try to figure who will win the cat and mouse.

Once you suspend your disbelief on the way too coincidental set up, this is a pretty cool movie. Steve Moyer as the shut in does a nice job. He's essentially a normal guy except for that one phobia. And when the viewer sees he might not be as innocent as he proposes he handles that with equal aplomb. Teresa Palmer as Dale is gorgeous. She's good. Maybe not great, but good enough to get the viewer through the role comfortably. I'm not too sure about bad boy Ron. Some aspects of his character were right on but something was wrong. I'm not certain if it was in the writing or his portrayal.

Most of the action is set in the house and it's a good set. It's a mansion that is a bit past its prime but has a lot of personality. That the shut-in is a used-to-be art dealer helps as well. You have some nifty artwork scattered throughout the place. This has decent production values and moves along at a fair clip so you're not at all bored. This could have used a bit better script, but so many of these types of thrillers are pretty awful, so this stands out quite a bit higher. It might be more three and a half stars than the four I gave it, but it's well worth the watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars House-Bound..., November 29, 2010
This review is from: Restraint (DVD)
Ron (Travis Fimmel) and Dale (Teresa Palmer) are on the run from the law. Ron has killed a man at a gas station, while already having another corpse in the trunk of their vehicle! Fortunately, the two fugitives happen upon a secluded mansion to hide in. Unfortunately, the house is occupied by it's current resident, Andrew (Stephen Moyer), who is nearly paralyzed by agoraphobia. Ron grows increasingly agitated, desperate, and dangerous, while Andrew comes up w/ a plan that just might keep him alive. RESTRAINT is a marvelously tricky thriller w/ plenty of suspense, mystery, and some humour. The ending is extremely satisfying and surprising. Definitely worth owning... P.S.- The fact that Ms. Palmer is occasionally naked in this film, and is hot enough to melt lead didn't influence my vote one bit...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review for movie Restraint, March 31, 2012
This review is from: Restraint (DVD)
Good acting, top props to the 'hostage,' though. Great camera work/camera quality. Unique enough characters in a unique enough situation, especially with the hostage's phobia. Despite doing their performances well, it's WHAT they performed as the first half of the film that made it less enjoyable.

The two "antagonists" were WAY too unrealistically unstable/bi-polar for the majority. There's random acts of humorous bonding between everyone, then random insults/threats, then random sexual tension BS including from the promiscuous chick who somehow has bouts of dramatic seriousness, to random bouts of emotional-ness from one of them to another, etc etc.

But towards the end this finally starts to fade and take a stronger tone as the movie builds up to its finish. The finish, suffice it to say, has a decent 'twist' that makes the movie stand out a bit more on itself. But it's hard to say that it makes up for the back and forth personalities and such earlier.

In the end, after a bit of thought however, I can see there's a lot of psychological themes and detailed imagery based on the human mind that were meant to be displayed because of all these chaotic things (especially the twist added in), but it just doesn't come together as well or as cleanly as it could've and leaves a mildly disjointed product instead of a more direct/blatant, beautiful piece of psychological art it could've been with a bit more focus and a bit less whipping around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good tense thriller!, September 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Restraint (DVD)
I originally put this movie in my Netflix queue because Stephen Moyer starred in it and I've recently discovered him. I was pleasantly surprised at what a good movie this was. Had never heard of the other two actors but they were very good as well, Travis Fimmel was very convincing as the mean, menacing guy who drives the story in the beginning. Moyer is also convincing as the "good guy" who is taken hostage by the young couple on a crime spree. I thought it was very well made, the tension keeps you on the edge of your seat, and the story very believable. So, I bought it for my DVD collection. The alternate ending was really good and gives a little more insight into the "good guy" and leaves you wondering if he really is the good guy. I loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really an enjoyable movie for its genre, April 22, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Restraint (Amazon Instant Video)
I wont let anything out about the movie other than to simply recommend that you either purchase or rent it and watch it. I wouldnt categorize it as a "keeper" so you may not want to buy a physical copy as I really don't see it as being worth watching numerous times but the acting wss great, the suspense was palpable and the storyline was surprisingly good.
I do highly recommend this movie. VERY entertaining!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly decent, February 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Restraint (DVD)
The movie was actually pretty good. The story existed and had a few twists that made it better. No complaints for the few bucks I spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Restraint
Restraint by Travis Fimmel (DVD - 2008)
$14.98 $6.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.