Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Jessy Lanza Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis UniOrlando Outdoor Recreation SnS

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars19
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 11, 2006
While I have a few project management reference books, it's rare to find a book on the topic that you can actually enjoy reading from cover to cover.

Results Without Authority covers a lot of ground, and there's something for every level of project manager. The book would serve well as a guideline for someone leading a new project management organization, or for someone who's been in the profession a while, but would like to refine their skills beyond what's done in their own organization.

I particularly enjoyed a section about how to build currency with your team -- how to start, and how to enhance it over time. The author has really done an astounding job of putting into words something I'd have a hard time describing, and he gives lots of great ideas that are much more rational and sustainable than the usual team-building exercises you still see at organizations.

One other interesting part was his detailed analysis of choosing the right metrics for the project -- a gap for many project managers. It's easiest to measure what we always measure than to make sure our measures are counterbalanced and take individual project issues into consideration.

Throughout the book, he keeps your attention with clear, concise writing and the occasional unexpected laugh. A great read.
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2006
This stuff works! "Results without Authority" is a powerful source of tools and common sense advice for people managing projects without formal authority. And most of the projects I have managed and most of the projects I am aware of are managed by people without authority. Tom Kendrick brings a depth of wisdom that can only be learned in the trenches.

Kendrick weaves theory and practice to build a comprehensive set of tools, templates, and checklists that can be used by everyone from the newly appointed project manager to the steely veteran. This volume is the most practical, down-to-earth, treatment of managing without authority that I have ever read. And, it is a good read and an enjoyable read. "Results Without Authority" must be required reading for all project managers, whether they have authority or not. Read it today and start using it tomorrow.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2012
I have acted as a project manager on several occasions and mostly got by with some organisational skills. In my current position I have to manage projects with people who do not report to me and this book was filled with great ideas to move a project forward.

I would recommend this book for anyone who has been pushed into a project manager role.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2015
I never sought a career track as a PM but have found myself here anyway (long story), this book should be the defacto go to guide to learning some of the methodologies and challenges you will encounter. Bonus note: Written for humans to read instead of a cut and dry by the book guide.

A+ go get it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2012
I found the book to have many helpful suggestions regarding how to manage a project in the absence of or without resorting to authority. Having participated in a project that ran for several years and for which the project manager had no authority (and was not allowed any dedicated staff), I could readily see how applying the teachings in this book could help a project manager succeed. Not being a project manager myself (and having no aspirations to such), I perceive this book to be more useful to those new to project management. Those who are already experienced, successful project managers will probably already have discovered many of the tools offered in this book or come up with their own solutions.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2015
Treats the subject of influence in a management environment as no more than a pure negotiations process and a quid pro quo collaboration. There are many more ways of influencing people than horse trading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2006
If Tom Sawyer had used this book, his friends would have done a far more than just whitewash a fence.

"Results without Authority" is just what most project people need to be successful. Projects where you control everyone are almost nonexistent. I have done project work for over a decade and this book was very helpful. The book contained so many insights that I used it as the basis for a 2 hour training session with my consulting group.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2007
Results Without Authority showed me invaluable advice on how to make things work despite the handicap. It feels as if this book knows my exact situation and already has a solution for the problems that I am currently undergoing and will be experiencing. In an organization where their operations processes change in an unbelievably frequent fashion, a book like this will give insights that one might need to make things work despite the lack of direct authority.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2009
This book is a massive breath of fresh air.I am a credentialed PMP with a solid foundation in project management. I read a lot of material and continue to attend a lot of courses on project management. In my experience, most books are either: A) heavy on the formal processes without much in the way of actually HOW to conduct them, or B) an overview of business cases with the occasional tip and trick thrown in.

In contrast, this book talks about the whats, the whys, and most importantly the hows of being a successful PM. If you're a new project or program manager with little formal experience or education in the topic, this should be one of your first stops on the way to learning. Although it does reference the usual PMI jargon, it isn't swimming in it, and more importantly, all methods/theories and terms are explained well. It's a very approachable but thorough examination on Project Management.

The book isn't written as a manual, though it does provide an excellent reference framework in its structure. What that means is that you can easily skip to the parts you need help with, or return back to points you need to have refreshed. The tone and tenor of the book is akin to listening to a mentor provide guidance. I really wish I had this type of resource when I started PM work in the military over a decade ago.

And for those of you with decades of experience, I believe there are still some excellent points for takeaway; likely it will force you to revisit some things you take for granted, refresh your assumptions and otherwise reflect on how you do things and how you can improve.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2016
If you’re responsible for leading a current project there’s a very high probability that much of the team report to others, not to you. Results Without Authority provides a wealth of guidance for leading a project team effectively through influence and clear communication.

Tom Kendrick was a program manager for many years at Hewlett-Packard, and he has extensive experience with large, complex projects. In this book he addresses controlling project work, adopting effective project management processes, building team relationships, planning, tracking progress, using agile management methods, and much more. The book's structure makes it easy to quickly locate techniques relevant to your current projects, and key concepts and practices are extensively illustrated using relevant examples.

The list of useful project management questions in Appendix A alone will more than justify the modest price of this book. If you’re responsible for leading a project, large or small, you will benefit from Results Without Authority.

Results Without Authority: Controlling a Project When the Team Doesn't Report to You
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse