Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Resurrecting Mingus Hardcover – Bargain Price, February 13, 2001


See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Hardcover, Bargain Price, February 13, 2001
$2.77 $2.03

This is a bargain book and quantities are limited. Bargain books are new but could include a small mark from the publisher and an Amazon.com price sticker identifying them as such. Details
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Special Offers and Product Promotions


Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Free Press (February 13, 2001)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0684873524
  • ASIN: B0006I8JEA
  • Product Dimensions: 8.3 x 5.5 x 1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 8 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (56 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #3,971,374 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Library Journal

This promising first novel from dancer and poet Adams will appeal to fans of Terry McMillan and Virginia DeBerry. The main character is a successful young lawyer named Mingus whose family is falling apart. She and her older sister have never been close, and now, after 35 years of marriage, her parents are divorcing. Throw in a complicated love life, and you have the makings of a compelling story that is hard to put down. Having grown up in a biracial family (with a black father and a white mother), Mingus has mixed emotions when she is asked out by a white police officer. She knows that she wants to avoid the problems her parents faced, but Steven seems nice. She agrees to a date and then meets the perfect man who happens to be black. What should she do? Recommended for all libraries with an audience for contemporary African American fiction. Karen Traynor, Sullivan Free Lib., Chittenango, NY
Copyright 2001 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Booklist

Adams' passionately erotic debut novel introduces us to Mingus Browning, a successful young lawyer who's just been dumped by her boyfriend. In the wake of her own depression, Mingus receives a phone call from her sister, Eva, who reports that their father is having an affair with another woman and is preparing to leave their mother. Mingus is stunned by this revelation, and she finds herself reevaluating her relationship with both parents, as well as her feelings about her biracial (African American and Irish) heritage. To make matters worse, Mingus falls in love with Eric, an African American television producer, only to discover that Eva is obsessed with him. When Mingus learns that her sister is pursuing Eric, and that Eric is passively tolerating the pursuit, she breaks off their relationship. With candor and sensitivity, Adams tackles the issues of infidelity, biracial marriage, and the potential conflict between one's social and personal identities. Adams' writing style is vivid and direct, creating a sense of immediacy that keeps the story moving even during its most contemplative moments. Bonnie Johnston
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

It's an incredibly well written story.
"bourne2shop"
Brava' Ms. Adams... and I am looking forward to your next book.
Psboston7
The book caught my eye from the first page up until the last.
Sanas E. Murray

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on January 31, 2001
Format: Hardcover
Resurrecting Mingus is a riveting novel!!
The author unveiled topics rarely discussed in our society. I now have a more profound understanding of entrapment. I can now validate feelings from both man and woman. The heat from sibling rivalry was so thick that you could feel the tension mounting. Mingus and Eva epitomize a love-hate relationship. I appreciated author, Jenoyne Adams, for delving into the growing pains of infidelity in a marraige, life after a divorce (different perspective coming from a biracial marraige), and unexplained human emotion captured in words, captured in this novel. I was captivated by Adams' writing style, I could see each scene as it unfolded. I was so immeresed into the novel that I finished reading the book in 8 hours. I could hardly put it down, rare for me.
This book is good!! As I thumb throw the pages searching for a passage to share with you, I find myself stuck. Resurrecting Mingus has something for everyone.
It's moments of revelation when Adams writes: "I figured out that bitterness sits behinds eyes that can't cry."
Love between woman and man: "Mingus slid herself down to the carpet, her bare chest pressed against his shirt. She touched his face like it was her first time feeling skin under her fingers. She looked into his eyes as she traced his chin, his nect, back up to his lips. She kissed herself into him..."
Entrapment: (Carl) "Second time she got pregnant... I never heard it pop... made me wonder about her. She got up... straightened out her clothes, and walk herself out. Quick. Never once looked me in they eye. All night I sat up in my bunk wanting to scream. She trapped me. Pinned a hole in the condom and trapped me." (Ellie) I knew the condom was old...
Read more ›
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Shannon on February 11, 2001
Format: Hardcover
I wonder if there are words that will illustrate the feeling I received from reading Jenonyne Adam's first book,Resurrecting Mingus. Well, I will have to try.
Adam's transends you physically and mentally into lives of these characters. The primary character Mingus, is the voice of reason or the gel that holds this fragile family together, until it is broken with her father's infidelity. These elements of betrayal, rverbrate throughout the story making it a reoccuring theme. But, it is not the forbidden acts alone, that make this novel worthwhile, it's the overcoming of the antagonist that makes this a sure-fire read. Plot aside the authors writing is style is extremely fresh and honest. Her metaphors and beautiful way of unfolding the characters,events, and storyline, is her true talent.
I know it is pretty early to say, but this is one of the best books I've read all year.
I can't wait for her sophomore effort!!!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful By "misslove" on March 1, 2001
Format: Hardcover
Resurrecting Mingus is an amalgamation of insight, delivery, and intense emotions. Never before have I read a novel that explored multiple sides of so many unchartered issues. Adams' candor is simply intoxicating and effulgent.
This novel oscillates between Mingus Browning and her family. The author conceptualizes the affect that divorce has on adults, the damages of surpressing desires, and the anguish that secrets and lies can cause. Now, one might say they've read novels with similar storylines. But, Jenoyne Adams wasn't the author. This author has a magnetic way of opening her characters' souls, exposing their fears, intentions, and inner demons. The story is not one sided at all. As readers, we receive all of the participants and affected parties' points of view.
Besides the explosive characters and stellar storyline, Resurrecting Mingus is also brisk and eloquent. It's a quick, yet engulfing read. Adams is extremely voluminous providing just the right amount of lucid descriptions and toxic lyrics.
This blistering novel will grab your attention and interest and hold it until your eyes reach the last page. Enjoy!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By B! on April 11, 2001
Format: Hardcover
This was DEFINITELY one of the better reads I had this year. The writing was fresh and vibrant. The way she allowed different characters to contribute their perspective to the story was very intelligent and real. Each character brought just enough to the table to keep them relevant and prevent the story from going off course. And the relationships were dealt with in an exceptional fashion.
I guess we all have issues, make different choices and live by them, and Resurrecting Mingus takes us through all of those phases during a tough set of situations in a way that makes you not want to put the book down.
With the exception of page 219, I'd have to say this novel was nearly flawless. Relationships, race, sex, family, achievement are all dealt with in a thoughtful and compelling way. It was fun, deep, pleasant to read and with enough emotional demand to keep a reader involved.
Can't wait to read more from Ms. Adams!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Flame Princess on February 16, 2002
Format: Hardcover
the first time I read it. The ending [made me mad] as it seemed against my instincts, Mingus pissed me off with her weak actions throughout the book... I was generally made angry at one point or another by everything in this book.
..and then I read it again.
I laughed out loud unexpectedly. Eyes glistened wet while moving through a particular difficult chapter. I realized I was not angry with the book. I was angry at the characters.
The characters in this book are human, painfully so. Were they my friends, I'd have to sit them down and give them a good talking to. They make decisions and do things that sometimes don't seem logical to me-- because they are human, and prone to error, and generally illogical. The characters were so well-developed I started taking up arms with the _individuals_ in Resurrecting Mingus, wanting to help them with their lives. If that's not a success in the writing style, I don't know what is.
This book is about human flaws, and struggling to do right by yourself. It is about a woman who realizes all her material successes don't substitute for self-love. That the love of a man does not replace being comfortable with the person you are when you are alone.
It is, above all, about becoming yourself.
I think every character by the book's end commits to being more honest with themselves-- and that is one of life's most important lessons. This book has become a favorite, and I'm looking forward to more of Jenoyne's character explorations.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews