Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halford Resurrected!
Let's get one thing straight, this cd kicks! From the first track Resurrection to Made in Hell, Halford shows he still has the voice. From Locked and Loaded the album begins to slow during Night Fall then picks up in the middle of Silent Screams. Iron Maiden lead Bruce Dickenson is very much welcome on The One You Love to Hate. From Cyberworld to Savior the album is...
Published on August 10, 2000 by blwest1

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Modern version of Priest
I'm glad to see Halford back into a mainstream gig. This is a metal album with a couple of tracks that could be construed as modern hard rock rock along the lines of Godsmack, Korn and certainly , Metallica. I'm disappointed that we don't hear some tracks on the radio. "The One You LOve to Hate" is an absolute rock gem that falls into this category - it's...
Published on April 25, 2001 by JOEL BERARDI


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halford Resurrected!, August 10, 2000
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
Let's get one thing straight, this cd kicks! From the first track Resurrection to Made in Hell, Halford shows he still has the voice. From Locked and Loaded the album begins to slow during Night Fall then picks up in the middle of Silent Screams. Iron Maiden lead Bruce Dickenson is very much welcome on The One You Love to Hate. From Cyberworld to Savior the album is a collection of one rocking track after another. But the shining jewels in this collection are Resurrection and Made in Hell. This is the happily awaited return of Rob Halford to the metal genre. If you were a Judas Priest fan...this definately will bring back fond memories of their glory days. This ranks up with Iron Maiden's Brave New World, as one of the best metal albums this year. Buy with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Metal Masterpiece!!!, August 8, 2000
By 
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
On first listen, one thing is clear -- The Metal God is on a mission to revive metal for the year 2000. The most intense singing ever unleashed envelops one's soul on the blistering title track. The next song, "Made In Hell", is a heavy metal history lesson from the inventor of the banshee wail. This album brilliantly illustrates Mr. Halford's ability to sing ANYTHING. He has masterfully reincarnated the classic metal sound, while maintaining a very modern aural assault. One of the keys to a stand-out album is the inablility of the listener to pick a favorite tune. That is certainly true here. Variety abounds, from the emotional epic "Silent Screams", to the stomping groove of "Night Fall", the power-driven "Temptation", and the sledgehammer plod of "Slow Down". However, it would be an injustice to try and pick a favorite song -- they are all different and equally strong. Halford has once again assembled a hungry group of musicians who seem just as motivated to help reignite the heavy metal flame. He has not only proven on this record that he is the greatest vocalist in the world, but also the best songwriter. No one else can match his ability to combine extreme heaviness with such melody and groove. Without a doubt, the best album I've ever heard. BUY RESURRECTION NOW!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Metal CD of 2000!, October 20, 2000
By 
Erik Rupp (Southern California) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
RESURRECTION is, quite simply, the best album Rob Halford has done since Judas Priest's SCREAMING FOR VENGEANCE. The production of Roy Z (who did Bruce Dickinson's outstanding ACCIDENT OF BIRTH) is excellent, as are the songs he co-wrote with Halford for the album (Halford also co-wrote tracks with Bob Marlette, who produced Black Sabbath's REUNION album). Combining the power of Priest's PAINKILLER with the hooks and melodic sense of SCREAMING FOR VENGEANCE, RESURRECTION is classic Halford. Standout tracks include the Title Track, "Made In Hell," "Locked And Loaded," and the outstanding "duet" with Bruce Dickinson, "The One You Love To Hate" (a how-to lesson in Heavy Metal singing if there ever was one). If you like Metal with strong melodies and hooks, while still being Heavy, this album is for you. -(and if you like this one, check out Bruce Dickinson's ACCIDENT OF BIRTH, Iron Maiden's BRAVE NEW WORLD, and Armored Saint's REVELATION and SYMBOL OF SALVATION CD's)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On Level With The Best Judas Priest Albums Ever, December 18, 2004
By 
Stephen B. O'Blenis (Nova Scotia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
Back when I still used to read music journalism on a regular basis, and well before Rob Halford ever recorded this album, it was apparantly assumed a given that he could never return to singing Judas Priest-style heavy metal because his voice wouldn't hold out and he couldn't hit the notes anymore. Well, in the first 65 seconds of "Resurrection" that assumption is shredded, riddled with nails, and set on fire, and it's just onward and upward from there. From the triumphant, semi-autobiographical (?!) title track to the soaring 'Savior', this is every bit the metal masterpiece of Any of the Judas Priest albums, with Rob not only back in maximum form (albeit mutated into a somewhat more savage vocal style) but has completed a difficult task in finding an ensemble of co-players to actuall equal the legendary Priest line-up. 'Night Fall' and 'Cyberworld' are the most directly Priest-like the latter sounding like it came right off the epic "Painkiller" album and the former more an amalgamation of various Priest sounds. 'The One You Love to Hate', featuring Bruce Dickinson on co-lead vocals is just a driving, mega-heavy monster that proves worthy of being the first track to pair these two legends. 'Silent Screams', the longest track of the disc, varies styles and tempos within itself seamlessly and, like Iron Maiden's 'Run To The Hills' or Motorhead's 'Ace Of Spades' is a track that it's hard to picture any metal fan not being able to get into completely. 'Drive' is really hard to describe - a cross between an industrial take on "Point Of Entry" and really heavy stoner rock is the cloest I can come; featuring some of the best Bass ever. 'Slow Down', one of the heavier and more midtempo cuts, features a different facet of drum dynamo Bobby Jarzombek's abilities. 'Twist' and 'Temptation' didn't grab me as much on the first couple of listens as the rest of the album but on subsequent plays blossomed into invaluable parts of the masterpiece. 'Made In Hell', the immediate follow-up to the title blowout is at once a tribute to the metal form and condensed history, while taking veiled mocking shots at all the negative stereotypes that cling to metal ("we're all on the road to Hell and that's Route 666"). And in a world where brutality can be disguised as compassion and affection, 'Locked And Loaded' disguises kinky affection as brutality in a song that's sure to be interpreted in a number of different ways (although "won't stop until you cry" doesn't necesarily mean tears of anguish. You just gotta know how to look at this stuff).

Re-ignition successful. Get this and witness the Resurrection of a (metal) god.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Metal God is Back!, August 8, 2000
By 
Paulo (Kansas City) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
If anyone doubts Rob Halford's vocal abilities 30 years into his career, "Resurrection" should do much to quiet them. From the ear-splitting title track all the way through the closing seconds, there is never a dull moment. Listen closely to the vocal layering in "Silent Screams". It is some of his most jaw-dropping work to date. Roy Z's production is top notch, making the impact of Halford's return to pure heavy metal even more potent. This is the best metal album released so far in 2000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rob Halford, alpha-male, August 30, 2000
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
Rob Halford is back and he's got some things to say, and they're from the gut. I get the sense Mr. Halford has been through some rough times since leaving JP, but now he's got it figured out. He re-proves to us that he is the absolute king of bring-you-to-your-knees heavy metal. On this disc, he is in his element: macho, intense, unrelenting. Screaming, growling vocals with clarity of purpose. Thick, tight power chords and a pounding, locomotive rhythm section. Play it loud and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid comeback from solo Halford, October 19, 2000
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
THE BAND: Rob Halford (vocals), Patrick Lachman (guitars), Mike Chlasciak (guitars), Ray Riendeau (bass), Bobby Jarzombek (drums & percussion).

THE DISC: (2000) 12 songs clocking in at approximately 49 minutes. Included with the disc is a 10-page booklet containing song titles/credits, song lyrics, assorted pictures of Halford on and off a motorcycle, and thank you's. Recorded at Silver Cloud Studio (Burbank, CA), Bauwhaus Studios (Amsterdam, The Netherlands), Sound City Studio (Van Nuys, CA). Label: Metal-Is / BMG.

COMMENTS: The year 2000 was a great year for comebacks in the world of Heavy Metal. In particular, old school roots of the British kind. #1 was Iron Maiden's "Brave New World" album... my personal pick for best Metal album of that year. And #2 was Halford's "Resurrection". Truly, Rob Halford was back from the dead. He gathered a band with metal balls to feast his fury - Lachman (Diesel Machine, Damageplan, The Mercy Clinic), Chlasciak (Sebastian Bach, Cans, Testament), Riendeau (solo albums and bass clinics), and Jarzombek (Riot, Juggernaut, Spastic Inc, and Iced Earth). Not to mention new heavy metal master Roy Z (Bruce Dickinson, Helloween, Judas Priest) producing. The time was right for Halford's comeback. And the success of this album (and in the 2 years to follow a 'live' album and a 2nd solo album "Crucible") would ultimate beckon Halford back to his former bandmates Judas Priest for a reunion. One word for this album... "Blistering". From the first high-pitched glass-shattering scream, only seconds into the opening song, you will be hooked and dreams of 80's metal will quickly come back. Outside of "Two" (Halford's last project)..... you know what you're getting. Fight & Judas Priest delivered bone-crunching driving guitars, thundering steady and often times speedy percussion, matched only by Halford's vocal prowness. "Resurrection" offers more of the same with that all-out fireworks millenium flare. The 1st three songs are brilliant metal pieces of art. The middle of the album rocks, but settles down a bit compared to the beginning of the album. The 7 minute "Silent Screams" stands out as one of the better slower tunes here. Bruce Dickinson helps out on track 6, "The One You Love To Hate". A few more rockers and the album closes with a great song, "Saviour". Production from Roy Z is flawless. Fans of Judas Priest and Fight will need this album. Not perfect, but dang near close (4.5 stars).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Contrived but great for nostalgia., August 8, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
Well its good to hear Rob on a metal record even though the idea and musical output appears to be a bit contrived.
How so? Well the songs (especially Night Fall, Twist and Slow Down)could have appeared on any Priest album from 1982 onwards (excluding Turbo)and if that wasn't enough for an 80's lad who grew up on traditional metal theres a duet with Bruce Dickinson (The One You Love To Hate). Nothing modern here:-)
Business wise this is a smart move as Halford's "Metal" album is put out and being marketed by Iron Maiden's company Sanctuary and via the Metal-Is promotion and North American tour with Maiden(!). Hmm... the 30+ audience also has money and is not afraid to spend it online(!).
But one must not forget the 90's in which Both Rob and Bruce (while solo) bad mouthed the audience that put money in their pockets while promoting each new release with little success (Fight & Two + Tears of the Dragon and Skunkworks). However, Producer Roy Z helped "resurrect" Dickinson's career by producing/co-writing both Accident of Birth and The Chemical Wedding which eventually led to the reunion with Maiden.
Oddly enough Roy Z acts in a similar capacity here and it does work. Forget all of the above (or if you are just returning after a long absence) the music on Resurrection satisfies on a purely nostalgic level. Just put the cd on in the car or at work and let the vocals and autobiographical tales (Made In Hell is pertty much the Birmingham Anthem with references with Sabbath and the factories)carry you back to the days of Ronald Reagan, Margaret Thatcher and Brian Mulroney. Err...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh yes!, February 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
Resurrection is actually one of my favorite albums. I've loved it since I first heard it, back when it first came out. So when I discovered this remastered version with bonus tracks, I had to have it.

It didn't disappoint me, although so far I do think I like the original songs more than the bonus tracks. The bonus tracks sound a little more like the songs on "Crucible" to me, a bit more "wall of noise"-y, especially "Fetish," which not incidentally is the only one of the bonus tracks I honestly dislike. I like the cleaner, more classic sound better than I like the noisier stuff.

That said, the bonus tracks are definitely good, especially "Hell's Last Survivor," which has great lyrics. All of the delightfully fun badassness of the album's original lyrics are very much in evidence in that song and in another track, God Bringer of Death, as well.

As far as the way the remastering sounds, I never noticed the original sounding murky, so I don't know that everyone needs this immediately. However, I have noticed that I can more clearly understand what exactly Rob is howling when he screams. Which is a good thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Resurrection Make Me Whole!, May 2, 2004
By 
HeadbangerDuh (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Resurrection (Audio CD)
What can I say? One of the all-time greatest CDs ever released. Rob Halford, the Metal God, forms his own very heavy, very powerful band. I have rarely heard such good music in my life. From the very beginning to the very end, this is a lot of walloping music. The title seems to make sense. When everybody though he was a washed-up old geezer, he springs back with the best album he has ever sung on! Some of the songs are kinda bizarre, like when he calls the Internet "A Trojan horse that eats your mind" in Cyber World, but nonetheless great. This is a must-have CD for anyone who calls themselves a headbanger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Resurrection
Resurrection by Halford (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.