Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique project!
Devin Townsend was thinking about this project for years, and it finally came true in 2012, here he can have for prosperity his Broadway musical "The Retinal Circus". This theatrical production has a story that was supposed to illustrate his 20 years career. How the artist can put in a story the music of different parts of his career when every album has his own story? We...
Published 11 months ago by Rock Yours

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Love the show, music, Devin and band. Horrible camera work and editing.
Published 21 days ago by Stephen W. Leverett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique project!, October 13, 2013
This review is from: Retinal Circus [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Devin Townsend was thinking about this project for years, and it finally came true in 2012, here he can have for prosperity his Broadway musical "The Retinal Circus". This theatrical production has a story that was supposed to illustrate his 20 years career. How the artist can put in a story the music of different parts of his career when every album has his own story? We can think that the story is secondary compare to the music. He wanted to give some entertaining value to the music that is already pleasant to hear. So we got a big production here with costumes, plenty of characters, visual objects, a choir. The musicians had the task to keep their focus on their music while there were a lot of things going on in the stage. Steve Vai, a long time friend of Devin is doing the narration between songs to explain the story of the evolution of man through the mind of Mr. Townsend, which include the invasion of aliens.

The music is intense as usual with 3 different kinds of songs: the complex prog songs, the quiet and dark ones, and the heavy ones; 2 Strapping Young Lads songs, with the original guitar player, Jed Simon. The vocals of Anneke Van Giersbergen are well worth the price of admission here by giving more melodic feel to the music. You can here and see the results of this in the simple song "Ih-Ah!". The set list is well crafted with a balance set of songs of different moods and you never get bored during this 2 hours and forty minutes show.

The final scene is really special with the recreation of a living room where every band members pass through a door and gets a rest while Devin sings his little acoustic piece "Little Pig". It's impressive to know that this big production was done on low budget and that the man is still sticking to his ideas despite the lack of funds. I hope this efforts serve him in the future and help the band to have more recognition because, the man has a lot of others ideas to bring to the world of the experimental metal scene, and need plenty of money if he want to do others big productions! I have to give 5 stars here, because it's the first time we can see a document of that nature and that proportion in the metal world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to Harold's Nightmare, I think you're going to like it., November 7, 2013
By 
Jason Hardy (Nova Scotia, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Retinal Circus [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I can't tell the world how much I love Devin Townsend and this Retinal Circus bluray. The guy just makes some of the best music many of you have never heard. Everyone should do themselves a favour and pick up one of his "Project"/DTP albums. I'd recommend Addicted or Epicloud if you are just hearing him for the first time. But anyway, back to the Retinal Circus... it's insane, bizarre, crazy, fun, a few WTF moments all set to Devin's music spannig over his career. I've watched the whole thing from start to finish more times in a month than any other concert I have ever bought on DVD/Bluray.

I never heard any of the Strapping Young Lad stuff before seeing this show. First listen to Deotx and Love and I was onboard. That's how metal is done. Hang on to your hats!

Anneke van Giersbergen singling along with Devin, simply beautiful.

The finale, couldn't wipe the smile off my face. Awesome, awesome, awesome!!! More please DTP!!!

5 out of 5 easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, August 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Retinal Circus [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Love the show, music, Devin and band. Horrible camera work and editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, June 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Retinal Circus [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Everything you would expect from Devin Townsend! The man is a genious and this show proves it from beggining to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Devin's done it again, June 15, 2014
By 
E. Santiago (Jacksonville, North Carolina United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Retinal Circus [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is the closest anyone will ever get to being inside Devin's head. Chaotic, loud, beautiful! If you like any of devin's music, you should definitely check this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hevy Devy Blu-ray, May 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Retinal Circus [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was concerned this would not work in the US due to Blu-ray regional codes. It works, and the content is playable. I don't know exactly what to expect from the sound, but I can say it was not as impressive as some excellently crafted Blu-ray movie sounds. That is a shame, because Hevy Devy knows sound like no other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Devinastic epic awesomeness, March 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Retinal Circus [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Not enough artists of this quality putting out excellent music live and studio. Highly recommended. Too bad Live - by a Thread isn't more easily available...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars That's a real show!!!, March 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Retinal Circus [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
That's nothing much to say... I'm still amazed!!! Perfect setlist, sound, cenarios, edition... the only bad thing is that I was not there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Controlled madess! A must-have, January 26, 2014
This review is from: Retinal Circus [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm only a recent DTP convert and have to say that this is the maddest live performance I've ever seen, and I mean that in a good way.

It goes from the beautiful vocals of both Devin and Anneke Van Giersbergen to some hardcore/thrast style songs - from songs like Ih-Ah to Detox to and everything in between, but it's not like they're trying to cover these breadths on purpose, it actually flows.

Awesome musicianship all the way through. Bend it Like Bender is a riot - like a massive party on stage but the party-goers are the performers. As others have said, the finale on the couches is pretty cool as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic., December 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Retinal Circus [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This is something you won't see anywhere else. It embodies everything Devin Townsend has worked towards. Its a blast and a must have for any Devin Townsend fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Retinal Circus [Blu-ray]
Retinal Circus [Blu-ray] by Devin Project Townsend (Blu-ray - 2013)
$38.99 $27.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.