Customer Reviews


456 Reviews
5 star:
 (224)
4 star:
 (106)
3 star:
 (54)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (44)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


110 of 113 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great console, but the originals win.
The Retro Duo is awesome for people that want to replay all their old NES or SNES games but lack the classic consoles themselves.

This console plays pretty much every game cartridge I throw at it... including imports!* The Retro Duo is pretty compact compared to the classic consoles. Stack 3 NES games on top of each other and you basically have the size and...
Published on January 19, 2009 by S. Poor

versus
74 of 91 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It works... but not for purist
I bought this more for the nes side hoping that it would work better than my side loading nes that is broken. First I am impressed by the concept and the top loading design. First game I threw at it was lifeforce for nes and it worked right away without blowing on it or reseting it. After playing for awhile I noticed that a lot of the sound effects were off. A lot of them...
Published on November 10, 2008 by C. Bryan


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

110 of 113 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great console, but the originals win., January 19, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
The Retro Duo is awesome for people that want to replay all their old NES or SNES games but lack the classic consoles themselves.

This console plays pretty much every game cartridge I throw at it... including imports!* The Retro Duo is pretty compact compared to the classic consoles. Stack 3 NES games on top of each other and you basically have the size and weight of this. The 2 SNES controllers it comes with are also pretty light compared to the classics. The console offers your choice of either standard RCA (red, white, yellow) or S-Video TV connectors. The Retro Duo also has a small but functional cooling system. And before I forget, let me assure you that the Retro Duo does NOT conflict with the fragile save systems of NES games. Your Legend of Zelda file will be just fine.

Now, this console does have a few drawbacks. First and probably most important: it only has SNES controller ports. So all your NES accessories, like the Zapper, cannot be used with the Retro Duo. Also, there's no cartridge ejection. Remember how you'd flip the switch and out pops your game? Not anymore, you have to pull the games out of the system. For SNES games, no biggie; but the NES games are a pretty tight fit going in and out. The console supports S-Video, but that post-dates the NES technology, so if you use that rather than RCA connectors, NES games will be displayed black and white.

I bought this console because my previous NES and SNES were gone without a trace. This console fills the gap, but if you're debating whether or not to swap out your old NES and SNES for this, I would not recommend it. While this console is great overall, it cannot compare to the classics. But if you're looking to get into retro gaming, this offers a great start for the 2 consoles that hold legendary game libraries.
Remember to clean your game cartridges before playing on your new Retro Duo to help maximize both console and game life!

* EDIT: This console supports cartridges from the Nintendo Entertainment System, Super Nintendo Entertainment System (including PAL format), and Super Famicom consoles. It does not support Famicom cartriges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 104 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Play the classics., April 3, 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
IT works! The controllers are nice, although they aren't quite as heavy as the true SNES counterparts.

The Retro Duo Twin system itself is heavy and has excellent venting for heat control. It has played all my old games so far, including contra, super mario kart, mortal kombat, etc.

My major complaints are that the NES game cartridges are hard to eject (you have to really tug to get them free) and that some games seem like the colors and sounds are not 100% emulated (Super Mario Bros 3 for example.) This is mostly an issue with the NES part of the system, the SNES side of the Retro Duo Twin so far works flawlessly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great as an SNES, barely passes as NES, November 19, 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
The Retro Duo is a light little console, just barely over an inch thick and not hardly registering on my bathroom scale. This lightness, when compared to a real NES or SNES might make it feel cheap, but it certainly gets the job done.

As an SNES it is quite satisfactory. It plays games well, and when I plug in my authentic SNES controller I can scarce tell the difference between the two, and the ones that ship with it are a close approximate. The only thing I don't like about them so far is that the D-pad is a bit stiff... but I've already switched mine out for the real thing. Supposedly a few games don't work, but I don't own any of those... all the cartridges I've tried seem to play fine, about a dozen and some. The cartridges don't quite slide in as smooth as the real thing, but no problems.

This console, however, is a much weaker approximate of the NES. A lot of people complain about the sound quality, but I find its rather close on most games. The more immediate problem is the connector itself, which is EXTREMELY SNUG on NES carts. A great deal of force is needed to separate most games from the connector. Oddly enough, for how tightly the card fits into the connectors, the actual cartridge rests loosely on the console housing, make it quite easy to "jiggle" the cartridge while its connected. This makes getting a precise connection on these old games rather difficult, with the slightest breeze coming along and garbling the graphics or worse, crashing the game. Once you get them in there though, they seem to play well. I've only tested Dragon Warrior and Genghis Khan so far, both seem to play fine.

The Verdict:

As an SNES substitute, this will suit you just fine, especially with genuine peripherals. Your old carts will play in this machine without worry. It's a bit of a hassle to get an NES game going in one of these, but it is possible... and odds are by now your real NES isn't faring much better. Anyone with access to a genuine SNES could probably pass this one up, as its obvious that it is the unit's primary function. I'd give the NES half a bit more play time, but quite frankly I can't decide whether I'm addicted to Genghis Khan or I'm just a little bit scared to try and pry it off so I can get Ice Hockey in. Hopefully the unit will last as long as my impervious SNES carts seem to want to.

+Works great as SNES
+Accepts SNES peripherals
+Reasonably priced compared to used units
+Comes with two SNES controller knockoffs
-NES connector puts a deathgrip on the cartridge
-Wobbly NES connector makes it tough to get games to play right
-NES graphics and sound look a little grainy on high-def TVs
-Dpads are a little stiff on the controllers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


74 of 91 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It works... but not for purist, November 10, 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this more for the nes side hoping that it would work better than my side loading nes that is broken. First I am impressed by the concept and the top loading design. First game I threw at it was lifeforce for nes and it worked right away without blowing on it or reseting it. After playing for awhile I noticed that a lot of the sound effects were off. A lot of them were higher pitched and the music seemed to labor at times and even miss whole notes completly. The game itself seemed to work fine but I just couldnt get over the sound difference. Needless to say I returned it and I got a nes2 toploader off ebay for a little more. Still a good product but not for those who want a true nes replacement, there is no substitute. Great Idea but not quite there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Retro Duo Twin Video Game System NES & SNES - Silver & Black, November 22, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Retro-Bit Retro Duo Twin Video Game System, Silver/Black (Video Game)
If you have any NES or SNES games, this is the unit for you. It is more convenient than having one of each unit. I realize that there are a lot newer game systems out there, but there are still a lot of people who like NES. If so, then this unit is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Little Game Console!!!!, May 27, 2008
By 
Manny 1973 "ps10KISSARMY" (South Dartmouth, Ma. United States) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I thought I'd never get to play all the old Nes and Snes games again without going into a hissy fit!! This Duo Retro Game works great so far. No problems and it looks cool too. I have the Black and Red one. The price was right at $40.00 Just remember, If you want a joystick or other controllers you need to buy the SNES Versions!!
They are coming up with a adapter to use with NES controllers, but not sure when. I would recommend this product!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars they should just call it a super nes, May 27, 2009
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
NES portion is broken -looks like many other people are having this problem as well. the thing is that it looks like it is going to work but something funky with the hardware.

SNES side works great though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best NES/SNES clone as of 2008, May 6, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Retro Duo is very slightly updated version of FC Dual. Main difference in the casing design.

Supposedly it has better compatibility than FC Dual. But that is not confirmed.

Controller that ships with the system looks just like the SNES controller. But I personally recommend swapping it with the original SNES controller.
Innex (company that produces Retro Duo) is currently working on a converter for the NES controller for the system as well.

S-video support is a cool feature. But since NES and SNES games have such low resolution (in today's standard), it's best viewed on the CRT TVs of yeteryears.

Still a good buy for the money you pay.

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun for those who still like 'Old School' gaming!, April 27, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
For those of us pack rats who still had a few NES and SNES game cartridges around, but had somehow lost the console, this is a great way to experience the fun of 'Old School' gaming again!

My only disappointment is that the unit has no NES controller connections and there is no adapter available that will allow an avid retro-gamer to use the light zapper gun from Nintendo's Duck Hunt game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars retro duo, March 19, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
it's great.it's small and light too.it can play games the fc twin can't .the NES game's music I think is still a little off but over all it is a deal.(it's cheap too and comes with two controlers)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 246 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Retro-Bit Retro Duo Twin Video Game System, Silver/Black
Retro-Bit Retro Duo Twin Video Game System, Silver/Black by Retro-Bit (Nintendo NES / Super NES)
$44.99 $37.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.