Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great... But BUY THE ALBUMS
As with Chronicles (and the other disc in this compilation) it is impossible to argue with the fine music, some of the best prog ever committed to tape, no one doubts their quality. However, since Rush is, and always has been, an album band they are better served by buying some of their great albums (I reccommend 2112, Kings, Hemispheres, Moving Pictures, Permanent...
Published on May 30, 2000 by Bill R. Moore

versus
11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chronicles is better
This album and its companion volume Retrospective I: 1974-1980 are rather pointless exercises. Rush had already released an admirable comprehensive retrospective back in 1990, the excellent double-disc Chronicles, which took two songs from each of their studio albums (three in the case of Moving Pictures) and augmented them with selected tracks from each of their three...
Published on April 24, 2002 by The Scenario


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chronicles is better, April 24, 2002
By 
The Scenario (Roseville, MN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Retrospective 2 (Audio CD)
This album and its companion volume Retrospective I: 1974-1980 are rather pointless exercises. Rush had already released an admirable comprehensive retrospective back in 1990, the excellent double-disc Chronicles, which took two songs from each of their studio albums (three in the case of Moving Pictures) and augmented them with selected tracks from each of their three live albums at that point in their career. Now years later, Rush's money-grubbing manager Ray Danniels convinced them to milk their past again by releasing two separate (and therefore more expensive when purchased together) compilations rehashing most of the same songs and adding in a few other interesting songs ("The Analog Kid", "The Body Electric", "Mission", "Marathon") which didn't make the cut for Chronicles. I know Danniels is the mastermind behind this, because when he later became the manager of Van Halen he tried to convince them to do the same, releasing two volumes of greatest hits separately compiling the David Lee Roth and the Sammy Hagar eras. He lost that battle, only managing the milk the fans for a single-disc VH best-of.
Diehard Rush fans will tell you to skip both Chronicles and the Retrospective volumes and instead purchase all of the Rush CD's, since these songs were meant to be enjoyed in the context of the respective albums for which they were created. As an in-betweener, I can tell you that the Chronicles set is a more broad overview, even if it's at the expense of some of the songs included here (plus, Chronicles includes the excellent "Manhattan Project" and "Show Don't Tell", missing here).
3 stars because it's still great material, but the way it's been repackaged yet again is kind of shameless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great... But BUY THE ALBUMS, May 30, 2000
By 
This review is from: Retrospective 2 (Audio CD)
As with Chronicles (and the other disc in this compilation) it is impossible to argue with the fine music, some of the best prog ever committed to tape, no one doubts their quality. However, since Rush is, and always has been, an album band they are better served by buying some of their great albums (I reccommend 2112, Kings, Hemispheres, Moving Pictures, Permanent Waves, and Signals as their absolute best, and first purchases, although they have many other fine albums as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for the casual Rush fan; die-hards need not apply., August 11, 2001
By 
"mh53465" (Kansas City, Missouri United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Retrospective 2 (Audio CD)
Retrospective II, along with its predecessor disc, are both adequate introductions to Rush for any curious or casual fan. But for die-hard fans, such as myself, this is merely a waste of money if you already own the albums (which is really the true context the music must be heard). I do happen to own this disc, but I only listen to it if I do not want to change CD's in my car or at home. In that respect, it is a collection that satisfies me, somewhat. That is because the best songs are not represented here (of course, that is only my opinion). The 15 tracks here are equally divided between the five studio albums released from '81 to '87 (Moving Pictures, Signals, Grace Under Pressure, Power Windows, and Hold Your Fire). Due to this balance of division, worthwhile tracks from strong albums (Moving Pictures, especially) are omitted for the purpose of giving preference to ones from weaker efforts (Hold Your Fire, and Power Windows {to a lesser degree}). To get into the specifics of this, "Vital Signs" or "YYZ" from MP would have been a great addition here, along with possibly "Digital Man" from Signals. Of course, to do such a thing would have meant dropping a couple of other songs, which in my opinion should have been "Mission" from HYF and probably "Marathon" from PW. Don't get me wrong, these are both very good tracks, but not better than the aforementioned songs from Pictures or Signals. From GUP, "The Enemy Within" or even "Afterimage" (one of the most underrated, and impassioned Rush songs ever) could have been here instead of "The Body Electric", which pales in comparison to those two tracks. A case can even be made for "Manhattan Project" from Power Windows, as it is one of the three best tracks from that album. Which brings me to a point: The music of Rush is not really meant to be dissected into fractions of "wholes" (albums) to make new "wholes" (best of collections), but is best experienced in the context of the album. Unless you are quite stingy and do not want to shell out the money for the individual albums represented here. Which the casual fan for which Retrospective II is designed may just do anyway after buying this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great arena-rock era Greatest Hits, June 2, 2001
By 
punkviper (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Retrospective 2 (Audio CD)
Originally meant to be the replacement for the second disc of Chronicles, Retrospective II is a welcome acquisition for fans of Rush's eighties material. Rush, like Judas Priest and other rock bands of the era, have a sort of split career, where some people prefer their earlier Zeppelin-esque material, and others prefer the more user-friendly "popular" stuff. I happen to find this Retrospective II disc a lot more appealing than the first, as most of the radio hits and real hard-rock classics are found here.
As for this one attempting to replace the 2nd Chronicles disc, the track selection is very telling: it loses only Passage To Bangkok, Manhattan Project, and Show Don't Tell, in favor of The Analog Kid, Marathon, The Body Electric, and Mission. It shows that Chronicles was a tough set to beat, as it is still in print today and remains a very popular "complete" overview of Rush's career (at least from '74 to '87.)
So, if you want to have a "complete" overview you can choose between both Retrospective volumes, or the Chronicles 2-disc set. Or, if you just want the Rush that most people know and love, this disc will more than satisfy you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not an exceptional album, but a decent sampler, August 13, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Retrospective 2 (Audio CD)
Basically this album doesn't make much sense, because Rush were an album-oriented band and this claims to be a sort of "Greatest hits"-collection. "Retrospective II" contains ever three tracks from their 80's-album from "Moving Pictures" to "Hold your Fire". Some of the tracks chosen from "Grace.." and "Power Windows" are definetely not the best ones on these albums! Nevertheless, this odd compilation provides a good overview of the band's best-known work in the 80's. But if you are really interested in Rush-and after having heard this album you certainly will!-you'll have to buy the original albums as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rush - 'Retrospective, Volume 2 - 1981-1987' (Mercury), July 30, 2006
This review is from: Retrospective 2 (Audio CD)
Pretty much for the 'casual' Rush fan that doesn't have maybe the space, cash or time to go out to purchase all their CD's individually. On this compilation,you get a few tracks from each of their following albums: 'Moving Pictures' ('81), 'Signals'('82), 'Grace Under Pressure'('84), 'Power Windows' ('85) and 'Hold Your Fire'('87). Some say this wasn't exactly the band's best era. But,hey! Everyone has right to their own opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As An Album, Great. As Another Greatest Hits Album, Ehh..., September 20, 2005
This review is from: Retrospective 2 (Audio CD)
See, I like this album and almost all the songs on the album. My problem however lies in the fact that this album was already released except it was called "Chronicles". This album is like the second disc of Chronicles with some bonus tracks. I do like this album a lot ignoring the fact that it's a greatest hits album. But, here's my opinions of the tracks on it;

1. The Big Money-5/5-While the album this song is from (Power Windows) is not Rush's best album, this is one of their coolest songs.

2. Red Barchetta-5/5-Awesome lyrics. Really cool song.

3. Subdivisions-5/5-One of my favorite Rush songs.

4. Time Stand Still-5/5-Aimee Mann sings on this one. Probably the best song on the album "Hold Your Fire".

5. Mystic Rhythms-4/5-I love the chorus to this song. Lyrics (needless to say) are great

6. The Analog Kid-4/5-(No Comment)

7. Distant Early Warning-5/5-I love this song. It's got an awesome chorus, just a great song. Everything about it.

8. Marathon-4/5-Pretty cool lyrics. The song is so-so.

9. The Body Electric-5/5-I like the chorus a lot.

10. Mission-4/5-(No Comment)

11. Limelight-5/5-One of my favorite Rush songs. Drums are awesome on this song, terrific lyrics...The whole Rush package.

12. Red Sector 'A'-5/5-Powerful lyrics, this is one of their best songs.

13. New World Man-4/5-I guess with a Rush song there's no point in saying good lyrics, because it's a given. But other than the lyrics, I didn't like this song a lot. It's not bad, it's good...I just don't like it as much as some of the other stuff on here.

14. Tom Sawyer-5/5-First song I ever heard by Rush. This song gets stuck in your head very easily. Great keyboards in this one.

15. Force Ten-5/5-2nd best song on "Hold Your Fire". The drms at the end of the song are great.

Well, yeah...Take your pick; This or Chronicles but whatever...

A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable Retrospective, June 17, 2006
This review is from: Retrospective 2 (Audio CD)
Indeed very remarkable! All the songs here are hits, no dull track every track is on the attack. I'm not much of a Geddy Lee fan apart from being a great musician his voice is annoying, his talent and skills saved the band. For this best of compilation I'm not complaining, moreover the songs here give me memories of my high school days and owning this cd transport me back in long lost lovable times. Only missing is "enemy within" I would have given this a 5 stars had they included that track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars- Great compilation!!!, June 21, 2006
This review is from: Retrospective 2 (Audio CD)
Hey Enforcer,

Why are you putting down Rush and the Beatle's final album? You know who you are Enforcer (or enforcer of bad taste in music). He or she wrote a bad review on this Rush retrospective and gave it only one star. You have terrible taste in music!!!! Rush and the Beatles are two of the greatest bands in rock and roll history!!!! I saw your reviews and you like people like Britney Speers and Pink!!!! That should make you a teenage girl or a fruity guy!!!! Take my advice and don't do any more reviews because you just ain't got any game, you numbscull!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing...good collection, July 22, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Retrospective 2 (Audio CD)
isn't it amazing....a 20+ year old band that has nearly a different sound every album.yet if you check out all of the reviews of almost all there albums,70's,80's,and 90's,you will find somebody that is a die-hard Rush fan sayin thats there favorite album......what other trio...no just what band of any size can do that....slim to none!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Retrospective 2
Retrospective 2 by Rush (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.