Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Living Dead: Necropolis
I choose this rating because the movie is good. What I like about the movie is that a group of high school kids discovers that a megacorporation has been conducting experiments on humans, using a mutated chemical compound that reanimates the dead. What I dislike about the movie is that I wanted to see more of it. I would recommend this movie to other people.
Published on September 13, 2009 by Jackie Morton

versus
48 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Everything about this ROTLD sequel went wrong on every level
I remember watching the original Return of the Living Dead in 1985. That zombie movie played on the premise that Night of the Living Dead actually happened. It was a great twist and interesting idea. The zombies in that film weren't shambling and dumb like the one's in Romero's film. Instead these zombies were pretty quick and could talk and formulate plans and traps...
Published on February 15, 2006 by A. Sandoc


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Everything about this ROTLD sequel went wrong on every level, February 15, 2006
By 
A. Sandoc "sussarakhen" (San Pablo, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Return of the Living Dead: Necropolis (DVD)
I remember watching the original Return of the Living Dead in 1985. That zombie movie played on the premise that Night of the Living Dead actually happened. It was a great twist and interesting idea. The zombies in that film weren't shambling and dumb like the one's in Romero's film. Instead these zombies were pretty quick and could talk and formulate plans and traps. Also these zombies couldn't be killed by destroying the brain. It was the birth of the superzombies and it made for a fun experience. One thing it also had was a nice dose of comedy mixed in with the horror.

A few years later they had a sequel to Return of the Living Dead that was a good second helping. Nothing to write home about but it was a fun gory flick. Then came a second sequel which dropped the comedy and instead tried to be Romeo and Juliet meets brain-eating zombies. Other than the usual gore and bloodsplatter this second sequel was an utter failure. It took over 10 years for someone to try making a couple more sequels, but sure enough someone found a way to do it. They even found a good enough director in Ellory Elkayem (he directed the fun, campy giant spider monster flick Eight-Legged Freaks). There was talk that this third sequel will return the ROTLD franchise back to its roots of horror mixed with comedy. I was stoked about the news. Then when it came time to see Return of the Living Dead 4: Necropolis, I found out that it was going to go direct-to-cable. This usually means bad news all around about the overall quality of the finished film, but I was still going to give it a chance.

I finally saw its premiere on Sci-Fi channel in 2005 and all my low expectations weren't even reached by the what I saw on the TV. The movie starts off well enough and right from the get-go they don't hide the fact that the film is taking place in some Eastern European country. Peter Coyote the --- only actor with any sort of talent --- makes his appearance in this scene and there's not even any attempt to make his character abit mysterious of whether he's a good guy or a bad guy. Coyote's scientist role in the film screams evil mad scientist. The rest of the cast seemed like it was randomly picked from a college campus and from the streets of Romania. The dialogue was bad enough but having them read out loud by amateurs just made it all worse.

The whole premise of the film outside of reintroducing newcomers to the zombifying effects of Trioxin seemed like the writers were trying to emulate Resident Evil instead of Return of the Living Dead. There's the mega-corporation which deals with everything known to man and also research and develops illegal biowarfare technology like zombies armed with hi-tech weapons. Resident Evil did this better (thats not saying much) so it goes without saying that ROTLD4: Necropolis just didn't know what it wanted to be. There wasn't any of the comedy that made the first two films in the franchise so fun to watch. It looked as if they tried to make a serious zombie movie and instead it turned out to be seriously bad.

Even the zombies themselves ended up being inconsistent with the zombies from the first two films. Some seemed smart enough but most were of the Romero kind which goes against everything that is ROTLD. Their feeding habits even changed from eating nothing but brains but to eating other parts of the body.And they're not indestructible anymore. Shooting these zombies in the head will drop them like a sack of bricks.

There really wasn't anything fun about this sequel. I would've given it a second star if they just made the zombies right and added a higher gore-quotient. Zombie movies are suppose to be dumb, gory fun but instead Return of the Living Dead 4: Necropolis just ends up being dumb, horrible and awful. I had alot of hope in Ellory Elkayem as an up-and-coming genre director, but cranking out this film after making such a fun one in Eight-Legged Freaks is a mystery and saddening. I wouldn't recommend this film as a rental on dvd. Just go rent the original two films in the series and leave this one alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars At the top...in a way., January 6, 2007
This review is from: Return of the Living Dead: Necropolis (DVD)
You know, I really don't expect much out of zombie movies. You basically go into these knowing what to expect, but every now and then, you get one that manages to redefine what horror really is. In this case, horror is the 88 minutes of awfulness that is this film. Horrible dialogue, worse acting, and the assumption that the viewers themselves are as brain-dead as the zombies in the film. That ailment would be about the only way any form of entertainment is going to be had, unless you're a fan of an incohesive storyline, nonexistent direction or 20-something year-old teeny-boppers who couldn't act their way out of a wet paper sack. In fact, I'll go so far as to say that on the steaming pile of crap that the zombie film genre has become, this one is squarely at the top.

Director Ellory Elkayem should be tried for crimes against humanity, because that's exactly what this film is. In my opinion, he's managed to even usurp laughingstock Uwe Boll for the title of the world's most incompetent director. I'm sure some will say, "But it's just a zombie horror movie, you knew what it would be going in." Sure, that's true, but that just goes to show how this movie takes awful to a whole new level.You can tell that this is squarely aimed at a teenage, young adult audience (you can tell from all the "Extreme" content and the "metalcore" soundtrack), but knowing that just makes me ask this: Are the youthful really so dumb as to be entertained by this? I surely hope not...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Well, what did you expect?, March 15, 2006
This review is from: Return of the Living Dead: Necropolis (DVD)
It's been quite a while since there was any film made with the words "Return of the Living Dead" in the title, and hearing those words brings up some great memories. The 1985 comedy/horror classic, it's lesser but even more comedy-laden sequel, and the third film which traded in the laughs for all out shocks and gore. All three films were good in varying degrees, which is why the idea that a made for the Sci-Fi Channel sequel will surely leave you thinking that the results of this will be anything less than comprehensible. Filmed in Romania, Peter Coyote is the only recognizable face as a mad scientist whose teenage nephew and his friends get mixed up with the local evil company; which leads to zombies running amok. Make no mistake that Return of the Living Dead 4 is beyond bad with a few good moments (when two friends come across a former female friend turned zombie, the one yells at the other one to shoot her, as the other responds "but I lost my virginity to her!") but what else did you expect? And if you think this is bad, just see the sequel (yes you read that right) entitled Return of the Living Dead 5: Rave to the Grave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Zombies with Russian accents?, January 15, 2007
This review is from: Return of the Living Dead: Necropolis (DVD)
If you're a fan of the first Return of the Living Dead movie, please don't watch this one. You'll loose ten years of your life from aggravation.

The film is supposed to be set in the United States, but was actually shot in Romania and most of the actors' accents are worse than Jurgen Prochnov's on a good day. The Return of the Living Dead: Necropolis won't even qualify as a "good bad cult movie" 20 years from now. Parts 2 and 3 were already pretty bad, but this one is just embarrassing. Trash, Suicide and even Julie Walker will roll over in their graves.

I wonder if the makers have even bothered to watch the first three films. Unlike Romero's walking corpses, the Return of the Living Dead zombies are not supposed to die when you shoot them in the head! Nor do they give speaches or box.

The movie does have one thing going for it, though: it proves that all those B actors they got playing KGB agents in cheap 80s crime flicks got their accents right after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average to below., October 12, 2006
By 
Christopher R (New Orleans, LA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Return of the Living Dead: Necropolis (DVD)
Although this movie is nowhere near on the level of the previous Return of the Living Dead movies, it was mildly entertaining. The vast majority of zombie films out there cause me to lose interest due to the poor acting and cinematography, but this one at least kept me watching until the end--in spite of the cliche'd story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Someone, Please Send This Back to the Grave: Just Weak and Unfunny, September 10, 2006
This review is from: Return of the Living Dead: Necropolis (DVD)
Nobody would take seriously such ultra-gory horror films as `Return of the Living Dead' and nobody should. It is a film made for fun, and most audiences know that before watching it. Ironically, the fourth entry of the `ROTD' series, made after more than 10 years since the third one, is not much fun. It's not funny enough, campy enough, let alone scary enough. Well, I like the Russian mafia zombie growling `BRAAAAINNN!!!' but that does not amount to much.

[THE FORMAT] is a familiar one. One big company, one secret experiment, lots of the un-deads eating human's brains. Motorcycle-riding high school students sneak into the company's facility in order to rescue their friend who is brought there after he is badly injured. Please don't ask me how they manage to break into the building riding the bikes, or manage to forge ID cards. This silly story must be believed for the director is Ellory Elkayem, whose previous film as jolly sci-fi film `Eight Legged Freaks,' in which giant spiders attacked humans.

However, the film lacks the tongue-in-cheek attitudes seen in `Eight Legged Freaks,' the very thing that should have made this `Necropolis' more entertaining. The first half of it is just boring, edited clumsily, and very slow. The second half gets better with the teenagers' bloody fight against zombies and "zombie soldier unit," but these zombie attack scenes are at best inferior copies of George A. Romero without humor or irony. It is like watching clones of Romero's `Land of the Dead' or Zack Snyder's `Dawn of the Dead,' and perhaps those superior films, made primarily to scare the audiences, have more funny scenes than `Necropolis' which just doesn't know why it was made in the first place.

[SHOT IN ...] Talking about scary, `Return of the Living Dead: Necropolis' has one scary part. That is the opening set in Chernobyl, Ukraine, where the story begins. In the deserted nuclear power station, Peter Coyote's scientist purchases green, slimy toxic waste which turns humans into zombies. But I'm not talking about the green slime; I'm talking about the location because they really shot several scenes in Chernobyl! WOW! I really hope they didn't actually get into the contaminated area, but if you watch `Return of the Living Dead: Necropolis' (and even if you don't), you will think -- What is the point of doing that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deserves MST3K treatment!, May 21, 2007
By 
This review is from: Return of the Living Dead: Necropolis (DVD)
Let me start out by saying that I am a huge fan of ROTLD and ROTLD 3 (Mindy Clark is AWESOME!!!!) So I had somewhat high expectations of this movie. Now I realize that I was not going to be blown over with awesome production values or ILM special effects, I did however expect for a plausible storyline. I'm afraid to inform you that the writers of this movie didn't comply. Ridiculous! Avoid this movie like the plague!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disgrace, March 14, 2007
This review is from: Return of the Living Dead: Necropolis (DVD)
The Return of the Living Dead series is one of the staple series of the zombie genre. You have Romero's films, and you have the Return films. Unlike Romero's films, the Return films have now gone down the path of utter disgrace.

Everything in Necropolis destroys everything that parts 1-3 of the series grounded. The zombies can be killed with a shot to the head now, yet a severed limb can exist without a brain? Some zombies have no control over any bodily function, yet another zombie can talk, recall memories, and have the urge to fight a victim for pure spite and never act upon taking a bite out of him? And what the heck was with the "oh, let's think we're funny and spoof the first one" with the whole "Send more security" bit?

If anything could have saved that mess, it should have been the characters. No, not at all. There may have been one character I cared about, but in the end, she didn't even matter. And the one character they tried to play as sweet and innocent and then turn her into a "foul-mouthed tough chick", that was a big joke. And one thing about the plot - in a way - is how can a guy see his thought-to-be-dead parents as now biological weapons be blowns to pieces and his little brother with his head ripped open and act like he doesn't give two cents about it, yet when the girl he supposedly likes is gunned down, he acts like it's the end of the world?

No ma'ams and sirs. Everything about Necropolis is a disgrace, and it should be disregarded from the series. Nothing here has to deal with the original 1-3 except for the name and some useless little nods to those previous installments.

This film truly angered me. Bad film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Has It's moments..., June 3, 2006
By 
Andrés Cuesta S. (Guayaquil, Ecuador) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Return of the Living Dead: Necropolis (DVD)
I just watched this movie and I gotta say: It's not that bad!

When you rent or buy a movie like this you can't expect Oscar material, you are aware that what you're about to see is a B horror film wich means gore, silly plot and nudity (the last characteristic sadly not the case in this one and I really mean it because the girls are hot!).

Although you can't say that Necropolis brings anything new to the genre you CAN say the following:

1. Gore: Plenty of it, more than the first two installments combined and sure gives a run for its money to the third one. Also no CGI, old school kind of stuff.

2. Cool makeup: With a few exceptions the makeup looks very fine, there's even a zombie that resembles the classic main one in Fulci's ZOMBI (that there is an extra credit for paying "homage" to a genre masterpiece).

**SPOILER ALERT**

3. As the title of my review sais, It has I'ts moments, like the whole scene involving the death of the guard at the reception desk (funny stuff), the death of the main character's little brother (I didn't see that one coming), the crazy karate style fighting with the ghouls (nothing new in TV series like "Buffy" or "Angel" but not to expect in a ROTLD movie), the big ending with S.W.A.T. arriving and kicking serious zombie ass (what can I say...I'm a big fan of guns vs. monsters "a la Aliens") among others.

**SPOILER ENDS**

Downers? YES, LOTS... terrible acting from the main character (even for a B movie), Peter Coyote's facial expression (could have played an exellent mad doctor in the 50's and 60's but here his lame grinn looks stupid), the two Borg-like zombies and the worst one: These zombies are not as tuff or quick as the ones in the other movies, and the way to kill them is erratical, sometimes all that it requires is a shot to the body or the breaking of a neck, other times the shot HAS TO BE IN THE HEAD (What the???).

In conclusion: Fun to watch once you get caught in the sillyness of the flick's trama; action packed, gore drenched... I had a good time sitting through this one, but then again, I always try to rescue the best of the films I come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Return of the Living Dead: Necropolis, April 18, 2010
This review is from: Return of the Living Dead: Necropolis (DVD)
In 2005, the rights to the RETURN OF THE LIVING DEAD series were bought up and shipped out to Romania for two back-to-back video releases with expectantly poor results. This fourth film pits a new group of teenagers against a zombie horde that has been created by a hi-tech weapons manufacturer with the intent of turning the undead into mechanical bio-weapons. The plot and characters have been streamlined down to their most basic forms, and have only been introduced as filler to pad out the run time until the inevitable zombie outbreak. Once the flood gates are opened, however, the film skates by thanks to a surprising amount of bloody gore. All of the gut-munching, head-exploding action is created in frame using practical effects, which is a welcome change from the exploited computer effects that are commonly used in such low-budget zombie efforts. The film builds up to a final anti-climactic battle between the surviving teens and the two weapon-clad undead soldiers, neither of which prove to be formidable foes against the unarmed kids. After putting aside the stock ingredients in this bland entry, the hardcore zombie fan will find just enough gore to make this one worth a watch.

-Carl Manes
I Like Horror Movies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9bea03f0)

This product

Return of the Living Dead: Necropolis
Return of the Living Dead: Necropolis by Ellory Elkayem (DVD - 2006)
$14.98 $10.86
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.