Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WoA Never Disappoints!
War of Ages is one of those bands that started out really good and just keeps getting better and better with each album! I've been listening to War of Ages since they're around the release of their 2nd album, and I've never been skeptical about buying a new album by them because they're one of those bands that just simply never disappoints! I also respect these guys as...
Published on April 27, 2012 by HeavyMetalSushi

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Official IndieVisionMusic(dot)com Review
Almost exactly two years after 2010’s Eternal, War of Ages blasts back with their latest title Return to Life. Ever since the announcement came that the Leroy and co. would be re-signing with Facedown, anticipation has been growing and growing for the follow up to what many consider War of Ages’ strongest effort yet.

Even with a cursory glance at...
Published 1 day ago by Earnest L. Brown


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WoA Never Disappoints!, April 27, 2012
This review is from: Return to Life (Audio CD)
War of Ages is one of those bands that started out really good and just keeps getting better and better with each album! I've been listening to War of Ages since they're around the release of their 2nd album, and I've never been skeptical about buying a new album by them because they're one of those bands that just simply never disappoints! I also respect these guys as people too and the fact that they hold tight to their beliefs and never faulter in expressing that in their lyrics. God bless you fellas! I met War of Ages once at a show in Boise ID back in 2010 and as people, they are just as awesome as their music is. War of Ages is and will always be one of my absolute favorite bands! Keep on shreddin fellas! If you're into metal music and not that familiar with War of Ages, then friend...you really need to get familiar with them! Simply amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, June 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Return To Life (MP3 Music)
Great metal band with great Christian values. Epic combo! I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great album without all the profanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!, April 24, 2012
This review is from: Return to Life (Audio CD)
Love this album. Not into lengthy reviews so I will state that WOA has not backed down from their beliefs and drive. Keeping to their throaty growls and killer guitar they make it very hard to change discs! Love their messages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Close to Perfection as it Gets, May 20, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Return to Life (Audio CD)
War of Ages has always been a band that I enjoyed, but never made the commitment to buying a full album from them. That is, until I hear the single from "Return to Life", and my opinion was changed; and for the better. This album is ridiculously good! Most albums you buy these days have 2, maybe 3, songs that you can jam to and enjoy; but that's it. It's quite the contrary on "Return to Life". Every song is executed amazingly and the songs flow seamlessly into each other. The album is so good, I've actually listened to it, all-the-way-through, 5 times in one day. For bigger fans of WoA, this album could be played even more given its play time (right around 34 minutes). The one low point of the album is the track 'M.E.B.', but is still a great instrumental.

Pros:
Multiple Hits
Easily Discernible Songs
Smooth Track Transitions
War of Ages at their best

Cons:
Play time is shorter than I had hoped for

Great album and I recommend it to everyone who is a metal fan, WoA fan, or a fan of Christian Metal - 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Official IndieVisionMusic(dot)com Review, November 22, 2014
This review is from: Return to Life (Audio CD)
Almost exactly two years after 2010’s Eternal, War of Ages blasts back with their latest title Return to Life. Ever since the announcement came that the Leroy and co. would be re-signing with Facedown, anticipation has been growing and growing for the follow up to what many consider War of Ages’ strongest effort yet.

Even with a cursory glance at the track names from last year’s record it was easy to discern that the theme of Eternal conveyed a sense of brokenness and serving Christ through the pain of the world. Immersing oneself in the messages from songs like “Collapse,” “Failure,” or “Your Betrayal” revealed a struggle against the world that could even end in feelings of defeat and failure. Enter Return to Life. In almost every way Return to Life serves as a counter-point to the more solemn messages found in Eternal.

Starting with the always amazing WOA cover art, this record delivers a message of rebirth, renewal, and restoration in every phrase, stanza, and every beat of the drum. If Eternal admitted that life can be hard and full of disappointments, Return to Life reminds the listener that we are dead to the world, and that Christ has conquered the powers of this world. Between this powerful message and War of Ages’ signature flavor of metal, the listener is practically forced to their feet, sword in hand, ready to reclaim what the enemy has stolen from us. This is exactly the message so many people need right now.

If you’ve followed War of Ages across any of their last 5 albums (counting their “rare” self-titled album), the musical style and sound of this new effort will not surprise you. Finding many similarities in tone and style to Arise and Conquer, this new album is distinctly WOA, though there are several points in the record where I was reminded of former label-mate No Innocent Victim (which is not a bad thing). Musically, there are few detours to be found this go-round. Whereas in Eternal there were elements of an updated form of rapcore provided by Sonny Sandoval of P.O.D. and some dual harmony on the AILD-featured tracks, Return to Life is straightforward in its presentation.

Don’t be misled by this, however, WOA always features some intense guitar work and inspired drumming, and Leroy’s passionate and often guttural vocals are always exactly what each track needs. Musically, they are always a cut above a large amount of other metal bands out there. That said, I would have loved to see a little more experimentation on this album to add that last little kick in the face of goodness. Though the message is strong and WOA is a cut above the pack all around, this album does not do enough sonically to distinguish itself from their past efforts.

Return to Life opens in “Immortal” with a snippet of a sermon speaking to the expectation of joy at the return of Christ which quickly bleeds into heavy guitars and the grand message, “We rise!” As an opening track, the style, intensity, and message of “Immortal” is more than fitting to give the listener an introduction to what they are in for across the album’s 10 tracks. “Redeemer” opens from the perspective of God asking, “Will you remember Me? Arise! Arise! Only truth will set you free.” “Redeemer” complements “Immortal” very well tonally and thematically.

One of the highlights of the album is the track “Silent Night.” Though it is not the post-hardcore reconstruction of a classic Christmas tune that I was hoping for when I first saw the title, the track itself is a standout with an ethereal lead-in to WOA’s classic pattern of challenging the listener to follow Christ with passion and fire. “M. E. B.” is the album’s “take a break with some instru-metal” track. “Song of Solomon” restores the pace after the brief break, and serves as one of two tracks which bears the name of a book of the Bible.

“Final Act,” carries an almost 80’s guitar metal styling meets WOA feel, which works quite well. The song itself ends abruptly with the battle cry/promise “We’ll never walk alone… God will bring rest,” which leads the listener into the “final rest” of the song “Unite.”

“Unite,” thematically, reminds me of the song of the same name by the O. C. Supertones, as it serves to light a fire under those who have been hiding in the darkness of the world’s shadow. As the final track, it encompasses the overall theme of the album, and is unrelenting in its challenge to the listener. What better way (and more fitting to War of Ages) than to end this album with a battle cry?

Overall: Return to Life doesn’t break much new ground musically for fan-favorite War of Ages. But, is this a bad thing when you’re ahead of the pack? As mentioned above, the message of this album is welcomed, needed, and well executed from start to finish. Fans of any of their past work will find a comfortable home in this new album and will quickly and devotedly find this as their new musical addiction.

Quick note: If you’ve been following IVM’s posts about the change in review scores, then, you’ll understand why this album is scored as it is. The score is a number. It represents that this album (musically) is on pace with other WOA albums, and other albums in this genre. Should you buy or not buy the album based on the review score alone? No. Read above, to get a better picture for yourself if this is a day one purchase for you or not. It certainly will be for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy every album, you won't regret it!, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Return to Life (Audio CD)
I'm don't write reviews for music unless it REALLY piques my interest. War of Ages has done JUST that. As an avid metalcore fan, I tripped across them on Pandora a while back while I was at work listening to Avenged Sevenfold, All That Remains, As I Lay Dying, We Came As Romans, et al, and kept finding myself opening my Pandora window to see "Who does this awesome song!?" and it was time and time again War of Ages playing. I've since purchased every single one of their albums and each and every single song is it's own aural symphony of shredding, deeply characteristic drums, and powerful vocals. Not one song deserves recognition more than the other, because they all go as hard as possible. You will absolutely not regret purchasing every single album these guys have made. I listen to War of Ages when I'm in the gym and I find myself nodding my head and really getting amped up for each next rep and set and going with an intensity that doesn't often get brought about by music alone. These guys are a POWERFUL band that throws everything they have at you with each and every. single. song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars War of Ages, November 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Return To Life (MP3 Music)
War of Ages has done it again. I believe this band is one of the most underrated bands of our time. These guys know how to jam to such great lyrics. I've been a fan of all of their work so far, and this one does not disappoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great ChristianCore Music, October 26, 2013
This review is from: Return To Life (MP3 Music)
War of Ages Return To Life is a great album the vocals a harsh and clear at the same time and I just love the guitars on this album their so odd and yet so awesome, The Vocalist Lderoy Hamp is amazing and the drummer Alex Hamp is so awesome. Yes every song on this album is amazing and is a masterpiece of you are a Christian rocker get the album or download it.

all n all a great album

Recommend to any fan of Christian core music or rocker
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Killer unapologetic Christian Metalcore, March 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Return to Life (Audio CD)
These guys are amazing musicians sold out for Christ. If you like Metalcore and you don't have a problem with Christianity, then you won't be disappointed with this album. Very engaging song structure with some very unique and tasty guitar solos. Overall a very solid and energetic album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice music!, March 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Return to Life (Audio CD)
I enjoy listening to the music alot.Good for easy listening and relaxing. Good for relieving stress and anxiety in my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Return To Life
Return To Life by War Of Ages
Buy MP3 Album$6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.