Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Revell 1:25 Peterbilt 359 Conventional Tractor
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Price:$19.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 11, 2012
First I'll say that Revell's Kenworth W900 and Peterbilt 359 kits are not for everyone. They do not include contest-quality scale details, and many advanced modelers will consider them too easy and too simple. If you enjoy truck kits with 6-10 piece rear view mirrors, and 6-12 piece cabs and sleepers, then you're likely to find these Revel kits too easy. The tires, for example, have no side-wall text whatsoever.
With that said, I consider Revell's two 1:25 scale tractor kits as modeling bargains that can't be beat. I've already completed four of each this year (2012), I have two more of each on hand, and will likely continue buying and building them! And no two are alike.
Most (but not all) of the kit's parts fit so well they snap into place and require little or no glue! Imagine that, parts that actually fit! (Can you hear me AMT?) While some kit manufacturers seem to feel that more parts make a better kit, Revell seems to think that simpler and neater is better. The truck's rear-view mirrors, for example, include CB radio antenna and amber side-lights, yet they're combined into one single piece per side! This makes a neat, strong, and easy to install part. The windows snap into place without glue, so there's no glue-frosted glass! The one-piece cab & sleeper means a strong and perfectly aligned assembly! Even the engine's intake and exhaust system parts all align well (Can you hear me, Italeri?)
I've twice cut the sleepers from the Peterbilt cabs, and completed the models as flatbed trucks, one as a dual axle stakeside, and one as a single axle service truck. I used the removed axle and wheels to build another kit into a stretched chassis tri-axle truck, and used the cut-off sleeper to make a double-sleeper on another stretched-chassis model. The low cost and overall simplicity of these two kits make them very, VERY appealing for kit bashing projects.
Yes, I highly recommend both of Revell's 1:25 scale tractor kits, but with one reservation: I definitely want several more, so don't go buyin' 'em ALL!
G.B., Madison, AL
review image
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2009
its been a couple of years since i put a model together so i started looking for a model to put together on my day off of work and came across the 1/25 peterbilt. the model is fun to put together and looks cool when its all done. i decided to paint the truck differant from what the instructions say and only took me one day to put together.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
33 comments|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2010
My son is 9 and this was his first model. He loved putting it together. The instructions were easy for him to follow and the parts all had numbers. He put it together in 2 days. I highly recommend it!
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2010
I got this model for Christmas. I painted it saphire blue with a black chassis(as all peterbilts have a black chassis.). There is 1 thing i notice after i finished it, the right smoke stack was an eighth of an inch lover than the left stack. so i took off the right stack and drilled some holes to make it the right height. there is 1 more thing about it you have to re-chrome parts of the stacks because the way they are molded leaves white marks when you go to smoth the stacks out. Otherwise this kit gets a 9/10 for realistickness.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2015
Bought this for my model collect. It was the first big rig. It is all molded in white, clear and chrome. The turn/signal lights will need to be painted if you want it realistic. Many of the parts fit real tight not allot of glue needed which is good. The overall size of the model makes it easy to build also.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2013
very good product, in excellent condition, good packaging, brand new I would return to buy again. Sometimes when you buy online you do not know if the product will fulfill your expectations and on this occasion the supero not hesitate to buy is an excellent product.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2014
Exactly what I wanted. Going to use the engine for a scratch build project
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2013
This is the first kit I have put together in decades and I found it to be the perfect skill level for me.

Detail of parts is very good, but the accuracy of the plastic molding is 'just ok'. Once glued together most parts required quite a bit of trimming and/or sanding to make them symmetrical and to remove join lines. Not an issue for most pieces that required paint, but a problem for the 'chrome' parts as trimming these removed the chrome paint. I found this particularly annoying given the chrome parts are in the most predominant places on the modem hence deducted 2 stars.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2013
A very easy build. All the parts go together nicely. The model is a good size and the finished product looks great. I would recommend this product to a inexperienced builder who wants little frustration and a good result. Revell's truck series utilizes the same general building techniques, especially with the chassis. The real difference is the body style.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2014
It's a snap together kit, so details aren't the best, but it is easy to build, and with a little customizing, a great looking truck may be built. The down side is the tires are crap, but they can be manipulated with a lot of effort to be somewhat straight. I love this kit, and have built several of them.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 14 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.