Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering
Sell Us Your Item
For a $19.45 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Review Guide For RN Pre-Entrance Exam [Paperback]

NATL LEAGUE NURSING
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (155 customer reviews)

Buy New
$43.81 & FREE Shipping. Details
Rent
$18.30
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
In Stock.
Rented by RentU and Fulfilled by Amazon.
Want it Monday, July 14? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback $43.81  

Book Description

September 24, 2008 0763762717 978-0763762711 3
The Review Guide for NLN-RN Pre-Entrance Exam, Third Edition provides an overview of the math, science, and reading comprehension skills necessary for admission to AD and BS programs in nursing. This best-selling study guide includes review questions and practice exams in each of the three test areas: math, science, and reading comprehension. Also includes helpful tips for test preparation and for becoming a more effective learner and test taker.

Frequently Bought Together

Review Guide For RN Pre-Entrance Exam + CliffsNotes Anatomy & Physiology Quick Review, 2ndEdition (Cliffsnotes Quick Review) + Davis's Basic Math Review for Nurses: with Step-by-Step Solutions
Price for all three: $71.38

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Series: Review Guide for RN Pre-Entrance Exam
  • Paperback: 407 pages
  • Publisher: Jones & Bartlett Learning; 3 edition (September 24, 2008)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0763762717
  • ISBN-13: 978-0763762711
  • Product Dimensions: 10.8 x 8.5 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.7 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (155 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #4,019 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Choice May 13, 2009
Format:Paperback
I purchased this book to help study for the NLN pre-nursing exam. This book is an excellent tool for learning about this exam. But the most important factor in determining which study tool to purchase is to remember that most of the information that is included on the CD and in the book is actually on the exam.
Was this review helpful to you?
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Review July 2, 2012
By cnguy
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Took the NLN on 6/12/2012. Scored 150 (81% verbal, 91% math, 86% science). All relative scores were above the 90th percentile.

The usefulness of this review guide is going to vary from person to person. Some people need a refresher in science from 2 years ago; some have not taken it at all. For me, I was somewhat strong in verbal, very strong in math, and weak in science before reviewing. This guide will let you know what you have to study. I read every word of the guide, did every practice problem, and completed every test (By the way, the CD included with the guide are the exact same questions in the book. You are not getting anything extra with the CD). When I took the test, there were no surprises in terms of structure. The practice tests in the guide (when used under a time limit) mimic the actual test environment. This is good because you can save time simply starting the problems instead of reading the instructions. I ran right to the end of the clock in the math section because most of the problems were very wordy and time consuming (but not necessarily difficult).

Verbal: Vocabulary and reading comprehension. The review guide will allow you practice picking out important information while reading the passages and managing time. It also highlights common questions (ex. What is the main topic? What is the best title for this passage? What can you infer from the author?). The vocabulary section will not help you that much. You will have to depend on your years of reading, schooling, media, etc if you want to nail the more complex words. Learning roots and suffixes helps marginally.

Math: Easiest section.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Windows ONLY September 19, 2012
By aloha
Format:Paperback
Please be aware that the CD is for Windows ONLY! So if you own a MAC you will not be able to access this CD.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Study Tool November 15, 2009
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
this book is a great mind refresher and study guide for the nln test! It has several sections for you to test yourself in and also teaches you HOW to do the problems, or explains the answer if you did not get it correct. it also comes with a handy cd that allows you to study on the computer! Definately helped me see what i needed refreshing on in math and allowed me to read a crash course of several sciences and it also had a section of verbal ability where it gives you some guidelines for choosing an answer and gives you several word examples to test yourself. Highly recommend! GREAT study tool and mind refresher! Worth the money! I passed!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCEPTIONAL!!!! April 19, 2009
Format:Paperback
THIS BOOK WAS VERY INFORMATIVE AND IT GAVE ME THE AMMO I NEEDED TO PASS THE EXAM! THANK YOU AMAZON!!!!:)
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, but needs some proofreading March 9, 2010
By Mel
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Overall, this guide was very helpful and I did score well on the NLN exam. The practice tests were particularly useful, and I think taking all of them is essential to doing well on the real test.

That said, this guide suffers from some atrocious editing, particularly in the science section (for example, they give the wrong quantity for a mole in the chemistry section: 6.02 +... instead of 6.02 x...). If you know the material already and you're just using this book for review, then you'll be able to pick out the errors. If anything seems off, check a secondary source. I even noticed a couple of questions in the science practice tests that had the wrong answers in the answer key.

Also, this version of the review guide omits quite a bit of science material (especially physics) that was included in the previous edition. I have a copy of the older edition, but assumed I didn't need to study anything that wasn't in the new guide. I wish I had studied the old guide, though, because there were several physics questions on the exam that referenced material that was NOT covered in the new edition.

While the poor editing in the science section is annoying, I don't have any major complaints about the math or verbal sections. You really do need this guide in order to do well on the test, and while it's not perfect, it can still help your score tremendously.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars RN Pre-Entrance Exam December 17, 2009
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I recommend this book for both RN and LPN candidates as a tool for guaranteed success. Its worth it!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I did very well on NLN exam because of the work in this book! Especially for the Math portions,the book explains how to do the problems prior to giving mini exams to keep you on your feet.I would recommend this book to anyone who is having trouble in math:-)
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
they didn't cover half the the things that were on the exam
Published 1 day ago by Marina
5.0 out of 5 stars I reviewed it and ended up scoring great in the Pre-entrance exam and...
I reviewed it and ended up scoring great in the Pre-entrance exam and have now, as of 7/7/2014 started RN school. :)
Published 4 days ago by Annette
5.0 out of 5 stars It's good, the book is organized well and the CDRom/test simulator...
It's good, it's organized well and the CDRom/test simulator that comes with it is very useful. I have found a couple of typos/answers that I felt were mistakes, but you find that... Read more
Published 25 days ago by kindle 27
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Helpful
The Review Guide For RN Pre-Entrance Exam is very helpful in preparing for the NLN. It helped get me into the nursing program, and I am sure it will do the same for you. Read more
Published 1 month ago by duane ndabahaliye
5.0 out of 5 stars is what it is
the book in great condition, and very helpful for test takers. lots of practice questions and explanations of the answers.
Published 1 month ago by E
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Satisfied with this Review Guide
I purchased this book in hopes that it would successfully prepare me for the NLN and it did just that. I scored above average on the exam. Read more
Published 1 month ago by Kim Kramer
3.0 out of 5 stars Somewhat helpful...better than nothing
First, I think that the test itself is more the problem than the book. There was a LOT of physics on the test (I mean, how many people convert to Kelvin for healthcare reasons? Read more
Published 3 months ago by Marcyinak
5.0 out of 5 stars Good study book
book got here fast and it is a great study book and I hope I pass my test. I will recommend to my friends.
Published 3 months ago by James Hare
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading
bought this book for my nursing entrance exam, and i found it to be an "easy read". Gives examples of the "how to's". Read more
Published 3 months ago by Gwendolyn
4.0 out of 5 stars great but still not enough
I just did my NLN PAX and got 112 composite score. My strongest subject has always been math, my English is ok but science is a disaster. Read more
Published 3 months ago by kay
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only


Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category