Test Prep AP SAT GMAT MCAT Learn more Discover Test Prep Central

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering
Sell Us Your Item
For a $57.39 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

FE Review Manual: Rapid Preparation for the Fundamentals of Engineering Exam [Paperback]

Michael R. Lindeburg
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (186 customer reviews)

Buy New
$87.68 & FREE Shipping. Details
Rent
$33.98
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
In Stock.
Want it tomorrow, July 15? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Paperback $87.68  
China
Engineering & Transportation Books
Discover books for all types of engineers, auto enthusiasts, and much more. Learn more

Book Description

October 21, 2010 1591263336 978-1591263333 3rd

The Best-Selling Book for FE Exam Preparation

The FE Review Manual is the most trusted FE exam preparation book. It offers comprehensive coverage of FE exam topics while providing what exam candidates value most—integration of equations and variables from the NCEES Fundamentals of Engineering Supplied-Reference Handbook.

The FE Review Manual is a complete exam review package in one book. Gain a better understanding of key concepts and save prep time by reviewing FE exam topics and NCEES Handbook equations in a single location. These equations, along with NCEES Handbook figures and tables are distinguished in green text for easy cross-referencing. Use the 13 diagnostic exams to identify where you need the most review and improve your problem-solving skills with over 1,200 practice problems. You can evaluate your progress by taking the included 4-hour sample exam.

Look for PPI's new discipline-specific FE review manuals:

  • FE Civil Review Manual
  • FE Mechanical Review Manual


Entrust your FE exam preparation to the FE Review Manual and get the power to pass the first time—guaranteed—or we’ll refund your purchase price.

Everything You Need to Succeed 

  • Complete FE exam coverage in 54 easy-to-read chapters
  • 13 topic-specific diagnostic exams
  • Green text to identify equations, figures, and tables found in the NCEES Handbook
  • Over 1,200 practice problems with step-by-step solutions
  • SI units throughout
  • 4-hour morning session practice exam
  • A sample study schedule
  • A comprehensive, easy-to-use index
  • Exam tips and advice

Topics Covered Include

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Computers, Measurement, and Controls
  • Conversion Factors
  • Dynamics
  • Electric Circuits
  • Engineering Economics
  • Ethics
  • Fluid Mechanics
  • Materials Science/Structure of Matter
  • Mathematics
  • Mechanics of Materials Statics
  • Thermodynamics and Heat Transfer
  • Transport Phenomena
  • Units and Fundamental Constants

_____________________________

Since 1975, more than 2 million people preparing for their engineering, surveying, architecture, LEED®, interior design, and landscape architecture exams have entrusted their exam prep to PPI. For more information, visit us at www.ppi2pass.com.


Frequently Bought Together

FE Review Manual: Rapid Preparation for the Fundamentals of Engineering Exam + TI-36X Pro Scientific Calculator + F E Reference Handbook
Price for all three: $130.29

Buy the selected items together
  • TI-36X Pro Scientific Calculator $18.88
  • F E Reference Handbook $23.73

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Paperback: 900 pages
  • Publisher: Professional Publications, Inc.; 3rd edition (October 21, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1591263336
  • ISBN-13: 978-1591263333
  • Product Dimensions: 10.9 x 8.3 x 1.7 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 4.4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (186 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,938 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Michael R. Lindeburg, PE, is one of the best-known authors of engineering textbooks and references. His books and courses have influenced millions of engineers around the world. Since 1975, he has authored more than 30 engineering reference and exam preparation books. He has spent thousands of hours teaching engineering to students and practicing engineers. He holds bachelor of science and master of science degrees in industrial engineering from Stanford University.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
153 of 162 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Very Best May 16, 2012
Format:Paperback
Update 03/20/14: The Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) exam is now administered as a computer-based exam. Check out the NCEES website and YouTube channel (NCEES Media) for details. The website also provides a practice exam. While the old 180-question exam was 8 hours in duration, the new 110-question (multiple-choice) exam has been shortened to 5 hours and 20 minutes. The total appointment time is 6 hours, which includes time for orientation and a break. A simulated TI-30XS onscreen calculator is available for examinees during the exam. The FE is offered in seven disciplines: FE Chemical; FE Civil; FE Electrical and Computer; FE Environmental; FE Industrial; FE Mechanical; and FE Other Disciplines. Most FE review materials have not caught up with the new exam. Go to the NCEES website (ncees dot org slash exams slash fe-exam) to find the "exam specifications" for your own discipline-specific exam. Create a study plan for yourself based on the topics for your discipline and number of questions in each topic. You should also take the practice exams on the NCEES website, since those should align most closely with the up-to-date exam. Also, download the digital copy of the reference manual (PDF file) and get used to using it on a computer.

In short, the Michael R. Lindeburg books are the very best for preparing for the Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) exam. If you are going to take the FE exam, then buy this book (as well as the discipline-specific book) and spend at least three month studying and answering the sample problems. Also, take at least two practice exams (using the NCEES FE Supplied-Reference Manual and an approved calculator). I have created an Amazon Listmania titled "Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) Exam Prep.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
68 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Lindeburg is my Hero October 26, 2010
Format:Paperback
Why bother with a 4 year engineering degree when you have Lindeburg?

I am a law student, and I NEEDED to pass the FE to attain patent bar eligibility. I'd never studied engineering in my life, although I did major in mathematics in undergraduate, which did prove helpful. I picked up Lindeburg's 2nd edition manual, and I dedicated 5 weeks to this book. I was also a full time law student and working part time at an awful firm 20 hours a week. I spend every spare minute with it, flew to Michigan in April, and I passed the FE on my first try.

There's no way I would've passed without this book, and I recommend it to EVERYONE. I actually love it. I am now applying to engineering schools to pursue a masters in electrical engineering because I found this book so inspiring. If you want to pass the FE, buy this book.
Was this review helpful to you?
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product January 5, 2011
By AD980
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Great Product. Detailed problem solutions and clearly explained concept summaries. Formulas that are included in the official NCEES Reference Manual are highlighted in green so that you know what formulas will be provided for you on test day.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Here is what you need to know April 15, 2012
By Michael
Format:Kindle Edition
This book is very helpful. If you are taking the general ("other disciplines") exam, this is book is all you need. Read it all.

If not taking the general exam, you need to know the following to comfortably pass.

The morning session is very easy. Unfortunately this book combines the morning session style questions with the afternoon session for those that choose the general for the afternoon. Thus, you can waste time studying the harder problems if you are taking a discipline specific afternoon exam.

So, read the text of most sections (except biology and some of the more advanced topics). Work all the sample problems (first five of each section) and know them backwards. Quickly scan through the "FE style" problems (read problem then read solution) but ignore the more difficult questions. Basically spend only 35% of your study time on this book.

Get the discipline specific book from Lindeberg and spend 65% of your time on it. It is very thin. Memorize it. The exam doesn't change much over the years, and this will not only make exam day a breeze, but it will definitely help prepare you for the PE.

The exam is pass/fail based on a scaled score of 70. All that means is they will adjust up or down the raw score based on the national performance of all test takers on a number of certain test questions that they use over time to gauge the quality of the test taking group. The way you make up ground on others is by spending time on the discipline specific portion. The morning test proves you can think. As such, there are a lot of problems that you have to be able to answer quickly. The afternoon demonstrates what you know. You can take your time, but you have to know how to solve those problems before you walk in the door.
Was this review helpful to you?
21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why bother with the new? December 16, 2011
By Oumar
Format:Paperback
I initially bought the FE Review Manual by Lindenburg Second Edition for my EIT review, and was looking at the third edition for any changes. I compared the NCEES supplied reference 8th edition with the up to date one, and I can't seem to find ANY changes (except the 8th Edition to 8th Edition 2nd revision change on the second page).

Why bother with the new edition? If anyone can see a clear update. Please identify it.

Thanks
Was this review helpful to you?
14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2014 FE exam changed to Discipline specific only February 9, 2014
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
The FE 2014 exam is now disciple specific, that means there is no morning-after noon section at 4 hours each, its one 6 hour exam for your chosen discipline. This means you need to know the specific sections that are called out for each particular exam.

I am an EE, and this book only covers about 2/5-1/2(at best) of the material i need to study, so if you're looking to take this exam, this is only a supplemental review, you NEED another good electrical specific book. DO NOT buy the ones from PPI or Lindeburg, they are not updated for the 2014 exam, they are only questions and overall what you get for what you pay is awful.

Please be aware of the changes to the exam before buying any study material !!!

Written 2/9/2014
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Size of 1980's telephone book
Since the FE is now the EIT exam I will not need to study everything in this book; however, what I was shown in college is in this book. Read more
Published 17 hours ago by Look Low
5.0 out of 5 stars Good review book
Good review book. They need to make a new one broken up by subject. This needs to reflect the new tests.
Published 2 days ago by Joseph
3.0 out of 5 stars Maybe it works, it's hard to tell
It is hard to review this book. On one hand I passed the test so I suppose it deserves 5 stars. On the other hand while studying I felt the book could have had more in depth... Read more
Published 9 days ago by Andrew
5.0 out of 5 stars good book
It is a good book. I found it is really helpful to understand the basic engineering. I highly recommend to engineers.
Published 17 days ago by Wali
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Resource
I took the FE Exam last April 2013, and it had been a while since I had taken the classes for most topics covered. Read more
Published 1 month ago by sarah
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are a Bio, Ag, or Biomed, get it!
Problems are great. Solutions are clear. Sections are well-written and get you up to speed. I take the FE August 4th. Currently working through the fluids section. Read more
Published 1 month ago by Kevin
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Preparation
The book is well presented and organized . If used as suggested by the author the book should provide good perparation. Read more
Published 1 month ago by Sh.S
5.0 out of 5 stars great book
Absolutely must have for those who forgot a lot from their freshman and sophomore classes. Very well written and doesn't take much time to review a subject. Read more
Published 1 month ago by Gulya
5.0 out of 5 stars FE Review Manual is a must.
There are so many parts to the FE Exam that a proper review of the subjects is extremely helpful. Although I am not finished with the review manual just yet, there seems to be a... Read more
Published 1 month ago by David Harbin
4.0 out of 5 stars Questions for the Chemical Discipline
I am currently studying for the chemical engineering specific exam using this book and the reference manual as my only true guides. Read more
Published 1 month ago by Daniel L.
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category


Want to discover more products? You may find many from mechanical engineering online shopping list.