Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available

To view this video download Flash Player

 


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering
Sell Us Your Item
For a $35.99 Gift Card
Trade in
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Review of Surgery for ABSITE and Boards, 1e [Paperback]

Christian DeVirgilio MD FAC
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16 customer reviews)

Buy New
$77.95 & FREE Shipping. Details
Rent
$34.50
Only 19 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
In Stock.
Want it Tuesday, July 15? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Free Two-Day Shipping for College Students with Amazon Student


Book Description

May 27, 2010 1416046909 978-1416046905 1 Pap/Psc

Here's a review tool proven to be effective for ABSITE and board exam preparation. Modeled strictly on the style of the exams, these 819 multiple choice questions have been tested over a number of years on UCLA surgical students and significantly improved their scores. It's the perfect method to get the results you want.

  • Improve your exam scores using questions tested on surgical students over a number of years and proven to be effective.
  • Get the single best answer to each of the 819 multiple choice questions that closely follow the ABSITE and board style.
  • Test yourself and score your responses using the electronic component.
  • Consult additional key resources thanks to references to major reading materials in the field.

Frequently Bought Together

Review of Surgery for ABSITE and Boards, 1e + Rush University Medical Center Review of Surgery: Expert Consult - Online and Print, 5e + The Absite Review: Practice Questions
Price for all three: $236.91

Buy the selected items together

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Paperback: 288 pages
  • Publisher: Saunders; 1 Pap/Psc edition (May 27, 2010)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1416046909
  • ISBN-13: 978-1416046905
  • Product Dimensions: 0.6 x 8.3 x 10 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.7 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #31,914 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
(16)
4.6 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers
Most Helpful Customer Reviews
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best Q&A for ABSITE February 2, 2011
By 46&2
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Background: I'm a general surgery resident who has taken the ABSITE four times.

After going through the Johns Hopkins, Schwartz, and Rush ABSITE reviews before, I would say this book is the best. The questions are reasonable with well explained answers. The chapters cover a variety of subjects. Many are based on clinical scenarios or no-BS quick fire questions on anatomy / physiology.

This book isn't perfect. There are some EXCEPT questions (i.e. all these are true regarding popliteal artery aneurysms EXCEPT...) which use a format that doesn't appear on standardized tests. There's a dearth of the dreaded Basic Science questions; maybe that's why I 'enjoyed' this book more than others. Statistics and Legal/Ethical questions are absent. There are no chapters specifically dealing with gynecology, urology, or ortho. On the real thing, I encountered one version with a LOT of gynecology (i.e. inappropriate amount), and another with a lot of urology. Some of these subspecialties, though, are briefly touched on in other sections like trauma (ureteral injury). Some of the answers are listed incorrectly (i.e. they put A when they meant D), though you'll be able to tell, and the authors err less than Hopkins or Schwartz.

Despite (or perhaps because of) the above, the book is quite doable and makes for a surprisingly quick way to do 1400 questions. I would contrast this to Rush where it takes 1-2 hours to slog through a chapter. Some people say the test is basically in Rush, but the test is also in Greenfield's or Sabiston's. I can read this book and remain sane.

The online version is cumbersome (and I'm a fan of on-line question banks), but it's nice to have it available if you don't want to lug the book everywhere.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Study Guide for the ABSITE March 15, 2012
Format:Paperback
I've used this book for the past two years and I think it is the best review/study book on the market for the Senior ABSITE. I agree w/ prior reviews that it does not have enough Basic Science to be a stand-alone book for the Junior ABSITE and would need to be supplemented. I also agree that it is somewhat lacking in Ethics/Stats/Uro and Gyn, which could be any easy way to improve this book for its second edition.

I recommend this book to any upcoming surgery residents who will be taking the Senior ABSITE, and also think it would be a great book to buy for the Junior ABSITE if another review/study guide is used for basic science review.

I credit this book, along with the SCORE portal multiple-choice questions, for my 30 percentile increase in score between PGY3 and PGY4 if that helps anyone decide to purchase this book!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Q and A Review January 22, 2011
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
A very good question book for junior and senior ABSITE exam. Very detailed explanations. I would suggest every PGY 3 to 5 to buy this book. The online question interface is very slow. I liked the detail explanations especially on topics like Breast where there is so much controversy. I think this is a good adjunct to Fiser review. I was satisfied with the cost effectiveness also since it is 1400 Q and also has online Q bank which is very slow but not bad.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Question Bank January 13, 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Great set of questions with detailed answers. The explanations are detailed enough to truly understand the gist of the question but not so detailed as to bore the reader.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good questions and explanations January 7, 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
A great review book. Probably the most realistic in therms of content. Great questions and answers. Definitely worth the cost.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great review January 2, 2013
By jcs3225
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I used this for recertification of general surgery boards and found it very helpful and easy to study. Great review
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book December 5, 2012
By E S
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Book seems to work well for me. Explanations are good, and it is provides a nice review of topics. I am not disappointed.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent ABSITE review book February 4, 2012
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I purchased this book as a fourth year general surgery resident two weeks prior to the ABSITE exam. I reviewed every chapter in this book and found probably at least 50 questions VERBATIM on the test. The majority of the questions are ABSITE style, and moreso typical of the senior examination (not much basic science). In all, I would say that this book is worth its weight in gold, and the real treat is the answers that explain why the correct answer is correct AND why the wrong answers are wrong.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Good question book
These questions are a good variety, have good explanations, and don't have the a ton of "EXCEPT" or other question types that are not on the ABSITE.
Published 19 days ago by Amit L. Ramjit
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll need this
Great questions, good format, very helpful. All the senior residents used this, and then I found out why. Read more
Published 5 months ago by ema
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for ABSITE!
A great bank of questions with explanations (not just answer "A" is correct). This way you get to read the thought process behind the question and what the expected level... Read more
Published 6 months ago by Annie
5.0 out of 5 stars good review
This book has good questions good for ABSITE Review. I bought the kindle versión also and is as good as the printed versión.
Published 6 months ago by Ricardo Rodriguez
5.0 out of 5 stars As described
Not much to say other than exactly as described. I will definitely be buying more. Only desire it's for the slightly longer version. Read more
Published 19 months ago by Donovan Sexton
4.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best book out there... but TOUGH
Dr Virgilio has done a terrific job of making a comprehensive question-based review of material for the Absite and boards. Read more
Published on January 26, 2012 by DrDrew267
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Question Book
I used this book as part of my preparation for the actual boards. I liked the explanations although I agree with the other reviewers that some answers were controversial. Read more
Published on September 7, 2011 by J. Boyd
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 



Look for Similar Items by Category