Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Subscribe & Save Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals BestoftheYear Shop Now HTL

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars37
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on March 30, 2012
I purchased these couplers to save myself the agony of pulling and replacing all the old Cat3 cables from an old security camera set-up in a hotel. The new Q-See system uses BNC and 1/4" power connectors. The adapters allowed me to attach the new cameras to the existing Cat3 cable, and attach the Cat3 cables to the DVR. Works great. A bit of advise: You'll have to make an additional adapter to connect the camera power to this adapter, because the gender of the power connector is the same as the camera's. Not an issue on the DVR side. Also, the Cat3 connector block isn't the tightest in the world, so I wrapped everything in electrical tape to ensure a solid, long lasting connection, and to ward against anyone easily tampering with it (even though the connections are hidden in the ceiling).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on November 16, 2012
The product works as described but being a proprietary item it is wayyy over priced for what you get.
Revo decided to not use the standard BNC connections on some of their DVR's which means that if you already have cameras with the standard BNC connectors, you'll be forced to purchase this item. After buying two these units to the tune of $24+ I decided it was not worth it to convert 12 cameras to the Revo unit or to buy expensive cameras from Revo.
I returned the entire 16 channel system to Samsclub and purchased a professional unit for less that the Revo with all the RJ to BNC coupler adapter. Revo DVRs seem to work okay, it's just that proprietary stuff that killed the deal for me. Who knows, it may be just perfect for you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on May 9, 2013
I had an Exxis security camera system for years, but it bit the dust. Exxis no longer made an monitor....Exxis is no longer. I had quite a few cameras with RJ11 connections but my new system used the RCA & BNC connectors. I called Mace security systems....the old Exxis co. Renamed & they said I could use these couplers & use my old Exxis/Mace cameras...even Revo cameras if I had any. So I purchased 3 as above & 3 with audio from Mace.....they work like a charm. I had ordered a couple of these from Amazon before talking to Mace so I went ahead & tried them & they worked great too. So if your old RJ11 connection system goes south, before you take down the cameras & re-run camera cable...try these.
Also, if your running cable up to 1000', the Cat5 cable is a whole lot cheaper than the standard RCA-BNC cable....just use these adapters to connect your cameras & monitor to the Cat5 cable.
Don't know if they make them for RJ11 connection PTZ cameras....may not be enough wires in the Cat5 to do it?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on January 11, 2014
Recommend pointing this out clearly, as it can mislead others. If someone has been able to use these with Samsung cameras that have that RJ jack I would love to hear from you!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on October 30, 2011
If you are trying to convert a Samsung camera that uses the rj11/12 connection (such as SOC-N120)to a DVR with BNC connectors this will not work. It is wired differently.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2015
I purchased a property that had an existing camera system. Assuming they were all coax/BNC connections, I thought I'd do an easy HD-TVI 1080p camera upgrade. After actually taking a look DVR system, I saw it was a 16 Channel Revo DVR that had 8 BNC ports and 8 RJ12 ports. Should've taken a look before I purchased all the parts eh?

So the 8 cameras that were BNC were a simple plug n' play swap. I wasn't sure how to proceed with the RJ12s, but I thought there had to be some kind of converter. Sure enough, a quick search yielded this Coupler. So on the bright side, I didn't have to rewire the RJ12 cables, but unfortunately it did mean I would have to purchase 2 of these suckers for each camera--one for the camera and one for my new HD-TVI DVR. At $10 a piece, and with 8 cameras requiring 2 each, that would run me $160.

So I scoured the internet thinking I would find the manufacturer in China through AliExpress and be able to purchase these RJ12 to BNC Couplers for pennies on the dollar. Wrong. Nothing on Aliexpress. Nothing on eBay. Plenty of Cat5 Couplers though. For the inclined, I am sure you could rewire the end of RJ12 cables into a RJ45 Modular Plug and terminate it. I am not that inclined. I forked over the cash. Wow Revo. Good job. There really was no other choice but to purchase from you. Still, in Los Angeles, paying someone to run a wire for a camera is around $250 per camera, so I guess $160 for 8 Cameras isn't too bad. That's the way I'll have to look at it to be happy.

If you are reading this review and in the same situation as I was, be advised, your purchases are not over. Since this coupler is female and the Camera connectors are female as well, you will need something like this Valley 2.1mm x 5.5mm DC CCTV Power Coupler Male to Male for each camera. And you will also probably need something similar to this VideoSecu 12V DC CCTV Security Camera Power Supply Adapter with 4 (2.1mm) Channel Connectors Port PW154 1I0 to power all those cameras on the DVR end. Or if you have a ~8 amp 2.1mm DC Power Supply--so each camera gets 1amp---you can get one of these Female 2.1mm Jack to 8 Male 2.1mm Plugs CCTV Power Y Adapter.

Lastly, the RJ12 coupler on this Revo RRJBNCCOUP is quite flimsy as another reviewer had mentioned. And like that reviewer had written, I recommend that you use electrical tape to secure. While you're at it, use electrical tape to secure the Power Coupler as well.

So 5 stars because I could see this project to the end as a full DIY. Minus one star because it's ridiculously overpriced with no alternative!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on September 28, 2011
I received these couplers extremely fast and in great working order. Would definitely order from them again and will refer anyone to use this camera system as well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on June 24, 2014
My old cable for my 9-volt LOREX camera was shot. I couldn't find one.So I bought this coupler,so I can just adapt it to a standard BNC/Power cable.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2013
This adapter works perfectly well, but there is one problem. If you look at it, both the yellow and red connectors are exactly the same distance from the RJ connector. THis means that both connectors also must be at the same distance, resulting in a large lump of connectors about 9" behind the RJ connectors. IT would be better if one were 6" or so longer than the other.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2013
I bought these adapters in an effort to get the Revo cameras to work in a BNC system. The adapters assume wou have Revo wireing and change to BNC at the DVR. I needed to convert at the cameras, not the DVR. To make this work. I could have gotten couplings to perhaps work but by this time patients ran out and I returned the cameras and bought cameras that use BNC wireing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 10 answered questions

Customers who viewed this also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.