Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Chinese History Primer
If you are studying Modern Chinese History (and where else is events in the 1600;s considered modern), its hard to go wrong with this book. Each section is well laid out, and easy to read. The balanced approach should not offend anyone, and has lots of useful pictures. The only thing is, the book could really have used a glossary and a better summary so that students...
Published on June 7, 2004 by C. Bedford Crenshaw

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's fine. Nothing to write home about.
Needed it for a college class. Was okay. Little analysis provided. Dry read. Shipping was on the longer side, but packaging was damage free.
Published 6 months ago by jspeco


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Chinese History Primer, June 7, 2004
If you are studying Modern Chinese History (and where else is events in the 1600;s considered modern), its hard to go wrong with this book. Each section is well laid out, and easy to read. The balanced approach should not offend anyone, and has lots of useful pictures. The only thing is, the book could really have used a glossary and a better summary so that students of Chinese history will better understand what Schoppa believes is most important to learn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great basic textbook, January 8, 2012
This review is from: Revolution and Its Past: Identities and Change in Modern Chinese History (Mysearchlab Series for History) (Paperback)
I have used this book as the basic text for my undergrad Modern Chinese History classes for several years. It is engaging and presents a reasonably complex view of China. Besides presenting a fairly balanced basic view of modern Chinese history, it provides suggestions on other relevant sources and contains interesting anecdotes and photos. I'm sure the third edition will provide some welcome updates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Book, May 27, 2013
This review is from: Revolution and Its Past: Identities and Change in Modern Chinese History (Mysearchlab Series for History) (Paperback)
I took introductory Chinese history at UW-Madison and we used this book for the time period after 1600 until the modern day. It is fascinating and I would highly recommend it. It is extremely well written and entertaining. I can't think of any examples but the author makes the history more understandable and easy to read with his skilled writing. If you're wondering what the history is included in this book go to wikipedia, that's what history this book talks about (since 1600). Highly recommended! You don't need to take this book while taking a course at a college to get a lot out of it. You can just pick this book up on its own and learn a ton. I bet there isn't a better book out there to learn a lot about modern Chinese History.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, April 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Revolution and Its Past: Identities and Change in Modern Chinese History (Mysearchlab Series for History) (Paperback)
price was okay
but shipping was really fast
book description match what i got
great book, if you want to study modern Chinese history this is the book you must read!!
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dense but worthwhile, February 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Revolution and Its Past: Identities and Change in Modern Chinese History (Mysearchlab Series for History) (Paperback)
This is a very dense read, but well outlined and clearly written. I'm using it for my Chinese History class and it's been great so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's fine. Nothing to write home about., July 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Revolution and Its Past: Identities and Change in Modern Chinese History (Mysearchlab Series for History) (Paperback)
Needed it for a college class. Was okay. Little analysis provided. Dry read. Shipping was on the longer side, but packaging was damage free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend and use this provider again, August 22, 2014
This review is from: Revolution and Its Past: Identities and Change in Modern Chinese History (Mysearchlab Series for History) (Paperback)
Quick service and item as described. Would recommend and use this provider again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Revolution and Its Past: Identities and Change in Modern Chinese History (Mysearchlab Series for History)
$95.67 $77.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.