Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A finely crafted tale of psychological suspense and survival
When you look at all the authors out there currently writing young adult fiction, Marcus Sedgwick seems to operate on a different playing field than most of the rest. In Revolver, he has offered up a chilling tale of psychological suspense that left me breathless. His descriptions of the Artic Circle, the cold that forms ice crystals in your lungs, and the hard life of...
Published on May 8, 2010 by J. Prather

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Revolver--To read or not to read
Overall the book was well written and the characters were well rounded. The book, for the most part, revolves around a 36 hour period that occurs after Sig's father is found dead on the lake. There are also several chapters that look back at events that occurred earlier in Sig's life to help the reader understand what has led to the visitor's arrival. I feel like teen...
Published on September 20, 2010 by Lisa Bryant


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A finely crafted tale of psychological suspense and survival, May 8, 2010
This review is from: Revolver (Hardcover)
When you look at all the authors out there currently writing young adult fiction, Marcus Sedgwick seems to operate on a different playing field than most of the rest. In Revolver, he has offered up a chilling tale of psychological suspense that left me breathless. His descriptions of the Artic Circle, the cold that forms ice crystals in your lungs, and the hard life of his characters as they struggle to make it on this frozen frontier fully transported me there. I was so into this story that when Sig looked out his cabin window and first saw Wolff standing outside, I gasped and felt the hair on the back of my neck stand up!

No words are wasted in this tale. Each phrase seems carefully crafted to convey tension and to bring the reader in. The revolver that serves as the focal point of the story is as much a character as the humans we get to know. Sig's battle with Wolff, and his struggle within himself to make what he deems to be the right choice is so achingly and beautifully portrayed that you find yourself wondering what your choices would be. This is a great book and an easy recommend for any fan of Gary Paulsen. Aside from all of the psychological elements, it's also a great survivalist story. This book simply has a lot to offer to both teens and adults. I will be recommending it often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a taut historical thriller set in the Arctic Circle, June 4, 2010
By 
M. Tanenbaum (Claremont, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revolver (Hardcover)
Originally published in London in 2009, Revolver combines two of my favorite genres: historical fiction and adventure/survival stories. Sedgwick is the author of ten previous novels for young people, most of which include gothic or paranormal elements. This psychological mystery/survival story, however, set in the forbidding world of the Arctic Circle, does not need any hints of vampires, ghosts, or witches to cast a spell on its readers. Once begun, the reader will have a hard time putting this book down.

The story alternates between Giron, an iron mining town, in 1910, and Nome in 1899, at the time of the Alaskan Gold Rush. What happened in Nome that has made 14-year old Sig's father be on the run for so many years? When Sig's father dies after a fall through the frigid ice, Sig and his sister are visited by an evil man, Gunther Wolff, who claims that he is owed half of their father's gold. They know nothing of any gold, and are terrified that this giant of a man will kill them both. An ancient Colt revolver--and ammunition--is hidden in the back of their cabin. Can Sig's resourcefulness--and the Colt revolver--possibly rescue them from this threat?

The author goes back and forth between Sig's terrifying encounter with this man whom he cannot remember and the time years before when the family lived in Nome. Sedgwick writes of Einar, the father: "He'd come for the gold, and he hadn't meant to stay. These things never lasted long, Einar knew." But when Einar is offered a job as an Assay Clerk, the government official who "does the testing and the weighing and the paying," the family settles into this harsh environment. That is, until tragedy strikes, after the arrival in Nome of the villainous miner Wolff.

There are several scenes in this book that suggest rape and murder; even though not described in graphic detail, these scenes make this book appropriate for a young adult audience but not recommended for younger children.

In the U.K. , Revolver has been short-listed for a number of prestigious prizes, including the Carnegie Medal, the Independent Booksellers Award, the UK Literacy Association Award, and the Northern Ireland Book Award, The book was also nominated for the Guardian Children's Book Prize.

This is the kind of fast-moving adventure story that would make a good recommendation for reluctant readers, particularly boys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Revolver (YA), October 20, 2010
This review is from: Revolver (Hardcover)
Sig and Anna's father dies after falling through the ice in their small mining town. Shortly after, a huge, evil man Wolff comes looking for the gold that their father supposedly stole from him. He holds the kids hostage and threatens to kill them if they don't tell him where the gold is and they have no idea what he is talking about. Showing courage, the two end up making the odds a bit more even. A good, quick read that YA boys would especially like, I enjoyed this book. I borrowed this book from the library.

[ ... ]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, October 11, 2012
By 
Polly Andrews (Charleston, South Carolina United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Revolver (Paperback)
D.A.
I really enjoyed this book very much. Even though I amd just an 8th grader, writing a review it might not mean much coming from me. Any way this book very exitin through out. I felt as if some parts could've been explained more and in detailed. well the book is about 15 year old Sig Anderson and his father (Einar Andrerson) had just fell threw the ice of a lake and froze to death. Sig has just witnessed the whole thing and quickly rushes out to get him from the ice and when he gets there he is dead. Soon tells his sister (Anna) and stepmother (Nayada) to go retrieve help. so by about an hour after they leave a mysterious man appears at the Andersons doorsteps. His name Mr. Wolff, he has come asking for gold that apperently Einar has stolen from him. Mr. Wolff had been traveling for 10 years and has nearly died multiple times on the journey there. He has also killed there mother. Sig soon realizes this man is evil and has no good in him. He asks Sig "do you have my gold?" and Sig not knowing what he is talking about says no. Mr. Wolff soon gets angry and harasess Sigto the point where Sig is getting hurt and sevearly bleeding. Anna comes home to see Sig hurt and Wolff pointing a gun at him. Anna quickly tends to Sig. Nayada is no where to be seen, with no help. Sig is helped up knowing there is a gun in the shed, thats all that is going through his head. Wolff loses his patience and they scramble to find the gold even though they dont know where it is. They go to the lake to find the papers that just turn out to be junk. So Sig tells Wolff "shoot me, you have been saying you will but havent." Wolff then smashes him in the head with the gun. Sig out cold wakes up to Wolff on top of Anna. He then knows I need the gun. He bolts to the shed and scrambles for the gun. He then realizes Wolff cant shoot his gun got to cold and rusted so he then backs him into the wall. He sends Anna for actuall help this time. Sig then pulls the trigger, Wolff thinking he is dead sees the huge hole right next to his head. Sig missed on purpose and said "The Andersons dont kill." Sig then tosses him the gun and Wolff tries told it with new bullets and Sig knows they dont work in an old gun. Wolff then pulls the trigger and BOOM half of Wolffs hand is gone. Mr. Wolff is taken to prison and is later killed in prison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Revolver--To read or not to read, September 20, 2010
By 
Lisa Bryant (SUGAR LAND, TX, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Revolver (Hardcover)
Overall the book was well written and the characters were well rounded. The book, for the most part, revolves around a 36 hour period that occurs after Sig's father is found dead on the lake. There are also several chapters that look back at events that occurred earlier in Sig's life to help the reader understand what has led to the visitor's arrival. I feel like teen boys that enjoy reading about history and guns would enjoy the book. Although not my typical type of book, it did hold my attention to the very end. I don't, however, think that my 14 year old daughter would find the book very interesting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Revolver, June 28, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Revolver (Kindle Edition)
This is a very good book. It tells the story of a hard life with hard decisions from a boys point of view. I would recommend this book to any young teen that is looking for an exciting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tense Mystery, September 14, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Revolver (Paperback)
Revolver is part historical fiction (set in the frozen arctic in the early 1900's), part mystery (Did Sig's father steal gold from a prospector during the Alaska gold rush? If so, where is it?)and mostly a story of a young teen facing a life altering moral dilemma. Sig was raised by a stern but loving man who found ways to create a home and life for his family in unbearable conditions. His father taught him the world is a cruel place and sometimes requires cruel actions to survive. Sig was also raised by a mother and step-mother who were both very gentle, religious pacifists. When the story opens, to the family's dismay, their always careful and pragmatic father tried to cross the thawing lake, fell through the ice and died. Sig's sister and step-mother have gone to town for help. The contradictory parenting clashes when a sinister, violent man shows up at the family's arctic cabin the day after Sig's father died. Sig must deal with the angry visitor, Mr. Wolff, alone. Mr. Wolff says he will kill Sig if Sig does not turn over the gold stolen from him years before. After Sig is dead, he will wait for the sister and step-mother to return and give them the same ultimatum. Sig creates an opportunity to fetch his Dad's revolver and hide it on his person, but can he bring himself to kill Mr. Wolff? Revolver is very short and there is little action, but every page is tense with Sig's fear and Mr. Wolff's anger and the tension builds to a surprising and frightening climax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thriller, April 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Revolver (Hardcover)
Full of twists and turns and "hold your breath" moments, kids and adults will love this story. It elicted an actual applause at the end from the kids I read this to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark, Quick, Tightly Written, April 1, 2013
This review is from: Revolver (Hardcover)
This isn't my usual kind of read. Yes, I read a lot of YA, but it's normally speculative and this is historical and more on the literary end. I went in a little unsure of what to expect and ended up pleasantly surprised.

The story is very dark, which I do like, and was a pretty quick read. I also thought the structure worked really well, going back and forth between the two timelines. I found myself very caught up in the story most of the time.

Anyway, I'm glad I gave it a try and am planning on passing it on to my son to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brutal setting, brutal circumstances, March 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Revolver (Kindle Edition)
Despite the frigid climate and desperate men infected with gold fever, there is also courage and love and family. Will that be enough, or will Sig need to use the revolver to survive?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Revolver
Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick (Paperback - September 27, 2011)
$8.99 $3.60
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.