Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Off to College Essentials Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
10
5 star
90%
4 star
10%
3 star
0%
2 star
0%
1 star
0%
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$27.34+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 27, 2007
this is my favorite book of the year. rex ray is an incredible artist. he puts together combinations with paper that blow the mind. i am an art teacher who sees tons of books, and this one was a definite standout. i brought it to work for my co-art teachers and students to see, and they were all awed and amazed. this book would be great for anyone visual--artists, graphic designers, interior designers, etc. what an inspiration. i am collecting paper and scissors and glue to attempt what rex ray does...but i will never even come close!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2007
This is an excellent survey of this artist's career to date, with a post-pop-art sensibility that has a wide appeal to many age groups. This volume has very fine color reproduction showing the cut-paper pieces with great clarity. A fun book even for the casual art appreciator, lots of very creative visual stimulation.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2009
This is one of the best design books I have ever gotten. I used this artist to teach 8th graders. We made the painted papers and created collages. They enjoyed this very much!
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
If you are a fan of Rex Ray, then this is a book to have in your library. It is eye candy. There isn't a lot of text. However, there are pages and pages of his beautiful works to study. I am glad I purchased it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2011
Spellbinding? That's pretty highfalutin lingo for an art book. True, but it's spot on. There is SO much going on in Rex Ray's art that you'll find yourself pouring over it transfixed trying to figure out how he did it. You ask yourself how it's possible that he did all of that in collage. Really really really good stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2013
Very refreshing to see a designers exploration of art and come up with such beautiful and rich images. The book itself is designed well and just love to have it in my book collection!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2013
Delighted by this treasury of prints by my favorite artist. It is so rich I'm taking it in sections at a time.
Service was great and book like new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2013
I love the book and his work. Good printing and size for this coffee table book. Sure would like an original too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2015
I bought this before Rex Ray passed away. I loved it then. Now I cherish it. Beautiful printing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2009
I saw this book in Ink and Peet's in Portland, an absolutely beautiful flower shop that also carries trinkets. I promptly bought it off Amazon for cheaper. I find Rex Ray very inspiring and hope to use some of his ideas in my quilting.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.