Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks Incredible, Plays slightly less so.
I love this game.
It's like a Visual Novel Mixed with a Rhythm game. A Very good combination.

First, Gameplay:
The gameplay is broken up into two parts. Roaming the city (including "Puzzles"), and Rhythm Challenges.
The roaming style is it's own, but it does take large cues from The Professor Layton series, walking around to different locations,...
Published on July 25, 2012 by tenentenen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent overall
Rhythm Thief is sort of a clone of Professor Layton but with rhythm games instead of puzzles - which is not a bad thing if you like Professor Layton but actually think rhythm games are more fun than puzzles (like me.) The rhythm games are highly varied and remarkably entertaining, and they can get challenging later on. Medals found throughout the game can be used to buy a...
Published 19 months ago by Des


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looks Incredible, Plays slightly less so., July 25, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rhythm Thief (Video Game)
I love this game.
It's like a Visual Novel Mixed with a Rhythm game. A Very good combination.

First, Gameplay:
The gameplay is broken up into two parts. Roaming the city (including "Puzzles"), and Rhythm Challenges.
The roaming style is it's own, but it does take large cues from The Professor Layton series, walking around to different locations, talking to citizens, and solving small puzzles (very few puzzles, and very short as well) every once in a while. Every so often, there is a rhythm challenge that directly relates to what is happening in the story (aside from a few "optional" challenges) and it does have a good balance of exploration and Rhythm.
The rhythm games themselves are all really fun, and have very tight gameplay, with the exception of a few that force you to use unresponsive motion controls, but those are so few, that they didn't even really detract from the experience.

Story:
The story is captivating enough to keep the player interested, but is simple enough to be understood by younger children. The segmentation is well done, and the characters, especially Raphael and Fondue, who are just brimming with personality and charm. There are quite a few twists, and it really is a fun tale to take part in. Again, this is largeley an interactive visual novel (plus rhythm challenges), and it really lends itself to the success of the story.

Visuals:
The visuals in this game are amazing. The environments arround paris are beautifully illustrated, I only wish they appeared on the 3D enhanced screen. But don't worry, the important cutscenes ARE on the 3D screen. Speaking of the cutscenes, They are without a doubt, the best animated cutscenes I have ever seen in any game.They are 2D illustrations (animated) but all the peices are at different depths. It's super immersive, and incredibly stunning. The opening custscene, "Enter Raphael" has amazing animation with haging lights rotating around Raphael with the camera at different depths. I wish developers would consider making full length movies, or cartoons in this style, as it is by far the best part of the game.

Overall:
Get this game if:
-You like Professor Layton, or Ace Attorney
-You like DDR, Rhythm Heaven, or Elite Beat Agents
-Beautiful Animation

Do not get this game if you:
-Need guns, violence in your game
-Don't like art, or animation
-have no rhythm

Overall Score: 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's more than just Rhythm, July 11, 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rhythm Thief (Video Game)
I love this game. I am kind of surprised. First off, the music games are more like Rhythm Heaven on Nintendo's consoles which is great. Because the music is catchy and the songs are more like "games" that your classic rhythm games are. But you simply do not go from song to song. There is a story mode in here where the main character is searching for something that belonged to his father. You will tap on people to start conversations in different areas, and even do some old classic "pixel searching" for different items you collect as you put together mystery instruments that unlock bonus mini games and collect the different anime scenes that are purchasable in game with coins you uncover playing the music, as well as from pixel searching.

So even though you got 50 songs with really fun Rhythm Heaven style gameplay with some really catchy and fun songs, but you get just a tiny bit of a professor layton style explore and click adventure. Not bad for the price available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic entry into the rhythm game genre, July 15, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rhythm Thief (Video Game)
The Good:
Graphics - As good as you're gonna get on the 3DS. I usually play my games in 2D mode, but this game has beautifully animated cut scenes that look quite stellar in 3D mode. While the main character(s) are of a typical anime style, background characters and Paris locals each have a distinct look.

Music - Absolutely fantastic. The music ranges across a variety of genres, including hip-hop, jazz, and remixed classical scores. Each musical piece is perfectly tailored to fit the scene and the rhythm game-play.

Game-play - With a large variety of rhythm games that are easy to learn, but difficult to master, Rhythm Thief is an epitome of rhythm/music games. Each of the essential rhythm stages are seamlessly integrated into the storyline and employ a variety of methods such as tapping the screen or using different button combinations. You explore Paris by using the d-pad or circle pad to move your character around, and you can explore each specific scene by tapping the screen. Most, if not all, scenes include hidden medals(coins) that can be used to purchase power-ups during the rhythm stages, or various other goodies, and is reminiscent of the Professor Layton series.

Storyline - While sometimes a little predictable or a little ludicrous, nevertheless, the storyline is intriguing and engaging. There are memorable characters and situations, and a cute love story in the background. Providing both a motive and a method for playing the rhythm stages, it is an integral part of the game. Passing each rhythm stage helps you move along and advance the story, giving you a sense of purpose.

The not-so-good:
Gyroscopic rhythm stages - Don't know if this is the fault of the game or the 3DS, but some of the stages using the gyroscope were ridiculous. A few of the games require you to tilt your 3DS, and while this is fine for some of the slower-paced stages, I literally found myself whipping my 3DS back and forth so that the game would sense it. While I would replay many stages until I got an A grade, this was impossible on these stages. Luckily, these stages are few and far between.

Length - This game was too short. It took me about 9 hours to reach the credits, and this was with me replaying almost all the stages (sometimes multiple times) to reach a higher grade and meticulously searching each screen for hidden coins. However, with additional content after the main storyline, a few side-quests, and the ability to replay any stage you pass, I can imagine quite a few more hours spent on the game.

Overall, Rhythm Thief is a fantastic game that blends catchy music, impressive game-play elements, beautiful animation, and a fun storyline. If you are a fan of rhythm/music games, you definitely won't be disappointed. This is now my favorite rhythm game, and I am eagerly waiting for the sequel the ending not-so-subtly hinted at.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Fun Game If Not Somewhat Too Simple, August 6, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rhythm Thief (Video Game)
Rhythm Thief is a very cool game. Even if you are not a fan of anime art style you should enjoy the rhythm games that the storyline uncovers through gameplay. The game does not consist of only rhythm tapping and swiping games, but a lot of conversations and collecting of stuff in between. This can be good or bad depending on the type of player you are. Basically, the main character Raphael runs around Paris with his dog to uncover a terrible secret and an evil conspiracy on the way. (this premise is introduced in the trailers. Not spoiler) While music and rhythm games are the main element there is much traversing of the streets and areas to find various characters for information or items. You are also tasked with finding sounds, and landmarks. What this means is every time you arrive to a new location you'll see a detailed background. You have to click around it to find a prize, which is converted to coins. Coins can later be turned in to unlock extra content within the game.

In fact a lot of the art and the clicking is very similar to art of Professor Layton games. But do not confuse the two in gameplay. There are no difficult puzzles to solve in this one. I'd even say a lot of the filler content between the rhythm games is very easy and can be an annoyance. It could take awhile after a main rhythm game until you reach the next one. This will probably be fun for kids, but for adult gamers could be a distraction since there is no meaningful reward for the game itself.

The rhythm games are clever and inventive. They do not simply have to do with dancing on the street for the NPCs to watch, but escaping, running, fighting, playing instruments, and anything you can think of. The developers made a smart move by allowing free access to each rhythm game found within the game in a separate menu so you can try to get perfect scores as much as you like. One game I've found required using the gyroscope to catch things. That actually did not work too well because the gyroscope lags and can't catch up to the game easily, but that game is an exception and is a side mission.

Most of the art in the game is relatively traditional looking anime for kids. Not what people may associate with "bright spiky hair", maybe more tame, kid friendly anime art. I'd say it resembles such cartoons like Astro Boy, in which many characters are caricatures. Some of the art and dialogue may be too cutesy and irrelevant. But behind that is a solid game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get it in the E-SHOP, November 6, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rhythm Thief (Video Game)
This is an amazingly fun pass some time game that you can play in short 30 minute bursts. Even if you're not too good at Rhythm games it's fun. The only thing keeping it from getting a perfect score is that the difficulty is a bit unbalanced, going from extremely easy to downright tough and frustrating. The rhythm games vary between using the touch screen and buttons. But don't pay these crazy prices for a retail copy. It's available in the Nintendo E-shop now for $19.99. There's also a demo that let's you try two of the rhythm games.

What makes it different from most rhythm games is that there is a story to it that's pretty good, so for those people who don't like those games that just give you a list of soundtracks to play through, this actually is a game. The cutscenes are gorgeous but this game has to have some of the best music I've ever heard. You can finish it in about 7 hours if you're just playing through it straight but you can probably stretch that to 9-10 hours if you try to get an "A" on each game. I'm not one that tries to shoot for that kind of thing but for some reason this game was addicting enough to make me try! The games are just great that you don't mind replaying them for a better score a few times.

If you've played professor Layton it's laid out exactly like that only with rhythm games instead of puzzles only with a lot LESS dialogue (I found a little too much story in the Layton games inbetween puzzles).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, August 22, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rhythm Thief (Video Game)
This game takes the Rhythm Game genre to the next level. With fun games and an interesting story, I highly recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, August 20, 2012
A Kid's Review
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rhythm Thief (Video Game)
This is a great game and is very fun. The story is great, and it's also long (about 7 hours). Even after you beat the game, you can still get an A on all rhythm games to unlock a bonus episode about Charlie and Vergier (Still working on this one, have A's on about half of them), find out how he met his dog by completing the master instrument, and play a mysterious song by completing the phantom notes. The rhythm games in it are great. My favorites are Sword fights, escape, and samba carnival. I would definitely recommend this game and am very excited for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Average Rhythm Game, August 9, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rhythm Thief (Video Game)
Rhythm Thief advertises a fun, light hearted, rhythm based game and I believe it delivers. You have a world map, run around to various story checkpoints, at each event you must complete a rhythm based challenge.
I found the rhythm challenges themsleves a little easy but I am a long time veteran of music and rhythm based games. I also would find that the level of difficulty is fitting with the childish storyline and the E rating.

My one bin con with this game is the need to spam each area you come to in order to try and find various hidden objects. Some are unimportant, but some are greatly helpful, and some you are unable to come back and get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Professor Layton with a Beat, December 19, 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rhythm Thief (Video Game)
Rhythm games are not my sort of thing. That's why I found myself surprised to be enjoying this game so much. The main advantage that this game has over its competitors is a good story, with gameplay features borrowed from Professor Layton, and extremely catchy beats. I found myself humming the tunes from this fairly shortly after playing it for the first time.

The plot of the game is focused around a young Frenchman called Raphael, who goes around by night disguised as the notorious Phantom R, an art thief of great style and sophistication. The police are baffled at the ability of this young redheaded thief in a fashionable suit and fedora to disappear. Undoubtedly they asked the random redheaded civilian with glasses and no hat for information, but he didn't see anything. It's that kind of game. Raphael is searching for his father, who went missing years before. During his pursuit he finds himself entwined in the risen Emperor Napoleon's dastardly plans to take over the world. Fortunately his men are susceptible to timed dance moves.

Sound ridiculous? Good, it's meant to. The plot is one of the most entertaining things about this game. Amusing and insane it takes our heroes on a tour of Paris and its environs. And Paris is very much on display here. The city looks gorgeous, even in the 2D that dominates the gameplay. When you do get to see a cinematic cutscene (in glorious 3D no less) it really sours.

The rhythm games are cleverly based around this plot. For example, when sneaking into the Louvre you have to follow a beat to hide behind convenient statues and avoid the guards. When fighting Napoleon's men you have to punch them as they bounce at you in synchronized fashion. When eluding policemen on roller skates you have to jump or duck to avoid capture. And my personal favorite: you get to defend yourself against your archrival's PI child Charlie who attempts to apprehend you by kicking a flaming football at your face. They're all fun, not a little bit silly, and have a catchy beat.

The parts of the game not revolving around playing rhythm games owe a very large debt to Professor Layton. Not so much the puzzle aspect, but the way that you move your character along a map and use the touchscreen to interact with the characters and scenery on it. They even have playcoins you can collect by tapping random areas of the screen. The character and street designs are very nice. These are seen at their full effect when the cutscenes start. These cutscenes are beautifully animated and really capture a spirit of adventure. I wish they would make this into an Anime so we could see it all animated. The 3D is used to good effect in these, especially the first cutscene which has Raphael dancing around a room filled with chandeliers. The rest of the game doesn't use it much, and it's often easier to just turn it off.

Most of this game takes place on the bottom screen. The top screen has a map and is used for all the wonderful 3D cutscenes, but when traveling you pay attention to the touchscreen. In battles the top screen becomes important. These battles alternate between having you tap buttons on the bottom screen with your stylus and hitting buttons. No, you don't have to do both at the same time. That would be horrifyingly difficult.

The downsides to the game are fairly minor but annoying. The rating system is messed up. The game doesn't record your best scores, only an average of all your scores. This means that if you want the game to save you getting an A-Rank score you have to get it right on your first time. Which is almost impossible. Another flaw is the grading system for these ranks. It is too heavily focused on what your last move was. You can get a perfect score right up until the end and then flub only the last note, dropping you down to a C-Rank. It's very irritating.

If any of this sounds compelling try the demo. It's available for free on the Nintendo store. This is one fun game even for non rhythm game fans. While the game doesn't always add up to the sum of its parts, nevertheless it provides a fun ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent overall, May 15, 2013
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rhythm Thief (Video Game)
Rhythm Thief is sort of a clone of Professor Layton but with rhythm games instead of puzzles - which is not a bad thing if you like Professor Layton but actually think rhythm games are more fun than puzzles (like me.) The rhythm games are highly varied and remarkably entertaining, and they can get challenging later on. Medals found throughout the game can be used to buy a handicap, which keeps it from being too frustrating when you're trying to advance the plot. All in all the gameplay is done quite well.

My only complaint is that the voice acting can be a bit cheesy, and sometimes the words in the text box and what's actually spoken do not match up at all. It makes it seem low quality. As well, the 3D figures aren't the best compared to some other 3DS games I've played. However, the 3D in the animated segments is subtly used and looks very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rhythm Thief
Rhythm Thief by Sega of America, Inc. - Console (Nintendo 3DS)
Used & New from: $38.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.