Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smarter Investing using Tax Free Advantages
This book is designed to help you develop a smarter real estate acquisition plan. It shows how you can look hard at your assets and liabilities and develop a leverage plan for purchases and a tax advantage plan to maximize your cash flow. There is some good advice on networking, mentoring, joining a local real estate club and building a team of advisors. The...
Published on November 24, 2006 by Barry L. Wilmeth

versus
23 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A big disappointment...
Unfortunately the book didn't uncover any "secrets" whatsoever as the title alludes to. The information contained in this book is very basic. I found one major problem with the text in that it encourages "component depreciation". My research and understanding is that this was clearly outlawed in the US in the 1980s. When I contacted the publishing company for...
Published on March 29, 2007 by Alex Ferrugia


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smarter Investing using Tax Free Advantages, November 24, 2006
This review is from: Rich Dad's Real Estate Advantages: Tax and Legal Secrets of Successful Real Estate Investors (Paperback)
This book is designed to help you develop a smarter real estate acquisition plan. It shows how you can look hard at your assets and liabilities and develop a leverage plan for purchases and a tax advantage plan to maximize your cash flow. There is some good advice on networking, mentoring, joining a local real estate club and building a team of advisors. The explanation of tax strategies, depreciation and insurance is not as strong or in depth as I'd liked to have read. However the chapters on tax-free exchanges are very enlightening; especially to those of who have read about it but have been afraid to do a 1031. The book also offers other good advice on homestead advantages and responsibilities for legal due diligence. The strength of the book for me, and probably most other investors who have less than 10 properties, is (1) the advice on asset protection; e.g. use of a Limited Liability Corporation, and (2) smart use of the tax-free advantages in 1031 exchanges. I strolgy recommend it for those who have a few properties and are ready to make a bigger bolder move in real estate investing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots and lots of info, November 27, 2006
By 
This review is from: Rich Dad's Real Estate Advantages: Tax and Legal Secrets of Successful Real Estate Investors (Paperback)
(Available in both book and audio--reviewed as an audio)

Whether you are new to real estate investing, or a seasoned real estate investor looking to maximize your returns, Rich Dad's Real Estate Advantages has something for you.

Beginning with very basic real estate investment tactics such as the 1031 exchange and increasing buying power with the bank's money, and gaining in complexity to taking advantage of tax code and decreasing legal risk, this book continues the tradition of good advice the Rich Dad system is known for.

The audio book version is read by Garrett Sutton, ESQ, one of the authors, with a forward by Robert Kiyosaki (the Rich Dad guru) and Sharon L. Lechter, CPA. The audio is of fine quality with no variation in sound level and Sutton reads it flawlessly. The CDs, whether intentionally or not, also seem to be broken into the three components of the book: introductory real estate investing, tax strategies, and legal strategies, so it would be relatively easy to re-listen to specific sections.

I would say that this book is so full of information that I felt I should be taking notes. Probably, listening multiple times would suffice, but many investors would like to reference specific sections and may prefer the hard copy rather than the audio. Someone just beginning, especially someone who commutes and can listen daily, will see the advantage of information repeat that the audio provides.

Armchair Interviews says: A good book--but this audio format won't be appropriate for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent starter for investors looking at the long-term, January 28, 2008
By 
Eric Hamilton (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rich Dad's Real Estate Advantages: Tax and Legal Secrets of Successful Real Estate Investors (Paperback)
I bought my first property just before I purchased this book. I received it just before an international business trip, and didn't get any sleep on the flight because I was pouring over the basic concepts and ideas that fill this wonderful book.

If you are already in real estate and know the basics, you may not need this book. If you already have your team of advisors and know who to go for when you have questions, you may not need this book. If you understand the differences between LLCs and LP and why one is better in California than in Nevada, you may not need this book.

For most beginning real estate investors, this book is just the right amount and just the right speed to get started. Garrett and Sharon don't look at the buy-and-flip models, but rather at the advantages of staying in real estate, building a portfolio, and intelligently upgrading your properties (1031 Exchanges). They also go over the long-term planning aspects of inheritance and how to move your properties to family members with minimal taxes. They don't profess a silver bullet, but rather a rational plan to financial success through real estate.

Verdict: Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great motivational and informational book, January 2, 2008
By 
Adam F. Hood "AH" (St. Petersburg, FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rich Dad's Real Estate Advantages: Tax and Legal Secrets of Successful Real Estate Investors (Paperback)
What can you say? It's another rich dad book. Very informative and written primarily by professionals with an in-depth view. The book is a good read for anyone. It gave me a lot to think about and some things to discuss with my team. No dull spots in this book. Read it cover to cover in a few days. Worth reading twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Rich Dad book with solid information, February 16, 2007
This review is from: Rich Dad's Real Estate Advantages: Tax and Legal Secrets of Successful Real Estate Investors (Paperback)
Rich Dad has a series of books, with the best selling one mainly a motivational one. This book is an exception, it actually offers practical advice and tips on how to properly setup real estate investments and corporate assets. Not just how to motivate you with words.

-Matt

Illustrator for the Ultimate Foreclosure Kit

(ISBN 0978834658)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real estate and its advantages, August 14, 2009
By 
Mariusz Skonieczny "Author" (classicvalueinvestors com) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rich Dad's Real Estate Advantages: Tax and Legal Secrets of Successful Real Estate Investors (Paperback)
I believe that real estate has certain advantages as described in this book such as 1031-exchange and depreciation, but I will warn readers about the benefits of leverage. The authors argue that real estate is superior to other investment alternatives, such as stocks or mutual funds, because leverage can increase returns. While this is true, leverage works well on the way up and destroy returns on the way down. I believe that many people, especially real estate investors, learned this lesson the hard way when property values plunged starting in 2008.

With that being said, I do believe that this book does a good job explaining the advantages in real estate. I liked the explanation of 1031-exchanges that allow investors to get into a bigger property, deferring capital gains. You cannot do this type of exchange with stocks.

- Mariusz Skonieczny, author of Why Are We So Clueless about the Stock Market? Learn how to invest your money, how to pick stocks, and how to make money in the stock market
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Foundation for launching a RE Investing career..., August 20, 2007
By 
John White "John White" (Plainfield, Il United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rich Dad's Real Estate Advantages: Tax and Legal Secrets of Successful Real Estate Investors (Paperback)
Of all the Real Estate "How To" books and programs I've purchased over the years, one thing was always lacking...the legal aspects of holding and protecting the property. A few may have touched on it, but nothing as meaty as this book. Very informative and easy to understand. Buying real estate without reading this book would be like going into combat without weapons and body armor...at some point you're going to end up getting killed ( or sued ). In this day and age where people are suing fast food restaurants for making them fat, or cigarette companies for giving them cancer, don't think some tenant won't sue you some day for something equally as stupid. This book is super cheap insurance...buy it if you're seriously considering real estate investing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST BOOK FOR REAL ESTATE INVESTORS, May 17, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this book after reading roberts rich dad por dad, and it was an eye opener to me. My house had gone in foreclosure but after reading this book i realised the problem was me, and not the bank. lack of information led me to foreclosure. Great book, and an eye opener for someone who is interested in real estate. I would recommend it. coz of simple plain english. It is easy to understand. I am big fan of rich dad poor dad books.
Irene
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for the Investor Who Already Owns Several Properties, March 5, 2011
This review is from: Rich Dad's Real Estate Advantages: Tax and Legal Secrets of Successful Real Estate Investors (Paperback)
I got this book as part of my real estate coaching program, I read it all but at the time as a starting investor it was really irrelivant and drab. So for anyone who is just starting out, or who maybe just bought their first or second property, this isn't the book for you yet.

For anyone else who has several properties and is looking for some tax and legal strategies, this book has a great deal of information and creative ideas. With respect that it was written before the real estate bust of 07, some of the tax and legal strategies -may- not be applicable anymore. But I'm sure you will know already by now that where old doors close, new ones open. So it's a good continuation of your research to figure our which tax and legal strategies are right for you and your own short term and long term financial needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loaded with Helpful Strategies, August 26, 2007
Very informative. This book is full of great strategies of how to maximize your return and how to protect your real estate investments and retire comfortably. You will learn how to choose the right asset protection for your investments, how to maximize your real estate investments to your retirement advantage, the use of 1031 exchange to pass on assets to your kids without paying capital gain tax, how to mix and match business entities if you have multiple RE investments in different states, learn the advantages and disadvantages of a Nevada, Wyoming, California, Texas corporation or LLC. After reading this book, I attended a seminar with the co-author lawyer, Garrett Sutton, at a National Real Estate Investment Club Expo in L.A Convention Center. We had a Q&A after his presentation. This guy really knows his stuff. He seems to be a nice and humble person. If you are a RE investor or thinking of becoming one, I highly recommend this book. I also recommend that you consult with his office for asset protection. He does business over the phone for all states. You can also get lots of tips and info in Garrett Sutton's websites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rich Dad's Real Estate Advantages: Tax and Legal Secrets of Successful Real Estate Investors
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.