Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich & Famous: Deserves an uncut version on DVD
This George Cukor film typically gets slammed for a variety of reasons, but I've always found its treatment of friendship (and how relationships change over time) to be right on the money. Candace Bergen, years before Murphy Brown, showed her talent for comedy. I would also suggest that the ending is one of the most satisfactory and touching of any film in recent memory...
Published on December 17, 2003 by Donato

versus
62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a great movie is ruined by this new video release
"Rich and Famous" is a fabulous movie that has been utterly damaged by this new video release (with a street date of April 6, 1999). This film was not available on VHS until it was re-released this month. However, when I purchased and viewed this new release, I found that the film had been severely butchered. Two scenes of a sexual nature (in the airplane...
Published on April 8, 1999


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rich and Famous (DVD)
Seen it years and years ago. Real good chick flick. Candace plays a great part in it and so does Jacqlyn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars one of my favorite movies, August 24, 2012
By 
CD in DC (Washington DC) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rich and Famous (DVD)
Talk about George Cukor in his dotage or Bergen with an impossibly bad Southern accent but this is one beautiful film, Matt Lattanzi, Mr Olivia Newton John and father of Chloe, has a butt shot he could never live down, in fact, he even went "off the grid" recently. Jackie Bisset shines as a cynical gorgeous jealous writer who can't quite top the mouth of the south, Bergen, although she could have had her husband several times. i think it's a hoot with every cliche in the book but what fun, even thirty one years later, it still holds up as well as its stars do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go Girl!!!!!, April 5, 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rich & Famous [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is not a "woman's" movie.It's about 2 women,their past,their shared love for the written word . Whether you're rich and/or famous,life's tough.The script is,witty, sharp and fast-paced.,The characters and events are very believable,and while most of the film delves into the heartbreak of failed marriages,and relationships,there is one thing that is undying to the very end of this story;the love,caring and affection that two people can preserve between each other,regardless of their literary and lifestyle differences.Never has a Teddy Bear been given such symbolic value of friendship as in this film.Check it out for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Turgid, September 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rich and Famous (DVD)
"Rich and Famous" is the 1981 re-make of 1943's "Old Acquaintance" that starred Bette Davis and Miriam Hopkins who would be replaced by less talented actresses as Jacqueline Bisset and Candice Bergen, respectively. Bisset is clearly not Bette Davis, but Bergen, although more accomplished, does, at times, in "Rich and Famous" seems not up to her colorful character. She sometimes seems as forced as her accent. And the whole movie, probably due more to the writing by Gerald Ayres, seems unrealized. Clearly anyone, and especially the character Bisset plays, the intellectually successful writer, would certainly spot the guy she met on the plane was married with children and not be in the least duped by him. But then, maybe look at the director, George Cukor (this would be a sad ending to his career), a famous woman's director, who was so terribly depicted in "Gods and Monsters" as a sex-obsessed homosexual, only shows in the new permissiveness given him in the early eighties to seem lecherous and crude than appealing to women. Bisset is not so much the incapable actress as she seems here. Even as early as 1970 she won the Golden Laurel Award nomination as Best Actress for "The Grasshopper" directed by sitcom director Jerry Paris. But the ineptness of the script's updating astonishes that it is based on a famous play by John Van Druten but trivializes current conventions that seem to make this re-make almost an unnecessary mistake. It does not live up to its ideals and seems more trashy, like the worst parts of Bergen's character's books than anything intellectually stimulating, despite George Delerue's syrupy score seemingly written for someone else's picture. Not even a guilty pleasure, misses even being camp. Not a drop of sentiment comes across. This Warner Home Video edition is a vast improvement over the previous Turner edition which was severely edited due only to the discretion of Ted Turner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich and Famous, March 26, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rich and Famous (DVD)
This movie is an old favorite and depicts the enduring friendship between two women whose lives have diverged over the years, but who find that their bond transcends all their differences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Movie Finally On Dvd! But Is It Uncut.The Vhs And Laser Disc All Show 117Minutes!, October 10, 2007
By 
stewart L (flushing ,ny) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rich and Famous (DVD)
This Is a great movie,finally being released on Dvd.As mentioned by my fellow reviewers,the original VHS was cut at 117 minutes,which i own.It was cut.The dvd and the vhs list the same running time,so i will bet the dvd is also cut.I dont buy edited movies if i can help it.I guess i will watch both to see the difference....Its not uncommon to find the vhs movie to differ from the dvd release.Thank You.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated but worth a watch., November 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rich and Famous (DVD)
The first time I saw this movie when it first came out I thought it was great; however watching it again I found that it was so dated that I didn't enjoy it so much. I really love these two actresses and watched it mainly because of that! The movie is not bad; but it isn't great. Still it is worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 30, 2014
By 
Rita Hernandez (TOA BAJA, PUERTO RICO, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rich and Famous (DVD)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich and Famous (Movie), June 4, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rich and Famous (DVD)
I've seen this movie several times and I am so glad to have it now. This is a story of 2 women who are friends and how their friendship progresses and is tested. Jacquline Bisset's character is my favorite of the two. I relate to her and some of the comments she makes. It's a good moive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the last masterpiece from George Cuckor, June 21, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rich and Famous (DVD)
I loved this movie!! It is intriguing, superbly acted by the two main female charachters, really as good as you can expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rich and Famous
Rich and Famous by George Cukor (DVD - 2007)
$19.98 $5.23
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.