Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most awesome work of art.
Angie Stone has given herself completely on this album. She explores the realities of what makes us sad,weak, embittered, strong, passionate, powerful, and alive. No matter what stage you are in your life you can relate to something in this work of art. This is truly my favorite of all her expressions. Angie...thank you for allowing the world to see how triumph can be...
Published on September 30, 2012 by Callalily

versus
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid and Soulful; Not Particularly Exciting
Angie Stone has captivated devoted neo-soul/soul music fans for years with her music. Fighting through being underrated compared to the likes of India.Arie, Erykah Badu, and even a youthful Alicia Keys, Stone always possessed the voice where her commercial endeavors fell short of where they should've been. Stone, despite commercial shortcomings (and being in her 30s when...
Published on September 26, 2012 by Michael Brent Faulkner, Jr.


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most awesome work of art., September 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rich Girl (Audio CD)
Angie Stone has given herself completely on this album. She explores the realities of what makes us sad,weak, embittered, strong, passionate, powerful, and alive. No matter what stage you are in your life you can relate to something in this work of art. This is truly my favorite of all her expressions. Angie...thank you for allowing the world to see how triumph can be born from disappointment; you have a positive vibe that breathes life into each day through your music.

Thank you for sharing that with us.

I highly recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid and Soulful; Not Particularly Exciting, September 26, 2012
This review is from: Rich Girl (Audio CD)
Angie Stone has captivated devoted neo-soul/soul music fans for years with her music. Fighting through being underrated compared to the likes of India.Arie, Erykah Badu, and even a youthful Alicia Keys, Stone always possessed the voice where her commercial endeavors fell short of where they should've been. Stone, despite commercial shortcomings (and being in her 30s when her first solo album materialized in 1999's Black Diamond) managed two gold albums (Black Diamond and 2001's Mahogany Soul), as well as some notable hits in R&B circles ("No More Rain In This Cloud," "Brotha," "U-Haul," and "Baby" amongst them). 2012's Rich Girl plays very much like your typical Angie Stone album, only there is a bit of a downgrade with the 'swagger.' While Stone has always had anachronistic tendencies, she usually pulls off this 'old with the new' extremely confidently off-setting the 'vintage' nature. This independent release comes off too safe, too conservative, and lacks the 'excitability' and 'vivaciousness' that other Stone albums present.

Overall the material is solid, though even the best cuts are safe. "Do What U Gotta Do" proceeds after a pointless intro, and is more notable in the context of this album than it was as somewhat of a bland, safe single. It is not 'the second coming' by any means, but it stands out amongst such a safe set. Similarly, single "Backup Plan" showcases Stone's rich alto, but never 'captivates' the way the Gladys Knight sampling "No More Rain In This Cloud" or even Marvin Gaye cover "Trouble Man" did on her debut. A gospel drawn out cut entitled "Guilty" is lovely, though a bit on the long side and by no means 'hip.'

"Rich Girl," the title track, is the album's best track. Well produced, intact with Stone's signature supporting vocals, "Rich Girl" lacks flashiness, but suits Stone the best of any cut on the effort. "Right in Front of Me" is safe, but lays well with a vintage soul groove. "U Lit My Fire" falls a bit short on the verses (Stone could assert more and bust a sweat perhaps), but delivers on a catchy chorus ("The first time that I met you baby... you lit my fire/you lit my fire..."). "Sisters" closes somewhat 'schmalzy,' but the slow-paced anthemic cuts thematic material ('we are always sisters,' etc.) should strike some relatable chords with the audience.
The other tracks are solid with none bombing, but they don't stand out in particular. Even those that do save for maybe "Rich Girl" would have trouble superseding Stone's greatest hits.

Overall, if you are a hardcore Stone fan, Rich Girl will appeal to you because Stone's voice sounds as polished as ever. If you prefer 'old-school' R&B in the soul, retro-soul, neo-soul, or adult contemporary R&B vein, this album will suit you. If you are a more casual fan however, you may find this album safe, humdrum, and a bit underwhelming. From a critical standpoint, the judgement is this is a solid and soulful album, though not exciting. Furthermore, it does not deliver Stone's best material, even when her vocals soar. 3 Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My Personal Introduction To Angie Stone, September 28, 2012
This review is from: Rich Girl (Audio CD)
Over the years I've been impressed by what I've heard from Angie Stone. That is,what I've heard on a couple tribute albums and duets with other artists. One of the only reasons that I never bothered with an Angie Stone album until this point is because I kept asking myself what Angie had to offer that Jill Scott,Chrissette Michelle and Lalah Hathaway couldn't. Of course that would imply I expected every artist to be 100% original. Realizing my short sighted frame of mind I decided to to see for myself,within the context of the neo soul genre more over then the artist,what she had to offer creatively. I'm rather surprised by the results.

This album does offer a lot of variety. It has a handful of fairly ordinary neo soul type songs on "Do What You Gotta Do",the title song and the blunted jazz-hop flavored "Alright" Of course it's on songs such as "Backup Plan","Livin' It Up","Right In From Of Me" and "U Lit My Fire" that really excite me,and that's a good chunk of the album right there. These four numbers are rhythmically strong funk era friendly dance numbers with strong hooks,vocal harmonies and excellent use of modern production techniques for tunes that could easily be retro exercises. "I Can't Take It" brings in this heavier proto funk polyrhythm flavor to the proceedings,sort of a cross between James Brown and what the late Amy Winehouse was going for.

Angie concludes the album with the harmonically and melodically complex "Sisters". With lyrics that range from romantically sassy to touchingly personal,including the mildly self promotional spoken word interlude from Malcolm Jamal Warner,this album does an excellent job at portraying the many hues of Angie Stone's soulful musical rainbow. She primarily focuses on 70's era dance/funk numbers with a lot of reliance on rhythmic and harmonically complex melodies. On the other hand she also visits territories already explored as a reminder of where she came from as well. So this is an excellent example of what was in Angie's music (that I've heard that is) and what may be to come in her future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angie Stone Growing Up, November 8, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rich Girl (MP3 Music)
As a fan of Angie when I was 12 years younger, her music fit that time, soaring above her contemporaries and giving a mature nod to progressive neo-soul music. 12 years later, Angie Stone's music matures before our eyes and delivers a grown up example of her previous work. I found the vast majority of this album to be great listening and enjoyable. Reminds me of what a more mature DeAngelo would sound like. There is nothing "just safe" about this album as I read on a previous review here. That is just totally wrong and gave me pause before I bought it. This offering is rich lyrically and musically. "Guilty" is far and away my favorite track; I swear I hear DeAngelo in the background ;-). The mix of uptempo, slow and toe tapping songs are perfect for those looking for currently relevant R&B/Neo-Soul. I highly recommend this album for those who are not into the synthetic auto-tuned effects of today's R&B.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love HER!, September 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rich Girl (MP3 Music)
One of my favorite artists. Angie Stone's voice is soothing and her music just makes sense. This album is a good one to add to the collection! The song, RICH GIRL is constantly on rotation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BlackAmarillo.com Review, November 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rich Girl (MP3 Music)
One of the first ladies of Hip-Hop being that in the early 1980's she was a member of the first female rap group called "The Sequence" better known as "Angie B" now 32 years later Angie Stone has released her 6th studio project entitled "Rich Girl"

"Rich Girl" is what I call real grown folks music. Nice smooth R&B with an Old School & Gospel feel from beginning to end.
My personal favorites are Rich Girl, Do What U Gotta Do, Backup Plan, Proud Of Me, I Can't Take It & Sisters feat Y'Anna Crawley, Tweet, And Danetra Moore those girls be blowing.

I can honestly say this is one of Angie's Stone finer projects that's well produced and with great taste for those who like REAL R&B music.

Job well done Angie :)

4 1/2 Stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!!, October 29, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rich Girl (Audio CD)
This cd is the best, from the first song to the last song i absolutely love it i play it when i'm at home and when i'm driving in my car. All of the songs have a positive message in them along with that smooth jazzy sound that only Angie can do,if you don't have this cd i encourage you to buy it you will love it. Thanks for the wonderful music Angie Stone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rich n Raw Funky Soul, October 28, 2012
By 
MVD (BALTIMORE, MARYLAND United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rich Girl (Audio CD)
Angie Stone is an original funky soul diva. Her lyrics, themes, melodies and messages keep relationships issues in perspective. This release follows her tradition. Angie's appearance, style and ambiance shines through the cover. She is a timeless beauty. Her vocals are magnetic, clear, precise and poignant. This is a Angie Stone classic, an incredible work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too Mainstream and Too Safe...., October 21, 2012
This review is from: Rich Girl (Audio CD)
This album would've been so much better with live instrumentation. I hope her next one will be 100% great like she is on the road with her band....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angie Stone has released another delightful CD, October 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rich Girl (MP3 Music)
The thing I love about Angie Stone is when you listen to every track you are listening to a sister with a beautiful strong voice. Soul Music is not a term you hear any more but you hear the soul in Angie Stones voice just like it shown through on Aretha Franklin or Gladys Night. There is not a track where the soul is not present and as an added treat Malcolm Jamal Warner lays down a nice bit of poetry that fits the groove perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rich Girl
Rich Girl by Angie Stone (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.