Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


67 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How good?
This booklet is very helpful for ones first contact with the Celebration of Discipline book itself. This book requires 15 pages of reading a week to go along with the 15 pages out of Celebration of Discipline. This is good for group leaders or heavy-duty spiritual growth fans. The exercises makes the collective material a real spiritual work out.
Published on March 5, 2000 by William E. Buell

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great for group studies
I purchased the book and the study guide to do a group study of the book.
Most of the study questions are more like quiz questions that check to make sure you actually read the book. The questions don't even try to lead into deeper discussion.

I used the study guide to write my own questions. It helped a little bit in that regard, and the only other help...
Published on November 15, 2008 by Matt Service


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

67 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How good?, March 5, 2000
This review is from: Richard J. Foster's Study Guide for "Celebration of Discipline" (Paperback)
This booklet is very helpful for ones first contact with the Celebration of Discipline book itself. This book requires 15 pages of reading a week to go along with the 15 pages out of Celebration of Discipline. This is good for group leaders or heavy-duty spiritual growth fans. The exercises makes the collective material a real spiritual work out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Study Addition to Foster's Classic, July 9, 2006
This review is from: Richard J. Foster's Study Guide for "Celebration of Discipline" (Paperback)
I've used this study addition to help lead discussion in my book club. He writes tough questions that demand some thought and soul-searching. The study guide is also short and reads easily, which allows the discussion leader to prepare even with limited prep time. I recommend it for both personal and group use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Study Guide!, August 1, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Richard J. Foster's Study Guide for "Celebration of Discipline" (Paperback)
This guide is perfect to get you motivated to work these Disciplines. It is a great companion to the Celebration of Discipline book. It allows you to be an individual while growing with others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great for group studies, November 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Richard J. Foster's Study Guide for "Celebration of Discipline" (Paperback)
I purchased the book and the study guide to do a group study of the book.
Most of the study questions are more like quiz questions that check to make sure you actually read the book. The questions don't even try to lead into deeper discussion.

I used the study guide to write my own questions. It helped a little bit in that regard, and the only other help it was, is that it has key Bible verses that relate to the chapter (most of the time).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spiritual Disciplines, May 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Richard J. Foster's Study Guide for "Celebration of Discipline" (Paperback)
I am just beginning a comprehensive study into spiritual disciplines and the writings of both Foster and Dallas Willard (who just died this week, May 2013) are critical pieces to start with. For anyone who is interested in deepening his spiritual life, Foster will give you much to chew on. Readers will appreciate fresh insights into the more obvious inward disciplines of meditation, prayer, fasting and study, but the Foster's discussion of the less obvious disciplines of simplicity, solitude and submission will shake you into the realization of just how formidable it is to live in our prevailing cultural climate and mores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Going deep!, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Richard J. Foster's Study Guide for "Celebration of Discipline" (Paperback)
An excellent companion to Foster's classic Celebration of Discipline. This is not a stand alone book, however. It must really be used in conjunction with the main book. It features many excellent scripture references, reflection question, suggested activities and a wonderful bibliography for further reading in each discipline. As a bible study teacher this is an invaluable addition to your teaching collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent help for Bible Study, May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Our women's Bible study just completed Celebration of Discipline, a true classic. The daily scripture readings not only enhanced each chapter but kept us on track with daily study. The study questions often led to lively discussions. I particularly appreciated the suggestions for further reading. Foster's book gave a broad scope and often unexpected direction to each of the spiritual disciplines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Study Guide for Celebration of Discipline, March 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Richard J. Foster's Study Guide for "Celebration of Discipline" (Paperback)
I love Richard Foster. I love the fact that he wrote a study guide for his other book, "Celebration of Discipline". I highly recommend this book for those people who are serious about gaining knowledge about the "Disciplines" that have been lost. And for anyone wanting to be disciplined with the precepts of the Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Celebration of discipline study guide, March 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Richard J. Foster's Study Guide for "Celebration of Discipline" (Paperback)
This is an excellent companion to Foster's book of the same name. He invites the reader to reflect and develop a response to what he has written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide, February 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Richard J. Foster's Study Guide for "Celebration of Discipline" (Paperback)
For anyone interested in the Spiritual Disciplines needed for a deeper walk with God. The guide is used in conjunction with the book "Celebration of Discipline" by Richard J. Foster..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Richard J. Foster's Study Guide for "Celebration of Discipline"
Richard J. Foster's Study Guide for "Celebration of Discipline" by Richard Foster (Paperback - February 16, 1983)
$14.99 $12.82
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.