Automotive Holiday Deals Books Gift Guide Books Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Beauty Gifts Gifts for Her  Fine Art Deals Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Outdoor Deals on BGG

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars22
Format: DVDChange
Price:$5.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
on February 2, 2002
People say that HERE & NOW didn't make as big an impact as his other concert films , particularly LIVE ON SUNSET STRIP , but I found the film very enjoyable. The excited (maybe drunken) hecklers would sometimes interrupt Pryor's routine early in the film but he rolls with the hecklers garnering applause at times.
The beauty of Pryor's stand-up is that he seems to share seriously revealing aspects of his personal life for the sake of comedy and entertainment. The moment when he is talking about the junkies are an example of that. The routine changes from stand-up to captivating theatre when he talks about the junkie "Motif". Pryor gets into character and when he begins to roll his sleeve up indicating he is about to 'shoot up' it goes from comedy to commentary. You clearly see the sad reality painted by him yet he doesn't go too far out of the comedic light to still make you laugh. He walks that fine line between funny and seriousness. That is part of the reason why Pryor is considered a comedy genius and I haven't seen another comedian do that better.
The DVD is a two-sided disc with widescreen on one side and full screen on the other. The audio is digital mono with english and french subtitles (at least on the disc I own).
People say that this isn't his best stand up routine but that doesn't mean it is bad stand up. Pryor has stand up routines that are tough to measure up to so it really isn't fair to belittle this film by comparing it to his other shows even though in HERE & NOW he is very much open , spontaneous , and connected with the audience. To me HERE & NOW is very funny enlightening , and revealing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on October 1, 2004
Pryor was brilliant in this set. However, as other reviewers have pointed out, his audience seemed to be composed of the inhabitants of every podunk village in Louisiana, who saw attendance at his show as the crowning moment of their lives, and wanted to make sure Pryor and the rest of the world knew just how momentous it was by announcing it at the top of their lungs, never stopping their celebration long enough to actually listen to Pryor's routine. He had to contend with a constant barrage of drunken heckling but he still managed to weave spellbinding stories and make brilliant impromptu observations about everyday life. In fact, he frequently turned the boorish behavior of the audience to his advantage, and constructed several brilliant bits of business from their sometimes bizarre antics. Still, it was particularly sad to watch the contrast between the profundity of Pryor's depiction of a broken down junkie and the audience's complete incomprehension of what Pryor was revealing. All the same, Pryor manages to transcend his audience's limitations and create a world of characters and experiences that was fascinating, touching and hilarious. If you can manage to do the same, and overlook the audience and immerse yourself in Pryor's world, it will be well worth the effort. Don't sleep on this one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on October 1, 2004
Not funny? Huh?!?! How can anyone who enjoys Pryor's humor not consider this funny? Granted, RICHARD PRYOR LIVE and LIVE ON THE SUNSET STRIP our the two better installments of this succession of three great shows (RICHARD PRYOR LIVE is an absolute classic) but this is nonetheless still great comedy. The only downer of this whole set is the often annoying audience. Pryor answers back to the hecklers with sharp humor but the interuptions are certainly annoying.

Still, this is yet another great example of the most honest funnyman of our time.

If, however, you have not seen any of his stand-up, by all means, look to RICHARD PRYOR LIVE first, then get ON THE SUNSET STRIP. But if those two classics tickle your funnybone, I can't imagine why you wouldn't find much to enjoy here.

Not as good as the others, but 1 star? Please!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on February 12, 2006
Don't believe the negative reviews. I repeat: don't buy the lukewarm responses.

If you are looking for uninterrupted gut-busting laughter, and an audience laugh-track to cajole you on, you might be better served by Pryor's other movies or the works of artists like Sinbad, Chris Rock, Dave Chapelle, Bernie Mac, George Carlin and others who followed in his footsteps.

In "Here and Now," which Roger Ebert called a "90-minute documentary of one man talking," Richard Pryor evokes a cadence and relevance that none of the above could reinvent. He rises from gift to genius and from talent to savant. Make no mistake, this film contains some of Pryor's best moments.

Yet these moments are not done justice by the superficial label of "comedy." When Pryor ties his arm off and shoots up heroin, wincing with intensity as he stiffly pauses waiting for the hit to materialize, and then transitions into a liquid shiver of euphoria before his entire body falls limp-- it might disappoint those reviewers who were expecting to see Moe, Curly, and Larry.

The rest of us can be spellbound by the power and poetry of the man who is to comedy what Jack Kennedy is to politics; a rare achiever stifled too young and not paralleled since. Pryor is masterful, ad-libbing and sketching us on a roller coaster of laughter, tears, and pure marvel at the human condition.

To those who buy this to appreciate cheap thrills rather than being intellectually and politically prepared to be moved, I say this: "You're no Richard Pryor."
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on December 12, 2005
I saw this at the old Jefferson Square Theater in Columbia, SC when I was in college in 1983. Pryor's last concert film, and not one of his better ones. Some interesting moments though. Mudbone appears in one of his rare filmed skits (compare this with the "Richard Pryor Show" DVD which repeats the classic Mudbone performance from "Is It Something I Said"). There is a really interesting moment when Pryor talks to a fiddler crab that crawls on his stool that is the kind of one-man theater that distiguished Pryor from his cursing copycats who had all of the profanity but none of the profundity of the master. He also does a frightfully accurate rendition of a junkie going on a nod. You can tell that he knows what he's talking about. In either case, this is for fans only. Rest in Peace brother Pryor.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on June 30, 2010
Richard Pryor is A Genius sadly this show really stunk,the people Heckling give new orleans a bad name,and you can tell Richard isn't at his best in this show, it's a shame what has happened to him,the man is brilliant.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on August 11, 2007
Richard Pryor Here and Now demonstrates that he's arguably the greatest stand-up comic of all time. It's true that this concert is by far weaker than Live in Concert and Sunset Strip. There are more slow spots here and the frequent interruptions and distractions by the obnoxious audience throw Pryor off of his rhythm. Part of what makes this fascinating to watch is how Pryor handles these people and saves the film. A lesser comedian would have been crushed. Richard Pryor, even when not in top form and with so much working against him still manages to be very funny. "This ain't Johnny Carson MFs!!!" Prudish people with an aversion for adult language and content, or uncomfortable with in-your-face discussions of race relations or the dark side of American history shouldn't watch this or any other Richard Pryor concert.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2015
Not too careful, and unscripted, or so it would seem. Total experience of enlightenment about what reality is and is not. What is real and what is not, depending on, surprisingly, your skin and your neighborhood. I first saw this years ago and learned the lesson that I had only suspected.
I tried telling my father and my uncles, but they rejected the premise, out of their own white ignorance, guilt and shame. mrf
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2015
This was fine entertainment and I miss Richard Pryor. I mourned his pasting. He was a great comedian and this special proved what a great entertainer he was. I watch them every few years just to reminisces and to laugh once more.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2013
Who doesn't love Richard Pryor,
He is one of the best when it comes to original comedy
The seller took good care of these item. no scratches or marks on case or dvd
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed

Richard Pryor - Live in Concert
Richard Pryor - Live in Concert by Various (DVD - 2006)

Richard Pryor: Live & Smokin'
Richard Pryor: Live & Smokin' by Richard Pryor (DVD - 2009)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.