Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


144 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, classic children's book
The person who ranted about the anti-feminist leaning of the book must never have opened it! I've got it right here. On the hospital page, there are two doctors-- Dr. Lion is male and Dr. Rabbit is female. The only dentist (looking in Lowly Worm's mouth) is female. In the offices, there is a female writer, and a female banker. There is a female running the book store and...
Published on August 15, 2004 by BostonMama

versus
25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Watered down and simplified
We got this book for my daughter because she loves "what do people do all day". Unfortunately, this is basically the same book but without the great complexity of the drawings and all the details. And Able Baker Charlie was a different species!

This may be good for a younger child, but my daughter had no problem with the original at 2 1/2. My advice is go get...
Published on September 27, 2012 by sarah glasser


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

144 of 147 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, classic children's book, August 15, 2004
By 
This review is from: Richard Scarry's Busy, Busy Town (Hardcover)
The person who ranted about the anti-feminist leaning of the book must never have opened it! I've got it right here. On the hospital page, there are two doctors-- Dr. Lion is male and Dr. Rabbit is female. The only dentist (looking in Lowly Worm's mouth) is female. In the offices, there is a female writer, and a female banker. There is a female running the book store and another running the candy shop. The postal workers are equally male and female. On the "busy housekeepers" page, the page says that "everyone helps around the house" and shows men and women, boys and girls, cleaning the house. The woodworkers page shows men and women equally, as does the farmer page, the railroad workers page, the supermarket, the airport, and so on. The only pages that lean toward one sex are: the repairmen page (all male), the trucker page (all male) the firefighters page (all male, but come on... it shows them getting out of bed!), the school page (all female teachers).

This is such a great book, perfect for helping children learn words and about all the things around them in their town... it is a classic, and deserves to be. I hate to see its reputation spoiled by one reviewer, who posted twice, and clearly hasn't even looked at the book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


86 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Book, October 27, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Richard Scarry's Busy, Busy Town (Hardcover)
When I was a little girl in the 1980's this was my most favorite book. Today I have a B.S. in Physics with a math minor and a Masters in Physics. Guess all that gender sterotyping didn't work!
This is a wonderful book. I would always look for lowly worm, he's so much better than where's waldo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book but wanted the WHOLE book, July 20, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Richard Scarry's Busy, Busy Town (Hardcover)
I didn't realize from the description that this was the abbridged version, so I was disappointed when it arrived. The content of the book is great...it's just not all there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Watered down and simplified, September 27, 2012
By 
sarah glasser (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Richard Scarry's Busy, Busy Town (Hardcover)
We got this book for my daughter because she loves "what do people do all day". Unfortunately, this is basically the same book but without the great complexity of the drawings and all the details. And Able Baker Charlie was a different species!

This may be good for a younger child, but my daughter had no problem with the original at 2 1/2. My advice is go get @What Do Oeople Do All Day" and skip this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Written by Richard Scarry, September 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Richard Scarry's Busy, Busy Town (Hardcover)
Disclaimer: my son adores Richard Scarry books for the detailed illustrations and interesting story lines.

Simply put, this is not Richard Scarry---it's Goldenbooks publishing under the estate of Richard Scarry. It's sneakily done, but check the inside jacket Library of Congress entry--no actual author listed.

What does this mean for the text? Lack of character names (Scarry ALWAYS named his characters!), simplified drawings, lack of narrative continuity and yes, as another reviewer mentioned, occasional mix ups of character animals AND names. I'm a bit peeved that Goldenbooks would sell this quality of book to kids who expect more stories like What People Do All Day or Huckle's Busiest Day Ever. It's like that scene in Elf, when the puppy is missing from the pages...

Stick to other editions of Richard Scarry, and double check the LOC author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, February 15, 2007
By 
Suzanne R. Jones (Lafayette, Ca USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Richard Scarry's Busy, Busy Town (Hardcover)
I had this book for my children when they were young and now have given several as gifts to friend's children. Great book to teach words to children. Can point and they can say word. The last two books were given to children learning English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Looking for Mr. Frumble, June 7, 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Richard Scarry's Busy, Busy Town (Hardcover)
This was a cherished book of my childhood. A few years ago I was out looking for this book for myself. I discovered that the newer versions didn't have the story about a day in the life of Mr. Frumble. This was the highlight of the whole book for me. The one I had as a child has been lost. I figure the original had to be published somewhere between 1970 and 1985. If anyone has a way of getting a hold of this version I would be so thankful. My e-mail address is wjengr@flash.net.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars busy, busy town, March 14, 2006
This review is from: Richard Scarry's Busy, Busy Town (Hardcover)
a great children's book that my children loved and now my grandchildren love it. Richard Scarry knows how to teach children about their world with a combination of words and illustrations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another cute book., March 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Richard Scarry's Busy, Busy Town (Hardcover)
reason I only gave 4 star it's missing the little" Goldbug". Kids love to find him hiding in the page somewhere like "Waldo".Still would recomend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep your eyes peeled for Lowly Worm, April 8, 2012
By 
Pop Bop "Pause and Reflect" (Denver, Colorado, United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Richard Scarry's Busy, Busy Town (Hardcover)
"Busy, Busy Town", "What Do People Do All Day", and "Cars and Trucks and Things That Go" are pretty much a complete pre-K Library all by themselves.

They are calm and gentle books. The characters are bright, energetic and cheerful. The stories are about activity, sharing, doing things, working and playing. The jokes are just right for little ones. There is no irony or condescension in the art or in the writing. And "Busy Town" is a great way for kids to be introduced to the world around them.

You know how people would make fun of Mr. Rogers, but moms and dads came to appreciate his calm, gentle and supportive influence. Well, that's sort of the feeling you get from Scarry's work. No showboating; no post-modern take; no grim in-your-face shots. Just energy and gracefulness. Lowly Worm is a fun little guy. Huckle is a solid kid. Adults are responsible and trustworthy. Things are neat and cool and exciting and fun, and sometimes a little silly.

Now, you probably don't really want a full time diet of Scarry, and edgy or zany or frantic can be fun in the mix too, but day in and day out and generation after generation, these books are solid. (And you know what? The Scarry VHS tapes and DVD's are as mellow as the books, and just seem to fascinate the kids.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Richard Scarry's Busy, Busy Town
Richard Scarry's Busy, Busy Town by Richard Scarry (Hardcover - August 15, 2000)
$15.99 $9.03
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.