Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Self Made Vol 2 .....3.5 Stars
MMG is back with their second album Self Made Vol 2, this time with a new member Omarion (formerly of B2k) . Self Made Vol 1 was a solid album which feauterd the singles "Tupac Back", "Im A Boss", "Play Your Part", "600 Benz" & "Pandemonium" . The album starts off with the 8 min track "Power Circle" feat Kendrick Lamar where everybody holds their own, then on "Black...
Published on June 26, 2012 by Hip-Hop-Fan2786

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn
I bought this only because amazon was selling it for $1.99. I played it once in its entirety and now I forget I even have this album...Yup, its forgettable.
Published 19 months ago by V. Aub


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn, December 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this only because amazon was selling it for $1.99. I played it once in its entirety and now I forget I even have this album...Yup, its forgettable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Self Made Vol 2 .....3.5 Stars, June 26, 2012
MMG is back with their second album Self Made Vol 2, this time with a new member Omarion (formerly of B2k) . Self Made Vol 1 was a solid album which feauterd the singles "Tupac Back", "Im A Boss", "Play Your Part", "600 Benz" & "Pandemonium" . The album starts off with the 8 min track "Power Circle" feat Kendrick Lamar where everybody holds their own, then on "Black Magic" which is a Meek Mill song with Ross doing his typical repetitive hook that goes "POOF there go the car / POOF there go the crib POOF/ 100 million David Copperfield !" . The standouts on here are "This Thing Of Ours", Fountain Of Youth", "Power Circle", "MIA", & "Bury Me A G". The production is grat on here, I gotta give Ross his credit because he knows how to pick beats. I can see the die hard MMG fans loving this album but the average rap fan is gonna think this is decent at best. Wale is featured more than anybody on here, it would been good to hear more Stalley who only shows up on four songs. Its not terrible but its not classic either, this is summertime music. Alot of these songs are gonna dominate radio and tv like "I Be Puttin On" and "Actin Up" so you cant be mad at MMG for going the commercial route. Another thing is that the album sounds like it could be mixtape... That's just my opinion though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much french, December 22, 2012
This review is from: Rick Ross Presents: Self Made 2 (Audio CD)
This cd was bad compared to volume one. Way too much French Montana and not enough meek. This album seemed rushed and was closer to a mixtape then an album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MMG TAKE OVER, September 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
They came back better than the 1st one. This album has a lot of good songs. MMG shows why they are a force to be reckoned with. Ric Ross and crew show off there skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hmmp.. ., August 12, 2012
You know I can't get into Wale. . .I just can't, aside from him I guess Omarion found a paycheck. . .Rickie is always a cool dude to listen to but when you have so many ppl, it gets muddled under each one trying to be better than the other even though that may not be their intentions. So for me, this cataloged under "The Bullshit list"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4/5, July 26, 2012
Purchased this album for 99 cents.

I gotta say that this album is pretty solid. I listen to music in the car mostly, and I don't find myself skipping tracks very often when Self Made 2 is playing.

We all know that Ricky has an ear for production and this album is no exception.

Much like Vol 1, Ross isn't exactly in the spotlight here, he appears on more tracks, but Wale and Meek get a fair share of the shine instead, with Stally stepping up a bit as well.

I have to say out of the whole roster, Stalley is my least favorite, he just doesn't seem to mesh with the rest of the crew.. I think Pill was a better fit in Vol 1. Stalley isn't terrible by any means, he just seems out of place a bit.. Wale and Milly hold they're own here tho, with standout verses through out the cd. These two might as well put out a duo album, they never seem to disappoint.

French Montana, Kendrick Lamar, and Omarion make nice additions to the album as well.

Fav tracks are, Power Circle, This Thing Of Ours, Fountain Of Youth, I Be Puttin On, The Zenith, MIA, Black On Black, Bury Me A G

Maybe a misstep here and there.. but overall 4/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Compilation from the Maybach Music Group, July 2, 2012
This review is from: Rick Ross Presents: Self Made 2 (Audio CD)
At thirty-six, Rick Ross is gaining popularity as oppose to his popularity waning. His upcoming album is easily one of the years most anticipated. Releasing another compilation from the Maybach Music Group is timely and just further adds to Ross and company's `cash flow.' That said, 2012's MMG Presents: Self Made, Vol. 2 (Deluxe Version) [Explicit] is definitely no cash gimmick; there are more than enough solid cuts to make this compilation well organized. The collective, comprised of Ross, Wale, Meek Mill, Gunplay, Omarion, and Stalley is quite talented where rhyming skill is concerned. Add some brilliant production work from Lee Major, Beat Billionaire, Cardiak, and Rico Love among others, and Self Made 2 is quite strong.

While the opener "Power Circle" is a mix-tape worthy juggernaut, it is one of the year's best rap tracks, easily. Featuring no less than six verses, the gospel-hip-hop produced number is epic. Ross gets things started off giving quite the speech: "If Michael Jackson came alive right now, he'd ask you to smoke one for him, so in his honor." Ross then breaks into a short verse, followed by Gunplay, Stalley, Wale ("...Cash rule the world - at least it do with girls/at least it do with churches, seek the truth and true it hurts..."), Meek Mill ("I like to welcome you to the power circle/clique full of real n--- that'll probably murk you") and finally Kendrick Lamar ("...I know that section eight wanna discontinue my Moms/when they heard that Ohio State gave me 30 racks in July...") A mini-novel could be written of "Power Circle," a valedictory cut by all means.

"Black Magic," performed by Meek Mill featuring Rick Ross packs a punch with Yung Shun's malicious sounding production, not to mention the most clever hook of the affair: "Poof! There go the Car/Poof! There go the Crib!/Poof! A hundred mil, David Copperfield..." Meek Mill's rhymes on the verse are agile, but it's Rozay's impassioned hook that steals the show. "This Thing of Ours," performed by Wale & Omarion featuring Rick Ross & Nas features a more optimistic sound than the definitively southern "Black Magic." While "This Thing of Ours" is slightly less edgy than the preceding cuts, it is solid and quite enjoyable. Omarion's hook is a selling point for sure: "This thing of ours/it's so mafioso/you ain't never know though/never gon' know..."

"All Birds" may possess a silly hook, but it is as catchy as anything else. Ross handles lead duties throughout, with French Montana handling the hook and the second verse. The production helps to shape the cut, thanks to Beat Billionaire. "Actin' Up" keeps up the consistency, with production shifting to Rico Love - always good for a lift to any album. Wale & Meek Mill are assisted by French Montana on this solid, if explicit and repetitive cut. French Montana definitely manages some edgy lines. "Fountains of Youth" finds Stalley in the lead spot, featuring Ross & Nipsey Hussle. Incorporating a brilliant sample of "Voices for Sadness Theme" (Franco Micalizzi), Cardiak's production is superb. Nipsey Hussle handles the hook capably: "...Stained glass window in the Benzo/lost in the instrumental/keys got me sentimental..." As for Stalley himself, his unique sounding voice and clever rhymes differentiate him from other rappers for sure.

"I Be Puttin' Off" finds Boi-1da behind the boards with Wale featuring Wiz Khalifa, French Montana, and Roscoe Dash. Ever the relevant hook, Roscoe Dash even manages to reference Instagram - now that's `gangsta.' The cut isn't bad, though a bit long and less inspired than the best. "The Zenith," performed by Wale & Stalley featuring Rick Ross is a `B', though does manage to yield different production work from other cuts (production is handled by Harry Fraud). "M.I.A.," performed by Omarion and Wale atones easily, delivering a solid R&B number; Wale raps on the closing verse.

"Bag of Money" is definitely solid, with Beat Billionaire's flashy production, and solid performances by Wale, Meek Mill, Rick Ross and T-Pain. Ross handles the hook, assisted by T-Pain providing some sung reinforcement; the effects are positive. Meek Mill even manages to quote Ross's epic hook as he raps - now that's loyalty. "Let's Talk," led by Omarion featuring Rick Ross contains a sample of Notorious's B.I.G.'s "Big Papa." Solid through and through, Omarion delivers a capable vocal performance. "Black on Black," led by Gunplay featuring Ace Hood & Bun B features superb production, but comes off as lazy and too long ultimately. The closing cuts "Fluorescent Ink" (Stalley, Wale & Rick Ross) and "Bury Me A G" (Ross/T.I.) atone for any mishaps. "Fluorescent Ink" yields some of Stalley's best while "Bury Me A G" finds Rick Ross on autopilot.

Overall, MMG Presents: Self Made, Vol. 2 (Deluxe Version) [Explicit] is a great representation of the Maybach Music imprint. There is a lot of talent on the roster and certainly plenty of `money' to be made. There a few missteps here, making this a solid compilation overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars real hip hop, January 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rick Ross Presents: Self Made 2 (Audio CD)
We are really big Rick Ross fans! This cd is great to listen to and as usual the rapping is phenominal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Music, September 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rick Ross Presents: Self Made 2 (Audio CD)
i did not buy this for myself, i bought this for someone who loves this music. He absolutely loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MMG 2, July 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rick Ross Presents: Self Made 2 (Audio CD)
This is a great album - I would say 90% of the songs are great. Lots of replay value! I am ready for MMG 3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Rick Ross Presents: Self Made 2
Rick Ross Presents: Self Made 2 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.